was there a riot of 250 people in henry street in dublin on dec 26th??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

gitzy16v wrote: »
    Where?

Dunsink Lane and Labre Park would be two obvious ones anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭C. Montgomery Gurns

Even the Google street view car doesn't enter most Traveller estates yet you can tour around feckin Compton and Detroit on it :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,093 ✭✭✭gitzy16v

Any sources for this or is it just your opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,096 ✭✭✭conorhal

Dublin has no go areas, and it's nothing to do with immigrants.

Yet, are you suggesting that won't happen? What do you base that on?

Any sources for this or is it just your opinion

Why don't you pop down to one of them and check them out. I wouldn't stop your car or open any windows though.

conorhal wrote: »
    Yet, are you suggesting that won't happen? What do you base that on?

I'm suggesting your point has nothing to do with the alleged fighting in Dublin. There's been plenty of fighting between young lads before.

http://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/huge-brawl-involving-100-people-11606619

http://www.echo.ie/tallaght/article/up-to-50-youths-involved-in-organised-fight-between-schools

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,093 ✭✭✭gitzy16v

Why don't you pop down to one of them and check them out. I wouldn't stop your car or open any windows though.

ive been a few time,I used to be a courier....its rough alright but I wouldnt have said theyre no go areas

I'm suggesting your point has nothing to do with the alleged fighting in Dublin. There's been plenty of fighting between young lads before.

http://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/huge-brawl-involving-100-people-11606619

http://www.echo.ie/tallaght/article/up-to-50-youths-involved-in-organised-fight-between-schools

So now answer beyond whataboutery then. No surprise there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

200 youngsters fighting on the city streets THEN the Lord came and fed the multitude with 5 loaves and 2 fishes and all was well.

So now answer beyond whataboutery then. No surprise there.

Again, what has immigration got to do with the alleged fighting in the city center?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,832 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

ive been a few time,I used to be a courier....its rough alright but I wouldnt have said theyre no go areas

Ive driven up to Dunsink Lane when I was spinning around on my motorbike exploring Dublins nooks and crannies. No way are strangers welcome there, I had several kids throwing rocks while I spun around and scattered out of there. Also the land in Dunsink is actually pretty valuable (close to the M50, only 5 miles from the city) but the council wont go anywhere near it or even suggest moving the travellers on and building proper houses- they know full well if they did they could expect a riot. It is a no go area without doubt.

Likes of Tyrellstown might have a lot of African immigrants but it also has a lot of Irish, Polish, Lithuanians, Latvians, etc. It is simply wrong to say we are creating ghettoes like in Paris. In Paris the councils dumped all these immigrants into specific areas where they have no integration with the French whatsoever. The French wont live in these areas so what you get is the likes of the Paris riots that we saw a few years ago.

Again, what has immigration got to do with the alleged fighting in the city center?

The fact that it's participants are a product of it and indicates that we are replicating the problem of migrant ghettos and their associated problems.

Now, you're turn, are you going to answer the question I asked you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,032 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Is this the greatest Riot Story ever told?

EVENFLOW

The fact that it's participants are a product of it and indicates that we are replicating the problem of migrant ghettos and their associated problems.

How do you know the participants were immigrants?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,593 ✭✭✭LLMMLL

I saw the end of this. Was walking down Henry Street at about 8pm and there was a Garda car surrounded by 30-50 teenagers. Someone was being arrested and the kids were screaming "leave him alone" "he didn't do anything". As it was driving off some started hitting the car and kicking it. The car stopped for a moment and they all started screaming and laughing and running away. The car drive off. Was about two thirds black guys and girls and a third white.

There's not been one report indicating the people involved in this made up fight were immigrants.

And there's not one iota of evidence to suggest areas with large migrant problems have issues with their migrant residents. The worst places in Dublin are the same as they have always been and the worst of the people in them are still white Irish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭Bicky bicky

LLMMLL wrote: »
    I saw the end of this. Was walking down Henry Street at about 8pm and there was a Garda car surrounded by 30-50 teenagers. Someone was being arrested and the kids were screaming "leave him alone" "he didn't do anything". As it was driving off some started hitting the car and kicking it. The car stopped for a moment and they all started screaming and laughing and running away. The car drive off. Was about two thirds black guys and girls and a third white.

251 teenagers first of all of African descent than 201 with a mix of white pasty Irish
    100 than mentioned possibility by the son
    In the comments he said 15-20 but he and his huge dad fought them off like true Americans.

Do we have a TD over media?

We now know who they voted for in the Mercian pred election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭ArnieSilvia

Agree here, I live in area where majority of population is non Irish and it's the safest place in Ireland I've seen in my 13 years here and reasonably clean too. No issues from residents however my bicycles were stolen by kids from Clondalkin and car was stolen by someone from Tallaght according to what guards said

There's not been one report indicating the people involved in this made up fight were immigrants.

And there's not one iota of evidence to suggest areas with large migrant problems have issues with their migrant residents. The worst places in Dublin are the same as they have always been and the worst of the people in them are still white Irish.

Except that's not what I asked you is it? (Followed with a double down on the whataboutery)

I asked if you thought our migration policy is likely to result in the replication the problems of socially isolated, unintegrated, ethnic ghettos with high crime and unemployment rate like those in France and the UK and if so why pursue such policies?

I believe there is a thread on immigration in the politics forum, this thread is about an alleged public order incident in Dublin city centre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,593 ✭✭✭LLMMLL

251 teenagers first of all of African descent than 201 with a mix of white pasty Irish
    In the comments he said 15-20 but he and his huge dad fought them off like true Americans.

There were definitely more than 15-20.

bubblypop wrote: »
    How do you know the participants were immigrants?

Because 99% of black people in Ireland today arrived in the last 20yrs? The fact that I'll bet you dollars to doughnuts not one of those involved has a parent or grandparent born here and in all liklihood a fairly large percentage of those involved weren't either.

The majority of black teenagers I have met have been born here yes.
    So what where their parents come from?

LLMMLL wrote: »
    There were definitely more than 15-20.

I believe you but this wasn't a riot a family of Americans were walking down the street someone bumped off the son light words exchanged (haha I doubt it being American and all the crazy trump ****e in Texas) they were black and attacked the family yet the son proudly boast's of holding 15 to 20 of them off with his dad.

Except that's not what I asked you is it? (Followed with a double down on the whataboutery)

I asked if you thought our migration policy is likely to result in the replication the problems of socially isolated, unintegrated, ethnic ghettos with high crime and unemployment rate like those in France and the UK and if so why pursue such policies?

Like I said, there is no indication at all that we are heading towards high crime ethnic ghettos. And there is no indication at all that migrants were involved in the fighting in the city center.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,256 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Ive driven up to Dunsink Lane when I was spinning around on my motorbike exploring Dublins nooks and crannies. No way are strangers welcome there, I had several kids throwing rocks while I spun around and scattered out of there. Also the land in Dunsink is actually pretty valuable (close to the M50, only 5 miles from the city) but the council wont go anywhere near it or even suggest moving the travellers on and building proper houses- they know full well if they did they could expect a riot. It is a no go area without doubt.

Likes of Tyrellstown might have a lot of African immigrants but it also has a lot of Irish, Polish, Lithuanians, Latvians, etc. It is simply wrong to say we are creating ghettoes like in Paris. In Paris the councils dumped all these immigrants into specific areas where they have no integration with the French whatsoever. The French wont live in these areas so what you get is the likes of the Paris riots that we saw a few years ago.

Tyrellstown is indeed well kept. And not a ghetto. There's no concentration of different ethnic groups in any Street.

And I too agree that the dangerous parts of Dublin are largely white Irish.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

I know standards are slipping in education but this is below the level of human understanding.

Even if english isnt your first language its poor , ( I suspect english is your first language )

mynamejeff wrote: »
    I know standards are slipping in education but this is below the level of human understanding.

Even if english isnt your first language its poor , ( I suspect english is your first language )

I listened less to my English teacher than I did my Irish one 😠templemores English teachers were better than mine by your account!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

I listened less to my English teacher than I did my Irish one 😠templemores English teachers were better than mine by your account!

Seems to be alright . you know there is an edit function ?

you could go back and repair that mess ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Advbrd

What the hell is this all about?