Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

was there a riot of 250 people in henry street in dublin on dec 26th??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Something minor happened, but not that.

Its The Liberal ffs - you're not supposed to take it too seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Shrodinger's Riot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭DontThankMe

Yes it took place right after the pigs were seen flying through the sky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

I'm surprised no CCTV was released by either side to try prove their point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Uthur wrote: »

The IT is reporting something happened. Although not near the full scale, all-out war, as reported on The Liberal.

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/four-youths-held-over-public-order-offences-in-dublin-city-1.2928252
    A Garda spokesman said the youths, three boys and a girl, were held in connection with public order offences in the Henry Street area and released a short time afterwards.

“No one had been injured and there was no evidence of any weapons involved,” the spokesman said.

A staff member at a shop on Henry Street told The Irish Times the incidents started at about 5pm.

He said it was tense at the beginning, but “they were only kids who ran up and down the street and made noise. We didn’t have to close.”

A security man at another shop on the street said “about 80 to 100 [people] teamed up and ran up and down the middle of Henry Street to where there was an unmarked Garda car.

“Then they ran back down to where there was a marked Garda car.”
    He said that those involved were “a mixture of mainly black and some white guys."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Yeah it reminded me of Baghdad.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ClovenHoof

Yep, it was 90% young black guys. The Irish media hid it more effectively than the German media tried with the mass rapes in Cologne a year ago.

Hence why 'fake news' rules the world now and mainstream journalism is dead. Only one side of that equation is reporting the facts as they happen.

ClovenHoof wrote: »
    Yep, it was 90% young black guys. The Irish media hid it more effectively than the German media tried with the mass rapes in Cologne a year ago.

Hence why 'fake news' rules the world now and mainstream journalism is dead. Only one side of that equation is reporting the facts as they happen.

With no video, no pictures from camera phones shared?

Even organised soccer hooligan clashes, held away from where the police are, are filmed and can be found online.

You telling me not one human being on that crowded street filmed any of this?

If even three or four did, it'd be online and the media would have it.

Or it would be viral on social media by now even if you believe the conspiracy that the media are covering this up.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Garda quotes indicate a minor disturbance occured, but nothing on scale of a riot.

The fact that it was black people involved has been covered extensively. It wasn't reported at first because nothing of note really happened.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057689202

Here you go folks read all about it or maybe not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,093 ✭✭✭gitzy16v

What about the Americans in the video?
    No reason for those to make it up.
    Media doesnt want to know.

As usual the truth is probably somewhere in the middle of the extremes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

This is was reported in a few outlets. People of a certain political persuasion are using the Liberals sketchy and plagiaristic reporting history to paint this as fake news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,824 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

I've seen this behavior before in Tallaght a couple of years ago. Huge groups of African teenagers descend upon a location and sections of the group engage in fighting.
    It's peculiar behavior, the group almost moving like a shoal of fish. The number (250) mentioned in this instance is reasonably similar to what I saw myself.
    To be honest any time I've come in contact with teenagers of an African background I've found them to be polite well behaved kids, this type of behavior is weird to say the least.

Glazers Out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

I can tell you now that if 250 people were rioting in the city center on a bank holiday you would have dozens of Gardaí responding to it from all over Dublin. Yet the reports mention it was only five Gardaí. This is completely unbelievable.

With not one video or picture posted anywhere online.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭C. Montgomery Gurns

I detest political correctness as much as anyone but I would have some doubts all the same. Certainly something happened. Whether it involved 250 people actively taking part, I'd have to wonder really. Our media already covered up at least one gang rape incident in Tallaght last year.
    gitzy16v wrote: »
    What about the Americans in the video?
    No reason for those to make it up.
    Media doesnt want to know.

As usual the truth is probably somewhere in the middle of the extremes.

I'm sure that Sherlock clown has plenty of yank friends who he could call in for a favour. I'd be more inclined to listen to them if they showed us a few photos or their passport stamps showing they were indeed in Dublin recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭Didas

A riot of 250 people on one of Dublins primary streets, on one of the biggest social nights of the year, in a time when everyone and their dog has a smartphone, yet there is no video evidence whatsoever?

Even leaving aside the fact that the only site claiming this happened has a blatant far right agenda and no credibility at all, it is not even nearly believable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

If it's not on YouTube it never happened!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,575 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Did not happen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭Bicky bicky

[quote="C. Montgomery Gurns;102265622"
    I'm sure that Sherlock clown has plenty of yank friends who he could call in for a favour. I'd be more inclined to listen to them if they showed us a few photos or their passport stamps showing they were indeed in Dublin recently.[/quote]

Not one name drop of a street, a hotel not even the hospital but aaron (shenely??) paused perfectly for heather (he's huge the sight of has me running) to thank the liberal dot ie for writing the truth about 250 "black youths"

Leo and his family must have serious connections politically!

Money really does allow you to do anything in this country!

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Leo and his family must have serious connections politically!

They're linked to the Iona institute, which is backed heavily by American pro-lifers

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Didn't happen. I know someone who works down there, she says not one of her co workers were aware of anything until they saw it in the paper. And that was days afterwards. And not one bit of cctv, no camera footage, no damage from this riot? Typical Indo bull****.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

A full-blown riot? At that time of the year? At that time of the day? In this part of the country? Localised entirely within Henry Street?

Yes!

May I see it?

No.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

maybe it had something to do with the sales ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭Bicky bicky

GLaDOS wrote: »
    They're linked to the Iona institute, which is backed heavily by American pro-lifers

Fits like a personally tailored glove!

http://bocktherobber.com/2013/06/what-exactly-is-the-iona-institute/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

ummm in Kelleher we trust............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,858 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

In twenty years there'll be fifty thousand people who'll claim to have been there when it didn't happen.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 20 FatHeadFred

Didas wrote: »
    A riot of 250 people on one of Dublins primary streets, on one of the biggest social nights of the year, in a time when everyone and their dog has a smartphone, yet there is no video evidence whatsoever?

Even leaving aside the fact that the only site claiming this happened has a blatant far right agenda and no credibility at all, it is not even nearly believable.

The Irish Times, the Irish Independent, the Irish Mirror and The Herald are all far right now? They reported it.

eviltwin wrote: »
    Didn't happen. I know someone who works down there, she says not one of her co workers were aware of anything until they saw it in the paper. And that was days afterwards. And not one bit of cctv, no camera footage, no damage from this riot? Typical Indo bull****.
    Assistant Garda Commissioner Jack Nolan, who is responsible for policing in the Dublin Metropolitan Region (DMR), added that investigations would continue into the organisation of mass brawls through social media.

It comes after four youths were arrested following a mass public order incident involving more than 200 teenagers in the north inner city on St Stephen's Day.

Youths gathered on Mary Street and surrounding streets throughout the day, with viol- ence erupting shortly after 5pm.

A number of people were assaulted, while some shopkeepers on the street were forced to pull down their shutters.

"With regards to social media fights, certainly I am aware of the incident happening on Henry Street and Mary Street on St Stephen's Day," Mr Nolan told the Dublin City Joint Policing Committee (JPC).

"I have people actually continuing to trawl through social media for any indication of anything like that.

"A number of people have been arrested in relation to what happened on St Stephen's Day and other investigations are continuing.

"It is not a new problem, it's a recurring problem periodically, but we will keep on top of that."

Is the Assistant Garda Commissioner lying?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,676 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

It says on the net it happened so it must be true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

I've seen footage of the aftermath of the shooting in the Regency through WhatsApp but have yet to see anything from this so-called riot. :confused:

The Irish Times, the Irish Independent, the Irish Mirror and The Herald are all far right now? They reported it.
    They all reported a full-blown riot involving 250 people? Or an incident where a few people were arrested?
    Is the Assistant Garda Commissioner lying?

Don't put words in his mouth.
    "With regards to social media fights, certainly I am aware of the incident happening on Henry Street and Mary Street on St Stephen's Day," Mr Nolan told the Dublin City Joint Policing Committee (JPC).

Where did he mention a riot? Let alone one involving large numbers.

Look, something must have happened. A fight or something involving a few people. A couple of guards arrived and arrested 4(?) people. That's all anyone knows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

Peregrine wrote: »
    They all reported a full-blown riot involving 250 people? Or an incident where a few people were arrested?

Don't put words in his mouth.

Where did he mention a riot? Let alone one involving large numbers.

Look, something must have happened. A fight or something involving a few people. A couple of guards arrived and arrested 4(?) people. That's all anyone knows.

The Irish times says 200 people. And a mass public order incident.

The other poster said it was total bull**** and nothing happened. That's not true. The Assistant Garda Commissioner wouldn't be commenting on it otherwise.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Don't they all just copy the one original article?

The Irish times says 200 people.

Did they report it or report that someone said it happened? Huge difference.

Here's what I got from the IT article:
    He said it was tense at the beginning, but “they were only kids who ran up and down the street and made noise. We didn’t have to close.”
    A security man at another shop on the street said “about 80 to 100 [people] teamed up and ran up and down the middle of Henry Street to where there was an unmarked Garda car.

“Then they ran back down to where there was a marked Garda car.”

He said that those involved were “a mixture of mainly black and some white guys.

“Elderly customers in the shop were afraid to go out. They hadn’t a clue what was going on.”
    A security man at another shop on Henry Street said he was off on the day in question but had heard nothing about a riot in the area on St Stephen’s Day, “and the staff never mentioned anything”, he said.

A lot of hearsay. A lot of conflicting accounts and no riots mentioned.

The other poster said it was total bull**** and nothing happened. That's not true. The Assistant Garda Commissioner wouldn't be commenting on it otherwise.

Read the title. They said a 250 people riot didn't happen. And the Assistant Garda Commissioner saying he's aware of 'the incident' doesn't prove that a 250 people riot happened.

I can see the rarest and strangest things happening on the net now, yet 250 young 'uns can stage a fight on one of Dublins main streets, and you're telling me there is zero footage of it?

OK so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭selectamatic

Zebra3 wrote: »
    I've seen footage of the aftermath of the shooting in the Regency through WhatsApp but have yet to see anything from this so-called riot. :confused:

Well tbf one involved pistols, assault rifles, members of the kinahan family, members of the hutch family and dissident republicans at a public event where actual reporters and cameras were present in a well known Dublin hotel and the end result was murder.

The other was supposedly a few foreign lads spontaneously knocking sh1te outta each other for a few minutes on a Dublin street.

That might explain the disparity in media attention and lack of interest from the general public/possible witnesses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

Peregrine wrote: »
    Did they report it or report that someone said it happened? Huge difference.

Here's what I got from the IT article:

A lot of hearsay. A lot of conflicting accounts and no riots mentioned.

The original paragraph is fairly unequivocal

Edit..

I was confusing the IT with a post someone embedded without a link. IT was hearsay and contradictory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭learn_more

I lived in Clapham London for a few years.

I was passing through Clapham Junction on my way home.

I experienced a riot but it was school children in their school uniforms, they were all black, a few of them were white.

About what I would guess was about 80 ppl.

It was really scary, they were going mental. I think a fight had broke out and all I could observe was that they were swarming around moving left right up and down just like a swarm of swallows. It only lasted a few minutes.

So, I believe this story.

When stuff like this happens it's so short lived that by the time the police get to it everyone who was involved has dissipated. They know full well if they hang around and keep it going over an extended period of time they will be arrested.

The Irish times says 200 people. And a mass public order incident.
    The original paragraph is fairly unequivocal

Edit..

I was confusing the IT with a post someone embedded without a link. IT was hearsay and contradictory.

That was theliberal.ie artcle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

philstar wrote: »
    maybe it had something to do with the sales ??

There were no sales. Has anyone seen footage of these sales on Henry Street?

All lies. Created by Russian hackers in collaboration with the ultra right Irish Times.

Sure it wasn't the Next sale?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,717 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Those journaiists are talking a load of sh1te, I was there and I counted 251 rioters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

NIMAN wrote: »
    Sure it wasn't the Next sale?

It was the Nyet sale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

That is actually the most believable part of the report.

Policing levels in the city are shocking. There was a near disaster about two years ago on S, Patrick's day in Temple Bar square due to over crowding and the fact that entry into the area was uncontrolled. The reason? There were only 2 cops standing around in the square monitoring things, and that was it, 2 cops in the entire temple bar area trying to manage tens of thousands of revelers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

conorhal wrote: »
    That is actually the most believable part of the report.

Policing levels in the city are shocking. There was a near disaster about two years ago on S, Patrick's day in Temple Bar square due to over crowding and the fact that entry into the area was uncontrolled. The reason? There were only 2 cops standing around in the square monitoring things, and that was it, 2 cops in the entire temple bar area trying to manage tens of thousands of revelers.

Normal policing levels are low but when a major public order issue arises then patrol cars from all over Dublin respond. Bank holidays rarely have issues with man power because nobody takes a bank holiday off in the Gardaí.

Organised fights have existed long before social media became a thing. But it's hard to believe there were 250 mostly black people involved in one in the middle of the city center and not one piece of video is available. At most I'd say it was probably a few dozen people shouting at each other and maybe one or two fights if any.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,415 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Normal policing levels are low but when a major public order issue arises then patrol cars from all over Dublin respond. .

This.

Just because you don't see a Guard on every corner does not mean they can't respond in numbers. I live at a busy junction and regularly see and hear around a dozen cars rushing somewhere with sirens and lights. First couple of times I thought somebody had assassinated Enda, such was the response.

Have also seen a mini riot involving around 30-40 people last summer and Guards were there in force within seconds. Of course that was reported as involving a hundred people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I'm surprised that there are no amateur video from the people involved. I wouldn't be banking on CCTV being released even if there was an incident of the scale described.