Off The Ball Official Thread <Mod Note - Post #1, #533, #6651>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭Shaungoater

Quintis wrote: »
    Brolly won't be invited on again for the paper review anytime soon!

To be fair I think they had a point. Brolly is a spanner who would do anything for a headline. The fact he got so much basic facts wrong about the interview in question really irritated them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭enzo roco

pc7 wrote: »
    I can't see that interview on podcasts?

Found the mick o connell interview...

If youre using the newstalk app, click on, off the ball, then go to, Gaa on off the ball. The interview is from January 4th.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 664 ✭✭✭price690

To be fair I think they had a point. Brolly is a spanner who would do anything for a headline. The fact he got so much basic facts wrong about the interview in question really irritated them

Brolly is a plonker. I'm sure he got Ger and Joe's dialogue mixed up but the general point was true and it was humorous.

The 2 lads were a bit shell shocked, Ger even alluded to Joe looking a bit shocked by directly asking him just that.

It was funny to hear them scrambling trying to find the questions that he would play ball with, they wanted answers that fitted their fluff piece narrative they had in their heads.

Then they hit a brick wall that was O'Connell.

Surprised joe molloy is so sensitive about it. He was more or less asking the 2 lads doing the paper review for backup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,207 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

price690 wrote: »
    Brolly is a plonker. I'm sure he got Ger and Joe's dialogue mixed up but the general point was true and it was humorous.

The 2 lads were a bit shell shocked, Ger even alluded to Joe looking a bit shocked by directly asking him just that.

It was funny to hear them scrambling trying to find the questions that he would play ball with, they wanted answers that fitted their fluff piece narrative they had in their heads.

Then they hit a brick wall that was O'Connell.

Surprised joe molloy is so sensitive about it. He was more or less asking the 2 lads doing the paper review for backup.

Yeah Brolly mixed up who has speaking at various times but he did capture the general tone of the interview for someone who was listening to it at home. Joe Molloy seemed to say it actually wasn't like that at all but really it was with all the silences, nervous laughter and moments when they seemed to be struggling with it.

He should have just owned it and had a laugh about it but instead came across as being awfully touchy and thin skinned about some fairly mild criticism from Brolly. He jumped on the fact that Brolly mixed up himself and Gilroy at times as some kind of validation to disregard the article entirely but really it was the tone of the interview that mattered. Not who was speaking between him and Gilroy.

Yeah Brolly mixed up who has speaking at various times but he did capture the general tone of the interview for someone who was listening to it at home. Joe Molloy seemed to say it actually wasn't like that at all but really it was with all the silences, nervous laughter and moments when they seemed to be struggling with it.

He should have just owned it and had a laugh about it but instead came across as being awfully touchy and thin skinned about some fairly mild criticism from Brolly. He jumped on the fact that Brolly mixed up himself and Gilroy at times as some kind of validation to disregard the article entirely but really it was the tone of the interview that mattered. Not who was speaking between him and Gilroy.

I think Joe Molly was smarting about the Ant and Dec reference more than anything.

He's more of a heavyweight you see. Ant and Dec didn't interview Lance Armstrong apparently. Kermit the frog and miss piggy did though

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Eventually got to listen back tonight to Sunday's programme. I really enjoyed it.

I don't think Newstalk know what they have with this show.
    Even the dud episodes are better than anything else that's on at the same time on Irish radio.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭Muff Richardson

I thought that yesterdays book review, although rushed towards the end, was a really enjoyable segment. Some good recommendations, and Val Andrews was, at times, fascinating to listen to.

I find val andrews excruciating to listen to, not to mention he comes across as a serious tin roofer. He even mixed up the title of his "favourite book" which seemed to be a load of waffle just like himself. Sounds like he's trying to tap into some Enda McNulty self help be the best you can be ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭elefant

The more I hear from Brolly the less I can stand him. I think almost everything he writes nowadays is garbage.
    I think you're dead right though that they should've just owned up to the fact that it was an awkward interview for them; anyone could hear that it didn't go to plan.

The thing I've found most interesting in all of this is that people seem terrified to say anything negative about Mick O Connell. Is it because he's old? Is it because he's a such a legend of the GAA? Dick Clerkin, and pretty much anyone else I've heard from, believed it was great radio. Was it really? I didn't learn anything except that Mick O Connell is a cantankerous octogenarian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,834 ✭✭✭robo

Regarding Brolly - wonder will he ask for a right to reply on his "analysis" of the interview. To me the piece was written as he listened half arsed to the interview. Ger & Joe's voices are completely different and writing such a pathetic piece on the interview doesn't do him anything for his career as a "journalist" or pundit!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭Lt Dan

Lads, the interview with Mick O'Connell, is brutal. Amateurish. They got the signals from the man within 5 minutes as to what he was like. Stuff to cliche ridden rubbish about the romance of having to row a boat to training and that god awful over used word "passion". They even had the nerve to talk over him. They were incapable of hiding their surprise to the answers and were almost afraid to ask another question to the man.

Molloy is brutal. I have tried to give him and that team enough time, but he is somewhat way too clueless in the sports knowledge department. Otherwise he is normally a decent interviewer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

robo wrote: »
    Ger & Joe's voices are completely different
    I completely see why Brolly would get them mixed up. Same delivery, same snark and same humour. That's not to say they're bad (I listen more to these lads than Second Captains), it's just they're very vanilla.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,524 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Lt Dan wrote:
    Molloy is brutal. I have tried to give him and that team enough time, but he is somewhat way too clueless in the sports knowledge department. Otherwise he is normally a decent interviewer

Cannot agree with you there. I find him very interesting. I think he connects with interviewees (mostly) very well. Does his homework and has often a more nuanced take on stories than the simple "They scored more than the opposition so they won" type.
    That's my opinion for what it's worth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,447 ✭✭✭sonic85

Cannot agree with you there. I find him very interesting. I think he connects with interviewees (mostly) very well. Does his homework and has often a more nuanced take on stories than the simple "They scored more than the opposition so they won" type.
    That's my opinion for what it's worth.

+1. I really like Joe - the best of the lot of them i think. Great sense of humour and a really good interviewer in my opinion

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,367 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

sonic85 wrote: »
    +1. I really like Joe - the best of the lot of them i think. Great sense of humour and a really good interviewer in my opinion

Yup same here, I groan now for some interviews when I realise they are ger and not joe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,995 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Lt Dan wrote: »
    Lads, the interview with Mick O'Connell, is brutal. Amateurish. They got the signals from the man within 5 minutes as to what he was like. Stuff to cliche ridden rubbish about the romance of having to row a boat to training and that god awful over used word "passion". They even had the nerve to talk over him. They were incapable of hiding their surprise to the answers and were almost afraid to ask another question to the man.

I agree. Molloy is very thin skinned. He wrote a very petulant piece about Darren Clarke before the Ryder cup that revealed a lot about him.
    I can't believe people like him. I think he's as smug as they come, based on a very shallow knowledge. Total spoofer who'd rather talk about a pastime like golf all day.
    Gilroy may be a bit arrogant but he has a depth of knowledge across a lot of sports that Joe Molloy just does not have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,317 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Molloy isn't great but Gilroy is insufferable

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Being the best of the lot of them is no indication of excellence.

This is the second time Joe Molloy has got his knickers in a twist. As a previoys poster pointed out Molloy has prior experience in whinging publicly after a perceived slight on him.

It has all the hallmarks of someone who is thin skinned. Ger Gilroy even mentioned after the interview that Joe looked a bit shell shocked and jokingly asked him was he ok ffs.

The reference to Ant and Dec is what stung him, Joe is a heavyweight in his own head you see.

He also gets a serious hard on if any so much as utters the words "golf" or "rory"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,524 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

price690 wrote:
    Being the best of the lot of them is no indication of excellence.

Who do you think is better on Irish Radio and please don't insult us by saying "No one, they're all sh1te".
    price690 wrote:
    The reference to Ant and Dec is what stung him, Joe is a heavyweight in his own head you see.

He has won 2 sports broadcaster of the year awards in the last 2 years....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭foxtrot101

Who do you think is better on Irish Radio and please don't insult us by saying "No one, they're all sh1te".

I think Joe is good at what he does, but PPI awards mean very little really. Radio sports broadcasting in Ireland is a very small field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

The more I hear from this Kevin Kilbane fella, the more I like him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,207 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

I prefer him to Gilroy alright but sense of humour? Judging by the Darren Clarke piece in the paper a while back and his overly precious reaction to a bit of ribbing over the Mick O'Connell interview, I'd say he takes himself a wee bit too seriously.

I did enjoy listening to him quietly seething during the paper review on Sunday while telling everyone he didn't really care or want to talk about it at all. Yeah right!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,447 ✭✭✭sonic85

I prefer him to Gilroy alright but sense of humour? Judging by the Darren Clarke piece in the paper a while back and his overly precious reaction to a bit of ribbing over the Mick O'Connell interview, I'd say he takes himself a wee bit too seriously.

I did enjoy listening to him quietly seething during the paper review on Sunday while telling everyone he didn't really care or want to talk about it at all. Yeah right!

I don't really get the constant bringing up of the Darren Clarke piece - I read it and didn't see much wrong with it. Wasn't the basic jist of it that Clarke is a bit of a c u next tuesday in real life? Sure if the information was accurate why shouldn't he write about it? That might be just me though.

Just seems to me that even though Joe is a more than competent broadcaster there's always people that want to drag him down. In my opinion he's the best presenter on OTB. If people don't like him or don't want to listen to him or Ger or whoever else just don't tune in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,995 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

PPI awards ?:) Ah here! Also PPI awards for all they're worth (which ain't a lot) are for radio only. So realistically,who are they up against? Game On? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,001 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    The more I hear from this Kevin Kilbane fella, the more I like him.

Yeah, wasn't sure about him initially being on a regular basis but he has come into his own in the last couple of months, even the way he articulates his points has greatly improved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

Bit of an obscure question, in light of the debate about the presenters, but does anyone know the new OTB jingle/intro song used at the weekend? It's a familiar tune which I can't figure out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭cullenswood

Bit of an obscure question, in light of the debate about the presenters, but does anyone know the new OTB jingle/intro song used at the weekend? It's a familiar tune which I can't figure out!

Is it the Gorillaz, or maybe Blur, but some Damon Albarn stuff I think.

[EDIT] Is this the track you were talking about?

I don't really get the constant bringing up of the Darren Clarke piece - I read it and didn't see much wrong with it. Wasn't the basic jist of it that Clarke is a bit of a c u next tuesday in real life? Sure if the information was accurate why shouldn't he write about it? That might be just me though.

Just seems to me that even though Joe is a more than competent broadcaster there's always people that want to drag him down. In my opinion he's the best presenter on OTB. If people don't like him or don't want to listen to him or Ger or whoever else just don't tune in.

In the opinion of Molloy he may be. Thats based on Joe feeling disrespected.

I read the piece as him trying to portray Clarke in a negative sense generally speaking rather than restricting it to the confines of that specific incident.

Just because he wasn't super enthusiastic about meeting Joe Molloy, doesn't mean he is a "C U Next Tuesday".

Prime example of being thin skinned. Any perceived slight on him and he starts shooting from the hip about it. Not a positive trait of a broadcaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

Is it the Gorillaz, or maybe Blur, but some Damon Albarn stuff I think.

[EDIT] Is this the track you were talking about?

Yes, sound man! Was driving me nuts ever since I heard it at the weekend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭KReid

Anyone listen to Kenny Cunningham last night? He was co-hosting a majority of the show. I think he's a good pundit, a bit dour and down on football in its current state though, last night though he was a bit irritating, he reminded me of that loud mouth guy in school or football team who always had a comment to make and slagged anyone for a mistake. Obviously he wouldnt usually be in that kind of setting where he can have a bit off banter. Also found the piece with Clinton Morrisson in the football show very self indulgent from the show, it didnt add anything, was just people talking about Kenny as a footballer/captain, which Kenny was reluctant to add too. They did something similar before christmas with Stephen Hunt and Keith Andrews, and I was listening and wondering what the point was to the piece...

I always find the "splendido crappy quiz with factoids" (or whatever the hell they call it) particularly cringe.

The forced banter is ridiculous. They are always having a pop at each other and Ger Gilroy loves joining in the banter but its always noticeable how nobody aims even the slightest of playful digs at Gilroy, obviously due to the fact that he is the boss.

I'd say he absolutely loves that slot, he can appear to be one of the lads having the craic but knows hes on safe ground when the slagging starts flying :p