was there a riot of 250 people in henry street in dublin on dec 26th??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭Bicky bicky

mynamejeff wrote: »
    Seems to be alright . you know there is an edit function ?

you could go back and repair that mess ?

I'll leave it there for you to critique !

(This has something to do with the gangland thread a guard is never off or forgets a grudge)

Have nice day whatevers left of it!

Advbrd wrote: »
    What the hell is this all about?

It was reported to be 250 people involved in the "Riot" when first reported by Leo!

Other media put numbers there as 200.

The son involved in the fight wrote on Twitter possibility 100 involved.

Another tweet from the son stated he and his dad held off 15-20 of them and stood there ground and fought!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭BabyCheeses

I could guess who would believe it straight away and somehow I happened to be right. Must have the ability to see into the future.
    gitzy16v wrote: »
    What about the Americans in the video?
    No reason for those to make it up.
    Media doesnt want to know.

As usual the truth is probably somewhere in the middle of the extremes.

The Gardai said nobody was harmed. The gardai vs video on website known to lie and steal from other news.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,093 ✭✭✭gitzy16v

I could guess who would believe it straight away .

Who would that be then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,098 ✭✭✭conorhal

Like I said, there is no indication at all that we are heading towards high crime ethnic ghettos. And there is no indication at all that migrants were involved in the fighting in the city center.

BWAHaHahahaha...ha..

The sad part is the fact that, deep down (but not very deep down), even you know that sounds like a press release from the Department of Plausible Deniability.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

conorhal wrote: »
    BWAHaHahahaha...ha..

The sad part is the fact that, deep down (but not very deep down), even you know that sounds like a press release from the Department of Plausible Deniability.....

I don't need a press release from anyone considering I work in one of the most high crime areas in the county and I was working the morning following the "riot".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I could guess who would believe it straight away and somehow I happened to be right. Must have the ability to see into the future.

The Gardai said nobody was harmed. The gardai vs video on website known to lie and steal from other news.

See you know this already but for the purpose AGAIN....This was reported in multiple news outlets. It was the liberal who ripped it from somewhere else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,236 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

See you know this already but for the purpose AGAIN....This was reported in multiple news outlets. It was the liberal who ripped it from somewhere else

Yes but it was also the liberal that tried to overblow the story and tack a racist agenda onto it.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

sounds more like an orgy than a riot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭veronymus

Yeah I know, I go through Jobstown every day, there are plenty of basket ball courts, playing fields, community halls, medical centers, community gyms, community stables, (yes stables FFS in fact every other building seems like it's a community something-or-other) and other resources per head of it's population then you'll see anywhere else.
    The poverty in the area is cultural as opposed to financial. And I'm generally opposed to the suggestion that unless the kids have 'something to do' or we fail to provide them with endless distractions then of course they're going to turn to crime and wreck the place.

That's really how it looks, doesn't it?? But the truth of that place is that when people were initially settled there, there was no public transport. No secondary school, no shopping centre, no church, and I do not lie, very few roads... The list goes on. You really cannot throw resources at an area long after the damage is done and then proclaim "look, these people have everything and still behave like animals". You clearly did not go through Jobstown every day in the 80s or 90s. Back then the area was unloved and 'unpoliced' and the latter hasn't really changed all that much.

In any event, I'm not sure why Jobstown is being dragged into this argument. It doesn't have an overly large migrant population (not that it should matter).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,448 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

We now know who they voted for in the Mercian pred election.

To be fair I don't think they did vote for Trump. I started googling and came across their facebook pages. There's absolutely nothing to suggest the people involved were anything more than a normal american couple. They even posted up pro Obama stuff. It's the dullest family photo's you could imagine.

The only family member to mention anything about Henry st was the kid on twitter. I think a gang of lads ran past them. In the video they even say that they ran/walked past them. One knocked into them. He grabbed hold of the yanks arm and said why did you run into me. The yanks kid shoved him back to "break the hold". That could easily be seen as starting a fight and that's when the fight broke out.

Based on all the reports it appears the whole incident on Henry street lasted less than 5 minutes. A load of teens ran from one end of the street to another. It's not a riot. No big fight broke out between two gangs. No shops were looted. Nothing was set on fire. I think the word riot is such an over statement.

The liberal, the rag that it is, said that it was reminiscent of baghdad. Of course all the people who hate immigrants are jumping on this and say that there's a liberal conspiracy (which manages to cover every single newspaper, TV station, radio station and website in the country (with the exception of Leo Sherlocks)) .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭BabyCheeses

And they had a video from a family who were attacked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,791 ✭✭✭up for anything

AS I said, it's indicative of a growing underbelly of disenfranchised migrants youths from ghettoized areas creating a problem. People are ignoring the fact that we are creating the Irish equivalent of the Parisian banlieues, large sprawling migrant suburbs with unintegrated migrant populations seething with crime, unemployment and alienation.
    We don't need to create that problem here, nobody want's it.
    I'm baffled that, with all the hindsight in the world available from across the water, why our government is intent on replicating the very same mistakes as the Blair government did. I'm baffled by the fact that whenever the UK make a stupid decision that Ireland, with a depressing inevitably, seems to copy it and double down on it for some bizzare reason.

I think we're doing quite well with our own underbelly of youth, never mind the migrants you speak of.

I've seen this swarming, intimidating behaviour in Tramore quite regularly. Tramore is a hardly a ghettoised area and the youngsters are definitely not disenfranchised and the town doesn't have a large un-integrated migrant population 'seething with crime, unemployment and alienation'.

On 29th October last which was the Saturday of the Halloween bank holiday weekend, Tramore was full of groups - from groups of ten up to groups of 40 mainly white teenage boys ranging from 12 years to being legally able to drive - who were wandering around the town in what you could call swarms, or parked in their cars watching the 'craic'. Three times members of my family had to call the guards to tell them that the bin on the church green had yet again been set on fire by the little scrotes - this meant gardaí plus a fire engine had to come out to put out the fires and check around the area. As soon as the guards left the pointless little feckers would come back and do it again. We weren't the only people to call the guards out either. I didn't see them offer any violence to anyone although they were intimidating just by fact of their numbers.

Those groups were comprised mainly of white, middle class brats with feck all to do except cause a bit of low level trouble.

However, with a few slight word changes I could turn it into a grand wee article 'Tramore sees night of terror with marauding gangs of teenagers, setting fires, taking over the town and causing police and emergency services to turn out in numbers.'

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

I'll leave it there for you to critique !

(This has something to do with the gangland thread a guard is never off or forgets a grudge)

Have nice day whatevers left of it!

dont worry bicky theres always another day right ?

this thread has nothing to do with gangland or the gardai why are you mentioning them here ?
    is this to do with one of your other profiles on boards bicky ?

dont get so offended about being pulled up on you grammer

just try better next time
    lol

mynamejeff wrote: »
    dont worry bicky theres always another day right ?

this thread has nothing to do with gangland or the gardai why are you mentioning them here ?
    is this to do with one of your other profiles on boards bicky ?

dont get so offended about being pulled up on you grammer

just try better next time
    lol

I didn't even look at your posts, I recognised your name!!

Surprisingly I've no other account here but I'll close this one shortly and be back as a somewhat normal poster hopefully!

Grammar is not something I rate and I'm not offended.

I'm only human, i will always make mistakes, big and small, some will have no impact on my life others have and will have a huge impact but i am what I am, warts and all.

conas a bhí mo chuid Béarla ðŸ˜

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭C. Montgomery Gurns

veronymus wrote: »
    That's really how it looks, doesn't it?? But the truth of that place is that when people were initially settled there, there was no public transport. No secondary school, no shopping centre, no church, and I do not lie, very few roads... The list goes on. .

You just described most country towns pre Celtic Tiger bar the no church bit, except you could tag on less employment opportunities within easy driving distance. How would you define no public transport? As I am fairly confident Jobstown would have been within a 20 minute walk of a bus stop- it's not ideal but some country towns are lucky to see one bus per day even today.

As for facilities, aside from Barry McGuigan I am hard pressed to think of one prominent footballer or boxer who came from a village background (edit- I think Shane Long and Stephen Hunt are fairly small town). The vast majority of our international footballers have been from working class parts of Dublin and Cork city, and most of the remainder hail from large towns like Drogheda and so on. There are large mostly rural counties by population that have never even produced a single capped international. You name a prominent sportsman and invariably he's from an urban area with "no facilities" where the kids have nothing to do apparently.

As for facilities, aside from Barry McGuigan I am hard pressed to think of one prominent footballer or boxer who came from a village background. You name a prominent sportsman and invariably he's from an urban area with "no facilities" where the kids have nothing to do apparently.

[Mask off mode]

Exactly so there is tonnes of ambition in these places, not just jobstown might I add.

Most of these people aren't the right nationally for non skilled jobs and minimum wage employers don't want us Irish because we complain about pay. conditions, time off, holidays etc.

Bad peer V good peers in theses areas and the fact drugs are everywhere.

[Mask on]

ðŸ˜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,687 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

The one thing I'd doubt about the story is that not one of the 250 teenagers posted a grammatically-mangled selfie video of the event, therefore intelligently implicating themself and some mates for the convenience of the police and future employers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭Help!!!!

Well it looks like the story was true afterall, this American family was caught up in it. Why was none of it reported by the main media?? I wonder!!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NBQZPAsZf6o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Political correctness might be bad but a riot on stpehens day is going to become widely seen on social media if it did actually occur, and I don't believe that Irish media is at a point that they would try to cover something like that up like they did in germany

wakka12 wrote: »
    Political correctness might be bad but a riot on stpehens day is going to become widely seen on social media if it did actually occur, and I don't believe that Irish media is at a point that they would try to cover something like that up like they did in germany

So what your saying is that this family are lying about it also?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Help!!!! wrote: »

I don't know whether it happened or not. But that family are racist, they constantly refer to the fact that the 'attackers' are black and say several times throughout the video that theyre not racist, if theyre not racist then why do they need to tell us that these teenagers are black so often? Why should it make any difference to this story?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,610 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Well it looks like the story was true afterall, this American family was caught up in it. Why was none of it reported by the main media?? I wonder!!

Liberal.ie branded video on their youtube channel...... yup no chance of there being an agenda there at all, convenient that although there was apparently 250 rioters there's zero photographic evidence of anything like what the liberal is claiming occurred.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,113 ✭✭✭optogirl

I wouldn't be even slightly surprised to hear that that video was fake & made up by Leo @ the 'Liberal'

VinLieger wrote: »
    Liberal.ie branded video on their youtube channel...... yup no chance of there being an agenda there at all, convenient that although there was apparently 250 rioters there's zero photographic evidence of anything like what the liberal is claiming occurred.

The video was put on days after the story was first reported.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,114 ✭✭✭irelandrover

He doesnt seem to have many bruises or cuts for a man you was attacked so visiously by so many people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,610 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Doesn't make it any less full of bullsh1t.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,424 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Did you even read the first page? It was reported reported in the Irish Times, Irish Independent and many others and the video was also mentioned on the first page. With eyewitness accounts mostly saying nothing major happened. The only conflicting eyewitness account is that couple (whose video is old as the story by the way). There is no evidence of a mass riot, no CCTV footage, no phone camera footage, and most eyewitnesses say nothing serious happened.

You just read what you what to read and believe what you want to believe. You complain about bias but only believe a single source (whose reputation has been destroyed with actual evidence and is currently in the High Court) which supports your agenda and tell everybody else they're biased.

It's actually comical.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,071 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Days after so why on earth is it been brought up now nearly 6 months later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,871 ✭✭✭SteM

Never has a username been more apt.