Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dash cam thread (car videos only)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,665 ✭✭✭✭josip

Carrickmines has badly designed customer car parking that contributes to incidents like this. Examples I can think of are:
    • Having to drive all the way through the surface area to get to the entrance of the underground
    • Traffic for the right hand side (incl underground) and left hand side share a lane until the very end where they split, with both sides having to proceed at the pace of the slowest. Having two lanes for this section would fix this and only another metre or so of road space is needed to provide the extra lane
    • Surface parking on the right have to do an extra circuit when parking there because of the direction of the one way system, again contributing needlessly to traffic volumes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,727 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Patww79 wrote: »
    Still doesn't account for my primary reason.

When I edit my videos in iMovie, I can detach the audio from a video and scrap it, which in 99% of my videos I do, but still, I want the audio on my files just in case it's important, if not, I'll scrap it and add some killer techno.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭SC Kevin

Was going to the brothers 40th just after Christmas when a BMW over took me with about 6 oncoming cars. I wouldnt mind, but he wasnt even looking to try and over take until he saw the lights of the cars! Skip forward to about 1:10 to avoid the boring stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭jimbis

josip wrote: »
    Carrickmines has badly designed customer car parking that contributes to incidents like this. Examples I can think of are:
    • Having to drive all the way through the surface area to get to the entrance of the underground
    • Traffic for the right hand side (incl underground) and left hand side share a lane until the very end where they split, with both sides having to proceed at the pace of the slowest. Having two lanes for this section would fix this and only another metre or so of road space is needed to provide the extra lane
    • Surface parking on the right have to do an extra circuit when parking there because of the direction of the one way system, again contributing needlessly to traffic volumes.

Totally agree, it's a shambles of a car park. I worked on the latter stages of the building work there and non stop all day there was beeping/screaming etc.

Also, pretty sure I know that off duty Garda lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,389 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Has anyone designed a dash cam that's in some protective shell so that it lasts exposure to fire or crash damage in the same way as a black box for a civilian plane? With some of the outlandish overtaking it would at least clarify what went wrong when an innocent party is killed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

I'm going to wager that there is no sound as the guy said something about the attackers wife which set him off as it's at the point where he is pulled up beside him that things really trigger off.

I'm not saying it's an excuse but I think there is more to the video and why the guy went nuts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭D Trent

bladebrew wrote: »
    Holy crap! What a video!
    The dashcam guy starts driving a bit funny at about 1:45 he speeds up and closes in on the Volvo, I can't see a reflection but I reckon the BMW driver was trying to squeeze his way in here and the dashcam guy closed the gap,
    Still not excuse for doing that though!

pretty sure it was a SAAB 95??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,435 ✭✭✭Trebor176

D Trent wrote: »
    pretty sure it was a SAAB 95??

It's definitely a 95.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,921 ✭✭✭Wossack

Has anyone designed a dash cam that's in some protective shell so that it lasts exposure to fire or crash damage in the same way as a black box for a civilian plane? With some of the outlandish overtaking it would at least clarify what went wrong when an innocent party is killed.

you can get wifi enabled memory cards, so reckon could in theory be always piping it up into the cloud

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,028 ✭✭✭xabi

That fight video is crazy, I don't think camera guy is in the wrong though, you can see the Saab is behind him at the roundabout so must have tried to get in front and camera man was having none of it. Fair play to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭D Trent

xabi wrote: »
    That fight video is crazy, I don't think camera guy is in the wrong though, you can see the Saab is behind him at the roundabout so must have tried to get in front and camera man was having none of it. Fair play to him.

What Saab driver is most annoyed about is that Dash cam guy cuts across Mercedes A-class driver on r/a that's in his opinion but one could argue this is what defensive driving is all about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

The Sab was trying to get onto the roundabout, had passed the stop line when the cam guy pulled onto the roundabout so Sab had to stop to give way to traffic from the right. Looks like he got p*ssed because he wasn't let out. You'd never know why sound was off could be the swearing which I'd say is every 2nd word. Cam guy says he didn't press charges and other guy got off with caution which would indicate the Sab guy was in the wrong and the Garda probably saw what happened as well. Sab guy was a twat for getting out and trying to punch drag the cam guy out of the car, cant blame the cam guy for trying to defend himself.

I checked google maps and entry onto the roundabout from all points is double, left is left and straight, right is right and straight. The roundabout itself is single lane so cam man did nothing wrong going from far right to left when exiting as it is a single lane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,910 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Cam guy was all over place. He was behind jeep, then cut off an A class to get into other lane. At this point Saab had chance to now be behind jeep, but cam guy decides no and blocks him off. Saab was going by cam guy who was in inner lane, cam guy got back behind jeep and put sabb guy in no mans land .
    He would not let him cut in then to get off middle of road
    He asked for what he got.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,028 ✭✭✭xabi

Cam guy was all over place. He was behind jeep, then cut off an A class to get into other lane. At this point Saab had chance to now be behind jeep, but cam guy decides no and blocks him off. Saab was going by cam guy who was in inner lane, cam guy got back behind jeep and put sabb guy in no mans land .
    He would not let him cut in then to get off middle of road
    He asked for what he got.

Merc shouldn't have entered r/b, neither should Saab, cam had right off way, looks like there was only one exit in the direction they were traveling. Are you Saab guy by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,308 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Very happy dash cam guy bet the snot out of the road rage guy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭SnakePlissken

He was very smug for a man wronged
    He knows why it led to what it led to
    Do you really thing merc driver was deranged and came from nowhere
    He had plenty of reason to be angry with way that guy was driving
    He cut him off and then had a smug attitude
    Didn't put hand up in an apologetic way, he just kept winding guy up with hand signals.

Merc driver? Jeep driver? What video did you watch, the aggressor was driving a SAAB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

the_syco wrote: »
    Very happy dash cam guy bet the snot out of the road rage guy!

I don't know, beating up an old man would hardly set my day on fire.

It's a pity it went that way. He says in the comments he directed verbal abuse at the driver. While it's not an excuse for what happened I think not having the sound here is a crucial factor and the guy who made the video knows it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,860 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

Cam/Karma man should buy a better camera mount though. Looks like he has it mounted with rubber bands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,103 ✭✭✭Vic_08

No fisticuffs, just more tedious lane hogging.

Note the SUV that moves from empty lane 1 to lane 2. Always the same here, easily 75% of cars sit in lane 2.

Yes, I moved to lane 1 and passed them. Anyone wanting to start an argument about undertaking don't bother, I am not interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,727 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Vic_08 wrote: »
    Yes, I moved to lane 1 and passed them. Anyone wanting to start an argument about undertaking don't bother, I am not interested.

I've decided that on certain roads (M1 where it's 3 lanes) if lane 1 is free and lanes 2&3 are hogged, I'll just undertake them, as I don't give a f**k anymore, I'd do the same on most 2 lane motorways as well, the only one I probably wouldn't do it is the 3 lane portions of the M50 as it's just too unpredictable, particularly with the aux entry/exit lanes as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

Vic_08 wrote: »

I'm with ya, sick of this carry-on on motorways. I just make sure there's a bit of hard shoulder and have the hand on the horn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,204 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Wossack wrote: »

you can get wifi enabled memory cards, so reckon could in theory be always piping it up into the cloud
    Our current 4G networks can't really support live video streaming with decent quality. Just watch a Periscope or FB live broadcast to see what you can get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭lovelyhurler

Note the SUV that moves from empty lane 1 to lane 2. Always the same here, easily 75% of cars sit in lane 2.

Nothing wrong there.
    My attitude is that if you're sitting in an outer lane, and the lane to your left is free, and somebody undertakes you, then you're in the WRONG lane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭tmabr

Nothing wrong there.
    My attitude is that if you're sitting in an outer lane, and the lane to your left is free, and somebody undertakes you, then you're in the WRONG lane.

Sick of this also. The amount of middle lane hoggers on the m50 is a joke. Nearly always older people. Undertaking the only way unfortunately

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,028 ✭✭✭d31b0y

Not to start an argument or anything because I fully agree with you on the two SUV's (or at least, the front SUV) and that junction is woeful at the best of times but your merge was hardly spectacular. What would have happened if one of the people you undertook before merging were going to Bray?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,318 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Watched it again.
    Cam guy was perfectly in the right. He entered the roundabout well before the Saab. Even if he hadn't, he was heading for it and the Saab should have been aware and given way. Which he appeared to do and Cam man merged appropriately.
    The exit from the roundabout is actually single lane. Yes there are others in front doubling up, but it is single lane. The double up is really just up to the first car park turn off on the left, so I guess cam man wasn't aware what the craic was and had a look down the inside and realized he didn't want to go there. He was never fully down the inside of the lane and was pretty much always in the command of the lane.

From about 1:37 it is clear his intention is to follow the Volvo and he moves as far right of the lane as possible to follow the guys in front who are heading straight on. At 1:53 we see the Saab clearly move up on the opposing lane and try to bully their way in front of Cam man and essentially try and drive him off the road. The Saab is just a headbanger with no rights here whatsoever.

And as for anyone who thinks he has any kind of a leg to stand on, WTF are you guys watching/thinking? You are no better than this moron.

As for what Cam man was up to..... He seemed to pull out of a parking spot in the underground and then head back up to the surface. My guess is that he had been shopping and bought a sizeable item, perhaps in Mothercare or Harveys and was heading up to the pickup point to save lugging it down through the carpark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,204 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

tmabr wrote: »
    Nothing wrong there.

Sick of this also. The amount of middle lane hoggers on the m50 is a joke. Nearly always older people. Undertaking the only way unfortunately
    Don't agree on the ageist claim - I see people of all ages and genders hogging the middle - van drivers, coach drivers, yummy mummies, young lads along with the older folks too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Kamili

Don't agree on the ageist claim - I see people of all ages and genders hogging the middle - van drivers, coach drivers, yummy mummies, young lads along with the older folks too.

and mobile phone users...