The "Today I did something to my bike" thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

Absolutely, joys of a sportsbike m8.

Better off with a naked bandit.....you can change the plugs just looking at them lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,047 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Wonda-Boy wrote: »

Better off with a naked bandit.....you can change the plugs just looking at them lol.

I have just under 29 years of biking done and you'd think things would be getting easier!!:(

As you said, I suppose I could sell the ZZR and get a bandit.
    It does sound like the perfect solution alright!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,923 ✭✭✭Wossack

buy another zzr that has the plugs done already :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,047 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Where would I be without ye lads??:pac::pac:

Or dare I say it, an "Electric" bike......ohhh I feel so durty now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,145 ✭✭✭✭GBX

Wossack wrote: »
    buy another zzr that has the plugs done already :pac:

I know of a fella who bought and sold bikes as the tax was up. He's owned 100's of bikes at this stage :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,715 ✭✭✭D3V!L

GBX wrote: »
    I know of a fella who bought and sold bikes as the tax was up. He's owned 100's of bikes at this stage :pac:

*snigger* now that's a bit silly :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,915 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Wonda-Boy wrote: »

The old CBR600F2/F3s had a little access panel on each side of the fairing, 2 screws to take off and it was then possible to get the sparkplugs out and in again using the toolkit wrench. Just about.

There again they had the most horribly badly designed tail unit, almost impossible to get the side panels off without breaking the plastic lugs.

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

No pictures because cant be arsed but the head stock and rear paddock stands arrived during the week, and today I got the lidl 20 euro battery charger, turns out it has a trickle charge mode too so that'll be handy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,314 ✭✭✭✭listermint

14,000th post and I wanted to spend it here.

Bought some new aprilia mirrors for the dl650 my left one is gone limp and gammy.

Meant to swap them over today but I was ultra lazy today. Bah next weekend

kcdiiJJl.jpg

Won't charge anything under 3.something volts. Do I need a new battery?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,915 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

When was the last time that battery started a bike and what happened to it since? How did it get that deeply discharged?

Is it a low maintenance battery? Often they need a heavy current to get them charging again if deeply discharged. A conventional battery with sulphate buildup on the plates will be the same but it'd have to be left flat for a while for that to happen.

You could try connecting that battery to a well-charged car battery using jump leads (positive to positive, negative to negative) for a while to get the voltage up to a level where the charger will work.

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

When was the last time that battery started a bike and what happened to it since? How did it get that deeply discharged?

Is it a low maintenance battery? Often they need a heavy current to get them charging again if deeply discharged. A conventional battery with sulphate buildup on the plates will be the same but it'd have to be left flat for a while for that to happen.

You could try connecting that battery to a well-charged car battery using jump leads (positive to positive, negative to negative) for a while to get the voltage up to a level where the charger will work.

About a month and a half ago it started a bike. There's an alarm on the bike.. I'd say that's what may have drained it. I might take the car battery and put it on the charger to get it 100% then connect it to the bike one so if that would work.

It's a gel battery. Dynavolt make

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭TeaBagMania

This is good advice and I read somewhere the Gel and AGM batteries need a minimum of a 6 volt charge to kick them back into gear. Don't think you guys see get below freezing temps very often. I bring my bike batteries inside if I know were going to see sustained below freezing temps. the cold is hell on batteries

Sometimes a battery can never recover if its drops too low.....but its worth a shot. I recommend a good trickle charger for all year round.

ok thanks, I'm going to buy jump leads tomorrow and try charge it from the car battery

I have that trickle charger now so hopefully once I'm sorted it won't happen again.

I don't think it would have ever gone below freezing where the bike is stored.. it's connected to the house but just no heating.. at worst probably got to 2-3 degrees or something.

it's apparently a safety feature with smart chargers, if the battery is that low it may be due to it being shorted out internally and could explode. Hopefully mine won't explode

Even if you have a very very good brand trickle charger I would not leave it plugged in 24/7. They are a risk of fire, I had the halfords one for a year or two never had a problem myself but there were a few fires in the UK and one day I noticed my own getting a tad toasty so I brought it back (out of warranty I might add) and got the oximiser 900.

I usually leave it on every other day, only during the day and it works a treat.

it's not a good brand, 20 euro from lidl. i'll keep an eye on it so, don't feel like burning the house down

ive posted this before but this is the smart trickle charger I use on the trucks and bikes, no need to unplug it as it will stop charging when battery is full and go into monitor mode. have two of them and they work great
    http://products.batterytender.com/Chargers/Battery-Tender-Junior-12V-0-75A.html

ive posted this before but this is the smart trickle charger I use on the trucks and bikes, no need to unplug it as it will stop charging when battery is full and go into monitor mode. have two of them and they work great
    http://products.batterytender.com/Chargers/Battery-Tender-Junior-12V-0-75A.html

Monitor mode is still maintaining the battery with small charge to keep it topped up. Me, personally would not leave it plugged in 24/7 un-monitored as they are a fire risk.

But they are a super device and I would not be without one.

Just my personal experience but ive had these on the BMW and F150 for months at a time thru three winters, no issues.
    Now the cheap chinre brands you find in the local shops, not a chance in hell id truest them.
    also, you guys are running 240v and we're only running 120v that might account for something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭stewygriffin

Folding adjustable levers fitted to the 996 and lever guards fitted too.
    have to take off throttle side clip on and drill new locating holes for the throttle tube,as the lever guard is catching off the tube.

Also bought a genuine Yamaha seat cowl with MotoGraphix decals on it off ebay UK.

Got it for 45 quid and 7 quid postage.Think it suits the back end a bit better.
    Happy days.:)

20170118_142818_zpsccwm4cgr.jpg

d19b9bcb-0d7b-4580-a07c-009289aef066_zpskwhx8ogh.jpg

Zero Gravity Corsa tinted screen on the S1000rr aswell.
    Much better screen than the Puig double bubble screen.
    Galfer floating wavey discs and full HEL braided brake lines to go on the S1000rr next week.Also went with EBC sintered pads all round.

20170114_154926_zpslnwrhcbm.jpg

Galfer floating wavey discs and full HEL braided brake lines to go on the S1000rr next week.Also went with EBC sintered pads all round.

Few more bits to go on on the S1000rr this week comming.
    Bit of carbon fibre for the 996 too.

20170125_173929_zpslekm2ta4.jpg

Nice day for a quick evening spin aswell.

20170125_163856_zps2lcwmcf6.jpg

Alot of building work going on around the back of the airport and theres lots of gravel,muck and oil slicks along the back road out by Keelings fruits place.

Just take it handy out that way lads n lasses.

The battery charger from Lidl is a grand bit of kit.
    Ive used it to boost up a dead truck battery and also maintain the bike batteries.

But I wouldnt not leave any charger on overnight,regardless of whether it cost 20 euro or 200 euro.

LED head light and Aux lights for the Harley... This spring, its still at or below freezing here  
    H1_zpsyyhekwjk.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,314 ✭✭✭✭listermint

It's not spring yet :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,715 ✭✭✭D3V!L

LED head light and Aux lights for the Harley... This spring, its still at or below freezing here  
    H1_zpsyyhekwjk.jpg

Where'd you order the parts from ?

I'm trying to find a reliable supplier for HD parts.

listermint wrote: »
    It's not spring yet :)
    Parts wont be installed until spring time :D its toooo cold in the garage

D3V!L wrote: »
    H1_zpsyyhekwjk.jpg

Where'd you order the parts from ?

I'm trying to find a reliable supplier for HD parts.
    these guys have the best prices and no sales tax in the US http://www.boardtrackerhd.com/
    Let me know if they don't ship to Ireland and we'll figure it out somehow