The IRA, dissidents and drugs- so who's telling the truth?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭A Little Pony

timthumbni wrote: »
    A UI was inevitable the day the GFA was signed.
    You now have an Irish taoiseach talking about it's inevitability and practicality.
    Keep the head in the sand as long as you can.

Well 2016 has came and gone and still no sign of a UI. Gerry seems to have hit a bum note on that one. It seems even a fair number of so called nationalist voters don't want a UI looking at the poll last year, let alone the rest.

Re the Irish Taoiseach most here in NI couldn't even tell you his name. And that's on both unionist and nationalist sides in my experience. He just doesn't register that much to be honest.
    This is true. Most people up here couldn't give a damn what he says even if they knew who he was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,287 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

The IRA called a ceasefire in 1994, then the Loyalists did it a few months later. Why you seem to be in denial of historical record that the IRA had become less effective, had been riddled with informers and Sinn Fein had been looking to stop the terrorism for a number of years before they eventually did.

The IRA wasn't ever going to bomb Protestants into some socialist Republic, a lot of lost lives and as Gerard Hodgins says, for absolutely nothing. What started out as a revolutionary movement in his eyes to overthrow the state is now governing a British state. So much for not surrendering.

As Unionism found out this week and since the agreement, you no longer have a veto, you no longer get to run your self aggrandising little schemes or an exclusively sectarian bigoted little statelet, etc etc. the game is up, profoundly.
    That is a huge win in every way you look at it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sue Pa Key Pa

The IRA were/are murderous scum. Drug smuggling would fit nicely with their morals.

This is true. Most people up here couldn't give a damn what he says even if they knew who he was.

Answer to that is 'Arlene' again.
    You better get used to it, because once the idiots trigger Art 50, the fun is only beginning.

The IRA called a ceasefire in 1994, then the Loyalists did it a few months later. Why you seem to be in denial of historical record that the IRA had become less effective, had been riddled with informers and Sinn Fein had been looking to stop the terrorism for a number of years before they eventually did.

The IRA wasn't ever going to bomb Protestants into some socialist Republic, a lot of lost lives and as Gerard Hodgins says, for absolutely nothing. What started out as a revolutionary movement in his eyes to overthrow the state is now governing a British state. So much for not surrendering.

As Unionism found out this week and since the agreement, you no longer have a veto, you no longer get to run your self aggrandising little schemes or an exclusively sectarian bigoted little statelet, etc etc. the game is up, profoundly.
    The DUP veto everything they don't like, what are you on about? That is why Stormont doesn't work, because it has no accountability, Sinn Fein and the DUP both run the joint. Both parties are like a cancer on Ulster, the people hate them but at the same time don't want the Prod or the taig to get in, so it remains the way it is.

No election in Northern Ireland matters as long as the system remains the way it is. It is probably the worst form of government in the Western world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

Says you as direct rule from Westminster looms closer and closer again....

Yes, SF are really playing a blinder. Jaysus even machine gun marty is getting his windies put in by so called fellow republicans because he succeeded "so well" in the UI fantasy. Bit weird don't you think????

But in your words it's a big win for provos..... ho hum.....

Answer to that is 'Arlene' again.
    You better get used to it, because once the idiots trigger Art 50, the fun is only beginning.
    Yeah, Protestants know who Arlene Foster is. Most don't have a clue who governs the Irish Republic or care.

Yes, SF are really playing a blinder. Jaysus even machine gun marty is getting his windies put in by so called fellow republicans because he succeeded "so well" in the UI fantasy. Bit weird don't you think????

Mcguinness will probably be dead soon, so every cloud.

Yeah, Protestants know who Arlene Foster is. Most don't have a clue who governs the Irish Republic or care.

Arlene was very aware of who Enda was and what he was saying when she had her little conniption and embarrassed herself again.

Of course nobody cares. :D:D:rolleyes:

Sometimes I think you guys would prefer the conflict.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭maryishere

Re the Irish Taoiseach most here in NI couldn't even tell you his name. And that's on both unionist and nationalist sides in my experience. He just doesn't register that much to be honest.

No surprise he does not register, the eejit. Here are five more of Enda's more unusual quotes.

1. "Paddy likes to know what the story is."
    Not long after his 2011 General Election success, our soon to be Taoiseach took the the television studio to assure us that his Government would not be a secretive one.

2. "You could do with a day's work, I'd say."
    This was Mr Kenny's response to a man in Athlone who would not tell An Taoiseach his name. The man was self employed for 29 years before losing his job during the recession.

3. "Generally when people speak to each other they use words."
    This nugget came from a public address in July 2012.

4. "The outstanding organiser who brought Lenin himself to Ireland to see how the National Loan worked."
    An Taoiseach got a little bit confused with this one. He was referring to Michael Collins at Béal na mBláth, but later held his hands up and admitted he got his facts a little bit muddled. Lenin never made his way to Ireland.

5. "If there's anyone out there who still doubts that Ireland is a place where all things are possible, who still wonders if the dream of our ancestors is alive in our time, who still questions our capacity to restore ourselves, reinvent ourselves and prosper, today is your answer."
    Does the above quote from Kenny's public address during Obama's visit to Ireland sound familiar? Maybe it's because 36 of the above 48 words were from an address Obama had previously made himself.

And his the previous Taoiseach were even worse, from Biffo (remember when he came on the radio drunk at 9 in the morning, having been in a pub at a sing song at 3.30am), to Ahern ( the ex-minister for finance who had not a bank account, and who was photoed in a broom cupboard after he resigned from Tooiseach, having ruined the country) to Haughey ( arms trial etc)
    Most don't have a clue who governs the Irish Republic or care.

Correct, and no wonder.

Still, TAOISEACH Enda Kenny remained the third best-paid leader in the EU in 2013, even though the country was bust, so the political elite here sure know how to look after themselves.http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/enda-kenny-is-still-third-bestpaid-leader-in-the-eu-28953402.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,360 ✭✭✭KingBrian2

The IRA were/are murderous scum. Drug smuggling would fit nicely with their morals.

The IRA decommissioned so the guys involved in drugs today have no connection with organisations Gerry & McGuinness were in. I have difficulty believing they had a drug smuggling operation.

KingBrian2 wrote: »
    The IRA decommissioned so the guys involved in drugs today have no connection with organisations Gerry & McGuinness were in. I have difficulty believing they had a drug smuggling operation.

I'm still waiting for some evidence here that the IRA was involved in any systematic way in drug dealing or running.
    I wonder did they make 500 million off it and lodge it in an Isle of Man account? :)

But no difficulty that the same organisation in question, the Ira, would shoot a woman census worker in the head. They dealt a serious blow for a UI that day I'm sure. That was in Londonderry. I wonder who was in charge of that heroic operation.....

But no difficulty that the same orgainsiation in question, the Ira, would shoot a woman census worker in the head. They dealt a serious blow for a UI that day I'm sure. That was in Londonderry. I wonder who was in charge of that heroic operation.....
    Brilliant soldiers, targeting an innocent census worker looking to make some money to put food on the table. If you listened to some on here you would think they jumped out of the trenches or battled away in Stalingrad.

But no difficulty that the same orgainsiation in question, the Ira, would shoot a woman census worker in the head. They dealt a serious blow for a UI that day I'm sure. That was in Londonderry. I wonder who was in charge of that heroic operation.....

Oh great The Whataboutery Game.

I'll pass.

Sometimes I think you guys would prefer the conflict.

No, I would never want to see young children blown up outside a McDonald's restaurant again unlike the heroic republicans in the IRa who decicided to advance their cause of a so called UI by....... blowing up 2 kids outside a McDonald's....

But no difficulty that the same organisation in question, the Ira, would shoot a woman census worker in the head. They dealt a serious blow for a UI that day I'm sure. That was in Londonderry. I wonder who was in charge of that heroic operation.....

You see that is what is great about a punchbag. You can attribute all known crimes to them and people will just believe it because they want to lap it up and reinforce their prejudices.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭KyussBeeshop

The PIRA has a rich history of extorting business owners (big and small) as well as targeting wealthy individuals - why should we believe that they'd stop short of targeting drug dealers for extortion as well, given that they will have been one of the most lucrative potential sources of funding?

It's an act that's relatively easily hidden, especially when targeting other groups engaged in mass criminal activity, so I don't see why anyone should believe claims that they were not involved in acts like this - you won't find proof of it, but it's pretty much a no-brainer/obvious-choice, as far as fundraising goes, and todays criminal IRA groups take full advantage of that - so it seems perfectly plausible that past/dormant IRA groups may have been at it too.

Brilliant soldiers, targeting an innocent census worker looking to make some money to put food on the table. If you listened to some on here you would think they jumped out of the trenches or battled away in Stalingrad.

We know what the Ira war was about. They were allowed to bomb and shoot any man, woman or child they wanted and it was part of their so called war. However If any of them were killed though then it was a trip to their favourite Provo loving solicitors and a crying match over why someone shot their poor murdering, bombing son. And this goes on to this day. Laughable....

Spot on. Look at Gibraltar, absolute cry babies when some swift justice was met out. Cowards to a man.

You see that is what is great about a punchbag. You can attribute all known crimes to them and people will just believe it because they want to lap it up and reinforce their prejudices.

In English please cobber......

Spot on. Look at Gibraltar, absolute cry babies when some swift justice was met out. Cowards to a man.

And woman in that case...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Tbf.....british soldiers have no business in irrland going about gunning down irish people??

The PIRA has a rich history of extorting business owners (big and small) as well as targeting wealthy individuals - why should we believe that they'd stop short of targeting drug dealers for extortion as well, given that they will have been one of the most lucrative potential sources of funding?

Correct. In the 70's and 80's they had a history of kidnapping wealthy individuals who had legitimate business backgrounds - no reason to suspect they did not put the pressure / attempt to extort from others as well.

People will keep banging on about the IRA as it has become a national hobby. Come on lads the loyalists and MI5 were engaged in terror themselves. Both sides committed atrocities but of course we bash the IRA when they were the only ones protecting the Nationalist communities in the North.

maryishere wrote: »

Correct.  In the 70's and 80's they had a history of kidnapping wealthy individuals who had legitimate business backgrounds - no reason to suspect they did not put the pressure / attempt to extort from others as well.
    Didn't they kidnap a race horse? Cruelty to animals on the list too.

Tbf.....british soldiers have no business in irrland going about gunning down irish people??
    And indeed only an extremely small percentage of the 300,000 British soldiers who served in N. Ireland ever gunned anyone down, and when they did so it was often in self defence, or caught in crossfire, bearing in mind approx 1000 British soldiers died as a result of the troubles, with many more injured. The majority in N. Ireland wanted British soldiers there to back up the police, to help keep law and order. Thats how governments work.

Here in the Republic the Irish army backed up the Gardai and indeed shot Republicans.

People will keep banging on about the IRA as it has become a national hobby. Come on lads the loyalists and MI5 were engaged in terror themselves. Both sides committed atrocities but of course we bash the IRA when they were the only ones protecting the Nationalist communities in the North.
    I have said that plenty of times, the Shankill Butchers etc, I would have hanged everyone of them. Michael Stone for example should have got the death penalty for the things he done, Billy Wright another one.

The faux shock horror that a revolutionary group use nefarious fund raising techniques is hilarious.

They should have set up a OTG* scheme and scammed it. :) Respectable!

* OTG (Overthrow the Government)