Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hail To The Chief (Read Mod Warning In OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭signostic

Any truth in the rumour that Trump watched Fr Ted`s acceptance speech as an inspiration for his own inaugural speech on Friday :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭B0jangles

Interesting piece in the UK Independent about the experiences of people in Scotland who refused to sell their property to facilitate the Trump golf resort there; extortion and bullying were the preferred tactics of Trump apparently.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/americas/donald-trump-inauguration-protests-what-life-like-donald-trump-presidency-what-to-expect-from-trump-a7534736.html
    “They [Trump’s contractors] put up this fence, in the process taking out a power line and blacking out about 10 houses for three or four hours, and sent us the bill - for £2,800, half what they said was the total £5,600 cost of the fence.

“I priced the materials. The fence would have cost £800. We have completely ignored the bill.”

He added: “The argument was that the boundaries of our property were in the wrong place, part of our land wasn’t our land, it was theirs, and the back wall of the garage was on their property etc.

“So their fence was going to be the new boundary – even though the fence they were replacing was a Government-built fence, put up by the Government, in the mid-1950s, to reflect what was in the title deeds when our old coastguard station first became an independent building.

“I know whose set of drawings I would trust.”

The year after erecting the fence, said Mr Milne, “They built an earth bank around us, 6m (20ft) high, 70m (230ft) in length, on the north and west side, within a metre of the boundary of our property.”

Mr Milne said the sea views he and his wife had enjoyed from their living room were blocked, as they were when the earth bank was replaced by a load of 20ft-25ft high mature sitka spruce conifer trees.

Although, Milne added, “You don’t plant sitka spruces in a salt atmosphere right next to the sea. After about a year and a half the first trees died and had to be replaced by a second lot – which are now definitely failing too. We can see the sea through the gaps in the trees.”
    When John and Susie Munro first moved into their house 34 years ago, their two sons could stroll to the beach or play in the garden against a backdrop of uninterrupted views over fields and dunes to Aberdeen.

Now, they told The Independent, the view is obstructed by a 15ft high earth wall, and the stroll to the beach is blocked by a custom-made gate erected just outside their garden.

“It used to be secluded, a great place to bring up kids,” said Mr Munro, 70, a retired trawlerman and oil rig worker. “You could see for nine miles. Now you can only see for about 30 yards, and then there’s the bund [earth wall].

“He [Trump] will trample over anybody to get what he wants.”

So incredibly spiteful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

If true, surely that's all sorts of illegal?

(and yes, I understand that rich people can afford to bog down poorer people in legal quagmire for years until they lose the rag/die/give up)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,088 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

Jelle1880 wrote: »
    I just saw the hearing for Betsy DeVos, Trump's Education nominee.

That was horrible to watch. She'll be directly responsible for handling the massive amounts the government pumps into education, student loan programs, grants, scholarships,... and she has no experience in any of that. At all.

And she just sat there with this dumb grin on her face, answering 'I do not' whenever she was asked if she has previous experience, knowing full well it's all protocol and she'll get the job anyway.

She's also the sister of the founder of Blackwater, who is now advising Trump on security matters :pac:

Al Franken was glorious to watch.

The swamp is truly drained.

As you say its all just protocol and rubberstamping but at least they give the veneer of actually caring. Unlike here where any old eejit gets a job simply because of ...whatever happens to be the reason.

Over there you have to at least sweat a bit (before of course laughing it all off and going on your merry way!)

If true, surely that's all sorts of illegal?

(and yes, I understand that rich people can afford to bog down poorer people in legal quagmire for years until they lose the rag/die/give up)

If Scottish law is like Irish law then I think you have no legal entitlement to have your view preserved so maybe it's legal for Trump to build the earthwalls on his own property that just coincidentally completely block these people's view of the sea - legal but also nasty, bullying and spiteful. Also Trump has a long history of using the legal system to crush opponents who don't have the money to pursue actions for as long as he can.

'failing' NY Times report on the same set of events:

https://www.nytimes.com/2016/11/25/world/europe/donald-trump-scotland-wall.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭BabyCheeses

If he is writing his own speech does that mean it will only be 140 characters long? I don't think he is capable of much more than that, or his supporters capable of understanding that much information.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

If he is writing his own speech does that mean it will only be 140 characters long? I don't think he is capable of much more than that, or his supporters capable of understanding that much information.

It means you should get out the popcorn and keep refreshing Twitter for reactions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭Trent Houseboat

140 character prepared statement about how honoured he is.

20 minute rant about how right he is about everything and how bad CNN, Alec Baldwin and the CIA are.

30 minute ad for his tacky hotel down the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,394 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

Actually, I was only thinking to myself today that people who use Twatter and Faecesbook should have their right to vote removed. Just a thought for when I assume power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭Skullface McGubbin

Who'd have thought it. For years, he was known as "yer man from the Apprentice" and from tomorrow and beyond, he will be known as the 45th President of the United States.

What an interesting time to be alive.

Actually, I was only thinking to myself today that people who use Twatter and Faecesbook should have their right to vote removed. Just a thought for when I assume power.
    Do you want to return to the days when only property owning males over 21 could vote?
    That would be similarly discriminating to the population.

This doesn't sound like a slow-motion train crash at all, at all

https://twitter.com/waltisfrozen/status/821941387197153280/photo/1?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw

DdUNTTq.jpg

The only glimmer of hope is that they probably can't get round to doing the really heinous stuff until they have an actual administration.

As a follow-up, a Trump candidate for the supreme court is a guy called William H. Pryor jr. who is extreemely anti gay rights and anti abortion

How anti-gay?

He wants make it illegal for gay people to have sex.
    One of Donald Trump’s prospective picks for the Supreme Court believes gay people should be prosecuted for having sex because they are not protected by the constitution.

While serving as Alabama’s Attorney General in 2003, William H Pryor Jr wrote a legal brief in defence of a Texan law – later struck down by the Supreme Court – which criminalised consensual gay sex.

He compared it to “polygamy, incest, paedophilia, prostitution, and adultery” and said the Alabama court had “never recognised a fundamental right to engage in sexual activity outside of monogamous heterosexual marriage, let alone to engage in homosexual sodomy”.

“Such a right would be antithetical to the ‘traditional relation of the family’ that is as old and as fundamental as our entire civilisation”, he added.

But he also said that anal sex between heterosexual partners was acceptable because it was not as bad as homosexual sex.

He explained: “Texas is hardly alone in concluding that homosexual sodomy may have severe physical, emotional, psychological, and spiritual consequences, which do not necessarily attend heterosexual sodomy, and from which Texas’s citizens need to be protected”.

He claimed that people did not have the right to engage in whatever consensual sex they liked behind closed doors because “homosexual sodomy has not historically been recognised in this country as a right; to the contrary, it has historically been recognised as a wrong. It is not a fundamental right”.

Yup.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/americas/us-elections/donald-trump-president-supreme-court-gay-rights-abortion-william-h-pryor-a7422416.html

Do you want to return to the days when only property owning males over 21 could vote?
    That would be similarly discriminating to the population.

Only white ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,833 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Jelle1880 wrote: »
    I just saw the hearing for Betsy DeVos, Trump's Education nominee.

That was horrible to watch. She'll be directly responsible for handling the massive amounts the government pumps into education, student loan programs, grants, scholarships,... and she has no experience in any of that. At all.

And she just sat there with this dumb grin on her face, answering 'I do not' whenever she was asked if she has previous experience, knowing full well it's all protocol and she'll get the job anyway.

She's also the sister of the founder of Blackwater, who is now advising Trump on security matters :pac:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mc2n9uacQq4

Al Franken was glorious to watch.

The swamp is truly drained.

I watched the video and on a side note... Oh yeah. Tim Kaine. I forgot about him :)

Only white ones.

So not Trump? :D

B0jangles wrote: »

https://twitter.com/waltisfrozen/status/821941387197153280/photo/1?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw

DdUNTTq.jpg

The only glimmer of hope is that they probably can't get round to doing the really heinous stuff until they have an actual administration.

As a follow-up, a Trump candidate for the supreme court is a guy called William H. Pryor jr. who is extreemely anti gay rights and anti abortion

How anti-gay?

Yup.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/americas/us-elections/donald-trump-president-supreme-court-gay-rights-abortion-william-h-pryor-a7422416.html

I always wonder how these people would like this to be enforced. Police kicking down the door of every house containing two or more males? Profiling of single males? "He looks a bit gay, let's get the docs to examine him for evidence of anal sex."

Only white ones.
    Goes without saying.

And there's even more really really terrible news - the republican controlled congress is moving to remove federal protection from publically owned land, like the national parks :(

https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2017/jan/19/bureau-land-management-federal-lease
    In the midst of highly publicized steps to dismantle insurance coverage for 32 million people and defund women’s healthcare facilities, Republican lawmakers have quietly laid the foundation to give away Americans’ birthright: 640m acres of national land. In a single line of changes to the rules for the House of Representatives, Republicans have overwritten the value of federal lands, easing the path to disposing of federal property even if doing so loses money for the government and provides no demonstrable compensation to American citizens.

At stake are areas managed by the Bureau of Land Management (BLM), National Forests and Federal Wildlife Refuges, which contribute to an estimated $646bn in economic stimulus from recreation on federal lands and 6.1m jobs. Transferring these lands to the states, critics fear, could decimate those numbers by eliminating mixed-use requirements, limiting public access and turning over large portions for energy or property development.

According to the Outdoor Alliance, US public land is the government’s second largest source of income after taxes. In addition to economic stimulus in outdoor activities, federal land also creates revenue through oil and gas production, logging and other industrial uses. According to the BLM, in 2016, it made $2bn in royalty revenue from federal leases.

I presume the majority of the electorate are in favour of this?
    Despite the Republican message that Washington has overstepped in designating national parks and monuments, a 2016 study found that 95% of the American public believes that National Parks are worth protecting and 80% said they’d be willing to pay higher taxes to do so.

“Western Republicans that are perpetuating the idea are very well funded by the oil and gas industry during their campaign,” Rowsome said. “It’s special interests wielding power for an agenda that will advance their goal. Nearly 90% of BLM lands are already open, but they can’t stop trying to get more.”

A 2016 Colorado College survey of seven western states found that 60% of voters rejected both the sale of public lands to states and giving states control without sale.

In 2012, Arizona voters struck down a proposal two pieces of legislation that would have turned over federal land to the state, including one that claimed the Grand Canyon as state land.

Apparently they aren't, but the oil and gas companies DO want it and he who pays the piper calls the tune.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭BabyCheeses

DdUNTTq.jpg

How anti-gay?

Yup.

But I was told Trump supported LGBT people.

WHAT ABOUT THE FLAG????? He held it up, proof that LGBT people would have the best rights thanks to Trump. You can't expect me to believe that the republicans would do anything that would harm them.

DdUNTTq.jpg

How anti-gay?

Yup.

I love the stoner at the end of this.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭david75

So Donald once again blatantly lying and or assuming we're all stupid.

Donald Trump just said his cabinet had "the highest I.Q. of any cabinet."

"We have by far the highest I.Q. of any cabinet ever assembled... We have Betsy Devos... She did terrific. Very easy subject. It's called education. Very, very easy."

https://www.facebook.com/TheRawStory/videos/10155001642287235/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,499 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

david75 wrote: »
    So Donald once again blatantly lying and or assuming we're all stupid.

Donald Trump just said his cabinet had "the highest I.Q. of any cabinet."

"We have by far the highest I.Q. of any cabinet ever assembled... We have Betsy Devos... She did terrific. Very easy subject. It's called education. Very, very easy."

https://www.facebook.com/TheRawStory/videos/10155001642287235/

She was an embarrassment at her confirmation hearing. Clearly had zero idea about public education and showed even less interest in it. Her family has contributed over $200m to GOP coffers over the years so I guess we know how much it costs to get a cabinet job in the USA. As for Rex Tillerson, what he knows about diplomacy could be written on a stamp yet he's Secretary of State. A cabinet of unqualified millionaires and billionaires. So much for draining the swamp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Grayson wrote: »

FAKE NEWS!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

There's not long between the inauguration and tomorrow night for Donald to get his staff to enact some Prima Nocta legislation. Although I suppose there are 28 of them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭david75

Oh he's organising. Wonderful

Behind the scenes...Bannon "interested in connecting the Trump apparatus to leaders of populist movements around the world, esp. in Europe"

david75 wrote: »
    Oh he's organising. Wonderful

Behind the scenes...Bannon "interested in connecting the Trump apparatus to leaders of populist movements around the world, esp. in Europe"

America.... Still trying to export the ****tiest democracy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

I have to say, I'm loving these hearings for every nominee of his cabinet. As much as they are simply charades because those people will still get the positions, it's great to see senators go hard on them.

Steven Mnuchin, Trump's nominee for Treasury 'forgot' to declare about 100m in assets and his role as a director of an investment fund located in the Cayman Islands.

https://www.nytimes.com/2017/01/19/us/politics/steven-mnuchin-treasury-secretary-nominee-assets-confirmation.html?_r=0

Her question about his foreign debt is interesting in how that may be used to have leverage over him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Anyone think he'll be assassinated before he gets to be president?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,872 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Anyone think he'll be assassinated before he gets to be president?

Not before but I think there will be a constant cross hair on him for many years to come