BeebRock - The BBC4/BBC3/BBC2/BBC1 Music Programmes thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,718 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Oh, right.

I love that video.

It rains and his new wife dies. What doesn't make sense there?

Bet Slash loved miming while they were doing those helicopter shots.

Don't forget 'Estranged', where Axl dives off an oil tanker just to swim with dolphins.

And why not.

Just watched last night's 'Bowie At The BBC'...even TOTP rejected his 'Never Let Me Down' period :pac: :D

I watched "the last 5 years" this evening- well recommended to all. Think it was Sky Arts though, not BBC4 so sorry if i'm jumping in on the wrong thread.

'The Last Five Years' was BBC Two, should be on their iPlayer

Thanks I always get confused between BBC and Sky Arts come the the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Don't forget 'Estranged', where Axl dives off an oil tanker just to swim with dolphins.

And why not.

The bit where Slash is dragged down the street on an unseen skateboard, in the manner of one of the oul wans in the Eoin McLove episode of Fr Ted is rock n roll to it's core.

They used to do that in the early days on Sunset Strip, I bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Nice one, Skid.

Gotta tell yis I'm super excited about the first regular Friday I've had in at least two months.

Edit: Oh, and i finally have Sky Arts! FINALLY! When's that Slash gig on, so i don't have to go to the trouble of going and getting the dvd? :D

In case I forget to mention it, next Friday night :) ...

http://www.tvguide.co.uk/detail/1619096/124404902/slash-made-in-stoke

12.15am Sky Arts - Slash: Made in Stoke
    The rock guitarist performs in Stoke-on-Trent, where he spent his early years. Featuring hits from his time with bands including Guns N' Roses, Velvet Revolver and Snakepit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Skid X wrote: »
    In case I forget to mention it, next Friday night :) ...

http://www.tvguide.co.uk/detail/1619096/124404902/slash-made-in-stoke

12.15am Sky Arts - Slash: Made in Stoke

My man!

Unfortunately, next Friday I'll at the 3 arena watching my mans Black Sabbath.

Which is nice.

Made In Stoke is the best thing ever, though.

Hi there, quiet enough this weekend to be honest. Some Status Quo programmes on Friday in tribute to Rick Parfitt who died on Christmas Eve. On Saturday there's the very good Amy Winehouse film on More4, from the people who made the recent Oasis Supersonic Doc. News of some Sky Arts programmes to follow ...

Thursday
    7.30pm & 2am Top Of The Pops 1983 - January 20th
    Janice Long and Gary Davies present the chart from January 20, featuring Kajagoogoo, Joe Jackson, Echo and the Bunnymen, Melba Moore, U2, Laura Branigan and Phil Collins. Full Details here http://thetvdb.com/?tab=episode&seriesid=78332&seasonid=479822&id=5857674&lid=7

Friday
    7.30pm & 12.20am Top Of The Pops 1983 - January 27th
    Simon Bates and Richard Skinner present a run-down of the pop charts, first broadcast on January 27, 1983. Includes performances by Level 42, The Belle Stars, Central Line, The Beatles, China Crists, Wham, Bauhaus, Joe Cocker & Jennifer Warnes, Dire Straits and Men At Work. Full details here http://thetvdb.com/?tab=episode&seriesid=78332&seasonid=479822&id=5857677&lid=7

9pm & 1am Sound of Musicals with Neil Brand
    Ep 2/3 - Something's Coming. The presenter explores how a new generation of composers transformed musical theatre by embracing more gritty, challenging subjects, from the mean streets of 1950s New York in West Side Story to the Dickensian London of British blockbuster Oliver!. Neil learns the stories behind Broadway hits Fiddler on the Roof and A Chorus Line, and celebrates the ground-breaking work of composer and lyricist Stephen Sondheim. He also reveals the `secrets' of some classic numbers with the help of performers Robert Lindsay and Frances Ruffelle

10pm & 2am Hello Quo
    Documentary examining rock band Status Quo's five-decade history, including interviews with the band, concert footage and rarely seen archive material, as well as a look at the 2012 reunion of the original line-up, performing together for the first time in more than 30 years. With contributions by Paul Weller, Brian May, Noddy Holder, Cliff Richard and Jeff Lynne

11.20pm Status Quo: Live and Acoustic
    A compilation of footage from Status Quo's 2014 live appearance at London's Roundhouse, where they performed acoustic versions of their best-known hits, including Pictures of Matchstick Men, Rockin' All Over the World, Whatever You Want, What You're Proposing, Down Down, and Marguerita Time. Playing alongside a string section, Francis and Rick reminisce about their career and recall some of the stories behind their classic songs

Saturday
    9pm Film: Amy (2015) (More 4)
    Documentary portrait of soul, jazz and R'n'B singer-songwriter Amy Winehouse, whose untimely death in July 2011 followed a well-publicised history of drugs and alcohol abuse. Director Asif Kapadia traces Amy's rise and demise over the 13 years preceding her death, telling her story via her music and autobiographical song lyrics, video footage shot by friends and family, archive television clips, plus voiceover interviews with those who were personally and professionally close to her. Contributors include Pete Doherty, Mitch Winehouse, Tony Bennett, Mark Ronson and Tyler James

11.40pm Amy Winehouse: Live at Shepherd's Bush Empire (More 4)
    The singer performs tracks from her multi-platinum-selling album Back to Black at the London venue in a 2007 performance.

11.40pm Top Of The Pops 1983 - January 20th
    Same as Thursday

12.15am Top Of The Pops 1983 - January 27th
    Same as Friday

12.55am Imagine: Rod Stewart - Can't Stop Me Now
    The veteran rocker invites Alan Yentob to his LA home to conduct an interview, in which Stewart looks back on a career spanning more than 50 years. He discusses working with acts like the Steampacket and Jeff Beck in the 1960s and his time with the Faces, whose offstage antics became legendary - as did the frontman's affairs with a string of famous women. His solo career propelled him to superstardom with songs such as Maggie May and Sailing, and while the 1980s proved to be less successful, his constant reinvention has given him a lasting career. Having more recently become known as a singer of American standards, he talks about recording Time, his first album of new material in almost 20 years

2.20am Rod Stewart Live at Hyde Park
    A concert by the singer that closed Radio 2's annual Festival in a Day, held in September 2015 in London's Hyde Park. Featuring a selection of hits from his back catalogue including Angel, In a Broken Dream, The Killing of Georgie (Part I and II) as well as Faces classics including Ooh La La and blues standard Rollin' and Tumblin'

Sunday
    Midnight Play It Loud - The Story of The Marshall Amp
    In the early 1960s drum shop owner Jim Marshall launched the loudest amplifier in the world at a point in time widely perceived to be the birth of rock. Young musicians like Clapton and Hendrix rushed to adopt the revolutionary `Marshall sound', and the electric guitar spoke for a new generation, while stacks and walls became an essential backdrop at concerts. The company was rescued from financial meltdown by comic exposure in the 1984 movie This is Spinal Tap, and the electronic boxes were propelled to iconic status. This documentary charts the amp's history, with contributions from rock musicians Pete Townshend, Lemmy and Slash, plus an interview with the founder himself.

My man!

Unfortunately, next Friday I'll at the 3 arena watching my mans Black Sabbath.

Which is nice.

Made In Stoke is the best thing ever, though.

Nice! Very nice!

Speaking of Black Sabbath ...

Saturday 11pm Sky Arts - God Bless Ozzy Osbourne
    A profile of Black Sabbath member Ozzy Osbourne, from the wild and hedonistic days that adversely affected his personal life, through the years of depression, alcoholism and drug dependency that followed. The programme also reveals how he overcame his demons, with the help of his second wife Sharon. Featuring interviews with Paul McCartney, Motley Crue drummer Tommy Lee and others

Also on Sky Arts ...

Friday
    10pm Classic Albums: Iron Maiden - The Number of The Beast
    11pm Iron Maiden: Somewhere Back In Time - Live (2008 concert)
    12.15am Slash: Made in Stoke (2011 concert)
    2.45am Pink Floyd : A Delicate Sound of Thunder (1988 concert)

Saturday
    10pm Meat Loaf Live with The Melbourne Symphony Orchestra (2004 concert)
    11pm God Bless Ozzy Osbourne
    12.45am Anvil! The Story of Anvil (2008 film)

Sunday
    9.30 Eric Clapton - Slowhand at 70. Live from The Royal Albert Hall.

Still no sign of the fabled Status Quo Movie 'Bula Quo', critics called it one of the worst films of 2013 but what do those so-called-experts know about popular culture, Eh? Eh?

A film that is actually on this weekend and has a cracking soundtrack is Trainspotting (Channel 4, Sunday 10.05). Sequel coming soon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Nice one Skid.

Looking fwd to the Quo accoustic show. I only got the last 20mins the last time. Good excuse to crank up the 5:1 system thet the OH hates. I'll sent her to the pub.

Leighton Buzzard's finest, Kajagoogoo :D

It's true, Gary Davies IS quite the dish :)

Echo And The Bunnymen - good call :)

"The Luck of The Oirish"

Ah Janice

I wonder if Laura Branigan has heard Pulp's 'Disco 2000' :O

Jarvis might owe a few quid in royalties there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,915 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

She died in 2004 :( so might have...

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

Dole Line Funk :)

Bauhaus :O :D

Joe's son Jarvis must be so proud :D

I quite enjoyed the Acoustic Quo set.

Different.

Again I just got the last few minutes of it. I thought it was repeated later and was going to record it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Ferrari3600

Bauhaus :O :D

She's in parties.

sligojoek wrote: »
    Again I just got the last few minutes of it. I thought it was repeated later and was going to record it.

Yeah, it doesn't seem to be repeated unfortunately.

Although it is on Youtube

Noooo :(:(

RIP Peter 'Overend' Watts of Mott The Hoople.

Adjust volume to maximum...

R.I.P butch trucks,founder member of the brilliant allman brothers band.hopefully bbc will do a special.

https://youtu.be/EagqhwMKQ5A

sligojoek wrote: »

Brilliant stuff! I think theres only gregg allman and dickey betts left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,091 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Is there no Skid X TV guide this week, I always tune into this. :)

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

Is there no Skid X TV guide this week, I always tune into this. :)

Here you go :)

Hi, lets have a look at what's coming up this weekend. Very quiet on BBC4 so here's a more detailed look at Sky Arts, just for a change. They have some great programmes, although they do like to repeat things over and over again.

They start off with Johnny Cash at Folsom Prison. Imagine being an inmate there? "Now you've been convicted of a serious crime and you're going to have to pay. This next year will be hard, you're going to suffer for what you've done ... having said that, Johnny Cash is playing a concert for y'all tonight"

Thursday
    7pm Sky Arts - Johnny Cash at Folsom Prison
    Documentary examining the country star's 1968 concert at California's Folsom Prison, with contributions by his family and band members, as well as inmates who witnessed the event

7.30pm & Midnight BBC4 - Top Of The Pops 1983: February 3rd
    John Peel and Kid Jensen present music from February 3, 1983, featuring Haysi Fantayzee, Indeep, the Fun Boy Three, Fleetwood Mac, Kajagoogoo, Tears for Fears, U2 and Men at Work. Full details here http://thetvdb.com/?tab=episode&seriesid=78332&seasonid=479822&id=5489720&lid=7

8pm Sky Arts - Johnny Cash A Legend in Concert
    A selection of early recordings by the country star, featuring performances of Five Feet High and Rising, I Got Stripes and Don't Take Your Guns to Town

11pm BBC4 - Brothers in Arms
    Documentary celebrating rock bands fronted by brothers, including the Kinks, Spandau Ballet, the Everly Brothers and Oasis, and exploring the conflicts that can erupt from such relationships. With contributions by Martin Kemp, Matt Goss, Dave Davies, Phil Everly, David Knopfler and the Campbell brothers of UB40

Friday
    7.30pm & 12.30am BBC4 - Sounds of The Seventies
    Archive performances by groups and solo artists from one of the most energetic and exciting decades of popular music, featuring Carpenters, Bread, Charles Aznavour, John Denver, 10cc, Bellamy Brothers, Exile and Dr Hook

9pm & 1am BBC4 Sound of Musicals with Neil Brand
    Part 3/3 Seasons of Love The writer and composer looks at the rise of the all-conquering contemporary blockbuster, from Evita to Les Miserables and The Lion King. He also sees how these mega-musicals have met with unexpected competition from quirky hits such as The Rocky Horror Show and Avenue Q. Contributors include Tim Rice, Alan Menkin and Robert Lopez

10pm & 2am BBC4 - Secret Voices of Hollywood
    Documentary revealing the secret world of the `ghost singers', who provided the vocals for some of Hollywood's biggest stars. The programme includes footage of the classic movies in which the songs appeared

10pm Sky Arts - Classic Albums: Phil Collins Face Value
    Phil Collins - Face Value Phil Collins gives a candid insight into the making of his first solo album Face Value in 1979, revealing how a painful divorce from his first wife provided the inspiration for smash hit In the Air Tonight. Most of the tracks were improvised, and Phil recalls a jam session with Eric Clapton, who contributed to the song The Roof Is Leaking

10.30pm BBC Red Button - Sounds of The 80s (Repeated over the weekend when they aren't showing Bowls or Winterwatch
    Sara Cox plays a selection of music from the decade and is joined by guests who reflect on their careers during the 1980s

11pm Sky Arts - Phil Collins:No Ticket Required
    The Genesis frontman performs hits including You Can't Hurry Love, Against All Odds, Sussudio and In the Air Tonight in a 1985 concert at the Reunion Theatre in Dallas

12.55am Sky Arts - Queen Rock Montreal
    The rock band perform for an audience of more than 18,000 at the Montreal Forum in November 1981. As well as featuring hits including We Will Rock You, Killer Queen and Bohemian Rhapsody, the concert also saw the first live performance of Under Pressure

Saturday
    7pm Sky Arts - Classic Albums The Who: Who's Next?
    The Who - Who's Next The story behind the recording of the Who's 1971 album Who's Next, featuring archive footage of the group and interviews with Roger Daltrey and Pete Townshend

8pm Sky Arts - The Who: Tommy and Quadrophenia Live
    Roger Daltrey, Pete Townshend and John Entwistle perform numbers from their rock operas, with guest singers Phil Collins, Elton John, Patti LaBelle, Steve Winwood and Billy Idol

9pm Sky Arts - Discovering Music: The Who

9.30pm Sky Arts - Discovering Music: Jimi Hendrix

10pm Sky Arts - Jimi Hendrix: Electric Church
    Documentary follows Jimi Hendrix's seminal performance at the 1970 Atlanta Pop Festival, where he played in front of 300,000 people. Featuring interviews with Hendrix and fellow musicians, including Paul McCartney and Mitch Mitchell

11.55pm BBC4 Top Of The Pops 1983: February 3rd
    Same as Thursday

Midnight Sky Arts - Jimi Hendrix at Woodstock
    Highlights from the guitarist's set at the 1969 festival, including Purple Haze, Voodoo Chile and Hear My Train a Comin' and an extraordinary rendition of The Star-Spangled Banner

12.35am BBC4 Otis Reading: Soul Ambassador
    Profile of the soul singer, documenting his childhood and career, including unseen home movies that reveal how his 1967 tour of Britain dramatically changed his life and music. Plus, footage of rare performances and intimate interviews with Redding's widow, daughter and previous band members Steve Cropper and Booker T Jones, as well as celebrity fans Rod Stewart, Tom Jones and Bryan Ferry

1.40am BBC4 Classic Soul at the BBC
    Performances from the BBC archive by acclaimed soul singers, including Aretha Franklin, Al Green, Isaac Hayes, Dusty Springfield, Solomon Burke and Percy Sledge

2.40am BBC4 Sings Motown
    A compilation of Motown covers from the archive, spanning the 1960s to the present. Including Paul Weller and Amy Winehouse's I Heard It Through the Grapevine, Roberta Flack's version of Stevie Wonder's Never Dreamed You'd Leave in Summer, the Flying Lizards with Barrett Strong's Money (That's What I Want), Dusty Springfield performing Nowhere to Run and Kim Wilde's take on You Keep Me Hanging On

Sunday

4.50pm Film Four Film - Sunshine on Leith (Proclaimers Musical)
    Two soldiers return home to the Scottish port town after finishing their tour of duty in Afghanistan. While they struggle to adjust to life as civilians, the parents of one of the squaddies prepare to celebrate their 30th anniversary in style. Musical featuring songs by the Proclaimers, starring George MacKay, Kevin Guthrie, Peter Mullan and Jane Horrocks

9.30pm Sky Arts - The Who: The Vegas Job
    The British rock band's 1999 concert at the MGM Grand in Las Vegas, which saw original members Roger Daltrey, Pete Townshend and John Entwistle joined by keyboardist John Bundrick and drummer Zak Starkey for performances of songs including Pinball Wizard and My Generation

11.25pm Cream Live at Royal Albert Hall
    The reunited 1960s band's concerts, staged over a week in May 2005. Members Eric Clapton, Jack Bruce and Ginger Baker play the group's best-remembered hits

So that's that, Zak Starkey there at the end - at one point he was the drummer in The Who and Oasis at the same time. Nice work if you can get it.

Movie soundtrack of the week might be Raging Bull (RTE1, Saturday Midnight). Lovely stuff.