Anton Savage Radio Thread [Mod Note Post 1]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

I like Dermot and Dave and 9-12 is more convenient for me so I'm not unhappy about this move, but I hope they're not forced to change into something they're not.

I'd like to see Muireann O'Connell getting a decent slot. I've really enjoined listening to her over Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭hollymartins

I can't abide Dermot & Dave, I've tried listening to them but their 'banter' melts my head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Scarlet Helpful Suit

IUA14 wrote: »
    Well it will be a completely different show from anything that has gone before in the 9-12 slot...if and its a big IF, they are allowed to do the show they want to! Then it will be a new lunchtime show...remains to be see what that will be...and I would bet on another change to the schedule...would not be surprised to see Cathal Funge get a show somewhere!
    Heard Cathal last night - had a good playlist but I've a feeling he'll be Paul mccloones sub as he had a similar music style

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

What an odd, odd move.

Look, I really like D&D, I do. But they've lost a significant number of listeners since taking the lunchtime gig on Today FM. Why they're being parachuted in to try and rescue the figures of what was the station's highest rated slot does not compute with me tbh.

It's a good move for me personally, as I'll now hear them a lot more often, but it doesn't seem like a good move for the station IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Personally I like to listen to a magazine type show that early in the morning and leave the laughs til after 12. Some mornings 9 is just too early for the craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 902 ✭✭✭IUA14

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    What an odd, odd move.

Look, I really like D&D, I do. But they've lost a significant number of listeners since taking the lunchtime gig on Today FM. Why they're being parachuted in to try and rescue the figures of what was the station's highest rated slot does not compute with me tbh.

It's a good move for me personally, as I'll now hear them a lot more often, but it doesn't seem like a good move for the station IMO.

I'm the same, strange, but if it means an enjoyable show following on from Dempsey with better music and a few laughs then happy days! Brave move given the fall in figures at lunchtime since they took over...and I guess they would seem to fit the brief in terms of trying to skew ever so slightly younger...interesting times...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,155 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

IUA14 wrote: »
    I'm the same, strange, but if it means an enjoyable show following on from Dempsey with better music and a few laughs then happy days! Brave move given the fall in figures at lunchtime since they took over...and I guess they would seem to fit the brief in terms of trying to skew ever so slightly younger...interesting times...

Again though, the mythical 'younger audience' are not listening to radio 9-12 weekdays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,452 ✭✭✭sonic85

Irish radio is gone to pot. What clowns are running these stations? I haven't listened to Today FM since Anton left and I don't like Dermot and Dave so I won't be tuning back in anytime soon.

Muireann O Connell's name has been thrown around for presenting a show but anytime I've seen her on TV she comes across as extremely annoying. Don't think I could listen to her for 2 or 3 hours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Scarlet Helpful Suit

sonic85 wrote: »
    Irish radio is gone to pot. What clowns are running these stations? I haven't listened to Today FM since Anton left and I don't like Dermot and Dave so I won't be tuning back in anytime soon.

Muireann O Connell's name has been thrown around for presenting a show but anytime I've seen her on TV she comes across as extremely annoying. Don't think I could listen to her for 2 or 3 hours

I don't think theyre saying Muireann to take over Antons slot but having a music show, with a few interjections in between the tunes wouldn't be bad selection...least shes better than paula

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭Mr Tickle

I don't think theyre saying Muireann to take over Antons slot but having a music show, with a few interjections in between the tunes wouldn't be bad selection...least shes better than paula

She seems to be getting on well with Lenny for the last few days. I'd be happy to see her get a shot at her own show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

can't see D&D doing anything along the lines of the agony aunt/consumer/sex therapy/GP/parenthood issues during the week. i wonder how they'll fill out their show for an extra hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 wherearemykeys

I cant see myself listening to D&D at 9am. I was so disappointed when Ray left as i liked that type of show. Easy listening while in work. Didnt think it would be easy to replace him, then along came the lovely Anton. Perfect fit for the show and a million times better than Ray.

At the minute I tune into Ian in the morning and in my car to work. Switch over to Tubs from 9-10. I actually thought id hate him but hes grand for that hour.

Then over to Pat Kenny on Newstalk. Its all very serious tho! Id love if Radio 1 put Anton on after Ryan and move Sean O Rourke or better still, get rid of George Hook to wends on Newstalk and give Anton his slot!

There sorted!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Missyelliot2

I've had Newstalk on all day.....first time ever! I feel too grown up and serious though! In dire need of a bit of light-humoured banter on the radio.....

I wonder if anyone in Todayfm reads this thread? I'm not on Facebook, but could a link be pasted on their page?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭mikep

I think the last few weeks have really shown how poor Alison Curtis is at presenting this type of show. She can't control her exuberance and excitement that occur at the smallest thing..That is fine for saturday mornings reading out texts aboot dancing babies etc but doesn't cut it for and Anton Savage type show..

Was listening to the Brian Cranston interview earlier. Excellent interview. I miss Anton :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭skylight1987

All I have left on Today FM is Ian in the mornings and to be honest im starting to jump to KC on Red FM, he does a breakfast show to rival Ian. I am still stationless between 9 to 12 jumpimg between Pat Kenney and Neil Prenderville God help me . All I have left is Sean Moncrieff. The one listening pleasure I have left .I like Gorege Hook too but preferred him in the evenings. I miss Anton :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭ads20101

Anyone heard any rumours
    any news of another interested station?

Looks like posters have finally relented on the Facebook page

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Next time you members of the Anton Savage Fan Club are missing him why not Google his name and "Kate Fitzgerald"?

I don't really have much of a strong opinion either way on his radio show other than to say I found it a little bland, but it wasn't terrible either. However I do think the image he projects of himself deserves a deeper scrutiny.

Next time you members of the Anton Savage Fan Club are missing him why not Google his name and "Kate Fitzgerald"?

I don't really have much of a strong opinion either way on his radio show other than to say I found it a little bland, but it wasn't terrible either. However I do think the image he projects of himself deserves a deeper scrutiny.

Most of us has seen that. I think he acted professionally throughout and corresponded the way any other boss would.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭The Parish priest

I don't think there is anywhere for him to go really, except maybe filling in for Tubs and darcy on Radio 1. it just goes to show the lack of diversity on the Irish airwaves doesn't it ?

anna080 wrote: »
    Most of us has seen that. I think he acted professionally throughout and corresponded the way any other boss would.

Wow. Just wow. I sincerely hope you're never on the receiving end of a bullying campaign.

Anton didn't bully her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Mouseslayer17

Just read it,that poor girl

Anton didn't bully her.

For the purposes of clarity here - are you an employee of The Communications Clinic or Today FM? Or are you related to the man or do you know the man in question?

Nope. Just someone who read the same article as you did and came to the most evident conclusion.

Anton didn't bully her.

I would like to say a lot in response to that but I can't for legal reasons. What I will say is you must have a very narrow interpretation of bullying.

For a company and a family that have an opinion on almost everything, their silence on this matter has been deafening.

Nope. Just someone who read the same article as you did and came to the most evident conclusion.

Please clarify what you see as "the most evident conclusion".

Please clarify how you think he bullied her?
    I've no doubt she went through a hard time, and it's awful what happened to her. She may have been given a hard time by someone in there, but I didn't take any issue with anything in the article that Anton had said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭tupenny

God I miss Anton
    Feck all options. Find myself listening to pat kenny ffs