Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,168 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Slattsy wrote: »
    How did Jack Mc play gorm ?

He didn't really stand out to me if I am honest.

Maybe, it was because the game was so bitty and lacked any decent flow most of the time (especially in the first half).

EDIT: I just looked up the Irish Times site and they used McCaffery in thier headline to say he made a goal-line clearance near the end of the game. :D

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/jack-mccaffrey-denies-dublin-with-goal-line-clearance-as-ucd-triumph-1.2933752

But, I think it is clickbait personally!

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭howiya

He didn't really stand out to me if I am honest.

Maybe, it was because the game was so bitty and lacked any decent flow most of the time (especially in the first half).

EDIT: I just looked up the Irish Times site and they used McCaffery in thier headline to say he made a goal-line clearance near the end of the game. :D

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/jack-mccaffrey-denies-dublin-with-goal-line-clearance-as-ucd-triumph-1.2933752

But, I think it is clickbait personally!

The journal also used him in their headline and they're known for the clickbait so we'll take your word for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭EICVD

Did McCaffery not make the 'goal line' block from Garry Sweeneys shot at the end of the first half? Would of been only 2 in it at HT if it went in. Personally think Cunningham messing up the goal chance early enough in the 2nd half is what really cost us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

I had to work late last night and I missed this.

But I've read that too. IMO It can be difficult sometimes to see the county lads shine at games, I'd often go to a club game and leave with a lot of respect for the selectors.

One thing though now, you can IMO tell from the build of the guys that are ready to rock.

If for example Niall Walsh, he's looking good this year, just as McCaffery , Mannion and Costello all did before they had their more impressive sessions. There is a lean build that you see on the guys that don't fade quickly, for example Kevin Mac or Buckley for Kerry don't have it but are still great players, but for up and coming guys it's a good indicator. I noticed that a lot of the DCU lads at the weekend were that chunky build, the Roscommon lads say compared to the Mayo lads, you can see a lean hardness in the Mayo lads that the other lads in their neck of the woods don't have and it shows it's worth come September.

IMO from Dublin's perspective the guys who came out of the recent leagues and O'Byrne cups have all had this advantage over the others around them.

For example Fennel didn't have it and didn't last the pace either even though he's a very effective player at club level and could imo have achieved more at county level under different conditions.

But it's something to look for at these games anyway. Final example, McHugh is on the verge but you'd still wonder does he need another year training at this level, or would he be a very good sub ? He certainly brings things together in attack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

Stoner wrote: »

But I've read that too. IMO It can be difficult sometimes to see the county lads shine at games, I'd often go to a club game and leave with a lot of respect for the selectors.

One thing though now, you can IMO tell from the build of the guys that are ready to rock.

If for example Niall Walsh, he's looking good this year, just as McCaffery , Mannion and Costello all did before they had their more impressive sessions. There is a lean build that you see on the guys that don't fade quickly, for example Kevin Mac or Buckley for Kerry don't have it but are still great players, but for up and coming guys it's a good indicator. I noticed that a lot of the DCU lads at the weekend were that chunky build, the Roscommon lads say compared to the Mayo lads, you can see a lean hardness in the Mayo lads that the other lads in their neck of the woods don't have and it shows it's worth come September.

IMO from Dublin's perspective the guys who came out of the recent leagues and O'Byrne cups have all had this advantage over the others around them.

For example Fennel didn't have it and didn't last the pace either even though he's a very effective player at club level and could imo have achieved more at county level under different conditions.

But it's something to look for at these games anyway. Final example, McHugh is on the verge but you'd still wonder does he need another year training at this level, or would he be a very good sub ? He certainly brings things together in attack.

TL:DR - Roscommon people are fat.

Big boned!!!

You know what I mean though. Your own M Murphy will probably be the last top class fat player in the GAA. The rest will be McHughs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Colin Corkery was the best big boned player I've seen in the flesh .. so much for the camera adding 10 pounds ;)

Funny I was thinking when I read this post that you could not get a bigger contrast between Fennell and Jack McCaffery.

It is like different horses on different ground.

I can see the paper's reasoning for putting Jack McCaffery in the headline as he is he glamour player, and creates the narrative.

They could hardly put some lesser known fella in the headline, it will not sell papers and get causal readers looking at it.

It makes me trust the press less though.

DoctaDee wrote:
    Colin Corkery was the best big boned player I've seen in the flesh .. so much for the camera adding 10 pounds

He was class alright , fantastic solo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

DoctaDee wrote: »
    Colin Corkery was the best big boned player I've seen in the flesh .. so much for the camera adding 10 pounds ;)

Vinnie Murphy man myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I'll see your vinnie and raise you a joe mcnally

The modern player is built like a racing snake alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

The Rossies are fat and the Mayo lot are lean famine victims? :eek:

Jesus Christ DD, what are you trying to start? The crowd whest of the Shannon, hate us enough as it is.

Anyway, what's the jackanory for Sunday? Even if we bate the Wexicans, DCU have to beat UCD, for us to progress, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Big boned!!!

You know what I mean though. Your own M Murphy will probably be the last top class fat player in the GAA. The rest will be McHughs

How many bleedin' sons are there?

Poor Mrs McHugh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

ProudDUB wrote: »

Jesus Christ DD, what are you trying to start? The crowd whest of the Shannon, hate us enough as it is.

Oderint, dum metuant

Bambi wrote: »
    Oderint, dum metuant

Favourite saying of Caligula no less. :D

I don't know how he wasn't knackered wandering up to slot over those frees.

He was as quick at 36 as he was at 26 :D

The Rossies are fat and the Mayo lot are lean famine victims? :eek:

Anyway, what's the jackanory for Sunday? Even if we bate the Wexicans, DCU have to beat UCD, for us to progress, right?

:O not me PD, the force is strong I'm not going to the dark side anytime soon. Are ya heading down to 'scorthy Sunday? I think all things considered I'll leave it so .. I think the OBC dream is over for this year! Kildares year again

The joys of preseason training

b44e3714bb70ae9721efd4bb2a215941.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Dubs got rub of the chalice today with DCU bating UCD.

Kildare next week in Newbridge.

A tempting trip.

Just in the door to the news we've a date with the Lillies - I'm nearly sure I groaned ...

Don't be like that now Doc!

Might go down, will be full house I'd say.

Hurlers need to draw or beat Wexford next Sunday to also go through to semi final.

Nearly ten years since the Wexicans beat us at senior level and you may be sure that Davy Fitz will be rubbing their noses in that over the next seven days.

"Fkn Dublin. Jaysus lads. 1798. The jackeens..." :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

He has them up and down Vinegar Hill every morning.

With pikes ...

DoctaDee wrote:
    Good day, compare the same fixture to this time last year.

Wasn't a bad game, Wexford smelled blood at the end but some keep ball and a lovely last score wrapped it up.

Thought the Wexford corner backs were decent.
    Their goal didn't reflect well on the keeper but the sun was in his eyes and it was hit low and hard but from far out. McHughs was nice

Now, now...don't be like that. We can't be playing Kerry and Mayo every day of the week.

Didn'we play them in a final in Newbridge, a few years back? T'was a really close game and we only bate them in the dying minutes. There was a big crowd and a great atmospshere. T'was great craic, for January.

Now, now...don't be like that. We can't be playing Kerry and Mayo every day of the week.

Didn'we play them in a final in Newbridge, a few years back? T'was a really close game and we only bate them in the dying minutes. There was a big crowd and a great atmopshere. T'was great entertainment, for January.

My chief memory of that day is asking someone "What club does that fella Fenton play for?"

It was his arrival. It was great game.

Ah yeah you always get a decent atmosphere in Newbridge - I have this thing in my mind that the pitch is small and scores are going over from everywhere, the last game going to et down there made for better entertainment than you could expect for January.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,826 ✭✭✭corny

Dublin reportedly close to completing Spawell deal

**** it anyway. ****ing southsiders.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

Spawell will be excellent, no trapsing across the border to PP:D