DCM 2016 Graduates: Keep On Running

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

kin9pin wrote: »
    Snow?? It's sunny here in Dublin.

"got it in before the snow" :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭paddydriver

Ideal running weather this evening... cool and breezy :D

Got to take an enforced day off as right knee is aching. Been sore now for a week or so and stubborn me doesn't give it chance to get better. Think when I was sick 10 days back I maybe came back too quick and got sore quads and this in turn then put pressure on my knee. Anyway, will give it a day off today and see how all is tomorrow.

Would not be skimping off cause of the weather.. just see it as a chance to test out the cold gear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kin9pin

Got to take an enforced day off as right knee is aching. Been sore now for a week or so and stubborn me doesn't give it chance to get better. Think when I was sick 10 days back I maybe came back too quick and got sore quads and this in turn then put pressure on my knee. Anyway, will give it a day off today and see how all is tomorrow.

Would not be skimping off cause of the weather.. just see it as a chance to test out the cold gear.

Certainly was cold out there tonight. Take it easy H, don't rush back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭scotindublin

Look after that knee H.....definitely an evening to try out the hat and gloves I got at Christmas.

Club session at the Magazine Fort in the Phoenix Park tomorrow....sounds fun!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,493 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Fans of the TV show Band of Brothers will know about Currahee. Turns out, there's a race.

One for the list...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,493 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Frosted paths and sunshine. :)

Indeed even more reason to take it easy if we needed one.

I had my longest run this morning since DCM 8.5 mile at 11.44 pace , its tomorrows 90 minutes easy as Im switching Saturday and Sundays grad plan around for now, hope thats ok I'm used to the saturday long run and it suits my other commitments better .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Something about running on trails gets the heart rate flowing, tis a weird sensation. I hopped, skipped and jumped around today for 11 miles at a ridiculous pace of 8.31. I don't think I could have kept that up on the road.

RasTa wrote: »
    Something about running on trails gets the heart rate flowing, tis a weird sensation. I hopped, skipped and jumped around today for 11 miles at a ridiculous pace of 8.31

Yep, trail running or off road is great. Really focuses the mind and when its wet and greasy its even more of a challenge. Where'd you go?

Can't beat getting off the beaten tracks and heading off into the wilderness where the air is crisp and clean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Yep, trail running or off road is great. Really focuses the mind and when its wet and greasy its even more of a challenge. Where'd you go?

Can't beat getting off the beaten tracks and heading off into the wilderness where the air is crisp and clean.

Around the park I came in at Whytes gate and went towards Castleknock gate and the zoo, bit of a drag running that long strech beside the cross but got fun again around Furry Glen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 faithmc

Evening all...just ducked in after my sabbatical. My word I've oceans to catch up on lol!!!

I've had stop start attempts at getting back into things since the marathon. I eventually gave in and saw my physio jut after xmas. Hip flexors and glutes in a bad way so there was lots of dry needling and whatever it is he was doing to my hips!!! Anyways...last week was my 1st week back properly and got 20 miles done over 3 runs with an 8 mile run on Saturday completed in an average of 10:20 mile mins. I was chuffed with that effort.

I'm all ready for my comeback now!!!!!!!! I haven't looked up any plans yet. I'm trying to decide if I should run the full or half here in Waterford at the end of June. I did the half last year prior to DCM. The small gang I run with are taking on the full thing after my success/finishing of DCM (think I was the test guinea pig!!!)and I'm trying to decided if I should work hard towards bettering my 1st/only half marathon last June(2:23) which I think I'd be well on target to knock a nice chunk off and then hit DCM again or train with my gang and take on the full one. They are already probably 30-40 seconds p/m fitter than me as they ran the WAC half at the start of December and kept up 8-10 mile runs every weekend thereafter so as not to drop fitness. I think I know that's my plan...in my mind that'll bring my fitness up to a stage where we can all train together for DCM which is their plan too. Would ye agree/disagree.

So I have my new runners...moved from Asics to Mizuno Ultima 8 as they didn't have my size when I went in to buy new ones. Anyone else have these???? Also have me new gps watch after my own decided to act the wagon the week of the marathon. Got the Garmin Forerunner 230. Looks pretty cool so fingers crossed. All I need is my body to co-operate but I'm pretty resigned to paying a good chunk of my physio's mortgage for the foreseeable future!!!!!!!!!

Hope everyone is well...have to go back to probably page 11 or 12 to catch up now!!!!

faithmc wrote: »
    So I have my new runners...moved from Asics to Mizuno Ultima 8 as they didn't have my size when I went in to buy new ones. Anyone else have these????

Good choice faithmc.. Just started into a pair myself. Had gone thru 2 pairs of Wave Rider's and wanted more cushioning with a neutral ride and the Ultima's fit the bill so far. That said I have a bad knee at present but think that predates me starting with the Ultima's as I think first run in them was last Monday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 faithmc

Good choice faithmc.. Just started into a pair myself. Had gone thru 2 pairs of Wave Rider's and wanted more cushioning with a neutral ride and the Ultima's fit the bill so far. That said I have a bad knee at present but think that predates me starting with the Ultima's as I think first run in them was last Monday.

Cheers Paddydriver, They felt great in the shop. I had bought a pair of Asics Gel Pulse 7 at the end of last June in my size to break in for DCM. I bought them cos they were purple and knew nothing about going up a size to allow for swelling while running etc :eek::eek::eek:. Needless to say I had and still have numerous black toenails and have lost a few. Planned for a 4 mile run this morning to start breaking them in. I got gait analysis the week before the marathon and luckily had been wearing the right shoes but in the wrong size!!! These felt good this morning albeit a bit roomy!!! I've been assured that's normal and I'll get used to it. Unfortunately the peroneal tendonitis has reared it's ugly head again and I had to stop 3 miles in. It was niggling Saturday after the 8 mile run so I reckon I pushed it too much last week clocking up 20 miles having inconsistently/not ran since the marathon up to then. Typical me...all or nothing :mad::mad::mad: Felt very down in the dumps...feel like every time I get going a stupid injury gets in the way.

Am I destined not to be a runner? I know I wasn't supposed to fall in love with it...that wasn't the plan when I started this time last year but I have and I get seriously jealous when the hubby heads off with his butty and comes home buzzing about beating PB's or increasing distance and I'm sat on the couch :mad: How are any of you with injuries approaching it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Faithmc, I'll post up a response later tonight or tomorrow. Sorry to hear you're injured.

Mild enough tonight.

First and foremost, @Faithmc and anyone else currently injured, you have my sympathy. It is never easy to be prevented from doing something you love and in my experience running tends to hit the spots other sports don’t reach and is not easily replaced, even temporarily. That said there is usually plenty that you can do during your rehab to keep you fit (and sane!) while you recover from your injury.

I’m going to suggest a few golden rules (Disclaimer: these are my opinion, based on my experience of coming back from a back injury. They are not intended as medical advice, nor are they intended to replace the advice of your own physio, physical therapist or other professional). There are however, a few universal truths (common sense really), that will assist with returning to running.

Seek Professional Advice

Don’t self-diagnose, don’t consult Dr.Google, don’t assume you have the same injury as someone else just because the symptoms are similar. Don’t run through pain that gets worse or doesn’t go away. Go to a professional, who has experience with runners, at the earliest opportunity and get advice. Be honest with the person treating you as your feedback is important.

Be Sensible
    Now that you have sought professional advice, follow it! Do as you are told. Do your exercises. Follow the rehab plan. There are no short cuts to recovery.

Be Patient

Don’t run before you can walk. If walking is causing pain, then it is not time to return to running. Find out what exercise you can take that is compatible with your particular injury but don’t overdo that to the point where you cause yourself a different injury. You want to keep yourself ticking over, not become world champion. Consider walking, swimming, cycling, Pilates, Yoga, gym work, hiking etc. so long as they do not aggravate the injury. When you do return to running, err on the side of caution. Consider a walk/run programme. Increase your mileage gradually. Don’t forget all about strength and conditioning as soon as you’ve recovered – make it part of your routine and reduce your chances of the injury recurring. Understand what caused the injury in the first place and aim not to repeat those mistakes be it lack of S&C, too many miles too soon, running too fast, insufficient rest, always running on hard surfaces….. If the injury was caused by poor biomechanics or something a little more complicated to fix, you’ll need to follow professional advice in that regard to manage your specific issues.

Be Consistent
    Once you are back running, having of course built up your mileage gradually ;), aim to be consistent. Follow a plan. Stick with the plan. Don’t mix and match. Don’t race your training. Don’t be a fair-weather runner. Don’t do crazy stuff.

Any questions or comments on the above just post up. I’ll see if any of the highly paid backroom staff have any wisdom to impart.

Most of all, it’s important to stay positive and believe that you’ll be back.

4b12b6c7c2aa83a7222fc9f07efb31cb.jpg

That feeling when new runners fit just right - good.

Base Plan complete. What's next?

Lots of plans to choose from TBO! Pick a goal race and an appropriate plan and off you go. Long ? Short ? Road ? Track ? Trail ? Have a look at the events thread for some ideas.

I am looking at the 5-10k plan from Myles Splitz's plan/spreadsheet. Think that would bring me to early May ish, if I start tonight - brought my running gear to work, as usual. Didn't spot any races in May, but didn't look too hard. :p

Almost tripped over the path tonight.

Anyway. To clarify on the 5-10k plan. Is this bringing you to 5k? To 10k? Or from 5-10? Or something else?

Tomorrow calls for:
    8x1 min hills (2-3 min rec)

Any auld hill, yeah?

Have to look up my CV pace as I'll need that next week.

Almost tripped over the path tonight.

Anyway. To clarify on the 5-10k plan. Is this bringing you to 5k? To 10k? Or from 5-10? Or something else?

Tomorrow calls for:

Any auld hill, yeah?

Have to look up my CV pace as I'll need that next week.

The 5-10K plan will prepare you to race a 5K, a 10K or any distance in between. As for the hill, assuming you don't have a wide selection to choose from, just go for one of a decent length so that you're actually climbing for the duration of the rep. Straight with a good surface would be a bonus too. Take the full recovery and work hard on the reps.

Thanks BG. Hill near work is alright. Not much choice where I live, but that's not really an issue for Wednesdays. What should I be thinking of for the hill pace?

Think I've found a 10k target for May. :)

Thanks BG. Hill near work is alright. Not much choice where I live, but that's not really an issue for Wednesdays. What should I be thinking of for the hill pace?

Think I've found a 10k target for May. :)

Good choice of race. The hill work will come in handy :D.

Go for a good hard effort on the first rep. Note the time/pace. Aim for this time/pace for the rest of the reps. If you can't hit that time/pace for the rest of the reps, revise downwards for the next time. If it feels too easy then go out a bit harder the next time. I'm guessing it'll work out about 3k pace, but that really depends on how tough/steep the hill is.

Fairly windy out tonight, including the drive on the M50.

Update and some questions :P re the 8x1 min hills (2-3 min rec). Is it worth logging the total mileage on these sort of workouts? Perhaps not much point.

I don't have Strava and am not sure how to convey the pace figures here. Over Time? Over Distance? Customise overlay Pace over Elevation? Speed? Even doing that I'm not sure how to read it to post a summary. :confused:

Fairly windy out tonight, including the drive on the M50.

Update and some questions :P re the 8x1 min hills (2-3 min rec). Is it worth logging the total mileage on these sort of workouts? Perhaps not much point.

I don't have Strava and am not sure how to convey the pace figures here. Over Time? Over Distance? Customise overlay Pace over Elevation? Speed? Even doing that I'm not sure how to read it to post a summary. :confused:

Why not log the mileage ? It all counts. With the warm up and cool down (you did do a warm up and a cool down ???) it all adds up.

As for recording the details of the session, are you using a Garmin ? Does it have a lap button ? Whatever device you're using I would get the splits for each 1 min rep and each recovery, the distance covered for each 1 min rep and the pace for each rep. You can then compare these stats the next time you do the session and marvel at your improvement :D. That's what I'd do anyway ;)

Yes, indeed. It's a Forerunner 305.

kthx, talk soon. :pac:

Yes, indeed. It's a Forerunner 305.

kthx, talk soon. :pac:

You can also sync your Garmin account to a strava account , when you upload to Garmin connect it is automatically shared with starve. I only use strava for interaction with the groups with various runners here. There's a general boards group and a 2016 novices group too. The free strava works grand for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

Best of luck to all the Graduates running today!

+1. And don't forget the race reports please !