Off The Ball Official Thread <Mod Note - Post #1, #533, #6651>

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Kimmage on the panel Sunday, thought he'd fallen out or been stopped cause of the last word slots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭Howitzer the 5th

Joe Molloy profited from the captains demise a few years ago and was parachuted into a role, which to be fair he's handled well, but he's not remotely related to Gilroy or Eoin McDevitt or even Damien O'Meara or Hugh Cahill in terms of the capacity to engage guests or topics and is especially limited in actual sporting knowledge. Winning awards in radio is a back scratching political exercise. It's utterly irrelevant and merely a reward for those capable of producing a good demo reel. Bar Gilroy, Off The Ball is lacking in authorative knowledgeable hosts.
    price690 wrote: »
    In the opinion of Molloy he may be. Thats based on Joe feeling disrespected.

I read the piece as him trying to portray Clarke in a negative sense generally speaking rather than restricting it to the confines of that specific incident.

Just because he wasn't super enthusiastic about meeting Joe Molloy, doesn't mean he is a "C U Next Tuesday".

Prime example of being thin skinned. Any perceived slight on him and he starts shooting from the hip about it. Not a positive trait of a broadcaster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

pc7 wrote: »
    Kimmage on the panel Sunday, thought he'd fallen out or been stopped cause of the last word slots.

Yeah I am surprised as well. I thought that once he got the permanent spot with TodayFM that he wouldn't be back on with NT. It doesn't really make sense for him to give Newstalk all his best lines on the Sunday and then go in to TodayFM and say essentially the same thing. I can't think that Matt Cooper is too pleased with it.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Is he still on the last word? Hadn't seen a new podcast so unsubscribed

pc7 wrote: »
    Is he still on the last word? Hadn't seen a new podcast so unsubscribed

yeah, he's there every monday, the most recent one is at the top of this page

http://www.todayfm.com/player/podcasts/The_Last_Word_with_Matt_Cooper/cp_2

He's having a go at the foreign players that want to play for Ireland. But unfortunately he's only a part of the sports section. You have to listen to the others as well. He's far more central on the paper review with OTB.

Brill thanks for that wasn't seeing them in my app

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 611 ✭✭✭redbuck

Joe Molloy profited from the captains demise a few years ago and was parachuted into a role, which to be fair he's handled well, but he's not remotely related to Gilroy or Eoin McDevitt or even Damien O'Meara or Hugh Cahill in terms of the capacity to engage guests or topics and is especially limited in actual sporting knowledge. Winning awards in radio is a back scratching political exercise. It's utterly irrelevant and merely a reward for those capable of producing a good demo reel. Bar Gilroy, Off The Ball is lacking in authorative knowledgeable hosts.

Totally disagree, Joe is the best host in my own opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

Joe is a lot better than Gilroy imo. Not at Eoin McDevitt's level though, who is probably the best sports presenter on radio. Can't really comment on the other two mentioned as I don't really listen to Game On

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,572 ✭✭✭daithi7

yeah, he's there every monday, the most recent one is at the top of this page

http://www.todayfm.com/player/podcasts/The_Last_Word_with_Matt_Cooper/cp_2

He's having a go at the foreign players that want to play for Ireland. But unfortunately he's only a part of the sports section. You have to listen to the others as well. He's far more central on the paper review with OTB.

Kimmage can be a great written journalist at times, but I have to say I find him painful on the radio. For me he is far too moany, and comes across as bitter, and balanced only cos he has a chip on both shoulders. He's a broken record on drugs, which I realise is a huge issue in many sports, but there's a lot of good going on in sport also without listening to a moany, bitter, ex journeyman drug taking professional cyclist constantly carping on about some perceived gripe, or other. Heaven spare us!! :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

daithi7 wrote: »
    Kimmage can be a great written journalist at times, but I have to say I find him painful on the radio. For me he is far too moany, and comes across as bitter, and balanced only cos he has a chip on both shoulders. He's a broken record on drugs, which I realise is a huge issue in many sports, but there's a lot of good going on in sport also without listening to a moany, bitter, ex journeyman drug taking professional cyclist constantly carping on about some perceived gripe, or other. Heaven spare us!! :-)

thats a bit harsh, if you understand cycling you would know he was a bit above 'journeyman' level

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭motley

price690 wrote:
    The forced banter is ridiculous. They are always having a pop at each other and Ger Gilroy loves joining in the banter but its always noticeable how nobody aims even the slightest of playful digs at Gilroy, obviously due to the fact that he is the boss.

price690 wrote:
    I always find the "splendido crappy quiz with factoids" (or whatever the hell they call it) particularly cringe.

I would have to disagree. I enjoy the Crappy Quiz. I don't think any of the "banter" is forced. It comes across as very relaxed to me and I would say the opposite of forced. It used to be hilarious when Colm Parkinson was on Off the Ball and he would lose the plot in each episode. Not as good now though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

My head tells me the crappy quiz is rubbish.

But I can't help but like it, buzzer noise aside. It's just s bit of craic, like.

Kimmage on the newspapers this after noon. with Malachy Clerkin.

This should be interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭Vunderground

Lots of back slapping. Lots of moral superiority. Lots of telling each other how clever they are. Lots of saying how people involved in the Premier League are all hypocrites including the supporters. Lots of us hypocrites listening to the Premier League on OTB right now and scratching our heads.

Oh and one rude word 'cos they are edgy and 'tell it like it is'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭Clonmel1000

Did clerkin have a pop at rugby? Or kimmage for that matter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭Shaungoater

Great spot on their look at the papers this morning on the West Ham situation and how two faced Billic is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭elefant

Am I the only one sick of hearing about Rory McIlroy?

No matter how much they talk about how interesting he is, I just can't bring myself to care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Quintis

elefant wrote: »

No matter how much they talk about how interesting he is, I just can't bring myself to care.

I think it is really interesting, it is not often you get the insight into him we saw over the last two weeks or any top sports person, especially directly from the interviewer himself.

Football, GAA and Rugby get plenty of coverage during the week, Saturday panel and Sunday paper are best when covering non traditional/less reported sports and stories

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Californeeway

The Sunday paper review was a really good listen again yesterday. I personally enjoy it when they discuss the articles and writers in papers themselves as opposed to talking generically about the stories involved. Having read the McIlroy piece prior to Kimmage shouting it out, I just knew the big F word was coming and cringed all the way through that particular bit. It will be interesting to see if he does the same on the Matt Cooper show tonight..

Is Neil Francis piece worth reading?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

Was the Paddy Barnes Olympics tweet thing off-limits in the interview or was it deemed as not worthy of being asked about by Kimmage?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 664 ✭✭✭price690

Dots1982 wrote: »
    Was the Paddy Barnes Olympics tweet thing off-limits in the interview or was it deemed as not worthy of being asked about by Kimmage?

What was this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Californeeway

Its worth a quick browse through to find bits you might find interesting, possibly the bit around rugby in the US. The news that you can buy guns in America now and his tip for the Superbowl were some of the boring bits in my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

What was this?

He was sending tweets taking the mick out of Rory during the olympics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

elefant wrote: »

While I'm not a big golf fan, I think the interesting part here, possibly for a lot of non golf fans too, is Rory not lining himself up to the Irish or British flag. We like to claim him. I'm guessing the British do as well? But he sees himself as "Northern Irish". From a non sporting expression of identity, it's interesting to see he has come out and said it. But you'll still get some tit in a leprechaun suit throwing a tricolour at him in the future.

seachto7 wrote: »
    While I'm not a big golf fan, I think the interesting part here, possibly for a lot of non golf fans too, is Rory not lining himself up to the Irish or British flag. We like to claim him. I'm guessing the British do as well? But he sees himself as "Northern Irish". From a non sporting expression of identity, it's interesting to see he has come out and said it. But you'll still get some tit in a leprechaun suit throwing a tricolour at him in the future.

Seems to me that McIlroy changes his tune with the wind though. Now I don't for one second care about wherever he "pledges his allegiance".

If he sees himself as Irish, grand. If he sees himself as being more British than irish, grand.

This declaration of himself as "Northern Irish" definately fits the narrative however, but he has clearly stated in the past that he identifies more with being British rather than Irish.

His interview with Kimmage was excellent but there are a few untruths in it I feel and he still has one eye on not offending folks. Which is fair enough, I can totally see why. But Kimmage trying to portray this interview as being really brave for putting himself out there is a bit rich.

McIlroy has in essence taken the middle ground. I completely believe and understand him when he says he would have felt awkward standing on a podium with Amhrann na Bhfiann playing in Rio, that is 100% understandable. Everyone can surely understand that, even the keenest fan in his tall green hat looking to cheer on/bask in the slightest hint of a victory for the boys/girls in green.

He says wouldn't know the words. The untruth I think is applying the same logic as to why he wouldn't represent Britain. He mentions that he did his GCSE's and grew up in a predominantly protestant area, and has pride in his area. he mentions the British traits but then claims he doesn't know the words/would feel awkward standing to attention for god save the queen. He is regularly in attendance at Windsor Park cheering of the Northern Ireland football team who have always used God Save the queen so he must put on the earmuffs for that. It doesn't make sense. Now I know some Unionist leaning people in Belfast who do not like that GSTQ anthem for the football. Some feel they should be doing their own thing.But as ive said before, the crux of the matter is he is on record as saying he feels more British than Irish. And the backlash from those who felt "offended" saw him change his probable heartfelt honest position. If he was being really brave in the interview then these comments would be revisited and if he did speak from the heart it should be applauded.

For me that interview was just another chapter in the changing stories of Rory McIlroy. Which is absolutely fine, I get why he doesn't feel the need to nail his colours to the mast, its so much more nuanced for him. Identifying with one side more than the other (which he absolutely does) obviously alienates the other, and he doesn't need the aggro. Hes just doing what he has always done and admirably trying not to offend the morons on either side. But for Kimmage to jizz over his own piece claiming he dug deeper than anyone else on this issue, is just self publicitiy.

It wouldn't surprise me if McIlroy has another definitive reason for not going to Rio in another exclusive in a couple of months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Quintis

He mentions that he did his GCSE's and grew up in a predominantly protestant area

Grew up Catholic in a predominantly Protestant area. He may have gone to NI Soccer matches, they may sing God Save the Queen but he has also been to Irish Rugby matches where they sign Amhrán na bhFiann. To me, at least he is Northern Irish, it is a complex identify, not Irish, not British. I understand his decision and reasoning, I would disagree with the way he initially tried to handle the situation, if he came out initially with what he has said now I think people would be a lot more understanding

Quintis wrote: »
    Grew up Catholic in a predominantly Protestant area. He may have gone to NI Soccer matches, they may sing God Save the Queen but he has also been to Irish Rugby matches where they sign Amhrán na bhFiann. To me, at least he is Northern Irish, it is a complex identify, not Irish, not British. I understand his decision and reasoning, I would disagree with the way he initially tried to handle the situation, if he came out initially with what he has said now I think people would be a lot more understanding

I am in total agreement with you on the last part, if he had said this in the very beginning it would absolutely resonate. Its the most plausible excuse in fairness.

My issue isn't with McIlroy at all, its entirely understandable why he feels he has to pander to people on both sides. He is in a very unique spot.

My issue is with Kimmage fawning over his own piece like he has done something others haven't and got Rory to give his side of things.

In reality this is just the 3rd different version we have heard, and i'd be more inclined to believe his true feelings on it were divulged in his very first statement (about feeling more British), and when he got a lashing over it (for being really brave in his honesty) then he back tracked and went about trying to please other people rather than stick to his guns and say to hell with what people think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,207 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Joe was rowing with Ewan MacKenna on twitter last night over their paper review yesterday. MacKenna basically saying it was an extended ad for the Sunday Indo as all they talked about for the hour was Kimmage's McIlroy interview.

The OTB crew are getting it in the neck from all sides these days.:D

Joe was rowing with Ewan MacKenna on twitter last night over their paper review yesterday. MacKenna basically saying it was an extended ad for the Sunday Indo as all they talked about for the hour was Kimmage's McIlroy interview.

The OTB crew are getting it in the neck from all sides these days.:D

Ewan McKenna was dead right in expressing that sentiment.

In fairness to Joe Molloy though I think the newspaper section yesterday was more a reflection of his love of Rory McIlroy and golf more than anything, that was his blindspot to the blatant product placement type carry on.

Clerkin in fairness called a halt to it, and said enough of the promoting of one newspaper.

I remember Brolly was on one morning and his swearing was highly offensive to Molloy, but Kimmage drops the f-bomb and few times and because it came from Rory's mouth its par for the course (jaysus i'm punning about golf now :mad:)