people with dogs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Pig ignorant view.
    This whole animal loving treat em better than you'd treat a fellow human being is a by product of the social media bandwagon where it's all chest beating from the supposedly higher branches of society.
    Most dog owners in my real life experiences are self centred idiots who don't give a toss for anyone else.

The irony!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Armchair Andy

KERSPLAT! wrote:
    The irony!!

Nah, just returning like with like. Generalisations are great!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

While that is an extreme example, I also like to be considerate of the people who dont like kids.

In my experience kids are far more of a nuisance and dirtier than any dog, be it in on public transport or elsewhere.

In my experience, some people should be banned from having either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,885 ✭✭✭Allinall

Why do people with dogs think everyone else should love dogs..

On a packed bus and some pr1ck with his mutt letting the dog sit up on the seat. After flipping he looked at me like i insulted his mother..

Hi OP.

How the f*ck did you come to the conclusion that as a result of your totally unprovoked and unnecessary "flipping", the dog owner thinks that everyone else should love dogs.

I'd love to hear your logic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,008 ✭✭✭✭kippy

RobertKK wrote: »
    Your pet dog gives you unconditional love, even if people on buses don't.

Its generally conditional.

Maybe that dog owner decided to put the dog on the seat beside him/her so it wouldn't block the isle.

That would be one big dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,692 ✭✭✭Stigura

Pig ignorant view.
    This whole animal loving treat em better than you'd treat a fellow human being is a by product of the social media bandwagon where it's all chest beating from the supposedly higher branches of society.
    Most dog owners in my real life experiences are self centred idiots who don't give a toss for anyone else.

And your opinion on " Cats Slaves " ....?

It is the height of ignorance for someone to have their dog on a seat on public transport.

But people now bring dogs into pubs and restaurants as if it's perfectly normal. Recently a person called into the office and brought their dog, as if they could bring him into the meeting or the receptionist would mind it. They were politely but firmly told to take the dog outside and call back another time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭Goya

I'd say most dogs are cleaner than most people
    Ah here. I love dogs by the way, but they have exposed buttholes and they don't always smell the best. I can understand someone not appreciating another passenger bringing their dog onto public transport.
    Grandeeod wrote: »
    I love Dogs. Loving and loyal creatures when treated right. What I detest are young couples with a dog, be they living together, engaged or newly married. The dog is some kind of fooking experiment for the day they have kids. From observation, the dog tends to be neglected in terms of its actual needs. Hardly walked. Fooked out the small garden when it doesn't suit the arseholes. Treated like a baby when it suits the arseholes and then cast aside once a human baby arrives.

I firmly believe that Irish women use dogs as some form of baby practise for the lads they are with.
    Why just Irish women? :confused:
    And you "detest" young couples having a dog? No way that any young couple with a dog might just... like having a pet dog?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,321 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Goya wrote: »
    Ah here. I love dogs by the way, but they have exposed buttholes and they don't always smell the best. I can understand someone not appreciating another passenger bringing their dog onto public transport.

And you "detest" young couples having a dog? No way that any young couple with a dog might just... like having a pet dog?

Unless of course you can teach them to wipe, does supermarkets sell dog toilet paper. :D

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Don't be confused. As I said, I based my post on my observations. I'm allowed to do that.

Grandeeod wrote: »
    Don't be confused. As I said, I based my post on my observations. I'm allowed to do that.

All you've observed are couples with dogs. You can't observe how well they do or do not treat them, unless you're living with them.

You made assumptions, people are allowed to comment on that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

Unless of course you can teach them to wipe, does supermarkets sell dog toilet paper. :D

Andrex. Duh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Ah here. I love dogs by the way, but they have exposed buttholes and they don't always smell the best.

Why are you smelling dogs buttholes?

• Site Banned Posts: 33 themagiconion

glenq wrote: »
    You're not wrong. Dogs are always licking their hoops, so they'd be clean as a whistle.
    Their tongues on the other hand......

You should never have a dogs tongue on either hand after they have cleaned themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,197 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Yeah it's a real issue for me bringing my kids out in public: what with them biting people, barking at joggers; dry humping other kids, sh1tting on football pitches and licking their testicles.

Yes must be about 1/2 of dog owners shouldn't have one.

They shouldn't be off a lead in a public park.

This - "They are harmless" - is bollix.
    Then this running over to you too.
    ****ting everywhere.

A neutering program and impounding if off lead - simple.

A large dog has terrorised our area for a few years.

But - the dogs in the park are main problem. Parks in Dublin are for games and for people - dogs go away , or be perfectly behaved and never off a lead that can move more than 3 / 4 yards.

I think adults who like dog or have one - just have people issues.

Agree above - these fools who have dogs as an image thing or kid replacement , serious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,422 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

glenq wrote: »
    You're not wrong. Dogs are always licking their hoops, so they'd be clean as a whistle.

Their tongues on the other hand......
    And yet, a lot of dog owners allow their dogs to lick their (the owners) faces. :eek:

I'm not mad about dogs or cats if they're anywhere around me but I'd never hurt them. I'd be extremely unimpressed if somebody let their dog jump up on me, even though I'm not afraid of them. I just don't like creatures being around me.

In the past, I've fed my ex's cat when she was working long shifts, and funnily enough, the cat seemed to prefer me to her, probably because I wasn't desperate for its affection. :pac:

I love how there's never any middle ground in AH.

You're either flawed because you don't like dogs, or flawed because you do.

• Site Banned Posts: 33 themagiconion

maybe the reason why some people 'hate' dogs, is possibly because their drug shipments have continuously been caught by these amazing sniffer animals. Some would be for this reason, but people that actually 'hate' dogs for seemingly no reason are people under my suspicion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Candie wrote: »
    You're either flawed because you don't like dogs, or flawed because you do.

Or only one person likes your joke. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭willmunny1990

It is the height of ignorance for someone to have their dog on a seat on public transport.

But people now bring dogs into pubs and restaurants as if it's perfectly normal. Recently a person called into the office and brought their dog, as if they could bring him into the meeting or the receptionist would mind it. They were politely but firmly told to take the dog outside and call back another time.

The height of ignorance? how exactly? maybe there wasn't many on the bus, plenty of empty seats available, why the issue? and dont harp on about cleanliness or hygiene because if that was a genuine gripe you wouldn't be on public transport in the first place, a lot worse than a dog I think we can all agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

maybe there wasn't many on the bus

There were many people on the bus. The OP described it as ram packed.

Earthhorse wrote: »
    There were many people on the bus. The OP described it as ram packed.

I was more speaking generally, as in why the sheer outrage expressed by a dog sitting on public transport, as if its dirty or something.

Fair enough if the bus was packed and he had it on a seat that could be given to a person, then that would be wrong.

The height of ignorance? how exactly? maybe there wasn't many on the bus, plenty of empty seats available, why the issue? and dont harp on about cleanliness or hygiene because if that was a genuine gripe you wouldn't be on public transport in the first place, a lot worse than a dog I think we can all agree.

I have to explain why a dog should not be on a seat meant to carry people?

I...don't know where to start really.

How about consideration for those in suits or work clothes, or who simply do not want to smell of dog for the day, and who may be next to take that seat? If a dog has to go on public transport, it can lie on the floor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭princess poppy

Hope the poor dog didn't catch any diseases from the bus ðŸ¶

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,134 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

seamus wrote: »
    I judge people who don't like dogs.

Tells you immediately that there's something wrong with them. That they have some kind of personality flaw.

I don't mean afraid of them, that explainable. I mean people who actually don't like dogs, to the point that they'll grimace when they see one or have a rant about them. It's just plain weird.

I certainly trust my dogs opinion of people. If they are wary of someone then I will be too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

seamus wrote: »
    I judge people who don't like dogs.

Tells you immediately that there's something wrong with them. That they have some kind of personality flaw.

I don't mean afraid of them, that explainable. I mean people who actually don't like dogs, to the point that they'll grimace when they see one or have a rant about them. It's just plain weird.
    I don't see it as a personality flaw. I think it has more to do with their capacity for caring. I know it's completely irrational but I don't trust people who hate dogs. Sure, bad people can love dogs but there is something weird about people who hate them.

To be honest, I suppose I feel that way about any person who hates a living create. To be clear, I mean hate and not merely strongly dislike.

Ooh, this irritates me no end!

I don't like dogs. I don't hate them as such, I've just never got the whole dog thing. Perhpas it's the constant barking I've had to put up with from neighbours dogs over the years, or maybe it's the endless dog sh*t I've trod in over the years, or maybe it's the crotch sniffing, or the constant p*ssing or the nasty, lingering dog smell that invades any house they live in....I don't know. I've just never taken to them.

It doesn't make me some kind of untrustworthy heartless monster who's incapable of love ffs!

I do, however, like cats, but it's open season on those poor critters. Disparaging cats is ok, disparaging dogs makes you some kind of a sociopath. I don't get the connection people make between liking one animal and not another and how that somehow defines you as a person - now that kind of thinking I find weird.

I have to explain why a dog should not be on a seat meant to carry people?

I...don't know where to start really.

How about consideration for those in suits or work clothes, or who simply do not want to smell of dog for the day, and who may be next to take that seat? If a dog has to go on public transport, it can lie on the floor.

If a dog is merely sitting on a seat your clothes aren't going to get covered in hairs when you sit down after it, same goes for smell.

In fact I bet the person sitting after never would of noticed a dog was ever there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,692 ✭✭✭Stigura

I don't like dogs ..... it's the crotch sniffing, or the constant p*ssing or the nasty, lingering dog smell that invades any house they live in....I don't know. I've just never taken to them.

I do, however, like cats, but it's open season on those poor critters.

Voila! There we have it, ye see? ;)

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 12,673 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Never trust anyone who doesn't like dogs. Never trust anyone your dog doesn't like.