Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Las Vegas but only 20

• 04-01-2017 10:56pm
    Registered Users Posts: 10

So I'm heading to Vegas in July/August but not 21 till September, do you think i will be ok cause my date of birth is 03/09 which to an American would read as 9th of March? or should i invest in a decent fake? (and yes i know the risks of a fake so no one start posting about getting sent to jail rubbish). Im also going with a group of people that are 25-30ish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

ASL?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,345 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Your passport has the actual month written on it.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,110 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

If you look under 40 you will be asked for ID. I'm 34 and regularly get asked, even in local type places. You won't get away with it, your passport has the month written on it!

Also, before I had a Nevada drivers license and had to use my passport for ID, they took it away to "verify". Not sure exactly how they do this but they might be able to spot a fake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭The Raptor

People are drunk in Vegas. They won't notice. All they want is your money. You will love Vegas. Enjoy.

• Registered Users Posts: 10 Ilovetorches

I've been looking on the big clubs and hotels and they all say they accept irish/uk driving licenses

• Registered Users Posts: 16,553 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Don't know what ID you are using but passports say the month in letters: 3 Sept rather than just 03/09.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

You'll get ID'd a lot more often than you expect. If you're going to a bar or club with people in their mid-20s then there's a good chance ye'll all be thoroughly ID'd. It drove me demented and I was 25 looking 30 odd. Likewise Vegas gets loads of European tourists and I'd say a lot of the bouncers are wide to the dating system.

I mean you may well be grand in a lot of places but you will be pulled and blown out of others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭The Raptor

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    If you look under 40 you will be asked for ID. I'm 34 and regularly get asked, even in local type places.

I wasn't asked. And I'm under 40.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

The Raptor wrote: »
    People are drunk in Vegas. They won't notice. All they want is your money. You will love Vegas. Enjoy.

Yeah the bouncers and the casino workers aren't. Casinos and bars are serious operations in Vegas and they take age verification seriously.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,478 ✭✭✭harr

So I'm heading to Vegas in July/August but not 21 till September, do you think i will be ok cause my date of birth is 03/09 which to an American would read as 9th of March? or should i invest in a decent fake? (and yes i know the risks of a fake so no one start posting about getting sent to jail rubbish). Im also going with a group of people that are 25-30ish
    I am 40 and was still checked for ID in vegas ...you might be lucky with the reverse date but they tend to be strict enough I had to use my passport because they wouldn't take my paper driving license (far enough they do look dodge) .
    They probably would spot a fake a mile off ...be prepared to have a few dry nights...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,281 ✭✭✭Valentina

You might be okay, you might not. I go to the States a lot and always get asked for ID. I'm well over 21.

Im not expecting to not be checked but I've had friends who've worked as bouncers in the states and they've all said that if someone comes up to them with perfect confidence, isn't messy and has a real ID with theyre actual photo on it they rarely do the maths to see if it adds up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Could work with the dates alright. I had 2 fakes first time I went and they were in my checked in baggage. I got the TSA notice when I arrived in SF that they were snooping around and same when I landed in Vegas but they never said anything

The Raptor wrote: »

No, They take it very seriously because the consequences for any establishment found to be serving alcohol to minors is severe.

RasTa wrote: »
    Could work with the dates alright. I had 2 fakes first time I went and they were in my checked in baggage. I got the TSA notice when I arrived in SF that they were snooping around and same when I landed in Vegas but they never said anything

did the fakes work in vegas?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭dbagman

I was 31....balding.....beard like a sons of anarchy biker.....ID all over the place In vegas. Was there with just my GF who was 30 too. Not like we were in a big group. Apparently it's against the law to have a person under a certain age (can't remember what) on your premises without an I'D. So you could be say 24 and the club can still get in ****e coz you don't have I'D on you. Now I was told that by a barmaid in florida who repeatedly asked my for ID every night i was there despite remembering me so not sure if its USA wide or different state by state, but they defo take their drinking age very seriously.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭R.D. aka MR.D

Last time I was in Vegas, I didn't get asked very much (I'm 29). However, I was only on the strip and not going to any clubs or anything.

What you could very easily do is have your mates buy you drinks in the liquor store or in one casino and give them to you outside/elsewhere and you'll easily go unhassled in any other casino with the drink. However, that'll only work if your group is doing what my husband and I usually do in Vegas which is stumble down the strip going into various casinos and wandering around!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Im not expecting to not be checked but I've had friends who've worked as bouncers in the states and they've all said that if someone comes up to them with perfect confidence, isn't messy and has a real ID with theyre actual photo on it they rarely do the maths to see if it adds up

There's not much maths to it... they'll have a date in their head that makes a punter 21. Born before and you're out, after and you're in. At least as a barman years ago that's how I did it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭R.D. aka MR.D

dbagman wrote: »
    I was 31....balding.....beard like a sons of anarchy biker.....ID all over the place In vegas. Was there with just my GF who was 30 too. Not like we were in a big group. Apparently it's against the law to have a person under a certain age (can't remember what) on your premises without an I'D. So you could be say 24 and the club can still get in ****e coz you don't have I'D on you. Now I was told that by a barmaid in florida who repeatedly asked my for ID every night i was there despite remembering me so not sure if its USA wide or different state by state, but they defo take their drinking age very seriously.

Different state by state. Husband is from Colorado and have spent tons of time in his home town (tiny place). Girl at the liquor stores know me as 'the Irish girl' but needs to see ID every single time I go.

I've been to 14 different states and being asked for ID varied in every one.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,174 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

They're going to waterboard the almighty sh1t out of yo' lil' whitebread ass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

did the fakes work in vegas?

Yup, old school driving license. I was also 20 at the time. Funny my 2 mates with me who were 21 but nobody ever accepted the Garda age card and they always had to go back to get their passports

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    No, They take it very seriously because the consequences for any establishment found to be serving alcohol to minors is severe.

This a million times. They take it very seriously and a fake ID is treated extremely seriously.

Don't make the mistake of thinking the cops are too thick to realise the European way of writing the date is different. You're the only one who'll lose big with that risk, OP.

As plans go, hoping they don't cop onto the dates or using a fake ID are both dreadful.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 249 ✭✭Galway_Old_Man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

You can go to Las Vegas at age 20.
    Are you going to represent yourself as 21+ to drink or gamble where you must be 21?
    I think that is a very bad idea.

any one have experience of using someone elses ID? and to save you all from the abuse I've read all the horror stories already

• Registered Users Posts: 4,315 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

You can have lots of fun walking along the strip while your mates go to the casinos and bars

• Registered Users Posts: 8,745 ✭✭✭893bet

I was stood watching a couple of hands of BJ in the MGM one day and I was approached and asked for ID (I was 25 ish). I didn't have any on me and was told I wasn't allowed stay in the gambling area.

You need ID and are wasting your time with out it.

893bet wrote: »
    I was stood watching a couple of hands of BJ in the MGM one day and I was approached and asked for ID (I was 25 ish). I didn't have any on me and was told I wasn't allowed stay in the gambling area.

You need ID and are wasting your time with out it.

Yep, this. you won't even be able to watch your mates gambling let alone gamble yourself. Not worth the risk of winning big and then not being paid out due to being underage

It's fine to come to Vegas and not drink or gamble, there's lots of other stuff to do. Being the only one out of a large group who can't do those things when that's what the trip is based around is a bummer though

• Registered Users Posts: 217 ✭✭Noddy33

What I would do to be back in vegas!Just be careful if you thinking of using a Driver license.One of lads in our group had one of the old laminated paper type drivers license.The license was valid and in date but wasn't accepted.I had one of the new Driver license cards and worked fine.You will get asked for ID in the all the clubs but bars in the casinos etc not too strict

would it be easier to get in if we were paying for VIP/Bottle service since u normally get either escorted in or through a separate door?