Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SoccerManager.com (#5) The Boards.ie World

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,917 ✭✭✭✭GT_TDI_150

I'm in favour of a squad cap myself but it's not feasible to introduce it after ten seasons - some lads have been building squads for years and waiting for youth purchases to pay off, some lads hoover up hundreds of youths in the hope that some of them will be the next superstar in the making, it wouldn't be fair to force guys to trim their squads all of a sudden

A squad cap is something that should either be introduced from Day 1 or disregarded I'm afraid

The thing with youth not counting is a good idea in theory but what happens if twenty youths go over 21 but they are all looking fairly decent? A manager shouldn't have to cast off some players just because they are a year older
    Not often we agree but 100% this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭baza Rakus

Squad cap will come when SM decide or it won't. Gentlemen's agreements aren't worth the paper they are written on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,776 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

baza Rakus wrote: »
    Squad cap will come when SM decide or it won't. Gentlemen's agreements aren't worth the paper they are written on.

That's true sure welching on agreed transfers is even acceptable here so I can't see us being able to enforce a squad cap unless soccer manager bring it in as a feature

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭JamboMac

redzerdrog wrote: »
    That's true sure welching on agreed transfers is even acceptable here so I can't see us being able to enforce a squad cap unless soccer manager bring it in as a feature

It been in other leagues from day 1 and has been ad heard too, but I have a lot of players with potential that no longer fit in the youth team bracket.

Sirigiu is up for sale if anybody needs him, has been for a while but nobody seems to want him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭doc holliday

JamboMac wrote: »
    It been in other leagues from day 1 and has been ad heard too, but I have a lot of players with potential that no longer fit in the youth team bracket.

Sirigiu is up for sale if anybody needs him, has been for a while but nobody seems to want him.

Il take him off ya

I don't need straight cash so I've countered, see if that works or how we can do the proposed deal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Jurgen Klopp

redzerdrog wrote: »

Jaysus what happened?

Nice quick deal Sirigu going to Boca and John Alberto Fernando Andres Luigi Olof Guidetti making the trip to paris where he can hopefully meet expectations.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,249 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

So how about that Justin Kluivert...

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

GLaDOS wrote: »

From what I've seen he's good ...

not sure he's 6m+ good but hey ... its only money

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 8,582 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wilberto

GLaDOS wrote:

I think he only just got in on name recognition.

:P :pac:

Damn it when did he appear the one day i don't look. Can we have a redo ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,530 ✭✭✭Comic Book Guy

The B teams cup run continued as we scrape past benficas second string 1-0 with a little help from our keeper getting a 10 rating.

Away to City in the semi final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭baza Rakus

Wilberto wrote: »
    I think he only just got in on name recognition.

:P :pac:

That's what this forum needs. Name recogition software. Then we'd all have robot voices and I wouldn't have to figure out who the bloody hell is who half the time. Or whether they're from Cork.

So after 157 games, 2 promotions and an uncomfortable reliance on Ashley Young's goals, boca juniors manager doc holliday is packing his bags and heading to Italy for a new challenge with udinese. Sources close to boca star man corentin tolisso suggest that he is planning to follow holliday to udinese but neither Tolisso or holliday were available for comment ;).

Of course their will be a few people testing his loyalty.

Good morning mr Andre Gomes!

De Vrij and Batshuayi are joining Roma as part of the deal with Sansone taking over as no2 FC at FCP.

Grand and quick to negotiate with The new Roma management!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,115 ✭✭✭✭eh i dunno

Wonder who'll be 47k lighter later today?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,249 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

SL Benfica beat Bayern 1 - 0 in their Division 1 fixture.

Corona scored the winner for SL Benfica and was later voted Man of the Match for his performance.

Sweet merciful Jaysis I needed that

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 8,582 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wilberto

Estudiantes de LP outclassed Hamburger SV and thrashed them 5 - 0 in their Division 3 fixture.
    Ki scored a brace and was later voted Man of the Match for his performance.
    Fuego and Belotti were also amongst the goalscorers.

The big one's up next.

4th V 3rd
    52 points V 52 Points
    Argentina V Brazil

I'm going to lose aren't I? :(:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

GLaDOS wrote: »
    Sweet merciful Jaysis I needed that

Fair play :)

That's the title hopes gone if they weren't already :/

2-1 loss to Juve ...

Bigger problem is Barzagli is out for 4 :eek: weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Colemania

1 nil win to start things off at roma!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,530 ✭✭✭Comic Book Guy

Harry Kane strikes late to rescue a point in Seville.

Doesn't get any easier.....Roma, Fiorentina, Schalke, Lyon, Udinese is horrible next run of league games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭modo85

Wilberto wrote: »
    The big one's up next.

4th V 3rd
    52 points V 52 Points
    Argentina V Brazil

I'm going to lose aren't I? :(:(

Best of luck to ye, sterling is out injured and has been amazing lately so I'll gladly take a draw

Nice start to life in udinese with a 4-0 win

modo85 wrote:
    Best of luck to ye, sterling is out injured and has been amazing lately so I'll gladly take a draw

I'm actually delighted about this as he'd probably run rings around my aging centre backs! No doubt that you have someone else who's fresh out of nappies who can do the same thing though! :pac: :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 913 ✭✭✭irishgoldberg

6 defeats in 7 games sees chelsea 1 place above the relegation zone.

Don't know what else to do, iv brought players in and changed tactics.

I'd be willing to buy gold management if it a meant a few more points!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

6 defeats in 7 games sees chelsea 1 place above the relegation zone.

Doesn't seem to do me much good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 639 ✭✭✭gerp99

I don't have it so it doesn't matter. It's all random anyway. Change tactics is ur only bet