Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dash cam thread (car videos only)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭SixSixSix

Seve OB wrote: »
    Carrickmines from another angle.
    Its on Facebox also. Turns out Jason was heading back to collect some furniture he bought.
    He had reset his cheap dash cam and that was why no sound and incorrect date.
    https://www.joe.ie/news/video-shocking-footage-road-rage-incident-dublin-warning-contains-violence/572388

I wonder if "Joe" was watching or watched the same video at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,043 ✭✭✭Truckermal

Can ye not post all that off topic stuff in the thread about the road rage..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,318 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Truckermal wrote: »
    Can ye not post all that off topic stuff in the thread about the road rage..

Why not? it is not off topic. it is about the video so allowed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭tedpan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,028 ✭✭✭d31b0y

tedpan wrote: »
    [ YOUTUBE]wvjwUUhDYnw[/YOUTUBE]

Not mine.. Enjoy!

Yer man at 6:25... what a legend / w@nker :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,028 ✭✭✭xabi

spookwoman wrote: »
    I look it as left should be curb crawlers, middle for driving at speed limit and right for over taking.

Seriously?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    It's been said a number of times but this is a final warning warning. Any more off topic is going to result in a 24hr forum ban. You wont get a warning just a straight off ban. Simple as that.

xabi wrote: »
    Seriously?

See you in 24 hours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,204 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

spookwoman wrote: »
    Patww79 wrote: »
    Yep. I know I shouldn't under take but I with the way the M50 is for last ditch manoeuvres I'd rather go in a straight line than change lanes 4 times for the same thing. Plus I can't be arsed any more.

To be honest I'm very close to just sitting in the middle myself be damned. Join the madness and forget the stress.

I look it as left should be curb crawlers, middle for driving at speed limit and right for over taking.
    You look at it wrong. The left lane is for YOU, unless you have a good reason to move into the centre or right lane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

You look at it wrong. The left lane is for YOU, unless you have a good reason to move into the centre or right lane.

See you in 24 hours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,055 ✭✭✭✭GBX

Originally Posted by tedpan View Post

[ YOUTUBE] wvjwUUhDYnw[/YOUTUBE]

Not mine.. Enjoy!

That's some pr1ck in the Landcruiser at 8.30

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,247 ✭✭✭jackofalltrades

So finally got the dash cam hard wired and up and working about a month ago.
    Nothing of interest to post as yet.
    Then the one day I decide to drive a family members car without a dash cam, I nearly get wiped out by someone suddenly merging in front of me at half the speed limit on a dual carriageway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭tedpan

So finally got the dash cam hard wired and up and working about a month ago.
    Nothing of interest to post as yet.
    Then the one day I decide to drive a family members car without a dash cam, I nearly get wiped out by someone suddenly merging in front of me at half the speed limit on a dual carriageway.

Jesus, hope you're OK.

The same thing happened to me, I got my windscreen replaced and was without mine for a month. So many things happened that month!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,247 ✭✭✭jackofalltrades

Jesus, hope you're OK.

The same thing happened to me, I got my windscreen replaced and was without mine for a month. So many things happened that month!
    I'm grand, thanks.
    I just didn't realise how much of a sense of security having one gives you until I didn't have one.

I hope the man in that last clip wasn't going to get in and drive!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,860 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

It is Russia. Probably safer to drive in that state than sober.
    I really like those Russian clips. Certainly the ones where it take about 5 seconds before the actual incident happens.
    You know in those 5 seconds something is going to happen but being Russia, it can be anything from anywhere.

inforfun wrote: »
    It is Russia. Probably safer to drive in that state than sober.
    I really like those Russian clips. Certainly the ones where it take about 5 seconds before the actual incident happens.
    You know in those 5 seconds something is going to happen but being Russia, it can be anything from anywhere.
    Yes, some of those crashes are so crazy, that they have to be Vodka fuelled!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭Riva10

Yes, some of those crashes are so crazy, that they have to be Vodka fuelled!
    Not 8% Biodiesel fueled ? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭Gwildor

My first dashcam...

Not much to see, just the typical N7 behaviour.

https://youtu.be/HQIGgR1mmjw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,014 ✭✭✭eamonnq

Gwildor wrote: »
    My first dashcam...

Not much to see, just the typical M50 behaviour.

https://youtu.be/HQIGgR1mmjw

Typical M50 behaviour on the N7 ? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭Gwildor

eamonnq wrote: »
    Typical M50 behaviour on the N7 ? :D

Err... My bad, I'd just been to England and back in the one day. Plus I'm from Waterford and don't be up there too often! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Had a tip yesterday. Fast forward to 2:40.

Did he hit you on the side?
    I'd say there would be a good bit of damage if he did.

Did he hit you on the side?
    I'd say there would be a good bit of damage if he did.

Yeah, she did. T boned me.
    Back door is mashed in. Bit of damage to the bit between the door and wheel arch.
    Front door will not open due to back door damage.
    To be fair, she was completely sound about it. Accepted all responsibility.
    I hope she holds that story with her insurance company. But the footage is (I think) fairly unambiguous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,726 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    ^

That is the exact reason why a 50e dashcam is worth its weight in gold. If she changes her story (which we have seen happen so often here) you have her on camera. If you didn't its your word against hers.

Big Time,

Dont even mention the dash cam if she's accepting full responsibility, just let it play out, but suddenly if you start getting phone calls from insurance companies saying this that or the other, having it all on (HD) video, is the most Ace of Aces to have up your sleeve.

Big Time,

Dont even mention the dash cam if she's accepting full responsibility, just let it play out, but suddenly if you start getting phone calls from insurance companies saying this that or the other, having it all on (HD) video, is the most Ace of Aces to have up your sleeve.

Thankfully I just got a call from her insurance company accepting all liability. It's a big relief. They will contact me later about getting the damage assessed and a courtesy car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭mrsoundie

Winterlong wrote: »
    Thankfully I just got a call from her insurance company accepting all liability. It's a big relief. They will contact me later about getting the damage assessed and a courtesy car.

Nice one, good to see common sense breaking out at an Insurance Company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,726 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

mrsoundie wrote: »
    Nice one, good to see common sense breaking out at an Insurance Company.

poor woman will have a €30 increase in her policy next year, meanwhile we'll all have to pay an extra €400 on ours!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 xtraxtra

has anyone any recommendations on what dash cam to get
    budget around 50 quid

these any good? look a tad bulky - http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/HD-1080P-In-Car-Rear-View-Mirror-3-5-Monitor-Dash-Cam-Recorder-Camera-Dual-lens-/111807799634?hash=item1a0843a152:g:byQAAOSwhcJWL132

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,014 ✭✭✭eamonnq

xtraxtra wrote: »
    has anyone any recommendations on what dash cam to get
    budget around 50 quid

these any good? look a tad bulky - http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/HD-1080P-In-Car-Rear-View-Mirror-3-5-Monitor-Dash-Cam-Recorder-Camera-Dual-lens-/111807799634?hash=item1a0843a152:g:byQAAOSwhcJWL132

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056815237&page=53

Thread here about what to buy etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,860 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

Was that an exit of a pub car park?
    If so, i would have called the garda.
    Must have been pissed to **** up so badly