Ticket Trout

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

? I realise that but it's hardly a national catastrophe that someone else got the tickets you wanted and are selling for a higher price

Not a catastrophe at all, telling people to watch them on YouTube is however, ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    Not a catastrophe at all, telling people to watch them on YouTube is however, ridiculous.
    It's a better alternative than writing disgruntled Facebook comments under an article on Facebook, or acting like people are incapable of thinking for themselves and expensive tickets should be made illegal. If there was no demand or profit being made, touts wouldn't have a business. I'm merely suggesting an alternative way to listen to your fav band when you don't have tickets, instead of calling for the act to be criminalised

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

It's a better alternative than writing disgruntled Facebook comments under an article on Facebook, or acting like people are incapable of thinking for themselves and expensive tickets should be made illegal. If there was no demand or profit being made, touts wouldn't have a business. I'm merely suggesting an alternative way to listen to your fav band when you don't have tickets, instead of calling for the act to be criminalised

You're just being contentious for the sake of it really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,043 ✭✭✭Berserker

Never touted a ticket myself and I have sold tickets at face value for some massive football games. U2 will release another date, we all know they will and there will be plenty of tickets go to round. As for touting, nobody is going to stop it. The papers will be gloating about the fact that people are buying all ireland tickets for hundreds of euro later this year. Touting seems to be ok when that happens.

• Administrators Posts: 56,584 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

dfeo wrote: »
    Should get up earlier and buy the tickets !! N'est pas ?? It's capitalism. Someone has a commodity that you want, swap money for the item. Win win.
    Nothing to do with getting up early and it's not capitalism either. It's exploitation.

It's just scumbags being scumbags.

• Administrators Posts: 56,584 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Go too gig's on my own most of the time as I don't want to buy extra tickets and then can't get rid off. If I didn't become a loner I would of not seen as many great gig's as I have (some people are afraid to go to the bathroom in a pub on there own lol)

Not a fan of touts, some are dodgy as **** and are not nice people. Never bought a touted ticket but at almost every gig/match i go too there are fellas there shouting 'anyone buying or selling tickets'.

I wonder are touts and people who sell the knock off merchandise affialied ???

The touts must sell the tickets eventually as there's never any empty seats in the arenas/stadiums ???

These lads are not always touts (though I'm sure some are), they're just trading tickets.

Say you have a spare ticket at face value of 50 quid. They might buy it off you for 30 quid and you may be happy to take that rather than stand around trying to get rid of it yourself. They'll then sell it on later to someone arriving late for 40 quid or face value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,151 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

I'd buy and sell my granny to make a few bob but I won't do the tout thing. Had two tickets for U2 but herself text to say she got them so cancelled the sale. Could surely have made a nice few bob on them but it's scummy. Only thing I would not try and make money on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,040 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Think Lennie Cohen had it right.

Max purchase? Two tickets. Names printed on them. Identify proof required on the night.

If you can't go, you send them back and get a full refund. They then go to the next people in the queue.

Simple. And very effective.

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭slavetothegrind

sadly it only happens because it brings extra profit to the artists and promotors.
    Otherwise they would all use one of the many systems which negate this ****.
    Ticketmaster provide the best revenue to the promotor/band. No fecks are given by these two after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,153 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

no concert or match is worth paying over the odds for (and thats from an avid event goer like myself)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

Td noel rock going to bring in a law to stop the touts. Yeah right..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,043 ✭✭✭Berserker

It's up for discussion pretty soon, this week, if I remember correctly. He can only enforce it within the RoI, so it is going to be limited. Fair play to him for actually trying but he won't stop it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,777 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Berserker wrote: »
    It's up for discussion pretty soon, this week, if I remember correctly. He can only enforce it within the RoI, so it is going to be limited. Fair play to him for actually trying but he won't stop it.

Next to useless when most touting happens online so virtually unenforceable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

Berserker wrote: »

Yeah forget about the people in ambulances outside overcrowded hospitals. This really is a major priority. !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭howiya

Yeah forget about the people in ambulances outside overcrowded hospitals. This really is a major priority. !

It's probably high on his list of priorities now that he has a nice TD salary and can afford to get to a few extra gigs but can't get tickets online...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

stuck my €150 early bird electric picnic ticket from 2013 on eBay with a buy it now price of €600 to judge demand and it was gone in a few hours! i was flat broke so that was great, though ebay/paypal took about €70 in fees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

though ebay/paypal took about €70 in fees.

b@stards !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭Hockney

enzo roco wrote: »
    You stupid fcking cnut*

* In Al Pacino's voice from Glengary Glenross.

Who eva told ya you could work with men?

Ya fkcing child

*Also in Al Pacino's voice from Glengary Glenross

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Chain Smoker

fryup wrote: »
    It was a few years back.. i bought tickets for Barbra Streisand's Castletown House concert

Ten years back, would you believe :(

Yeah though, what possessed you to think that would be one that'd have huge demand? That one even being held there on that scale utterly baffled me at the time, couldn't see where the market was for it it in Ireland at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I don't mind individual touts, it's the corporate and ticket suppliers touting that bother me.

We all know what Ticketmaster are up to with Seatwave. The FAI do the same thing with Abbeytravel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

what possessed you to think that would be one that'd have huge demand? That one even being held there on that scale utterly baffled me at the time, couldn't see where the market was for it it in Ireland at all.

it was billed as the high society event of the year...and rumoured as Streisand's last live performance in europe...so i was convinced it'd be a sell out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I don't have a problem with ticket touts. How is it different from any other business - buy something, stick a mark up on it and sell it at a profit.
    How is that different from Tesco, or your local car dealer, clothes shop - or any other business?

Yes it's a bit shítty if you can't get to see your favourite band, but lets remember - it's a fúcking band. Tesco make their money on the stuff you actually need to stay alive, not just pass an evening, or get from a to b!

It's an absolutely imaginary distinction to say touts are evil scum, but every other middle man is just trying to make a living. If you think the price they ask is too high, then don't pay it, problem solved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,040 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

I don't have a problem with ticket touts. How is it different from any other business - buy something, stick a mark up on it and sell it at a profit.
    How is that different from Tesco, or your local car dealer, clothes shop - or any other business?

Yes it's a bit shítty if you can't get to see your favourite band, but lets remember - it's a fúcking band. Tesco make their money on the stuff you actually need to stay alive, not just pass an evening, or get from a to b!

It's an absolutely imaginary distinction to say touts are evil scum, but every other middle man is just trying to make a living. If you think the price they ask is too high, then don't pay it, problem solved.

Don't believe that analogy holds up.

Touts are dealing with a finite number of items - there is a strict and limited supply.

If Tescos bought the only detergent you liked, you could not get it anywhere else and then charged a multiple of what is the RRP then that would be sh*tty behaviour too.

It is pure opportunism and a lazy and immoral way of making money.

Bring in the same measures that I mentioned above and do away with touts and the like.

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,587 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Touts will never go out of existence until people stop buying from them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

everlast75 wrote: »
    It is pure opportunism and a lazy and immoral way of making money.

It's this that doesn't hold up.

If you buy something, you own that thing - you should be entirely free to sell it or give it away if you see fit. People sell stuff all the time, sometimes for what they paid, sometimes less and sometimes more - what is so special about an event ticket that the normal rules should not apply?

Why should you not be able to profit on your ownership of a commodity that someone else is willing to pay you for? That is the very basis of capitalism and commerce.

People make enormous profits (sometimes) on selling houses for example - what do you need more, a place to live or to see bono pontificate? No one suggests you shouldn't be able to profit on selling your house. Chemists will gladly make a profit on medicines that their customers could die without, yet no one claims it's evil or a scummy thing to do.

It just makes no sense to apply this life and death attitude to something as mundane and trivial as a ticket for a concert or a football match, when we don't apply it to things that are actually life and death!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,767 ✭✭✭flutered

fryup wrote: »
    it was billed as the high society event of the year...and rumoured as Streisand's last live performance in europe...so i was convinced it'd be a sell out
    as you were green you are forgiven, well 25% anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,548 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Ive done it, but only for concerts that i was going to.

Say i needed 2 tickets, i might buy 2 more and sell for a bit more than face value to try and offset the cost of the tickets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Ferrari3600

Have never done it, but I did buy six tickets for the Prince concert that was planned in 2008 with the intention of reselling some of them. What actually happened is that he cancelled the concert. Ticket holders got full refunds and I think the promotor sued Prince.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Ferrari3600

Four pages in and no-ones said 'BONO PAY YER TAXES'. Good going.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

BONO PAY YOUR TAXES

There you go.

Touts are d*cks. Simple.