If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Boggers Log

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Thurs: feckin ankles seemed to have swollen up on the short flight over to London, spent ages trying to massage them before getting a sloppy 4 mile nursing home trundle on the hotel treadmill.

Fri: had set the alarm to get up at 5am, intentions stronger than will power, cuddled the pillow and went back to sleep. Flew back to Dublin early evening and couldn't find my car. I rarely park in T1 short term and I spent over a hour looking for it, I was sure I was in the right place (was pretty sure I'd parked in "red D") and was starting to think my car was stolen! Some lad approached me and asked me was I ok, felt like a bit of a tool telling him I couldn't find my car. "Are you sure you're in the right block"? he asked. "What" says I. "This is block B, block A is to your left over there". Said thanks and scurried off a bit sheepishly to check A, sure enough my car was in "red D" block A.

Tisn't exactly obvious and I was really pissed off and to add insult to injury I'd to pay extra for my hour wandering around block B!!!

Had intended to do a superman change in the car and do an easy 5 miler but at this stage I'd have preferred to glaze my arse with a marinade and stick it in a tank of starving piranhas rather than run!

No run!

Sat: was considering doing a long run today and the Gort 8k on Sunday but a combination of family stuff and the foot still not being 100% meant I only did 7 miles at easy-steady and the Gort 8k was off the agenda.

7 @ 7.30

Sun: got 12 hours sleep last night but still felt lethargic when I got up! Was tempted to take the easy option and slob out on the couch for the day. Mrs TbL wanted the kids to get some exercise so I got the gear on and did a kids relay, they did a combination of cycling and running and one did a loop with me on an electric scooter! Pace was up and down and the foot behaved until mile 16 when it started to complain. Nice and blustery and there was a decent chill in the wind.

20 miles @ 8.34

Just under 55 miles for the week which was lower than I was hoping for but I was trying to keep the foot niggle at bay so all in all not too bad.

TbL

I might have said this before but you paint such pretty pictures!!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Mon: had to travel up to Dublin at short notice. Did 8 miles easy around Santry and the airport, don't remember much about this.

Tues: early morning start and a day trip to London meant I was in no humour to run when I got back to Dublin, ate a kit Kat and forced myself out for a 4 mile nursing home special.

Wed: had an early morning meeting that finished early so I decided to do a session in Santry demesne. Picked a session from Ecolis list and I knew this one was gonna be mentally and physically tough. 2, 3, 4, 3, 2 miles at PMP off half mile jog. The loops of the demesne are almost exactly a mile so I knew I'd 16 laps to look forward to, lovely! Only had time for a very short wu and cd so I was pretty much straight into it.

Glanced at the watch after the first half mile 5.56 pace. Ffs! The Dublin Garmin satellite mustn't be aligned or set properly, would explain some of ye Pale dwellers session paces :) Anyway this messed with my head a bit and the pace was all over the place for the first 2 miles rep. Jogged the recoveries at easy pace.

They were setting up for the Leinster schools cross country races when I arrived and as I was finishing the first girls race was starting. Seemed to be very well organised and a great turnout.

Kept bashing out the laps but by the time the last two mile rep came around I was fairly goosed. Was tired at the end but very happy with that session and the icing on the cake was that the foot and ankle didn't flare up.

17 miles for the day

Reps:

2 miles @ 6.36
    3 miles @ 6.42
    4 miles @ 6.42
    3 miles @ 6.46
    2 miles @ 6.46

TbL

Today: legs felt pretty good after yesterday's session so happy days. Hopefully the foot is on the mend too.

Only managed a treadmill 4 mile nursing home special today and I'll only get a couple of easy miles done tomorrow. Had hoped to get a 22 mile long run done on Saturday but a family skiing holiday means little to no running over the next week. Not ideal but I suppose it counts as cross training and I'll try and do a lot more S&C sessions! Sure the naked sauna should be good for getting the heart rate up :)

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Can expect a few avalanches in the Alps so with you bombing down the piste!!!!

tang1 wrote: »
    Can expect a few avalanches in the Alps so with you bombing down the piste!!!!

I'll go at your marathon pace should it'll all be nice and sedate ;)

TbL

I'll go at your marathon pace should it'll all be nice and sedate ;)

TbL

Jaysis don't go at your own marathon pace anyway, cause you'll get halfway down the slope and pull up with a fake injury then.......

Haha I'll need a couple of skiing holidays this year to get it right so!

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,893 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Careful on the slopes, maestro.

Lot of good stuff there lately, although you're being a bit antisocial on those NS Dublin runs. I know a few lads who could keep up with you. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

Glad to see you're keeping the training up on the hols C. TBL training

Ha, I wish my running gait was as good I've have gone sub 3 years ago!

My shoe contract with Nike got cancelled but luckily Jimmy Choo stepped into the breech :)

Showed the clan the video and they all had a good laugh.

I haven't run a step in a week and probably won't get out now till Sunday.

Back in Austria skiing so at least I'm not sitting on my fat ass!

TbL

Today: got back from Austria late last night so didn't get out for a run yesterday.

I was strongly tempted to keep up my no running streak today but 10 days of no running is far too much and really came home to bite me on the arse today. I really enjoy the skiing even if my skiing style makes my running style look positively Ethiopiaesque but I should have made more of an effort to get some runs in. I headed out the door thinking the legs would be fresh and full of bounce but I was completely and totally flat. Was surprisingly tight as well and I decided to drop back to 20 miles from the planned 23. Got to 10 miles at an average pace of 8.02 but never felt right and when I turned back at the 10 mile mark the pace really started to drop.

By mile 13 I was in a hoop and had to walk for a minute!!!! I struggled on to mile 16.34 where I came to a petrol station and put in a call to be picked up!

I can't remember ever not finishing a long run before, sure I've had crap ones but I struggled on and finished them out, today every step seemed to cause me to tighten up further.

Really disappointed and pissed off with that as I had thought I was coming into some form and I'd expected to be strong and fresh after the break and hoping to kick on again.

16.34 @ 8.39

TbL

16 miles in those heels is good going C!!! Your just back from a holiday chasing kids up and down the slopes of course your going to be a bit stale, cut yourself some slack. As much as you think you are, your not Superman!!!

Skiing is hard work, no chance your legs would be fresh after a week on the slopes and TBH I think you were a bit daft for attempting 23 miles after 10 days of no running :eek:

Welcome home but I hope you didn't leave your sense on the slopes..:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

First run back 23 miles? !?!
    Crazy!

RayCun wrote: »
    First run back 23 miles? !?!
    Crazy!

Ok, I hear what ye are saying and this might be completely naive but why is it crazy? Surely after a 10 day break I should be comfortably able to do 20+ miles at easy pace especially seen as I've be doing long runs fairly handy for the last few weeks/months, it's not as if I've been out injured and just come back and tried it?

I haven't been running off a structured plan on this cycle yet and have been making it up as I'm going along so it's probably time to get Ecoli to put some structure in place for me.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Mentally, I wouldn't be in the right place, and I don't think you were physically either. Different stresses in the last ten days. I'd never do a training run that long anyway, but I wouldn't do more than ten if I'd been off for a while

The answer to the question you asked was in your update, you were only able for 16. I'm with Ray on this one, max maybe you should have tried was 13-14 at a push. Crazy attempting 23 after 10 days slogging around in snow most of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

Skiing is hard work, no chance your legs would be fresh after a week on the slopes and TBH I think you were a bit daft for attempting 23 miles after 10 days of no running :eek:

You need your head examined, TbL, fastest way to injury is making the legs do miles like that after 10days of nothing. I picked a minor calf-strain last month by doing an LSR (of just 90mins :o) after10 days off. You're possibly more robust than myself but still .... Count yourself lucky you had to cut it short and take a lift home
    Ok, I hear what ye are saying and this might be completely naive but why is it crazy? Surely after a 10 day break I should be comfortably able to do 20+ miles at easy pace especially seen as I've be doing long runs fairly handy for the last few weeks/months.

Probably knackered after 10days skiing herding and organising children and keeping them from killing each other I would think??? Mental strain hits harder than physical effort sometimes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

You're a gas man. What marathon did you say that you are heading to in spring again? Manchester or Rotterdam?

FBOT01 wrote: »
    You're a gas man. What marathon did you say that you are heading to in spring again? Manchester or Rotterdam?

Manchester, AULDBOT, you thinking of coming?

TbL

Mon & Tue: took two rest days to try and see if I could shift the tightness in the groin and glutes. Was in London with work so did some stretching and got a swim in.

Wed: 6 miles easy, still tight but nowhere as bad as last Sunday.

Thur: wanted to do a session but left without my phone so didn't have access to Ecoli's session list. Ended up with an hour to spare so I just decided to do an hours tempo, over a hilly out and back route. Had it in my head that I should be hitting 6.30-6.40 (at worst) for this.

Wishful thinking! Still feeling some residual tightness but it seems like I'm going backwards, and I found this a horrendous struggle. Only managed 3 (marginal) MPM in the run which was pretty piss poor. Ended up with a shabby steady like run. Need to stop arseing around and get myself in proper shape.

Got new orthotics, the guy said that the old pair were well past their cremation date and that this is what has been causing my foot and ankle problems. Who knows, but I stumped up the money and fingers crossed that my toes will uncross :)

Over 8 miles @ 7.09 :(

TbL

3 posts to tell us the same thing, going senile??

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,578 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

3 posts to tell us the same thing, going sinial???

Have you lost your ability to count and spell?

adrian522 wrote: »
    Have you lost your ability to count and spell?

Ya have me on spelling, stupid predictive text. Same post showing 4 times to me!!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,578 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

4 posts not 3!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

TbL

I'll pass. Cheers :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

FBOT01 wrote: »

TbL

I'll pass. Cheers :)

If you'd done Manchester in 2014, you'd have gone sub 3 :D

Starring everyone else on the quest for a sub 3 (in the Abbey Theatre no less) :D

:) according to Mrs TbL it'd take a special kind of person to outbitter me!

Would have needed waders to run outside so deep were some of the puddles so I took the soft option and did 5 miles easy on the treadmill. Never get blisters but sure enough the new orthotics are different than the last ones and are irritating me slightly, and had a burst blister and a sock full of blood to deal with after this trot.

Starting to feel really sorry for myself now so I'm retiring to the couch with a toblerone the size of a step ladder :)

Was thinking of racing a 10k in Clonbur on Sunday but it'd only depress me further!

Tbl

:) according to Mrs TbL it'd take a special kind of person to outbitter me!

Would have needed waders to run outside so deep were some of the puddles so I took the soft option and did 5 miles easy on the treadmill. Never get blisters but sure enough the new orthotics are different than the last ones and are irritating me slightly, and had a burst blister and a sock full of blood to deal with after this trot.

Starting to feel really sorry for myself now so I'm retiring to the couch with a toblerone the size of a step ladder :)

Was thinking of racing a 10k in Clonbur on Sunday but it'd only depress me further!

Tbl

Come for a run with me, sure I'm only a sponsored walker according to you, I'll make you feel fast again!!!