Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Roads? Where we're going, we don't need roads

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,195 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Sun 15/1

2 hours, easy
    9.98 miles, at 12:02

Longest run since DCM.

Miscalculated the route. Went out as far as Loughshinny (for the seagulls :pac:), at about 1 hour 40 in and on the return I knew I was still a fair bit from home. Stopped the watched at the 2 hour mark at slowed to 13:40-14:00 or thereabouts. At least I know what not to do next Sunday and will save Loughshinny for double digit mileage. Tide was in, very few seagulls - no fishermen. Car park busy enough...maybe for the football match at Loughshinny AFC? I could still hear the shouting even when I was down at the harbour. Feet were a little tired in winding down...my ankle had a little discomfort during the warm up and run itself. Almost went into a ditch looking at a dog on the way back. Other points of note, ESB poles buzzing away - same yesterday.

Week 1: 23.33 miles
    Week 2: 22.88 miles
    Week 3: 29.39 miles
    Week 4: 27.96 miles
    Week 5: 30.87 miles

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,195 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Mon 16/1

Rest - slight niggle in the left leg as I was walking to the car park after work. Uh oh, I thought. Was fine. Probably from sitting all day.

Tues 17/1

60 minutes, very easy
    4.62 miles, at 12:59

Mild evening. Cyclist with a very faint front light.

Weds 18/1

65 minutes, moderate
    6.09 miles, at 10:41

Last minute change of plans. Had to run at home rather than after work, didn't get out until after 8pm. Slightly colder than Tuesday. Plastic chair in the field. Ran to the petrol station in Rush and returned. Had forgotten about the lack of street lighting on some stretches of the path. In contrast to the poorly light cyclist mentioned above, two out this night were well-lit.

Thurs 19/1

Gym - starting to get busy there.

60 minutes, very easy
    7.83km (4.86 miles) on the treadmill at 7.9. Not too bad. My mind kept me occupied and the time went by without much boredom.

Garmin keep emailing me to join their forums...

Fri 20/1

Rest. Quite tired from Thurs, tbh.

Sat 21/1

No interference from dogs. New runners were tested, grand. Will try them again on Tues. Definitely, definitely, definitely certain I saw a pony in someone's garden. :D :eek:

50 minutes easy, last 5 at tempo
    4.24 miles, at 11:47

Sun 22/1

Didn't get out until after 2pm due to a family thing. Opposite to Sat, dogs all the way in the second half. About 70 minutes in a German Shepherd and his friend followed me a bit - friendly, unlike the GS further back who goes ballistic if you go past. At the next house 3 other dogs, also on the loose (I'm losing patience with this...), started to say hello to them. Fortunately, they dropped back after a while, but yeah, back roads and unsupervised dogs is getting annoying. Temperature was starting to drop the longer I was out, particularly after about the 90 minute mark. Nippy enough once I was on the home stretch too. Other highlights were that the back roads were very quiet. Hay bails stacked 6 high.

2 hours, easy
    9.91 miles, at 12:07

Base Plan: Dec 19th - Jan 22nd

Week 1: 23.33 miles
    Week 2: 22.88 miles
    Week 3: 29.39 miles
    Week 4: 27.96 miles
    Week 5: 30.87 miles
    Week 6: 29.72 miles

Total: 164.15 miles

Week 1, Day 1 - 5k-10k plan

60 minutes, very easy
    4.6 miles, at 13:05

Realised at the car (start) that I didn't have my light armband. Had left it in the changing area. Fortunately, it was still there when I came back from the run. :) Then, at the shower, I copped I had left the towel in the car. Also, almost fell at the 40 minute mark. Good evening. :pac:

Weds 25/1

8x1 min hills (2-3 min rec)
    2.65 miles

Hopefully will be able to post a clearer version of the above when I've the technology side of things figured out.

Thurs 26/1

60 minutes, very easy
    4.74 miles, at 12:40

Fri 27/1

Rest from the tarmac - headed to the gym

Sat 28/1

25 minutes, tempo
    2.64 miles, at 9:30

Gym later on

Sun 29/1

I hour 45 minutes, easy
    8.76 miles, at 12:00

Decent bit of rain for the the warm up and about 15 minutes of the routine. Eased off after that, came back around the 70 minute mark. Pretty much dog free. Passed another runner 3 times due to where we crossed paths. Saw two robins close together, pretty cool.

Very happy with the new runners - this was the first full week in them. Sleep somewhat of a mixed bag, tbh. 4am boy racers were a great help there, thanks lads.

Hope everyone enjoyed the Raheny 5. :)

Week 1: 23.39 miles

Booked a place on the Inishbofin 10k coming up in May.

Mon 30/1

Rest

Tues 31/1

Warm up - 0.78 miles
    60 minutes, very easy
    4.58 miles, at 13:06

Quite a bit of water on the M50 this morning. Oh hey, there's still a little light upon leaving the office after 5. Small drops of rain about 50 minutes into the run, nothing to complain about. Some eejit on Newtown Park Avenue had no lights on his Scenic, got beeped. Hit the Road Jack on the radio this evening, I approve.

Tues 31/1

0.78 miles - warm up
    60 min, very easy
    4.58 miles, at 13:06

Weds 1/2

0.84 miles - warm up
    6x3 min CV w/3 min rec
    3.57 miles

Watch was dead, so had to wait until I got home to charge it up a bit after dinner. Not many other runners out after 10pm. I was winding down at this stage. First time using the lap button. ;) Technology. :pac:

If I'm reading the splits correctly(?!), I was generally hitting 8:23-40 ish for average pace. That's for numbers, 2, 4, 6, 8, 10 and 12..?

Splits | Time |Moving Time |Avg Pace |Avg Moving Pace
    13 |0:06.1|0:06|11:50 |11:44
    12 |3:01.0 |3:00 |8:36 |8:33
    11 |3:02.3 |3:00 |9:57 |9:50
    10 |2:58.2 |2:54 |8:40 |8:27
    9 |3:01.5 |3:00 |10:36 |10:30
    8 |3:19.5 |3:16 |8:41 |8:32
    7 |3:00.2 |3:00 |10:01 |10:00
    6 |3:00.5 |2:59 |8:35 |8:31
    5 |3:00.3 |2:53 |11:48 |11:19
    4 |3:02.5 |3:02 |8:33 |8:31
    3 |3:01.3 |2:56 | 11:44 |11:24
    2 |3:09.3 |3:07 |8:23 |8:17
    1 |0:01.3 |0 |0 |--

Thurs 2/2

60 min, very easy
    4.79 miles, at 12:38
    0.82 miles - cool down

Gym

Fri 3/2

Rest/dentist :cool:

Sat 4/2

0.87 miles - warm up
    5x5 min @ Threshold w/ 2 min rec
    3.68 miles

Enjoyed this. Glorious morning for it. Perfect conditions. Think I made a muck of using the lap button somewhere along the lines. And don't remember taking 3 minutes for recovery towards the end. Anyway.

Splits |Time | Moving Time |Avg Pace |Avg Moving Pace
    12 |0:06.6 |0:06 |11:30 |10:32
    11 |4:59.8 |4:55 |9:09 |9:00
    10 |0:00.8 |0 |7:17 |--
    9 |3:05.9 |3:03 |10:07 |9:58
    8 |5:04.5 |5:03 |9:04 |9:02
    7 |2:00.0 |1:57 -- |10:50 |10:34
    6 |5:03.3 |5:00 |9:06 |9:00
    5 |2:03 |2:02 |0.19 |11:04 |10:59
    4 |5:03.9 |5:00 |9:06 |8:59
    3 |2:02.9 |2:02 |9:53 |9:49
    2 |5:04.2 |5:04 |8:52 |8:52
    1 |0:00.6 | 0 |-- |--

0.84 miles - cool down

Gym

Sun 5/2

0.85 miles - warm up
    1 hour 45, easy
    8.62 miles, at 12:11
    0.83 miles - cool down

Brilliant morning for it. Bit nippy, but decent warmth as the sun started to shine. Met a group of runners about 45 minutes in.

Week 2: 31.07 miles (including warm ups, etc, from now on due to BG's comments)

Tues 7/2

Bit chilly out there. Started talking to myself out loud to rehearse work stuff for tomorrow.

0.78 miles - warm up
    60 minutes, very easy
    4.61 miles, at 13:01
    0.79 miles - cool down

Weds 8/2

Hey hey, it's bright after 5pm! Low ish temperatures again tonight.

0.79 miles - cool down warm up
    0.79 miles - cool down

Going to make this table shorter, so as not to have too many columns going on.

Split |Moving Time|Avg Pace
    1|1:01 |6:46
    2| 1:01 |6:35
    3| 0:59 |5:34
    4| 1:00 |6:15
    5| 1:01 |6:25
    6| 1:03 |7:01
    7| 0:53* |6:33
    8| 1:00 |6:34

*:o

Hitting these too heavy, or..?

Forgot to log Wednesday's mileage for the 8x1, etc. It was 3.59.

Thurs 9/2

0.83 - warm up
    60 minutes, very easy
    4.79 miles, at 12:42
    0.84 miles - cool down

Fri 10/2

Rest
    Booked DCM 2017 and the FD10

Sat 11/2

0.81 miles - warm up
    30 minutes, tempo
    3.13 miles, at 9:36
    0.90 miles - cool down

Legs a bit rusty half way through, tbh.

Gym. Chap next to me was Mr Flexible.

Sun 12/2

0.84 miles - warm up
    I hour 45 minutes, easy
    8.76 miles, at 12:00
    0.84 miles - cool down

Got a "we must be mad", from another chap out around farm country. Mucky shoes! Chilly again on the hands, well, fingertips even with gloves. About 30 seconds of tiny hailstones 55 minutes in.

Week 2: 31.07 miles
    Week 3: 30.02 miles

Little bit of apathy going on this week. Frustrated with work - that won't disappear until February is over.

Tues 14/2

0.80 miles - warm up
    60 minutes, very easy
    4.66 miles, at 12:53
    0.81 miles - cool down

Weds 15/2

0.84 miles - warm up
    6x2 min AP w/ 3 min rec
    2.97 miles
    0.82 miles - cool down

Table

Split|Moving Time|Avg Pace
    1|2:06 |7:46
    2|1:58 |8:17
    3|1:58 |7:55
    4|2:02|8:08
    5|1:37.8 |7:48
    6|1:57|7:57

Made a bit of a mess of one of the laps, pressed somewhere at 1:37, rather than two minutes. Well, that and going a bit too fast. Threw in a 28 second lap once I realised the error, haven't posted it above, it was at 8:22.

Thurs 16/2

0.83 miles - warm up
    60 minutes, very easy
    4.74 miles, at 12:40
    0.83 miles - cool down

Fri 17/2

Gym

Sat 18/2

0.83 miles - warm up
    4x6 min @ Threshold w/ 2 min rec
    3.58 miles
    0.85 miles - cool down

Table

Split|Moving Time|Avg Pace
    1|6:04 |9:06
    2|6:07 |9:04
    3|8:02 |8:55
    4|6:21|9:05

Sort of echoing Weds, only this time I overran lap three by 2 minutes, the final one a little too. Kinda knew it was happening as at the 22 minute mark I figured I was done with three, but given Wednesday's mess I thought I better keep going just in case.

Bit of drizzle out there, couple of other lads out. Daffodils starting to bloom. :cool:

Gym

Sun 19/2

0.84 miles - warm up
    70 minutes, easy
    5.83 miles, at 12:01
    0.82 miles - cool down

Ran past the same dog three times. He was not happy!

Week 4: 29.25 miles

Damp start to the week.

Tues 21/2

0.84 miles - warm up
    60 minutes, very easy
    4.69 miles, at 12:48
    0.83 miles - cool down

Misty rain. Bit of wind, but not the sort that cuts.

Weds 21/2

Hips a little sore this eve and also tonight.

0.80 miles - warm up
    3.22 miles

Hi hills :pac::pac:

Split |Moving Time| Avg Pace
    1|1:14 |6:39
    2|1:08.8 |6:35
    3|1:00 |6:07
    4|1:04 |6:36
    5|1:20 |6:45
    6|1:04 |6:34
    7|1:15 |7:15
    8|1:02 |6:42

0.80 miles - cool down

Heavier rain tonight - I could hardly see through my glasses. Stinkin' rain on the M50. My watch now won't turn on at all tonight. It was fine on the run. Put in on charge, went to make dinner...now zip. :(

Labelled the dates in the earlier post incorrectly.

Thurs 23/2

Watch was flat, no stats.

60 minutes, very easy. Well, I basically ran for 80 with the warm up. Very busy day in work due to conference prep. Had lunch, didn't get out running until about 6:35pm. This is the most empty stomach I've ever run on. :pac: Really enjoyed this one for some reason. Upbeat. My forearms were bloody cold, though.

Fri 24/2

Rest, no gym as I was wiped from a work conference. Home after 6 and wanted to fall asleep in the supermarket. :o

Sat 25/2

0.83 miles - warm up

Plan: 15 min tempo, 4 min rec, 10 min Threshold

Actual: 15:01 at 9:31 (4:02 at 10:24 rec) and 11:10, at 9:07

3.22 miles

0.89 miles - cool down

Some EOI race series thing going on locally this morning.

Sun 26/2

0.83 miles - warm up
    1 hour 45, easy
    8.68 miles, at 12:06
    0.83 miles - cool down

Little bit of wind out there, more so on the return stretch. Think flappy tent, or a bit of wind whilst out hiking, but nothing that could be counted as a nuisance. Cyclist chap was looking down as he was approaching me, did notice and apologise. Again, nothing was likely to happen as we weren't that close. Anyway, right hip is a bit tender tonight. :/

Also, on Thursday, I was a car passenger and recognised some of the DCM route, as in, the final 800m or so. Brought back memories. :cool:

Week 5: 26.46 miles - figure is off due to watch snafu. No gym this week due to conference, etc.

Tues 28/2

0.79 miles - warm up
    60 minutes, very easy
    4.77 miles, at 12:34
    0.84 miles - cool down

Damp evening. :pac: Started a little later than usual due to the rain. Couldn't find my rain jacket. Of course, it was in the boot...rain had largely eased. Kicked in at 50 minutes.

Weds 1/3

0.77 miles - warm up
    5x5 min CV w/ 4 min rec
    4.47 miles
    0.80 miles - cool down

Split| Time |Avg Pace
    1|5:20.7 |8:45
    2| 5:03.8 |8:49
    3| 4:45.7 |8:58
    4|5:19.6 |8:31
    5|5:50.3 |8:42

A little slow on the CV front, though I was a little too quick at times too. And I under or over-ran a few of these laps. :p Moving Time doesn't seem to have come through on this, so the above is er, just Time.

Thurs 2/3

0.80 miles - warm up
    60 minutes, very easy
    4.62, miles at 13:00
    0.83 miles - cool down

Hip a bit sore...post Wednesday issue.

Fri 3/3

Rest. Hip still a bit iffy. Decided not to bother with the gym just in case. Left shin was at me a little too.

Sat 4/2

Beautiful morning for a run.

0.85 miles - warm up
    3x8 min @ Thresholds w/ 3 min
    3.21 miles
    0.86 miles - cool down

Split| Moving Time |Avg Pace
    1|8:10 |9:01
    2| 7:50 |8:59
    3| 8:04 |8:58

Gym

Went to see Logan in the cinema. Recommended. Bit of a radio blitz this week for me, had to use the sanctuary of my car for a few of them. A few doubts creeping into my head with running and worry about the niggles.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

Bit of a radio blitz this week for me, had to use the sanctuary of my car for a few of them. A few doubts creeping into my head with running and worry about the niggles.

Don't know why the doubts, but have to say I have never seen anyone follow a plan to the letter the way you do. Was looking forward to seeing the outcome.

What's a "radio blitz" :confused:

Interviews for work (spokesperson, sometimes).

Sun 5/3

Overcast Sunday.

0.82 miles - warm up
    1 hour 45 minutes, easy
    8.71 miles, at 12:06
    0.83 miles - cool down

Have to look into my Vo2 as that's coming up on Tues. Calculator appears to be down.

Week 5: 26.46 miles
    Week 6: 33.97 miles

Mon 6/3

Rest. So much for work being less busy after February...

Tues 7/3

0.81 miles - warm up
    60 minutes, very easy
    4.57 miles, at 13:15
    0.78 miles - cool down

Work - busy, but daffodil central which helps on the aesthetics. Two laps of the usual route tonight. Found a Leap card on the path on the second leg. Going to post it back to the office. M50 was very wet on the way home. Have been pestering folks in the graduates thread about training paces. Talked to myself a few times on the run too. :pac:

Weds 8/3

0.82 miles - warm up
    10x 90 seconds @ Vo2 w/2 min rec
    3.69 miles, at 13:15
    0.81 miles - cool down

Vo2/VDOT (8:05) calculated thanks to Myles and BG.

As usual, a little longer than 90 seconds on some of these. And towards the end I sort of lost count, figured I needed one more. Correct. One or two of these were on hills (OK, OK). Sleep not so great this week. Step away from the backlit screen...

Split |Time |Avg Pace
    1|1:36.7 |7:35
    2|1:53.1 |8:00
    3|1:52.3 |8:31
    4| 1:28.2 |8:01
    5|1:34.8 |8:10
    6|1:48.8 |8:22
    7|1:47.9 |8:36
    8|1:42.1 |8:17
    9| 1:24.1 |8:07
    10 |1:30.9 |8:07

Thurs 9/3

0.84 miles - warm up
    60 minutes, very easy
    4.73 miles, at 12:41
    0.79 miles - cool down

Fri 10/3

Gym
    Job application

Sat 11/3

0.81 miles - warm up
    30 min, tempo
    3.16 miles, at 9:31
    0.84 miles - cool down

Gym

Sun 12/3

0.84 miles - warm up
    1hr 45, easy
    8.74 miles, at 12:02
    0.84 miles - cool down

Couple of ESB vans out on the back roads. No rest for those lads.

Week 7: 33.07 miles

Half way through the plan now. :eek: Still doing the job application. Hip a little better this week, but still sore now and then.

Just reading up on Neady's adventures and also what happened to tang1 over in Barcelona today.

Mon 13/3

Rest. Leg a bit sore whilst driving to work (towards the second half of the commute), same leg as the hip niggle.

Tues 14/3

0.92 miles - warm up
    60 minutes, very easy
    4.65 miles, at 12:57
    0.82 miles - cool down

Small update as today is all about Rescue 116. Unimaginable. :(

Weds 15/3

0.80 miles - warm up
    5x3 min AP w/ 3 min rec
    2.98 miles
    0.81 miles - cool down

Split |Time |Avg Pace
    1|3:03.7 |8:20
    2|3:15.4 |8:19
    3|3:11.8 |8:22
    4|3:02.7 |8:19
    5|3:35.5 |8:27

Thurs 16/3

0.82 miles - warm up
    60 minutes, very easy
    4.73 miles, at 12:43
    0.84 miles - cool down

Fri 17/3

Rest. Bit wet for the local parade.

Sat 18/3

0.84 miles - warm up
    2x12 min @ Threshold w/ 4 min
    3.09 miles
    0.86 miles - cool down

Split |Time |Avg Pace
    1|12:03|9:05
    2| 12:11|9:00

Gym

Became Chair of a thing. :eek: Not sports related. Quite a few emails to deal with already and a test of my organisation skills for stuff later this year.

Sun 19/3

0.85 miles - warm up
    70 minutes, easy
    5.87 miles, at 11:56
    0.86 miles - cool down

Bit drizzly out there. Fella in a 2015 DCM shirt with headphones*, out the back roads...*would not pass BG's scrutiny. :pac: Sundays are starting to reduce now, no more 1 hour 45 minutes sessions in the plan. Wednesdays and Saturdays are where the craic is.

Week 8: 29.74 miles

• Registered Users Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

You're doing super well on this plan TBO, you're some man to stick to the plan :) It'll pay dividends no doubt.

Thanks, Neady. :) Not sure where this log will be a year from now. Hopefully still going.

Mon – rest. Asked the Inishbofin 10k people about mileage markers.

Tues 21/3

Tues – Daffodils do not like the morning frost. Saw a Ferrari and also 4 ambulances in the space of about 10 minutes. Cold evening compared to recent weeks.

0.81 miles - warm up
    60 minutes, very easy
    4.66 miles, at 12:58
    0.77 miles - cool down

Weds 22/3

Colder. Wetter. Had a slice of tea brack afterwards. Said bollocks out loud due to a watch issue. :o The usual thing I do on Wednesdays, over and under run some of these things! Nodded to a few other runners. None responded. Only get a response where I live, hmph. Accident on the M50, about 3 fire appliances and other vehicles responding.

0.81 miles - warm up
    8x2 min CV w/ 2 min rec
    3.45 miles, at 12:57
    0.83 miles - cool down

Split| Time | Avg Pace
    1 |2:40.4 |9:00
    2 |2:13.7 |8:42
    3 | 1:39.4 |8:37
    4 | 2:11.0 |8:34
    5 |2:54.9 |8:49
    6 | 2:08.9 |8:57
    7 |2:05.9 |8:37
    8 | 2:17.6 |8:26

Thurs 23/3

Rest. Had to swap Thurs and Fri around due to volunteering stuff.

Itchy eyes. :mad:

Fri 24/3

0.85 miles - warm up
    60 minutes, very easy
    4.73 miles, at 12:41
    0.83 miles - cool down

Sat 25/3

Itchy eyes, again.

0.86 miles - warm up
    60 minutes, tempo
    3.16 miles, at 9:31
    0.86 miles - cool down

Gym. Weather too good to be in the gym.

Sun 26/3

0.83 miles - warm up
    90 minutes, very easy
    7.47 miles, at 12:03
    0.83 miles - cool down

Very pleasant out there. Muck on the road generally dry. Fields too. Minimal contact with dogs. Couple of cyclists out and about. Legs and hip generally OK this week. Right leg still a bit sore when I reach junction 12 on my commute. May have to travel to a funeral tomorrow/Tues. If so, will bring running gear, or may just have to let Tues go.

Week 9: 30.94 miles

Tues 28/3

0.81 miles - warm up
    60 minutes, very easy
    4.66 miles, at 12:53
    0.82 miles - cool down

Holy evening sunshine, Batman! Warm enough in the car park after work.

Weds 29/3

0.81 miles - warm up
    7x3 min CV w/ 2 min rec
    3.90 miles
    1 mile - cool down

Split|Time|Avg Pace
    1|3:05.3 |8:35
    2|3:05.9 |8:29
    3|3:21.3 |8:27
    4|2:57.5 |8:32
    5|2:22.5 |7:55
    6|4:00.0 |7:59
    7|2:56.6 |8:14

The usual Weds thing, press the lap button too early somewhere along the lines. Lap 5. Tried to make up for it with 0:52.8 at 7:44. Anyway...CV times mostly OK for 1-4. Decided on the cool down to change the warm up/cool down to 1 mile each for evenness. :pac: Sunny again. Did the run, showered, then a family meal thing, breathalysed on the drive home. Didn't drink, obviously.

Thurs 30/3

1 mile - warm up
    60 minutes, easy
    4.75 miles, at 12:38 (too slow, technically)
    1 mile - cool down

Fri 31/3

Rest
    Gym

Sat 1/4

1 mile - warm up
    4, 3, 2, 1 min @ (Thres/CV/AP/Vo2) paces w/ equal recovery
    2.04 miles
    1 mile - cool down

Split|Time|Avg Pace
    4 @ Thres|4:08.4 |8:48
    3 @ CV|3:07.8 |8:21
    2 @ AP|2:07.3 |7:59
    1 @Vo2|1:13.2 |7:12

4 OK. 3 OK, a little too quick. 2 same as 3, too quick. 1 too fast altogether.

Gym

Sun 2/4

1 mile - warm up
    90 minutes, easy
    7.46 miles, at 12:04
    1 mile - cool down

Sunny and pleasant. Smell of leeks from the fields. Rally bikes about the only thing disturbing the peace.

Week 10: 32.25 miles

Tues 4/4

60 min, very easy
    4.59 miles, at 13:05
    Warm up/cool down - 2 miles

Bit headachey in the office in the afternoon. Felt better after the run. Not sure if this was seasonal allergies crap or the cold I can't shake. Also, nature report - a squirrel jumped out from some railings and scurried up a tree, just ahead of me. :D

Weds 5/4

6x2 min @ Vo2 w/2 min rec
    3.07 miles
    Split |Time |Avg Pace
    1|2:07.9 |8:20
    2|2:06.7 |8:02
    3|2:01.3 |8:05
    4|2:01.2 |8:15
    5|2:00.5 |7:58
    6|2:03.4 |8:06
    7|3:20.8|8:14

Don't ask why there's an over long 7th one in there, just y'know, Wednesday. :rolleyes: 5 is bang on target, iirc.

Right shin area was a little stingy. Noticed this during a long 1:1 meeting with my boss. Distracted me a little and was concerned it would act up in the run itself. Fortunately not.

Thurs 6/4

60 min, very easy
    4.64 miles, at 12:56

Fri 7/4

Rest

Sat 8/4

3x8 min @ Thresholds w/ 3 min
    3.19 miles
    Split |Time |Avg Pace
    1|8:12.2 |9:10
    2|7:56.9 |9:08
    3|8:07.1 |9:11

Counted 6 cars with kayaks on roof racks heading out the Skerries Road. They had the right idea. Fine morning. Run itself was OK, though I preferred Weds, tbh.

Gym

Sun 9/4

80 min, easy
    6.68 miles, at 11:59

Got out before 9. Went past 7-8 other people out running shortly after the warm up. Didn't encounter them again, looked like they were in serious mode. Weather - morning haze in effect. Took me a few miles to remember that word, haze. As it wasn't mist or a fog - haze! Around mile 3 is where the sun started to peel it back, briefly. Then it was dull again. No rally bikes this week.

Week 10: 32.25 miles
    Week 11: 32.17 miles

Tues 11/4

60 min, very easy
    4.64 miles, at 12:56

Morning commute was easy, far less traffic with the schools being off. 2 pedestrians on the M50 on the way home. Sunshine and shades for the run. That didn't last long and things became a little chilly. 'Very easy' feels quite dull at this stage. Home around 8pm, local running crew were out and about.

Weds 12/4

Warm up - 1 mile
    6x4 min CV w/ 2 min rec
    2.66 miles
    Cool down - 1.24 miles

Split| Time |Avg Pace
    1|4:14.7 |8:45
    2|4:01.6 |8:47
    3|4:14.4 |8:46
    4|4:13 |8:29

Weather better than Tues. Puncture on the way home. Tired! Easter break may be cancelled, will know tomorrow.

My 110% pace for the tail end of this coming Saturday is 7:39. :cool: