If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Newstalk Drive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭phater phagan

To be honest - I turn off the sound for a few minutes with the remote when ads come on. I find them terribly irritating and unimaginatively facile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

She does have a nice voice. I'm hoping that, with time, she'll find her forte. It's a hard act to follow after Moncrieff, who's one of the best presenters on any radio show. I hate all the ads Newstalk have, though. I read a very good article on advertising once, and it said that the optimum time for ads breaks to run and be most effective is two minutes. Newstalk ad breaks can be up to four minutes long. I wonder if the companies who pay for them realise that they're not getting value for money.

Great post. Agree with all this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

meeeeh wrote: »
    They don't need to be balanced on international stuff. We don't elect American president.

They do if they want to be seen as objective and credible media source, and not as a lobby group or advocate for issues that they agree with. After their coverage and marriage referendum, and the American Presidential election, I would see Newstalk as a station with a definite liberal agenda. I would not see them as objective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭CHealy

The amount of times Iv heard a guest say something along the lines of "if you'll allow me speak" to Sarah says it all about the interviewing technique on this show. I had to turn it off yesterday it got so bad but at least once a week I'll hear a guest asking to be given the time to answer a question. Iv not come across it on any other radio show bar this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭tomwaits48

CHealy wrote: »
    The amount of times Iv heard a guest say something along the lines of "if you'll allow me speak" to Sarah says it all about the interviewing technique on this show. I had to turn it off yesterday it got so bad but at least once a week I'll hear a guest asking to be given the time to answer a question. Iv not come across it on any other radio show bar this one.

yes she was very bad yesterday. came across as petulant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,396 ✭✭✭mattser

CHealy wrote: »

Mary Wilson never stops.

Wait until Sarah interviews Micheal Martin on - she won't get a word in edgewise. That would be a good training device for her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

it's a liberal love in now, which is such a shame as i can't stand today fm either,
    i wish one of the other stations would see the gap in the market here and get two different
    people on the same show for the 5 to 7pm slot,
    the morning shows have gone to pot aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

chris saying if he won the 88mil he'd go virgin galactic.

Must....Resist...JOKES !!!!!!

:d

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,663 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Its like listening to two tipsy idiots on the bus or in the pub. I've given it a fair chance, they're terrible.

im only here till 4.30 and the adults start.

TBH its kinda shocking how hard it is to last even THAT long with the program.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,846 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

Sarah McInerney got absolutely schooled by Kieran Staunton earlier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,535 ✭✭✭Zonda999

I generally tend to switch between the Last Word and Newstalk Drive on the way home. The Last Word is much more polished and the better show all round but Newstalk Drive isn't as awful as some people here make out I don't think. Vincent Wall is excellent on the business in particular I think, then again he isn't just on Drive of course.

I don't mind Chris too much, he isn't the most controversial of presenters but he's rarely clueless on any topic he's covering that shows he prepares at least. Actually not controversial is an under statement, I think (like many people nowadays) he is terrified of being accused of being even mildly racist, sexist or generally just being accused of having anything other than the standard liberal social justice warrior opinion of the time on any topic.

As for Sarah, she is clearly inexperienced on the radio and her diction isn't great. I reckon she's more willing to go with a more divisive opinion than Chris but she seems to lack the seriousness or something to do so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,929 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

The Last Word?

Is that Matt Cooper?

If so, that lad is way too high pitched for this poster.

Couldn't listen to him for more than five mi Utes.

Way too high pitched for me.

sarah getting a slaggin off the texters over her claim that the majority of the country dont support trump.

now shes defending herself by quoting POLLS !

:D:D:D:D

Fecking numpty.

media Ireland aint the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭ultra violet 5

sarah getting a slaggin off the texters over her claim that the majority of the country dont support trump.

Fecking numpty.

but she lives in the real world and has an amazing voice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

Fecking numpty.

Nor are Newstalk listeners. Thankfully.

J Mysterio wrote: »
    Its like listening to two tipsy idiots on the bus or in the pub. I've given it a fair chance, they're terrible.

This is bang on. Particularly Sarah laughing at Chris's jokes. It's like they are on the bus back from the Christmas party and she's suddenly just discovered he's hilarious (with about two bottles of Chardonnay)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Grolschevik

On what would you base the contrary assertion?

My God, it's just wall to wall Trump bashing on Newstalk these days. Even Gilroy on Off The Ball consistently makes cheap jokes at Trump's expense. Sick to death of the lot of them at this stage. I wish they would just accept that Hilary didn't win and start covering other topics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Grolschevik

My God, it's just wall to wall Trump bashing on Newstalk these days. Even Gilroy on Off The Ball consistently makes cheap jokes at Trump's expense. Sick to death of the lot of them at this stage. I wish they would just accept that Hilary didn't win and start covering other topics.

If Clinton had been elected, and was doing the same sort of things Trump is, there'd be wall to wall Hilary bashing now.

It's not about Trump v Clinton any more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Donal55

Its not just Newstalk. Every station whinging about Trump. Not that we didn't know what was coming down the tracks once he got elected. Or perhaps the shock is that he actually kept his word.

Time to load something onto the ipod.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭pajo1981

Trump is disliked hence the digs. Why are trump heads so obsessed with the election?

Trump person's response to any critism of Trump: He won the the election, get over it.

???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭joejoe87

It really grinds my gears that they shortened Sean Moncrief's show when they rejigged the schedule. Drive is really not very listenable but I still choose it over the drab RTE content. Sean's show seems very popular and I like the varied topics , he gives good interviews too.

I like Chris and Sarah. I'm not sure why Trump supporters here ( you'd think that he was our President ) are so defensive about him. He has shown himself in the campaign to be a very unpleasant man with his various remarks about women, mocking the disabled reporter etc., and he insulted the parents of a young officer who died in Iraq. To get into a public row with them was unfeeling and cold. People are entitled to their opinions ( even the Trump fans ) but we don't have to agree with them. Newstalk is reporting what he is actually doing and are through different programmes getting different opinions of Trump. George Hook and the guy who calls in from Boston are always defending Trump. Myself, I think that he is dysfunctional, and bullying.

i lasted 8 mins today.

henry mckeen FFS.

HOW does that bollocks still have a job?

As if Ruth Coppinger need another reason to be glum. She makes Peig Saors seem like Mr Motivator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭osullic

i lasted 8 mins today.

henry mckeen FFS.

Where does he find the people he surveys?

It's like he conducts an IQ test and then if they're within the moronoic threshold he asks them for their opinions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,445 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

i lasted 8 mins today.

henry mckeen FFS.

He's like Louis Theroux's 'slow' brother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Conservative

As if Ruth Coppinger need another reason to be glum. She makes Peig Saors seem like Mr Motivator.

LOL.

I'm still not sure what all the outrage is about. The introduction of this vetting process certainly needed a bit more planning but what the hell is wrong with running detailed background checks on people coming in to the US from warzones/countries known to harbour and support terrorists.

Quite frankly, our Government should be encouraging fellow EU countries to take a leaf out of Trump's book.

Irish politicians including Enda Kenny should mind their own ****ing business. US pre clearance in Dublin is for all intents and purposes American soil and a very generous "gift" from our American friends.

Donald Trump is the last person we need to be pissing off!

Have they had a single Trump supporter on one of their panels? Ian O'Doherty perhaps.