Somebody's after winning 88 million

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,342 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

The crowd that "sold the winning ticket" have gotten a fair amount of free publicity...over nothing!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 33,615 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

jojofizzio wrote: »
    The crowd that "sold the winning ticket" have gotten a fair amount of free publicity...over nothing!!!
    They were quaffing champagne on the 6-one news!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭TallGlass

What I want to know is why the Lottery are lying to the public. Fair enoght to generate some sort of a buzz. But don't take people for fools, with lines like, 'we don't know where it was sold'.

That's a lie, you do. If you can determine in an hour it was sold in Ireland, then you sure as hell know, everything about the the ticket right down to second it was spat out of a machine or online generator.

Have a bit of respect for the Irish. We are not as tick as we are made out to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

HeidiHeidi wrote: »

They'll get a little something out of this. It's tradition for big lottery winners to gift the shop who sold them the ticket.

A low 5 figure sum in this case I would imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 33,615 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

They'll get a little something out of this. It's tradition for big lottery winners to gift the shop who sold them the ticket.

Yeah, but it was sold in Dublin, apparently!

Mind you, who knows what to believe these days - I'm starting to doubt my own name lately :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭mcgucc22

Why would they get anything?, they didn't sell the winning ticket..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Oh sorry, I'm only catching up on the updated story now. I didn't realise the place in Cork hadn't sold the winning ticket.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭FixitFelix

TallGlass wrote: »
    What I want to know is why the Lottery are lying to the public. Fair enoght to generate some sort of a buzz. But don't take people for fools, with lines like, 'we don't know where it was sold'.

That's a lie, you do. If you can determine in an hour it was sold in Ireland, then you sure as hell know, everything about the the ticket right down to second it was spat out of a machine or online generator.

Have a bit of respect for the Irish. We are not as tick as we are made out to be.

Or maybe they don't say exactly were to give the people that won it a bit of privacy and time to process it?

Why do people always think there is a hidden agenda?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,422 ✭✭✭sjb25

I would in me bollix that tradition would be broken they didn't win it id be mean spirited bollix tho :)

Really??:rolleyes:...still no such thing as bad publicity...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Donal55

Yeah, but it was sold in Dublin, apparently!

Mind you, who knows what to believe these days - I'm starting to doubt my own name lately :eek:

Cant understand it myself. Said it was a Cork factory, interviewed the shop keeper from Glantane or wherever it is and then the CEO of the lotto says it was bought in Dublin.
    Wat dafuq.

Emm,I'd say the crowd who were quaffing champers on the 6-1 news said it...well,maybe not,but were happy to go along with the unfounded rumour at any rate...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭shafty100

is there definite confirmation that the ticket was sold in dublin

Yeah, but which shop (in which county) sold the winning ticket???

That's the million-dollar (or more probably a few grand) question!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,929 ✭✭✭Calibos

€25,000 for a Euromillions Jackpot Winner, €10,000 for an Irish Lottery Jackpot winner, and €3,000&€2000 for a Lotto+ 1/2 Jackpot Winner IIRC.

We sold a Winner back in the 90's. Woohoo!! IR£5,000....except there were 6 winning tickets that draw, the most before or since. Shop Jackpot commission split 6 ways between the six shops just like the Jackpot. Received Lotto cheque for IR£830. Just our fcuking luck!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,517 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

shafty100 wrote: »
    is there definite confirmation that the ticket was sold in dublin

The winning ticket for the EuroMillions jackpot of €88,587,275 was sold in Dublin, the National Lottery confirmed this evening.

The agency this evening said: "The lucky ticket holders have made contact with the National Lottery following their win to make arrangements to collect their prize money."

I'd dearly love to know how the rumours of the Cork win (right down to it being not just J&J, but a subsidiary of J&J, and the shop the ticket was sold in) all started!

The winning ticket for the EuroMillions jackpot of €88,587,275 was sold in Dublin, the National Lottery confirmed this evening.

The agency this evening said: "The lucky ticket holders have made contact with the National Lottery following their win to make arrangements to collect their prize money."

Corkonians getting above their station again.

#ScarlehForYou

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,517 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

Donal55 wrote: »
    Corkonians getting above their station again.

#ScarlehForYou

Maybe they found their way to Dublin for a day:)

Oooh, maybe it WAS a subsidiary of J&J after all, but one of them on a day out in Dublin bought the ticket? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Syndicates are used as a smokescreen for a winner to remain anonymous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭shafty100

in fairness to whoever started this rumour , just brilliant , especially your one in the shop with the champers on ice , at least she got some great publicity out of it, it wouldnt be suprised if the lottery were behind it themselves

Thought that myaelf. However why was the shop in Cork bhoy promoting themselves and giving interviews?

Donal55 wrote: »
    Thought that myaelf. However why was the shop in Cork bhoy promoting themselves and giving interviews?

I really thought when RTE were broadcasting from there that there was a whole back story that proved for certain that the winners were from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,929 ✭✭✭Calibos

Can you imagine the work syndicate in J&J hearing the rumours they'd won, going to their guy that organises it and buys the ticket to be told, "I swear to Christ Lads. We didn't win!!!" "My Hole Boi!! Me and the rest of the lads will be taking shifts parked outside your house in case you try and make the Dash to Shannon with all your suitcases in the middle of the night!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

The shop owner (clondalkin) said his hoax was "hilarious"... Nah mate. Makes you a spoofer.

Like if he did it just to promote his shop so be it. Just come out and say that. Otherwise spoofer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 PeadarK

If the winners feeling generous I'm right over here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭buried

Calibos wrote: »
    Can you imagine the work syndicate in J&J hearing the rumours they'd won, going to their guy that organises it and buys the ticket to be told, "I swear to Christ Lads. We didn't win!!!" "My Hole Boi!! Me and the rest of the lads will be taking shifts parked outside your house in case you try and make the Dash to Shannon with all your suitcases in the middle of the night!!"

Organiser = "Fake news lads, its all that fake news $hite whats going round"

Bullet The Blue Shirts