Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dash cam thread (car videos only)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭amcalester

cormie wrote: »
    Aye, but if I say who it is, there may be defamation etc brought into it.

Is brake checking somebody like this something that could make the person lose their license? Has anyone here brought such footage to the Garda before and what has come from it?

Just don't say who it is. Way more fun to guess anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

ThisRegard wrote: »
    The most bike friendly country in the world? Nope.
    Patww79 wrote: »
    inforfun wrote: »
    It is a rather specific kind of people who drive those things in The Netherlands. They are (part of) the plague.
    Nope. Havent noticed them here yet but that could be due to the times of the day i am on the road. And the area where i live.
    ThisRegard wrote: »
    "into fashion"? You could see them in Dublin for years, can't be too much of a plague if you've never noticed one.
    inforfun wrote: »
    Oh ****.... are those getting into fashion here as well?
    They are ****ing plague in Holland. Special bike for "special" people.
    seeing cyclists break a red light or mounting the footpath is a common occurrence. However this morning on my walk from the car to work, I seen one of those bikes with the box for kids in the front (like the one in the image attached), mount the footpath, and break a red light, while her 2 kids not older than 5-6 were in the box at the front. I couldn't believe what I was seeing. The junction was the crossroads at the beacon hotel, if anybody knows that junction, you know how crazy and dangerous it is at rush hour.

What the hell lads? This is the dashcam thread, for videos and discussion about those videos. This isn't the place for discussions like the above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,398 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

amcalester wrote: »
    Just don't say who it is. Way more fun to guess anyway.
    ^^ This! ^^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,316 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Aye, but if I say who it is, there may be defamation etc brought into it.

Is brake checking somebody like this something that could make the person lose their license? Has anyone here brought such footage to the Garda before and what has come from it?

Don't say who it is.
    Just post it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,858 ✭✭✭✭cormie

Yeah but the media would probably love it for a story at the same time too ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,398 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

Yeah but the media would probably love it for a story at the same time too ;)
    Post it. If they'd want, they'll call you anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,726 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Some pointless red light breaking!!

boring enough video, but a video none the less.
    (it's one of those 10 second clips a press on the button gives you, and its actually handy if you couldn't be arsed doing much digging for clips)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,665 ✭✭✭✭josip

What would folks here do with footage of a multi-millionaire Irish "celebrity" brake checking them? :D

2 lane road, "celebrity" drifts into my lane, clearly visible in clip as his tyre goes over hatched line and then THEY lay on the horn, speed up, pull into my lane and lay on the brakes?

Face is not in the clip, but it's definitely the person.

Since it seems to be a quiet day for clips, I'll get the ball rolling with "Guess the celebrity van driver"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭lovelyhurler

Some pointless red light breaking!!

boring enough video, but a video none the less.
    (it's one of those 10 second clips a press on the button gives you, and its actually handy if you couldn't be arsed doing much digging for clips)

What is it with this junction.
    Nearly everyday I come to that junction from the city side, and the are at least 2 or 3 cars who jump the red from that (Charlestown) side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,411 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

josip wrote: »
    Since it seems to be a quiet day for clips, I'll get the ball rolling with "Guess the celebrity van driver"
    Holy ****, it's Roy Orbison doing a nixer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,726 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Holy ****, it's Roy Orbison doing a nixer!

Roy does Velux windows now!!, the fecker, he told me he didn't deal with Velux

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,860 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

What is it with this junction.
    Nearly everyday I come to that junction from the city side, and the are at least 2 or 3 cars who jump the red from that (Charlestown) side.

End up there sometimes. At bad enough days you end up there 4 red lights waiting till it is finally your turn to go. The "red" doesnt last very long. 4 or 5 cars, add some dip****s not paying attention and queue jumpers and you are stuck there for 10/15 minutes.
    Not condoning the red light running but your patience is severely tested there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭Grahamer666

Nothing too exciting from this morning. More than likely not checking blind spots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,653 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

McGrath5 wrote: »
    Typical M50 driving, last moment exit from the motorway.

On another note, a real bugbear of mine, why do LandCruisers have no rear tail lights? They only have those ludicrously dim little red squares at bumper level, usually destroyed with mud and not a light to be seen anywhere else. How they wangled that around legislation if beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

On another note, a real bugbear of mine, why do LandCruisers have no rear tail lights? They only have those ludicrously dim little red squares at bumper level and not a light to be seen anywhere else. How they wangled that around legislation if beyond me.

I think the rear light problem is due to some stupid regulations here actually - in other jurisdictions those lc3's are lit up like a Christmas tree by the higher up (mid level) tail lights too - rather than just coming on with the brakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,858 ✭✭✭✭cormie

joujoujou wrote: »
    Post it. If they'd want, they'll call you anyway.

But what may be the consequences for someone if there is footage of them brake checking someone? Would it be deemed dangerous driving and could they lose their license over it if prosecuted?

Has anyone here brought such footage to the garda before and what has come from it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,819 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Roy does Velux windows now!!, the fecker, he told me he didn't deal with Velux

No?
    He told me "anything you want, you got it!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Clontarf Road yesterday morning.
    I just missed the right hand filter light.
    Generally a good queue will form for that busy right hand turn lane for the docks/eastlink bridge/eastpoint business park.

Now and again you'll get a cheeky fecker who will drive up the centre lane and think their car is a motorbike and they're entitled to cut in at the front of the queue.

This dangerous idiot just kept going and turned right against the red filter light. There was a green straight ahead light, but the right hand filter was definitely red.

Can't read their reg number from the video footage though.

Wow.... think the same fecker struck this morning, this time I have their reg. Looks like the same car ?

406589.png

Today
    406590.png

This time the idiot was BEHIND me in the right hand filter lane, playing nice. Then they grew impatient at the lights, pulled out, undertook me and broke the lights.

Time 2017/01/16, 07:10am

Reg No : 03MH2455
    Car Hyundai Getz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 970 ✭✭✭Senecio

On another note, a real bugbear of mine, why do LandCruisers have no rear tail lights? They only have those ludicrously dim little red squares at bumper level, usually destroyed with mud and not a light to be seen anywhere else. How they wangled that around legislation if beyond me.

It's due to the spare tyre held on the outside of the tailgate. The regulations require that both left and right tail lights need to be seen from a set angle and the spare tyre blocks that. Therefore the replicators installed in the bumper. In other markets you see both the originals and the replicators light up like a Christmas tree but here the original lights seem to be disabled.

https://goo.gl/images/Oi28zx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭kuro2k

Senecio wrote: »
    It's due to the spare tyre held on the outside of the tailgate. The regulations require that both left and right tail lights need to be seen from a set angle and the spare tyre blocks that. Therefore the replicators installed in the bumper. In other markets you see both the originals and the replicators light up like a Christmas tree but here the original lights seem to be disabled.

https://goo.gl/images/Oi28zx

It has nothing to do with the spare tyre, if the boot opened as a hatch the lights in the bumper wouldn't be required

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Jesus CreepingDeath you have to go to GARDAI with this stuff. Prat is gonna kill someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,316 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

vicwatson wrote: »
    Jesus CreepingDeath you have to go to GARDAI with this stuff. Prat is gonna kill someone.

Couldn't agree more. What an absolute pr1ck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭readytosnap

forward the video to the garda, CreepingDeath. people like that should not be on the road.

We give in

forward the video to the garda, CreepingDeath. people like that should not be on the road.

Post it to twitter GARDA and tell them you have the reg plate. That can't continue, a pedestrian or cyclist is gonna be mowed down by this dickhead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭return guide

Agreed, Clontarf Garda station is about 20 metres from that junction.

Would be excellent to see him caught in the act !!

We give in

My sarcasm detector has activated, is it set too sensitive? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,127 ✭✭✭job seeker

My sarcasm detector has activated, is it set too sensitive? :)

Well in the manner in which he drove down your side of the road. I'd guess Stevie Wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,894 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

We give in

Considering we can't see what he saw in person it's easy to give in.

It was Bono.
    I've no idea what he was doing driving a Velux van.