But its cold outside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

It sounds like you enjoyed every minute of Saturday, delighted for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

Just read the report. Well done, Anne. Brilliant training block, race and report.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Week 1 - Recovery (cont)

So Wednesdays run was a day or two to soon so rested until Saturday

Saturday 18th Feb
    Went out with 30 - 40 mins in mind, would see how it went . The legs were much improved. No issue with the quads but lower right ankle/bottom of calf was at me. Its the opposite side to where the problem was before Donadea and that part is taped so its like it just shifted to the other side of the leg. I really felt it after a downhill section, but it was fine on last mile home. Iced it after. Overall this was fine and the sign of Spring are there as i spotted my first snowdrops.

Total 4.11 in 40.32 @ 9.52

Sunday 19th February
    brought eldest to her football training to test out her knees that have been giving her trouble since last Sept/Oct. She has completely rested them for two weeks and this was the tester to see what the next step would be. Chatted to a few people about Donadea so was late setting off. I had 10k in my head but as i did an out and back i wasn't feeling the love for it. I had a dicky tummy and i was blaming a different brand of beer from my usual the night before, nothing to do with quantity as i only had a few, but it wasn't going away. Managed 5.1m and got back to discover she had to abandon training again.

Total 5.12m in 49.57 @ 9.45

My Mams 75th Birthday and as the day wore on i was feeling worse instead of better. Out for dinner and not able to finish it or have dessert :eek:(so not like me, dessert is my favourite part of dinner)

So on Sunday night I discovered that I had caught the Winter Vomiting Bug. Just starting to feel slightly human again and managed a slice of toast today. Its a pretty severe way to lose weight but i have lost 6lb in 2 days!!!!:eek:

Hopefully things will improve greatly over the next few days and that it doesn't spread throughout the household.

WTD:11.99m
    MTD: 81.55m
    YTD:253.34m

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

The Vomiting Bug visited our house last week, not nice. Sorry to hear the eldest latest setback with the knees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Late to the party here A - congrats and well done on Donadea - great stuff altogether

Week 2 - Recovery!!

Sick all week with a horrible dose of Gastroentritis. Thursday before I was fit enough to drive again and Friday before I had proper food.

Needed some air on Friday so brought the 2 dogs(that was fun!!) and the young lad( as a safety net as head was still a bit muggy) for a short walk. Enjoyed it but had fun unwinding the dogs leads on many an occasion as the puppy is still a little hyper to be getting out on the road!!!:rolleyes: total 1.53m

Saturday 25th February

There was a club run and they were doing 2 x 10k laps and I was going to join them for one, but didn't sleep very well so stayed in bed. Later I decided to do a short run and boy it was warm out!! took it very handy and enjoyed it. Wanted to go further but decided to be cautious!!

Total 3.51m in 36.07 @ 10.17

Sunday 26th February
    Two who couldn't run yesterday with club were running this morning so I drove to one of the lads house and went with himself & his good lady wife. Nothing would do but they had to match the hills that the others ran yesterday. I though I was used to hills but realise my hills are only little bumps :eek: compared to the hills over nearer Slane!! And the wind , the rain and the mucky country roads, made it a very interesting run altogether. But I really enjoyed the run and was delighted to get it done without any problems. They had 19.5km on their plan and no rounding up going on here. 19.6k run!!!

Back on track for Bohermeen Half marathon in 2 weeks.

Total 12.16m in 2.06 @ 10.23

Legs were fairly tight after this mornings hills so while waiting for a football match to start I went for a brisk walk. Total 1.6m (even though Niamh cant play, she's the "stats" lady at the matches) Torn ligament in her left knee and patella tracking gone again in her right knee. . . we'll get here sorted soon hopefully for all out sanity!!!:eek:!!

WTD:15.67
    MTS: 97.22
    YTD: 269.01

Recovery Week 3

Monday 27th - Rest, feeling yesterday hills in my calf!!! Calf guards on!!

Tuesday 28th
    Plan Easy run
    Acual Easy run

Had the gear in work with me but just didn't feel like running so didn't, but I knew I had 2 different opportunities to run later. In Kells while waiting for youngest to finish workshop at 6.30 or while she was at soccer training 7 - 8 in Navan. Went for the latter and was planning a 3 - 4m easy run so decided to run around Navan.

Once I got going, legs were fine and I really enjoyed it and it was a lovely dry evening.
    Crossing the road at one stage and I stepped in a hole I didn't/couldn't see, knee buckled under me but thankfully didn't twist anything. My foot was a little sore for a short while after and I had to stop to take off runner and rub it out, but it was fine then!!

Ran in around where our first house was, 17 yrs since selling it and it hasn't changed at all:pac:

10.08, 9.53, 9.52, 9.54, 9.46

Total 5.08 in 50.18 @ 9.54

Wednesday 1st March
    Plan
    easy run
    Actual Easy run

Brought the dog out and left the puppy crying at home and headed for the usual back road route. Beautiful sunshine and l was overdressed. From the off this was hard work and i didn't enjoy it. Was going to turn back at 1.5 but decided to go to 2m and turn around then. Calf sore again today so best to keep it short. Usually the run improves the more i run but not today. Had a headache by the time i finished!! Glad to finish it and hit the shower!!:(

9.48, 9.52, 9.46, 9.54
    Total 4.10m in 40.19 @ 9.50

So February finished out at 102.30m

WTD: 9.18m
    MTD: 4.10m
    YTD: 279.17m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,903 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Jaypers, Anne, that Sunday run was a whopper for a recovery week. Rest that calf now, or have it looked at! Didn't realise you were doing Bohermeen, hopefully all will fall into place and you'll get the Donadea bounce.

Murph_D wrote: »
    Jaypers, Anne, that Sunday run was a whopper for a recovery week. Rest that calf now, or have it looked at! Didn't realise you were doing Bohermeen, hopefully all will fall into place and you'll get the Donadea bounce.

Hadn't planned that far(was thinking 8 ish) and the Sat morning run had 2 loops planned so thought it would be the same for Sunday but wasn't. However the pace was very slow and it all felt great.

The calf is probably just a result of the hills but yes will look after it. Maintenance rub due next week so will foam roll until then. Bohermeen half will be a steady run and not a race unless all is feeling good on the day. 30 days from Donadea so should be ok for racing if the body feels up to it, but not worried if its not!!

Recovery week 3 (cont)

Thursday 2nd March
    Easy Run

Better run today, kept it short.

9.58, 9.57, 9.57, 9.53
    Total 3.62 in 36.23 @ 9.56

Friday 3rd March
    Got home and decided to do a short recovery run to stretch out the calf. (and half thinking of doing a run streak for March) Felt much better after this run.

11.10, 11.03
    Total 2.10 in 23.18 @ 11.06

Saturday 4th March
    50 mins Easy run

Tied up for the morning and was jealous of everyone getting their run done in the beautiful sunshine. After lunch dark clouds were gathering and I was being told I was going to get wet on my run!!! set off on a new route and the first mile was mainly uphill. This is probably why I never turn righ when i go out the gate!! anyway kept it easy and to 50 mins as planned

10.03, 9.48, 9.38, 9.49, 9.46
    Total 5.10 in 50:01 @ 9.47

Sunday 5th March
    Easy run

Youngest one had me colouring with her for the afternoon and then wanted to go for a run with the dogs so as it was her choice Sunday that's what we did. So both dogs leashed up and off we went over the back roads. The dogs do a lot of pulling until we get across the main road and go for about half a mile and then they settle down.

Poor puppy is only up to 1.5m and the pace drops for the last bit home but she was delighted. I left them all in home, shred the hat, gloves and then did 50 mins easy myself int he beautiful sunshine. One of those days where you'd love to be doing a much longer run!!!

11.02, 11.52(.57)
    10.12, 10.01, 9.58, 9.50, 9.35

Total 6.61m in 1.07 @ 10.15

Continuing with he foam rolling and getting a Sport massage to sort the calf out on Tuesday.

Trying to get rid of the few excess lbs still, so off all the crap for lent so hopefully weight starts to move!!

Wednesday weigh in was 162.8 so will weigh in on Wednesday for next few weeks and posting it here might help me with motivation in moments of temptation!!! I've no willpower when it comes to goddies.:o

WTD: 26.62m
    MTD: 22.53m
    YTD: 296.61m

One more Easy week!!

Plan for the week is all easy running and Bohermeen Half Marathon on Sunday (at non-race pace!!)

Monday 6th March
    My turn to bring the younglad to Navan to Soccer training so decided to do a short easy run.
    Ended up running to my Mams house, short stop off, quick Hello and "No thanks" to the tea on offer and ran back to the Astro pitch. Rain stayed away and I enjoy the run, but my hands were like iceblocks even wearing gloves!!
    The first & last half miles were very slow as road was darker and underfoot was very mucky & slippy. Otherwise kept it very easy and as paced started rising I'd pull it back!

10.36, 10.05, 10.14, 10.43
    Total 3.20 in 33.06 @ 10.21

Tuesday 7th March
    Sports Massage this evening and working at home so got out shortly after 2 for a late lunch run and the rain had stopped so managed to get this done without getting soaked. Light drizzly rain for last mile. Mile 3 was starting at the bottom of a hill so pace was quite fast so I decided to throw in a MP mile to see how the body reacted!! Tough enough after all easy running for last 4 weeks!!!

10.10, 10.03, 8.47, 9.40 (.21)
    Total 3.21m in 31.08 @ 9.42

Wednesday 8th March
    Was planning a recovery run to get the blood flowing in calves after a fairly intense physio session last night. Calves were fairly tight but felt so much better today that I kept it going to get the 3m easy done.

First half of the run I was fairly cold and the wind was very strong as I ran up Chesterfield Ave, I hit the lap button by mistake as I tried to bury my hands in my sleeves as I had no gloves on.
    The second half when I turned and ran back down Chesterfield was like a different country, beautiful heat in the sunshine and no wind!!! Again I kept this very easy and it felt very slow.

10.43(.31), 10.24, 10.15, 10.17
    Total 3.32m in 34.22 @ 10.21

Wednesday weigh-in
    Wednesday 1st March - 162.8
    Wednesday 8th March - 160.8

So happy enough with 2lb off. Hope this continue in the same direction, definitely helped by not having any crap in the house.

WTD: 9.73m
    MTD: 31.27m
    YTD: 305.36m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

Enjoy Sunday :) did I see somewhere the course is the opposite way to last year? I'll probably be up supporting although my record for spotting you in races is zero :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Enjoy bohermeen Sunday.

Enjoy Sunday :) did I see somewhere the course is the opposite way to last year? I'll probably be up supporting although my record for spotting you in races is zero :rolleyes:

Thanks AGYR, first time for everything!!! I'll keep an eye out for you. I'll be in my Red club tee-shirt!!

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Enjoy bohermeen Sunday.

Thanks Mrs Mc, no pressure on me so I'm sure to enjoy it,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Have a good one on sunday, Anne, there's no stopping you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭jake1970

Good luck tomorrow Anne, enjoy!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Nice work today A.

Week 4 Recovery (Cont)

Thursday 9th March
    Another day working at home so headed out late afternoon for this one. Brought the dog for the first part of the run which ended up being 3m and then dropped her home and when she wasn't looking hooked up the puppy and took him out for a short trip. He's easier to manage when hes not trying to play while running. 2m for him, furthers hes run yet!!
    Feeling good on this run and no issue with the legs.

10.03, 10.04, 9.31, 9.44, 9.38
    Total 5.13 in 50.21 @ 9.49.

Friday 10th March

Tied up in an all day meeting in work and had short lunch but really needed the air and to stretch the legs. Got a very short but enjoyable easy run. Had to concentrate to keep it slow and calves were tight but felt looser by end of run. Mission accomplished.

Quick shower, sandwich and back to the meeting until after 5. Knackered by the end so was glad I'd the run done by the time I got home!!!

10.23, 10.30, 10.28(.11)
    Total 2.11 in 21.59 @ 10.25

Saturday 11th March
    very small window to get this done in a busy day so brought the two dogs and headed out for a very short run. The puppy, Oscar was leading on the way out but dragging on the way back. Needs some pacing lessons!!

But to be fair we had to stop a few times when meeting cars. Bringing Oscar a bit further each time. and hes getting the hang of the lead and this time both dogs more or less stayed on their respective sides so not much of untangling the leads!! I have to keep my eyes well opened as Oscar is not 100% on keeping his own space yet and tends to stray into mine so I have to make sure I don't fall over him, but overall he's doing great.

9.45, 10.41, 10.18(.23)
    Total 2.23 in 22.58 @ 10.18

Sunday 12th March

Meath Spring Half Marathon in Bohermeen

Woke up Sunday morning and my hips and calves are in a jock and I think about not going. However I was giving a lift to one of the girls who was running her first half so I couldn't upset the apple cart.

Not what i would normally do, but I took 2 paracetamol to get myself mobile and moving a little freer. Arrived in Bohermeen with loads of time and parked up no problem just up the road from the Community centre. Grabbed my bag and we walked the half mile to the hall. Met up with lots of people and spent the next hour chatting to all & sundry!! Wasn't going to bother with a warmup but then decided to do 2 laps with 2 of the girls and have to say this helped with the mobility big time. There was a very strong wind blowing and it was pretty cold hanging around waiting for the start. The 10k people had all left so queses for the loos were much shorter so another quick visit and them jog some of the way to the start line. beautiful warm sunshine out on the road, completely different to the cold around the hall.

Coach had told me the plan for this run was Easy running and so I started with the 2 hr pacers and followed them for 1st mile. (8.45)

After mile 1, I gradually passed them even though the pace was a bit fast for 2hr pace. I was running with another girl and we were just having the chat and then a male friend of hers joined us and we slowed down a bit and we enjoyed the banter. I was just in front of the 2 hr pacers for next 2 miles (Mile 2 8.48 & mile 3 9.06). My female friend dropped back a bit and then her male friend told me to go on and he dropped back. and then I just seemed to pull away from them(Mile 4 8.48)

I was paying no attention to the watch and just running by feel and i was feeling very comfortable throughout. I'm trying out new nutrition for on the run and I took my first Shot blok at mile 5. I split it in half in my mouth and let it slide between my teeth & upper gums either side of the my mouth and just left it to dissolve. This took until end of mile 8 to dissolve. All the while I running by feel and feeling great M 5 - 8 8.36, 8.32, 8.23, 8.20,

The wind was fairly tough in places along the course but it was cooling at the same time as I was sweating in the sun!!

Took another Shot Blok in mile 9 and did the same thing again with letting it dissolve and this lasted until the end of race. Miles 9 to 12 were uneventful and I just kept going, all the time passing people. I was passing people all the way from the end of mile 1 and no one passed me at all...until end of mile 12 a man came alongside me and side "nice pace" I told him he wasn't allowed pass me as no one had since mile 1. :D He informed me that he was in the toilet when the race started and so was playing catch up for the whole race, so i let him off!!!8.26, 8.34, 8.26, 8.19,

Mile 13 and i'm speeding up and keeping an eye on my guy who just passed me and on all the bends I'm taking the shortest route and passing 3 -5 people everytime, while they stick to the right hand side of the road the whole way!!

I felt guilty as I'm passing people who were in trouble but give them all some encouragement. One guy is walking and I tell him 1 k to go, come along with me and he does. hes slightly behind me but he latches on and I bring him along. He came up after to thank me and to tell me he manged to get a PB. The guy who had passed me finished 1 position ahead and only a few yards in front of me but about 2 mins up on chip time!!!
    Mile 13 8.06, 6.34 for a .12 sprint finish

2 Shot blok jellies, No gels (even though I had one with me) and I drank about 400 ml of water 2 x 250ml( first one i didn't finish)

Lots of PBs all round and great running by Team Rathkenny (7 out of 9 with PBs and 2 first times had great runs. Teas and chats after. I had a slight problem with both of my feet cramping and I had to take my runner off and rub out my feet as I can 't drive when this happens. Then I ran back to the car, dropped off my back pack and did a bit more to bring cool in at 1.2m.

Overall a great day and a lot to be said for going out and enjoying the no pressure running. I have to say considering I didn't race flat out the body was wrecked last night and the hips were sore again.

8.45, 8.48, 9.06, 8.48, 8.36, 8.32, 8.23, 8.20, 8.26, 8.34, 8.26, 8.19, 8.03, 6.34(.12)

Total 13.12 in 1:51:58(chip time) @ 8.32
    Daily total 15.23

WTD: 34.43
    MTD: 55.97
    YTD: 330.06

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

Nice job! Great to see your easy pace is down in the 8:xx's :D I never made it over in the end, trying to shift a bad cold so stayed here worrying about tangfastic instead :p, It looked like a lovely day for a race though.

I was looking out for you but guessed you didn't make it. So disappointed for Mr Tangfastic when i realised what happened!!

Ye I know easy pace of 8.32 sure Im superwoman!!:o What can i say, ran by feel instead of easy run!!! Well it was a race after all!!!:o:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭jake1970

Well done Anne, it sounds like you had an enjoyable race. How are the niggles?

Thanks Jake. Yes I really enjoyed the run. The niggles are strange. There was no bother on the calves or the hips while running(paracetamol obviously did its job) and Sunday evening the body knew it had run at faster pace than it had for some time. Monday morning and all was good again.

Calves & hips are a little tight when I get up first thing until I get moving and Calves are tender if rubbed but don't affect me when running. I did 3m easy yesterday and no bother on them... will keep an eye on them though.

Another Easy no pressure week this week as I have to fit the runs in wherever I can around the wake and funeral of Husband Aunt.

Monday 13th Mar - Easy Run

Went out with 2 others from work for an easy run and let them set the pace. Enjoyed this run and there was lovely heat in the sun. No issues with the legs.

10.40, 10.31, 9.56, 10.32(.13)
    Total 3.13m in 0:32:31 @ 10:23/148

Tuesday 14th Mar - Easy Run

got out for a short one while youngest was at soccer. Cold enough evening but enjoyed the run.

10.16, 10.13, 9.56, 9.46, 9.24(.11)
    Total 4.11 in 0:41:10 @ 10:01/156

Wednesday 15th Mar - Recovery Run

Got home from the funeral and headed out for a short run. had a terrible headache from being in a stuffy pub all day so needed the fresh air. Body was very tired so it was slow & short but i felt 100% better by the end. Sun was gone and it was a cool evening and was glad of the long sleeves.

10.39, 10.38, 10.35, 10.18(.21)
    Total 3.21 in 33.59 @ 10:35/149

Thursday 16th March - Easy run

Headed out with Bonnie and wasn't sure how far I'd go after being so tired yesterday but much better run and felt great from the start. Had to stop twice on the way back as we were accosted by 2 separate dogs. One that was loose on the road running after the farmer who had gone ahead in the tractor and had turned into the farm and we met the dog out on the road and another that escaped from a garden and chased after us . Owner came running after it to rescue us.

I had planned on taking the other dog out for a short run but changed my mind as I didn't fancy another challenge!! Weather wise I was hanging out clothes before i headed off and couldn't believe the cold but though I'd warm up and then the rain came in the first mile. Could have done with my gloves or long sleeve to hide my hands in as they were freezing. I did have a pair of sleeves on thankfully so arms weren too bad. Different day further up the road and there was lovely heat in the sun.Typical March weather.

9.49, 9.47, 9.30, 9.37, 9.51, 9.53, 9.35(.27)
    Total 6.27 in 1:01:03 @ 09:44/157

Wednesday weigh-in
    Wednesday 1st March - 162.8
    Wednesday 8th March - 160.8
    Wednesday 15th March - 160.0

Its not a big amount but its going in the right direction!! Going to have a few nice things as I've been off beer, all sweets, chocolate & biscuits/Cake so hope it doesn't reflect in next weeks weigh-in. Though there'd be more weigh off but its always a slow process for me so will see how it goes.

WTD: 16.72
    MTD: 72.69
    YTD: 346.78

Friday 17th March - Easy Run

A short one before heading off for the day with the family. Wanted to keep going but then I should have started earlier!!:rolleyes:

9.48, 9.35, 9.32, 9.40, 9.38(.41)
    Total 4.41 m in 42.32 @ 9.39/165

Saturday 18th March - Progression Run

I headed out in the wind & rain for this one on my usual route and I just fancied doing something different so ended up with a progression run.

The steady paced miles felt harder than the last 2 @ MP and there was plenty of ups & downs to make this harder than MP effort at times.

10.05, 9.41, 9.11, 9.05, 8.36, 8.33, 8.31 (.20)
    Total 6.20m in 56.54 @ 9.11.166

Sunday 19th March - Easy Run

I had planned a long run for today but I listened to the body and had a lie in instead as I was very tired. As I listened to the wind howling and the rain belting against the window it wasnt really a difficult decision.

By the time I got home from girls football match this evening it was after 6 so I just went out for a short one. I squeezed 4 m instead of 3 from the fading light!!

9.55, 9.44, 9.29. 9.37, 9.35
    Total 4.17 in 40.20 @ 9.40/152

Run streak 20/20 days

WTD: 31.50
    MTD: 87.47
    YTD: 361.56

Monday 20th March - Easy Run

Lunchtime run in work with a colleague, let her set the pace. Windy, cold but sunny. Lovely run

10.21, 10.26, 10.05, 9.33, 9.28
    Total 5.02 in 50.07 @ 9.59/157

Tuesday 21st March - Easy Run

Lunchtime run in work with a different colleague. again let her set the pace. Sunny but very cold. Another lovely run

10.14, 10.05, 9.43, 10.00(.10)
    Total 3.10 in 31.02 @ 10.01/157

Wednesday 22nd March – Session

Got coach to give me a session to put some zip in the legs before Saturdays 10m race.
    So 1m easy , 1m @ 10m pace, 3 mins recovery followed by 4 x 2 mins @ 10k pace with 90 sec recovery was on the cards.

I was on my own heading out for this one. The cold icy rain was belting me in the face so I grabbed a baseball cap from the car and this did a great job of keeping the rain off my face. The wind was strong but the rain eased a bit for some of the session.

I found the 1m @ 10m pace to be very tough. The aim was 8 min pace so although it was tough glad I got near it. These legs haven’t had much speed in recent months so I was dreading the 10k pace bits. I had checked 10k pace and 7.37 is where it’s at but when I set off into the first one I was way too fast recording 6.30 so pulled it back and the same thing was to happen for all 4 reps, but delighted to get this done anyway.

9.45, 7.57, 7.31, 7.15, 7.26, 7.26, 9.23
    Total 5.12 in 46.15 @ 9.02/164

Thursday 23rd March – Easy Run

Headed out again with the 2 ladies from work, both trying to get back into regular running. So I always let them set the pace as pace doesn’t matter to me on easy runs and the slower the better.

Plan for them was 3m, I wasn’t sure but when near the end of mile 1, one of them needed to slow a bit, I decided to do 5m loop so headed on and of course pace creep up. Cold and windy day in the park again, but some heat in the sun too.

10.16, 9.39, 9.36, 9.33, 9.42, 9.37(.21)
    Total 5.21 in 50.48 @ 9.45/160

Friday 24th March - Recovery Run

Headed out on the usual route at home in the afternoon sunshine. Planned 2m ended up with 3!! Tried to bring the dog but since the run last week that the 2 dogs went for her I’ve been unable to leash her up. She fights it and snaps at me so not going to force her. She must be traumatised by it.

10.43, 20.44, 10.55, 10.09(.25)
    Total 3.25 in 34.55 10.45/149

Saturday 25th March – EOI 10m Race at Bellewstown

Report to follow

Sunday 26th March – Recovery

Not a bother on the body this morning which I was delighted with. Late into the afternoon and the hips started to get a bit stiff so I headed out, while my dinner was been cooked, :D for a recovery run.

I was in shorts & t-shirt but could have done with long sleeves as there was quite a nip in the air. After the first mile, i could feel the heat in the sun and It was a beautiful day. As I ran I was feeling better on each mile and so 2 miles turned into 3, which ended up being 5.3m.

11.01, 10.56, 10.42, 10.34, 10.20, 10.08(.35)
    Total 5.35 in 57.07 @ 10.41

WTD: 37.17m
    MTD: 124.64m
    YTD: 398.73m

Saturday 25th March – EOI 10m Race at Bellewstown

I signed up for this a while back and it was advertised as Duleek, but then I heard the hills of Bellewstown was the actual location. There was a 5m, 10m, 15m and Full marathon all been held at the same time.

This was my first time to experience an EOI event and it has a great atmosphere, well organised without all the bells and whistles so it’s just about the running.

Woke up Saturday morning to a heavy frost and as I entered Duleek at about 8am there was a light fog but as I reached the top of the hill in Bellewstown at the race track, it was a sunny , bright morning, but freezing cold. I collected the number, quick toilet stop and back to the car to get changed. Decided to go with a long sleeve shirt and my gloves and then I walked the half mile to the start line. This was my warm-up:o along with a few jumps in the air to keep warm as we waited for the Race briefing. Everything was covered in the race briefing and the course was basically 1 lap of the track, 2 right turns to bring us out onto the road and then followed by 3 left turns and then back onto the track & repeat. Then we had a short walk to the start.

Bar the early marathon starters everyone started at the same time but there was about 20 metres between each group. Pretty quickly all the groups merged as one and you had no idea who you’re racing against.

I was unsure going into this what way I was going to run this whether it was a training run or a race but knew that it was not a PB course so when the pace settled in at about 8.30 I decided to just go with the flow. Plenty of people passed me in the first 500m and I just settled into a good rhythm. Everyone had been talking about the hills but I really had no idea what to expect.

First mile is a lap of the path around the race track and then it’s out on to the road for a 4m loop and then repeat. I discovered as I was heading out onto the road that the marathon group had another lap to do of the path before heading out onto the road course to make up their distance followed by 5 laps of the course. Mile 1 – 8.31

Once we left the race course and went out onto the road it was like a different day. The wind died down and you could feel the heat in the sun. The gloves came off and the sleeves went up. The next mile had a slight uphill before a left turn Mile 2 – 8.14 and into a road that dropped for a big decent and I got a bit of a taste for what was to come, as what goes up, must go down :eek: and this was the down bit. Mile 3 – 7.51.

Next we went straight into an uphill bit that was short but sharp and then into our second left turn out on to a bigger road that consisted of a long drag up to the next junction which was our 3rd left turn. Mile 4 – 8.37

It was now a straight run for a mile back to the race course through the little village and then repeat the same again. There is a long drag from the bottom of the hill and although the hill is steep its the drawn out nature of it that saps your energy.

I had to walk for about 20 seconds as it was quicker than trying to run it and I was having difficulty breathing. I started running again and as i came around a slight bend in the road all you see is the road still rising and it’s a battle of wills to keep pumping the arms to get there!! Great support from the stewards at the top but by the time I got to the top I was wheezing. Mile 5 – 9.02

Got there and looking back that mile split is amazing considering the short walk on the hill. Then its a right turn and on towards the the clock . I grabbed a bottle of water and set off again. It took the full mile for my breathing to stabilise again and this time I knew what to expect heading back out onto the road. Mile 6 - 8.23

Heading out on the road again and I took off. :D I passed 2 females here but I had no idea which race they were doing (The 2nd one i passed came 2nd in the 10m and finished almost 3 mins behind me). From now on I was giving it my all. I passed 2 guys who had been in front of me on the hills and who I had been closing in on for the past mile and we had a brief chat as I passed by . Mile 7 - 8.08

And then I let fly on the downhill. :D I actually thought that if I stumbled I was in trouble as it was full speed ahead!! Mile 8 - 7.37

Flew up the next hill and headed on for the long incline. This was now starting to get difficult but I had only 2 miles left. Unfortunately I knew what was in store!! I slowed down to try catch my breath again. Mile 9 – 8.26

The last mile and that hill. The legs were fine but I just couldn’t breathe. One of the ladies who was doing the 15m (and I knew her from Donadea) had come alongside me and we were running together but there wasn't a bother on her and I was sweating like a . . . :o

I tried to get her to go ahead as I stopped to walk for about 15 seconds and she did but then she stopped and waited for me and we walked for another 10 seconds before we started running again and we got each other up the hill.

She was having trouble with her legs and no bother on her breathing and I couldn’t breath but the legs were mad to keep going!!! Mile 10 - 9.12

I sent her off again as she had another lap to do and I was wheezing badly again. It crossed my mind that it didn’t sound good but once I turned for the clock I took off again and had a sprint finish to the line, passing her on the way!! So this proved to me that the legs are strong. Last bit - pace 7.21(.12)

Within about 2 mins of stopping the breathing was fine again and I was informed I was first female home and discovered later that I was 7th overall.

Delighted with this and know that if I had to run that race again tomorrow there’s nothing I would do different .

I know in the grand scheme of things that its not a high profile race and it had a small crowd but for me it’s the first time ever placing in a race so was delighted with that and after all a win is a win!!!

1st female out of 21 female finishers . Total finisher 31 . Max HR hit 190 in this.:eek:

8.31, 8.14, 7.51, 8.37, 9.02,
    8.23, 8.08, 7.37, 8.26, 9.12, 7.21(.12)
    Total 10.12m in 1:24:54(Garmin Time) @ 8.23/174.

Had a lovely rub out of the legs after as I certainly felt it in the calves and ended up with cramping feet again so they got a short rub too.. Followed up with tea & a few biscuits. Great event and enjoyed it immensely. Very friendly bunch. Next outing with them is in Longwood and I'm ding the Half marathon on May 6th.

Have to say fair play to those who did the Full marathon and had to do that course 5 times!!

Great stuff Anne, very well done on the win.

tang1 wrote: »
    Great stuff Anne, very well done on the win.

Thanks B. You want to join me on May 6th (obviously you'll be way ahead or there is a full!!),
    Sure its only up the road!!! ;)

Younganne wrote: »
    Thanks B. You want to join me on May 6th (obviously you'll be way ahead or there is a full!!),
    Sure its only up the road!!! ;)

The Boss' annual 21st is the day before so I doubt I'll be in any fit condition to do it A!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

I'd say you're buzzing after that! Good luck with the training for the half.