But its cold outside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

tang1 wrote: »
    Get your own log!!!

Hey calm down!!!;) Everyone is invited to these parts!!!

Murph_D wrote: »
    Jaysus. Another senior moment. :o

Hey Murph if the senior moments are as simple as this then you have no worries....if you start going to the wrong house then there's a problem!!!:D

Sunday 15th January
    Plan
    15m easy
    Actual 15m Easy

Headed to the safety of Navan town for this run and met up with another runner for the first 9m of this. Lovely morning and we chatted all the time. We kept the pace slow but at the same time didn't pay any attention to it. Got back to the car at 9m, and ditched the hat i had been carrying for 8.75 miles :rolleyes: got a mouthful of water and I reset the watch as i didn't have the auto laps set so wasn't getting any feed back during the run.
    Set off again for the final 6m and straight away was too fast so slowed it down and found mile 4 tough but 5 & 6 were fine again. Finished off with a lap of the park.

Mileage this week including last week missed long run done on Monday gives me 62.50m, my highest week ever and the body is feeling good.
    The official number is still one of my highest weeks @ 47.40. I started the 2018 Boston fund last week, with a robbed idea from someone else. I am putting .50 cent per mile per week into a jar, a bit like when the smokers give up!!! Rounded up, there is €50 in there from first 2 weeks!!!

10.23, 9.45, 10.04, 10.01, 9.52, 9.48, 9.44, 9.45, 9.54, 9.58, 9.54, 9.48, 9.48, 10.01, 9.39

Total 15.29m in 2.31.14 @ 9.53

WTD: 47.40m
    MTD: 97.63m
    YTD: 97.63m

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Great idea for Boston, great weeks running fair play A.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

that's some mileage A, well done! and glad you avoided the cars...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

Well done on the milage, Anne. It's not easy in the bleak mid winter. I console myself by thinking of the better weather ahead, if nothing else at least we're guaranteed more light!
    Good idea on the fund, you've already enough to get you to Inishbofin, hope you make it a bit further :D.

snailsong wrote: »
    Well done on the milage, Anne. It's not easy in the bleak mid winter. I console myself by thinking of the better weather ahead, if nothing else at least we're guaranteed more light!
    Good idea on the fund, you've already enough to get you to Inishbofin, hope you make it a bit further :D.

Actually P if you think about it we have been very lucky with the weather... bar a few days this week (probably worst in the West & North West than the East) there has been no weather that would drive you indoors. Long may it continue and there is definitely a "Grand stretch in the evenings" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭diego_b

Younganne wrote: »
    I usually don't have any problem and I only go on the main road for the sessions as too much trying to get session on my usual back roads, too many hills , rolling & steep.
    I spend my time watching the cars for giving me a bit of room and very seldom have a problem with lorries or vans. The ones i hate are the cars that stick on the indicator but don't move an inch!! You really need your wits about you with some of the drivers. There's not much of the part of the road(N52) i run on that doesn't have a hard shoulder and i was lucky it was a recently cut "good" :D ditch so no problems after!!!

Good stuff it worked out about as well as it could have there! With watching for cars I find it helps with concentration for longer runs....that and the houses that have dogs on the loose!

I started the 2018 Boston fund last week, with a robbed idea from someone else. I am putting .50 cent per mile per week into a jar, a bit like when the smokers give up!!! Rounded up, there is €50 in there from first 2 weeks!!!

Love the idea, toying with the idea of giving NYC a go maybe next year (lady in my club did it this year through a travel agent....2.5K so bit of saving to that) so might nick that idea too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭jake1970

Once again Anne you are putting together a very consistent training cycle its all looking good for Donadea, only 4 weeks to go:)

jake1970 wrote: »
    Once again Anne you are putting together a very consistent training cycle its all looking good for Donadea, only 4 weeks to go:)

Thanks Jake, I can't take any praise for the training plan, just doing what I'm told!!:D:D

Donedea 50 k - Week 9 of 12
    Plan for the week

Mon| Tues| Wed| Thur| Fri | Sat | Sunday
    Rest| 6m Easy | 12m Steady| 6m Easy | Rest|Session: 1 m warm up, 4 x 15 mins @ 8.50, 3 mins rec, 1 m cooldown| 18m Easy

A tasty looking week, looking forward to it!!!:D

Monday 16th January 2017
    Plan
    rest
    Actual rest

Tuesday 17th January 2017
    Plan
    6m Easy
    Actual 6.3m easy

A lovely slow enjoyable trot around the park. Started off really slow keeping an eye on the watch but it just wasn't comfortable and didn't feel natural so just ran to feel after that.

10.19, 9.44, 9.53, 9.45, 9.44, 9.41, 9.24(.30)

Total 6.30m in 1.01.56 @ 9.50

Weekly Monday weigh-in
    162.0 - 160.2 so not a lot off but a bit off!!

WTD: 6.30m
    MTD: 74.79m
    YTD: 74.79m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭neilc

Have 3 handy days on the trot now so will deffo be more sociable next time :D You looked very comfortable alright.

Wednesday 18th January
    Plan 12m Steady
    Actual 12m Steady

Headed out a little early for an extended lunch break again and enjoyed this run. Splits fairly consistent and pulled it back a bit when it was creeping up too fast.
    Had a call from the school 6m in to say my youngest wasn't feeling well!! Came to an agreement that if she wasn't any better in half an hour they were to let me know again and I'd arrange for her to be collected. As I knew, heard nothing more. She worries through her tummy and is having a difficult time adjusting to a change in teacher after Christmas, who obviously doesn't understand her difficulties (Dyspraxia, SPD & Dylsexia)

Nice enough day out, no hat, no gloves and no base layer. Spring is on the way!!!! Watch was playing up a bit as in it was not recording HR and everything was working in slow motion, reaction to pressing buttons was very slow!!

9.08, 9.05, 9.05, 9.06, 9.00, 9.05, 8.59, 9.02, 9.09, 9.04, 9.05, 9.09

Total 12.05m in 1:49:24 @ 9.05

Thursday 19th January
    Plan 6m Easy
    Actual 6m slog!!!

Legs were tired heading out for this at home on the hills. didn't bring the dog as I was planning on going down the main road but decided to stick to the back roads!!

Went a slightly different route to the usual, to bring in the hills. Kept it slow but it still was tough. Last mile was dropping to a 10.15 pace so pushed through and made the effort and was happy with the result. I was telling myself this is what I will have to do when the going gets tough in Donedea!! No bother on the legs when finished!!
    Sports massage later in the evening and he found a bit of tightness in the right calf and the usual tightness in the hips!!

I'm getting 8hrs sleep every night and drinking minimum 2 Litres of water but think I need to up the amount of food(healthy) being consumed. I'm burning a lot of calories and not really eating any additional food.

10.11, 10.08, 9.54, 10.04, 9.52, 9.57, 9.48(.10)
    Total 6.10 in 1.01.04 @ 10.01

WTD: 24.45m
    MTD: 122.08
    YTD: 122.08

Saturday 21st January
    Plan
    1m wu, 4 x 15 min @ 8.50 off 3 mins, 1m cd
    Actual 1m wu, 4 x 15 min @ 8.50 off 3 mins, 1m cd

Got up early to get this done, saw the white frost covered surroundings so headed back to bed!!:D you won't find me running on frosty roads, when i can wait until the sun has defrosted them!!

Headed out at lunchtime and couldn't believe how cold it really was. Had base layer on with short sleeve tee-shirt over it but my arms were still feeling the cold and i could have done with another layer on. I had full length tights on but my ass was cold!! And I had my gloves on but it was mile 6 before i was aware that my fingers weren't freezing any more.

Anyway rep one was difficult to get into the correct zone, started too fast but eventually got it right and the rest were fine after that. I ran into the Wee County of Louth for a few minutes, then turned and headed back into the Royal County!!!:D No mad traffic to dodge this week thankfully!!!
    9.59, 8.42, 8.40, 8.41, 8.39, 9.52
    Total 10.11m in 1:32 @ 9.08

WTD: 34.56m
    MTD: 132.19m
    YTD: 132.19m

Sunday 22nd January
    PLan
    18m Easy
    Actual 18.60m Easy

Met up with another runner in Navan, she had 14m to do, so i was delighted to have company for that much.
    Temp of -1 but thankfully the frost was gone and it didn't feel that cold. We decided to do a couple of laps of the park to gauge the temp before heading out around the roads. I had baselayer, long sleeve top, hat & gloves and my heavier long tights on and i was happy enough with that.
    Did 2 laps and then headed out on the roads. We had to do an emergency toilet stop at 5m stage as i was having a few stomach issues but settled after the stop.

Having run without gels & water up to this , i decided better test the gels on the stomach again, so during this run I was taking water, gel and for the first time trying cif shotbloks. I took first blok just after the toilet stop which was 54 mins on the clock and took another 30 mins later at 1.24. Took a gel 25 mins later and all was good. 2 miles later stomach started to give out again and I knew it was the gel, but a blast out of the exhaust:eek: and the pain disappeared. Got back to the Park with Chris at 14.5m so i decided to do 3.5 laps, which is the parkrun. I took another blok and finished out the run which turned into a bit of an obstacle course with avoiding kids on bikes, scooters, dogs on leads, dogs off leads etc!!!:rolleyes:

Finished at 18.6m and contemplated rounding it up to 19 but decided to leave it.

Very enjoyable run and no issues at all(after the stomach) and the miles flew by fairly consistently as we chatted the whole time!!!

10.30, 9.54, 9.51, 9.58, 9.53, 9.59, 9.59, 9.45, 10.04, 9.55, 9.50, 9.50, 9.58, 9.53, 9.55, 9.57, 9.53, 9.56, 9.48(.60)

Total 18.60m in 3:04:52 @ 9.56

WTD: 53.16m
    MTD: 150.79m
    WTD: 150.79m

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Blast from the exhaust, brilliant!!!! Nice run to Anne, great going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Brilliant week! All looking good!

Donedea 50 k - Week 10 of 12

Plan for the week

Rest| 5m Easy | 10m Progression - 4 @ Easy, 4 @ Steady, 2 @ MP| 5m Easy | Rest|Session: 1 m warm up, 4 x 5 mins @ 8.20, 3 mins rec, 1 m cooldown| 14m Easy

Monday 23rd January 2017
    Plan
    rest
    Actual Rest

Tuesday 17th January 2017
    Plan
    5m Easy
    Actual 5.25 Easy

Off today so headed for the country roads with the dog, her playmate was spending the day at the Vets getting the necessary done ;) so she was feeling lonely and missing him. Run did her good!!

Such a lovely day, all the newborn lambs dancing and bounding around the fields and the air heavy with the floral smell of freshly spread slurry!!:eek:

There was a real spring feeling in the air. I knew I'd regret the light high vis jacket i had on, gloves were off within a half mile and the jacket was tied around me after 2, no need to worry about the hi vis as i didn't see a person or car for the entire run!!!

Kept the run slow and felt the tired legs loosening out and coming alive as I ran!!!

10.05, 10.03, 10.01, 10.10, 9.42, 10.02(.25)

Total 5.25m in 52.31 @ 10.00

Wesnesday 25th January
    Plan
    10m Progression - 4 @ Easy, 4 @ Steady, 2 @ MP
    Actual 10.5m Progression - 4 @ Easy, 4 @ Steady, 2.5 @ MP

Headed out in the beautiful sunshine at lunchtime and was so glad the Procrastination queen didn't win. The argument was going at lunch(as usual) or doing it after work. Delighted to get it done in the sunshine even if the wind was very hard at times. There was a big drop in temperature after work and the wind had picked up even more!!!

Did a lap of the Park and then back up to Chesterfield ave via the Kyber to Castleknock gates and back down again. Misjudged this slightly so ended up 10.5m but no problem with that!!!

Enjoyed the run and felt very comfortable during this run, having to pull back the last steady mile as it was getting too close to MP!!

9.53, 9.39, 9.35, 9.31,
    9.11, 9.10, 9.04, 8.59,
    8.48, 8.41, 8.53(.55)

Total 10.55 in 1.37.23 @ 9.14

WTD: 15.80m
    MTD: 166.59m
    YTD:166.59m

Weekly Monday weigh-in
    160.1 so nothing off this week!!! must try harder!!!:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

Delighted to get it done in the sunshine even if the wind was very hard at times. There was a big drop in temperature after work and the wind had picked up even more!!!

Who are you telling! I was nearly blown sideways off the bike more than once :eek: bloody wind!!! Beautiful day for a run in the park though and nice job on the progression run.

Thank you,
    Yes i was feeling sorry for those on the auld push bikes as i was snug & warm sitting (and going nowhere!!) in my car!!!!!!:D took me 90 mins to got home where as usually its 70ish!!!:rolleyes:

Thursday 26th January
    Plan 5m easy
    Actual 5m Easy

It must be getting near the end of a training plan, as I'm tired and I wasn't feeling the love for a run today and another argument with myself :rolleyes: to get it done in daylight while I can!!

Luckily for me I'm not a little slip of a thing or I'd have blown away on that run!!! :eek:
    Just as I was leaving for my run, I met my boss in his gear coming back for his hat & gloves as it was freezing out. The phone was showing 5 degrees and the wind was howling so I set off with my light jacket and my gloves on, no hat with me as I don't usually wear one!!!

Heading up North road and the Sun came out and there was no wind, lovely day in the park again. Up to Castleknock gate, turn and back down Chesterfield Ave. Here the wind was blowing strong and cold and I was glad of my gloves and I was wishing I had an ear muff or even a hat as it was piercing my ears!!!

Had to concentrate to keep it slow as the tendency was to speed up as it is very cold out!!! And I enjoyed it despite the wind, the cold and the lethargy!!!:D

9.52, 9.40, 9.36, 9.37, 9.44, 9.49(.20)
    Total 5.20m in 50.28 @ 9.42

As I was running I was asking myself can I really run 50k at this pace? 9.39 gives the 5hr finish time. What if I get cramp, have to stop for the loo, struggle for a few miles, will I be allowed to finish?

But then I have to remind myself that this is the first attempt(and maybe only!!) at the 50k so just relax and forget about what might happen and concentrate on what I have done to get here.
    • I have done all the training,
    • I have a good base - this is my 4th Marathon cycle in a row, cycle 1 was aborted at 16m(Dublin 2015 DNS) and then went into cycle 2(Rotterdam), cycle 3 (Dublin 2016) and now cycle 4, so the body is well able for the mileage.
    • I trust the training and the Coach, as I know the Coach knows what's best for me!
    • I believe in myself and my ability to complete this and all these doubts are normal!!

Back feeling like I did before my first marathon!!!

Sorry for the ramblings.:o

WTD: 21.00m
    MTD: 171.79m
    YTD: 171.79m

But then I have to remind myself that this is the first attempt(and maybe only!!) at the 50k so just relax and forget about what might happen and concentrate on what I have done to get here.
    • I have done all the training,
    • I have a good base - this is my 4th Marathon cycle in a row, cycle 1 was aborted at 16m(Dublin 2015 DNS) and then went into cycle 2(Rotterdam), cycle 3 (Dublin 2016) and now cycle 4, so the body is well able for the mileage.
    • I trust the training and the Coach, as I know the Coach knows what's best for me!
    • I believe in myself and my ability to complete this and all these doubts are normal!!

Back feeling like I did before my first marathon!!!

Sorry for the ramblings.:o

Ramble away :). You will nail this without a shadow of a doubt, and don't forget the top notch excellent support team that will be on hand to help (shout if you want company on a lap!)

Friday - Sunday
    Rest -no runnng :(

The tiredness was obviously more than just tiredness. Woke up Friday with very bad sinuses and sick stomach. Took some Sudafed and headed to work but within a few hours it was back with a vengeance. Took more meds to get rid of a very dizzy head before driving home and left work a bit early.

Not much better Sat & Sunday so enforced rest. It's still there but hoping it'll be improved tomorrow. Resting HR up by 6-8 beats on usual RHR so taking that as a sign to rest. Looking quite poor at the minute too despite getting good sleep. Looking like I went a few rounds with A good boxer, but it's just bags under my eyes!!

My youngest told me I need to go to the Doctor as I always have a dizzy head and a headache!! Told her I'll go after the "big race". She's very excited as she's getting to come down for the last few hours of the race as Mr Tang-fastic is going to bring me down and family can follow after!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,723 ✭✭✭Dilbert75

My youngest told me I need to go to the Doctor as I always have a dizzy head and a headache!! Told her I'll go after the "big race".

Typical mother and typical runner. Bt is it a good idea to put it off? Worth going to pharmacy even to get blood pressure checked? If your daughter is even partly right then running a 50k won't help much.

Dilbert75 wrote: »
    Typical mother and typical runner. Bt is it a good idea to put it off? Worth going to pharmacy even to get blood pressure checked? If your daughter is even partly right then running a 50k won't help much.

That looks like good advice A. Hope you're feeling better soon.

p.s. tang-fastic? :D:D

Dilbert75 wrote: »
    That looks like good advice A. Hope you're feeling better soon.

p.s. tang-fastic? :D:D

Thanks guys but its my sinuses, I get it regular enough. I will go and get a quick once over this week. Bloods are due to be done again anyway..

Donedea 50 k - Week 11 of 12

Plan for the week

Rest| Rest | 4m Easy| 7m Steady | Rest|Session: 1 m warm up, 2 x 10 mins @ 8.50, 3 mins rec, 1 m cooldown| 10m Easy @ Trim 10m

No running from Friday - Tuesday and the planned run on Tuesday didn't happen , so Coach shifted things along by a day for me for this week..

So January ended up with 171.79m not the anticipated 195m. Not to worry its great mileage for me anyway.

Wednesday 1st February
    Plan
    4m Easy
    Actual 4m easy

Thankfully by Wednesday i was feeling tickedy boo again and dropped the eldest to school as usual and then hit the local parkrun park in Navan before i could think about while waiting for the tyre garage to open at 9.

Coach said t keep it slow so 4 lovely slow laps of the park and my run done for the day, followed by 4 lovely new tyres, that cost me more than the run!!!

I found it extremely cold during lap 1 but wasn't long about warming up.

10.18, 10.03, 10.10, 9.55
    Total 4.10 in 41.27 @ 10.07

Thursday 2nd February
    Plan
    7m Steady
    Actual 7.67m steady

It was raining lightly when i headed out at lunchtime but within less than half a mile i realised that it was very warm and then the sun came out. I had to remove my gloves and i thought about removing the wind jacket but decided to leave it for a while.

Soon enough i was running with the wind in my face and the sun was gone again but it was to play peep a boo with me up until 2m from home and then then i had the wind, and hail and rain in my face along the North road for the remainder of the run. I was barely moving at times!!! Where was the lovely sunshine that was shining while i was in Farmleigh!!! Typical Irish weather.
    Misjudges the extra run in around Farmleigh so ended up slightly further than planned!!

9.11, 8.59, 9.04, 9.05, 9.06, 9.06, 9.01, 9.15(.67)

Total 7.67m in 1.09.42 @ 9.05

WTD: 10.77m
    MTD: 10.77m
    YTD: 183.56

Are you running trim tomorrow? Thought I saw something somewhere - or maybe just supporting?

Yep, running. 10m easy for me!! See you there.

Saturday 4th Feb
    Plan
    1m easy, 2 x10 mins @ 8.50, 3 min rec, 1m easy
    Actual 1m easy, 2 x10 mins @ 8.50, 3 min rec, 1m easy
    changed this to 1.2m warm up as i was heading out the back roads witht he dog and didn't want to start the Mp section just before the Bigger hill, but i misjudged it and the section started halfway up the hill!!:rolleyes: Will teach me not to mess with the session in future!!

I found it difficult to get to MP for the second rep and don't think the hills had anything to do with it!! Lovely day out there and enjoy the run in spite of the lethargy.

9.54(1.20), 8.45, 8.50, 9.37(1.23)
    Total 5.30 m in 49.45 @ 9.23

Sunday 5th Feb
    Plan
    10m Easy
    Actual Trim 10m Race - 8m easy, 1m steady 1m @ MP

Did a short run to collect my number.

Found it difficult to slow to easy pace despite starting just in from of 10.00 min per mile section. The first 4m i was being passed constantly but from 5m on i was passing people. I eventually got near to correct pace but it kept sliding up too fast so in the end just ran with it as it was very comfortableand felt slow..

Last 2 mile ended up being 1 @ steady & 1 @ MP as i couldn't help myself. This avg pace next week will see me in few minutes under the 5hrs. Beautiful day for a run and lovely course. Definitely recommend this for everyone.

9.09, 9.23, 9.31, 9.33, 9.50, 9.39, 9.32, 9.27, 9.12, 8.35

Total for the day 10.84 in 1.42.51 @ 9.29

WTD: 27.91m
    MTD: 27.91m
    YTD: 199.70m