Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boggers Log

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

tang1 wrote: »
    No wonder you struggled if you were sweating bullets, how did the calf hold up?

Ok, couple of twinges but never felt it was going to seize.

Managed 11 miles at MP last week so was a bit disappointed with this TBH, breathing was all over the place from early doors. Maybe the S&C has shook the dinosaur more than I thought!

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

You could be coming down with something either but yeah, in my experience S&C can tire you out..

Yea maybe Annie.

Tang used to be complaining that he'd be wrecked for days after his S&M sessions :)

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Yea maybe Annie.

Tang used to be complaining that he'd be wrecked for days after his S&M sessions :)

TbL

Jealousy gets you nowhere........

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭youngrun

Monday: slow tired 3 mile nursing home special.

Today: had a session down for today and decided to go large and see where I'm at. Roped ex National marathon champ in again to try and pace me around a 5,4,3,2,1 @ MP off half mile recovery. Headed to Dangan this morning to get this done and I was struggling from the start, got the 5 miles done but I was labouring big time. I had to take off the base layer I was wearing as I was sweating bullets. Felt momentarily better without it but half way through the 4 miles I knew my goose was cooked, effort level too high and I canned it after the 4 mile rep.

Very very tired and the auld body has a bit to do yet to be in sub 3 shape.

Bit disappointed but I'll crack on.

Off to London today for a couple of days so it'll only be a few easy miles over the coming days which mightn't be a bad thing.

TbL

6.44, 6.46, 6.58, 6.39, 6.43

6.49, 6.57, 6.47, 6.48

Another big session good work.
    In my experience very hard to get these right all the time unless v good conditions and surface
    Btw I also figured Dangan is At least 10-15 seconds a mile slower than road,due to surface, twists and turns, dogs/people , so you are operating effort wise well sub 3hr mara pace.9 mile is plenty at what you did

Not a great week by any stretch of the imagination. Has a touch of a sore throat and the S&C session had left me with very tight hamstrings. Was over in London and decided to take Wednesday as a rest day. Was supposed to travel back on Thursday evening but the wind a snow was delaying most flights and it was after midnight before I got into Dublin. Was staying the night in Moyvalley near Enfield so another day went without a run.

I'd texted Toyboy Tang for an easy run on Friday but he made up some feeble excuse and passed. Which one of ye bastards has turned his head in my short absence :) Ended up doing a few easy miles around the hotel, the ground was very slippy and I nearly came down on my arse a couple of times so I left it at 7 easy miles.

Saturday: easy 6 miles while eldest daughter was getting a tennis lesson.

Sunday: flirted with the idea of doing the 5,4,3,2,1 session again but when I got up this morning I still wasn't feeling great so I just decided to do a slow long plod. Got 20 miles done very easy.

Only 47 miles for the week.

TbL

There was only one of us refusing to reply to text messages and it wasn't me, pretty poor excuse your phone was acting up!!!!

Monday: had planned a short nursing home special but still not feeling 100% and half way through my S&C session I'd to ask him to dial it back as I was wiped. Finished the session and canned the run for the bubbles in the jacuzzi!

Stopped at a pharmacy to see if I could get a pick me up or supplement and the fecker had the temerity to suggest Centrum 50+ multi vitamins!! Was sorely tempted to ask for the largest packet of condoms he had thinking that'd show him but I bottled it and hightailed it outta there with my auld man vits!!!!

Today: happy enough with the gradual return to form with the running and that I'm sticking with the S&C but I need to tackle the weight. Stood on the scales this morning and I was pretty pissed off! Nice little stretch coming in the evenings and it was good to start a run after work with a bit of daylight left, got 9.2 miles done around Salthill nice and easy.

Off to London for two days before another assault on that pig of a session, the 5,4,3,2,1

TbL

You were right about not asking for the condoms though, not a chance you can get xtra xtra xtra small ones!!!!

Have you ever seen the serial number on a condom B? no.....?

You've never rolled it back far enough :)

TbL

I think we're going to have to get you two a private chat room :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,410 ✭✭✭ger664

The bigger ones have barcodes instead

ger664 wrote: »
    The bigger ones have barcodes instead

Class Ger! LMAO :)

Annie who needs a private chat room when you can run down by the canal!!

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Stopped at a pharmacy to see if I could get a pick me up or supplement and the fecker had the temerity to suggest Centrum 50+ multi vitamins!! Was sorely tempted to ask for the largest packet of condoms he had thinking that'd show him but I bottled it and hightailed it outta there with my auld man vits!!!!

True story - While in San Seb, myself and TBL were walking to find a cafe for lunch.
    He mentions that theres a good place in his hotel, if I want to go back, but he needs to stop at the chemist for something.
    We find a chemist and he proceeds to ask for vaseline - a big tub.

He then tried to buy me dinner.

I'm not judging or casting any aspersions - I'm just telling what happened.
    Fact.

#sorrytang

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭Itziger

Monday: had planned a short nursing home special but still not feeling 100% and half way through my S&C session I'd to ask him to dial it back as I was wiped. Finished the session and canned the run for the bubbles in the jacuzzi!

Today: happy enough with the gradual return to form with the running and that I'm sticking with the S&C but I need to tackle the weight. Stood on the scales this morning and I was pretty pissed off! Nice little stretch coming in the evenings and it was good to start a run after work with a bit of daylight left, got 9.2 miles done around Salthill nice and easy.

Off to London for two days before another assault on that pig of a session, the 5,4,3,2,1

TbL

With my renowned perceptive skills, I'm picking up a certain negative vibe surrounding this workout. Drop it. Not the workout, the vibe. It's just another session. There are easier and more difficult ones out there. The again if you hate it that much maybe you should try an alternative. I wonder if anyone's ever done it as a pyramid, say, 1,2,3,4,3,2,1 or what about one of those that KC, among others, does, where you run mixed MP/HMP pace? I did that once or twice, though not as long as KC does it, and I thought it was a great number. Just a thought.

Last week was a complete write off running wise, I was dealing with a couple of issues and only managed to get a measly 15 miles run for the entire week!

To make matters worse, my passive addiction to chocolate over indulgence morphed into an uncontrollable crystal meth like addiction to Bon Bons. Toffee original, strawberry, lemon and I'd even wipe the dust off those manky blue ones and scoff them. It got so bad I've to add another niggle to my list, a sore jaw!

I'm currently not in great shape, unless I take the Trump "alternative facts" approach whereby I'm in elite athlete nick :)

I need consistency and routine so I decided to cop on and get at least 5 days running in this week, mind the diet and get some decent sleep.

Monday: easy mile plod over rolling hills, all the while wondering why I get blown off plans and targets so easily!

9 miles

Tuesday: decided to try and do something that would shake the legs out and at the same time not be too taxing, so I decided to do MP miles reps. Did 5 x 1 mile off 90 seconds recovery, this should have been a lot easier than it was and I felt like I was blowing Bon Bons out my arse like a kids pellet gun.

10.5 miles

6.43, 6.54, 6.43, 6.53 & 6.45

TbL

Are you working off a plan at the moment C? or just deciding on runs as each day dawns?

I'm with you on the sugar overload but it's neither good for the body or the mind, it's poison so step away from the bon bons... (some sadistic person brought a tin of sweets into my office yesterday, I've manged to avoid them - so far!

Weak willed that's all that's wrong with ya, and Bon Bon's, could you find a more disgusting sweet to be addicted to!!!

Are you working off a plan at the moment C? or just deciding on runs as each day dawns?

I'm with you on the sugar overload but it's neither good for the body or the mind, it's poison so step away from the bon bons... (some sadistic person brought a tin of sweets into my office yesterday, I've manged to avoid them - so far!

Just making it up as I go at the moment Annie, trying to get a decent level of fitness back before I go back to Ecoli looking for yet another plan. I've entered Manchester marathon so I'm still trying to figure out what to target.
    Weak willed that's all that's wrong with ya, and Bon Bon's, could you find a more disgusting sweet to be addicted to!!!

I hadn't had a Bon Bon in probably 35 years until recently, got all candy nostalgic as I remember going into a small shop in Dominick Street and ordering 10p worth of sweets, the owner would scoop them out of a big container, weigh them and put them into a little paper bag for you! I also remember particularly liking Kola Kubes, Apple Drops and Strawberry Sherbets, is it any wonder I've lost half my teeth :)

Mmmmm Strawberry Sherbets.....fook ya Tang :)

TbL

Milk teeth all the way C, and I don't mean your denture issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

Just making it up as I go at the moment Annie, trying to get a decent level of fitness back before I go back to Ecoli looking for yet another plan. I've entered Manchester marathon so I'm still trying to figure out what to target.

I hadn't had a Bon Bon in probably 35 years until recently, got all candy nostalgic as I remember going into a small shop in Dominick Street and ordering 10p worth of sweets, the owner would scoop them out of a big container, weigh them and put them into a little paper bag for you! I also remember particularly liking Kola Kubes, Apple Drops and Strawberry Sherbets, is it any wonder I've lost half my teeth :)

TbL

Satin cushions & clove rocks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

TbL

You would have to include acid drops pear drops and cough drops to make that a comprehensive list . Then back to scholl to try eat them without being caught.

Strawberry sherberts were particularly nice haven't seen them in years.

Good luck with the sugar avoidance plans , I was quite good at it over Xmas but I have slipped since , trying to get back to a healthier diet myself atm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,789 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Pineapple Cubes. Now that's a sweet. And Apple Tarts - remember them? And Klipso Bars (much better than the recently re-released version).

If I didn't have a sweet tooth I'd have no teeth at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Lemon sherbets, Big Time bars, Pontefract cakes, Black Jacks, Fruit Salads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Big Time & Klipso bars?
    Surprised anyone has any teeth left after those. Nothing better to finish the job if you had a loose one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

oohh i loved the Big Time bars, and the Klipso bar and the Mint choc bars, loved Black jacks, and Ruhbard & Custard hard sweets, wasn't so keen on the fruit salad and I loved Topic bars & Marathon(snickers) :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    Lemon sherbets, Big Time bars, Pontefract cakes, Black Jacks, Fruit Salads.

I had to google Pontefract cakes... gross. I can't stand liquorice, it's probably the only food I don't eat. #singerfacts

I don't remember any of these :o I remember cherry coke :D but that's not a sweet...and lucky dips! And what was that stuff that used to pop & fizz on your tongue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

I don't remember any of these :o I remember cherry coke :D but that's not a sweet...and lucky dips! And what was that stuff that used to pop & fizz on your tongue?

Give us a hint. Did it just pop or .......answers on a postcards, please!

Pop Rocks???