Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 3.0

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

awec wrote: »
    Walking a tightrope here pickarooney. :mad:

Sorry awec, didn't mean to offend with my post, I just found it very intimidating.

That said I also don't like going through very republican areas with the flags and slogans etc, was on the Falls earlier and didn't like it at all.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,818 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I mentioned it before on this thread, but I went through NI with my English gf last summer and I found the whole experience surreal in the extreme. Those people I talked to were nothing but polite and lovely but the ambiance in Derry and outer Belfast was unsettling.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Podge_irl wrote: »
    I mentioned it before on this thread, but I went through NI with my English gf last summer and I found the whole experience surreal in the extreme. Those people I talked to were nothing but polite and lovely but the ambiance in Derry and outer Belfast was unsettling.

I actually love working in any part of NI compared to Dublin tbh.

People are on time, they are polite and respectful, they go out of their way to be helpful, (this week I was in an unfamiliar part of Belfast, and when I told the group of strangers I was working with that google maps sent me a weird way to Malone Road via Grosvenor road, I'd three seperate people print me maps, show me routes on google etc)

They are also far more mannerly, but a little more traditional in terms of chivalry.

I've found as well that as I've taken more of an interest in politics and the North that being able to chat to them as a neutral means you get a different view, awec was saying in the cafe that most people in NI are indifferent to how they are governed in terms of powersharing and voting, and I'd agree with that tbh, there is a deep cyniscism about politics in the north.

Then you get the very green/orange areas which in fairness are outliers but are intimidating.

On the whole there's an awful lot more to appreciate about NI than there is to dislike. With the ordinary workers that I deal with week in and week out and especially with younger people who are forty and under the sectarian divide that I'd have seen ten years ago in the workplace has dissipated.

I've been working in the North on a regular basis since 2006

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,818 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Stheno wrote: »
    They are also far more mannerly, but a little more traditional in terms of chivalry.

I despise the concept of chivalry but that's probably a side discussion :pac:

I should probably clarify that 90% of the time I felt absolutely comfortable and enjoyed the geography and culture that the north offered. And the people I interacted with were absolutely lovely. But in limited areas I have never felt as uncomfortable in my life. It's just a bit weird - I don't paint all of NI with that brush or anything I just found it slightly unsettling in places.

• Administrators Posts: 55,122 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Sorry awec, didn't mean to offend with my post, I just found it very intimidating.

That said I also don't like going through very republican areas with the flags and slogans etc, was on the Falls earlier and didn't like it at all.
    I'm not at all offended. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

We must try harder!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Felix Jones is God

She should take the piss out of a certain northern footie team...Then she'll get a rise out of you ;)

Ive no clue about that though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Felix Jones is God

Ive no clue about that though

Yerra, neither does he, but that doesn't stop him :D

Ah here my oh claims to support sunderland every Monday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭swiwi_

Podge_irl wrote: »

So when we were fairly newly arrived in Ireland, I had a conference in Armagh. It was back in the days before I had GPS or a smartphone, so I printed out directions Dublin - Armagh on google maps, and off I went.

I'm sure in theory it was the fastest route, but the directions quickly had me off the beaten track and onto a series of country backroads.

It was very surreal travelling through little villages with big Union Jacks painted on the main street, and the flags on full display. I had the constant impression I was being "observed".

At one point I had to stop for directions. I was almost nervous getting out of the car and approaching the locals. But they were nothing but friendly, no doubt helped by my clearly not Irish (nor Australian :mad:) accent leading to what seemed to me a visible relaxation of the atmosphere.

Wouldn't rush back to Armagh, it had a very "Puritan" vibe about it, and we found ourselves short of places to consume alcoholic beverages at day's end.

Northern Ireland itself, though, I very much like.

swiwi_ wrote: »
    So when we were fairly newly arrived in Ireland, I had a conference in Armagh. It was back in the days before I had GPS or a smartphone, so I printed out directions Dublin - Armagh on google maps, and off I went.

I'm sure in theory it was the fastest route, but the directions quickly had me off the beaten track and onto a series of country backroads.

It was very surreal travelling through little villages with big Union Jacks painted on the main street, and the flags on full display. I had the constant impression I was being "observed".

At one point I had to stop for directions. I was almost nervous getting out of the car and approaching the locals. But they were nothing but friendly, no doubt helped by my clearly not Irish (nor Australian :mad:) accent leading to what seemed to me a visible relaxation of the atmosphere.

Wouldn't rush back to Armagh, it had a very "Puritan" vibe about it, and we found ourselves short of places to consume alcoholic beverages at day's end.

Funny, drive through non urban parts of the US and it's largely similar. Flegs everywhere.

Not sure if on purpose

*cue Conan gif*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Drove around North Carolina last year and found that. It's like a racist Leitrim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,019 ✭✭✭✭bilston

You see the thing about flags, I reckon if you did a discrete poll of the people living in areas where flags were festooned everywhere you'd find the majority of people would rather they weren't hanging from every lampost. It's just best sometimes to keep your thoughts to yourself in certain places!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

bilston wrote: »
    You see the thing about flags, I reckon if you did a discrete poll of the people living in areas where flags were festooned everywhere you'd find the majority of people would rather they weren't hanging from every lampost. It's just best sometimes to keep your thoughts to yourself in certain places!

Yeah, I think that may well be less true in rural America.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

I've spend a decent amount of time up there with both work and through friends who are from awec's neck of the woods. When we were in our early twenties, we all went on the beer, had the same craic and were all pretty unreliable scoundrels.

As we got into our late twenties though, the lads from that area definitely started settling down far more quickly. A number of them and their peers were married. Several had kids. Their heavy nights out were 4 or 5 pints. And then when I went up to visit them for a weekend, I noted they were all starting to become involved in their local churches. Not just attending but some were playing music at services. Others were setting up AV stuff for them. One lad just went early to help set up the church. The odd bible quote was popping up on Twitter/Facebook.

Now, obviously this isn't across the board, but there definitely is a far, far stronger link to religion in the north and I don't mean in the sectarian sense. There's a far more pious community in many areas than there is south of the border where we've begun to reject the church in masses.

It's a curious thing. It seems almost that the people I knew saw their college years as their opportunity to have a bit of a wild time but their long term plan always involved the faith they were raised in.

The city or the county?

The city is the god capital of Ireland or whatever it's called.

Buer wrote: »
    I've spend a decent amount of time up there with both work and through friends who are from awec's neck of the woods. When we were in our early twenties, we all went on the beer, had the same craic and were all pretty unreliable scoundrels.

As we got into our late twenties though, the lads from that area definitely started settling down far more quickly. A number of them and their peers were married. Several had kids. Their heavy nights out were 4 or 5 pints. And then when I went up to visit them for a weekend, I noted they were all starting to become involved in their local churches. Not just attending but some were playing music at services. Others were setting up AV stuff for them. One lad just went early to help set up the church. The odd bible quote was popping up on Twitter/Facebook.

Now, obviously this isn't across the board, but there definitely is a far, far stronger link to religion in the north and I don't mean in the sectarian sense. There's a far more pious community in many areas than there is south of the border where we've begun to reject the church in masses.

It's a curious thing. It seems almost that the people I knew saw their college years as their opportunity to have a bit of a wild time but their long term plan always involved the faith they were raised in.

North Armagh is wonderful, the finest part of Ireland. The d4 of NI. I am not surprised that you travelled there for fun and merriment, escaping the dreary wastelands of the pale for days at a time.

(The church thing is definitely true).

The city or the county?

The city is the god capital of Ireland or whatever it's called.

The city. It was totally dead on Saturday night. I think we found some place with a couple of locals, and a choice of Harp or Harp lite.

From memory we stuck to the hotel after that.

The police barracks was fairly fortified, which gave me a bit the creeps too.

I'm sure the county itself is just fine and dandy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,833 ✭✭✭CMOTDibbler

I think I know what you meant here, but what you actually said is almost the opposite of what I think you meant. ;)

Buer wrote: »

Armagh to Lisburn up to Ballymena in Co.Antrim would be Ulster's Bible Belt. There would be some pretty conservative viewpoints amongst those folk.

I think I know what you meant here, but what you actually said is almost the opposite of what I think you meant. ;)

Did I spell it wrong? Discreet maybe?

Anyway if you quietly asked the people and told them their identities would remain anonymous they'd probably say they'd rather the flags weren't up.

It's something that really boils my piss about some posters in other forums on After Hours and their attitude towards NI. They just tar everyone with the same brush and think we're all biggotts.

I'd argue their opinions of the people of NI are fairly offensive to be honest.

On the way to Dundrum tonight and the car starts beeping and screen is saying engine malfunction. Feels like I'm driving a bus, foot to the floor and it barely responds. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,878 ✭✭✭b.gud

On the way to Dundrum tonight and the car starts beeping and screen is saying engine malfunction. Feels like I'm driving a bus, foot to the floor and it barely responds. :(

I told you your car won't run on s**t, no matter how I to it you are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,003 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Is it the focus? Head over to the motors forum...lads there might be a good help. Normally always is something to do with coils according to them.

mfceiling wrote: »
    Is it the focus? Head over to the motors forum...lads there might be a good help. Normally always is something to do with coils according to them.
    Yep.

90% sure it's the DPF. Was in with the mechanic a few weeks ago and he reckons the DPF is on it's way out but he wasn't 100% sure so said to drive and come in the next time it messes up.

DPF costs over a grand. :(

Yep.

90% sure it's the DPF. Was in with the mechanic a few weeks ago and he reckons the DPF is on it's way out but he wasn't 100% sure so said to drive and come in the next time it messes up.

DPF costs over a grand. :(
    Not reccommending this particular one, but you can get a DPF for a lot less than that.

You can get a bit more life form yours if you drive it very hot. High revs on the motorway for a good length of time. Half an hour min.

How is that so cheap? All accounts I have seen and quotes I have seen have been 4 figures.

Are you a mechanic by any chance?

How is that so cheap? All accounts I have seen and quotes I have seen have been 4 figures.

Are you a mechanic by any chance?
    It's cheap because it's an OEM product. It doesn't have the Ford badge on it, but in all probability came from the same factory as the Ford one.

Not always of course, but if you shop around you'll probably get a good one for a fraction of the price.

I'm not a mechanic, but my own DPF is on the way out, so I've been checking around.