Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

El Presidente Trump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,558 ✭✭✭Sweetemotion

She didn't even visit one of the states, for a long time did barely did any press conferences. Trump worked his ass off for the win, he was all over the place, constantly working away to get his message out. If he runs again, he will win again. I don't see anyone who is on his level for strategy and having that will to win.

And after his 8 years. I can see Ivanka Trump becoming the first female president of America. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,928 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

And after his 8 years. I can see Ivanka Trump becoming the first female president of America. :cool:

Nah, I'm kind of hoping Kanye west wasn't talking through his arse and runs. If he does, I'm actually probably going to shill as hard as I can for him. Just for the craic like.
    Hate just about everything about him, but how funny would Kanye be in the White House!?

Nah, I'm kind of hoping Kanye west wasn't talking through his arse and runs. If he does, I'm actually probably going to shill as hard as I can for him. Just for the craic like.
    Hate just about everything about him, but how funny would Kanye be in the White House!?

Forgot about him. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭HellSquirrel

Sure, at least she's a probably-corrupt daddy's-weath girl with some brains and some concept of policy being for everyone, not just for enriching herself.

She'd still probably be awful, but she'd be better than Dad.

Mind you, so would a rock and a dead parrot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,260 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Christy42 wrote: »
    No it was talking about the fact that Hillary did in fact have policies encouraged people to vote for her. :rolleyes:.

So did my main man, Gary Johnson. Although I imagine Aleppo will haunt his dreams in a similar manner to countless Syrian soldiers.

He did get a fair vote though.

She didn't even visit one of the states, for a long time did barely did any press conferences. Trump worked his ass off for the win, he was all over the place, constantly working away to get his message out. If he runs again, he will win again. I don't see anyone who is on his level for strategy and having that will to win.

I think his son might run. He certainly knows how to talk.

Read it again. That's not what I was talking about at all. I know why she didn't win. Never mentioned that at all. We were talking about policies and the American people agreeing with it.

You just completely changed the subject. :confused:

Policy? Policy?? :D
    Most of the people voting Hillary voted "because it's her turn", "it's time for our first female president", etc etc. And of course, "She's not Donald Trump!" You're giving them way too much credit.
    There are a lot of first female presidents that wouldn't have completely ruined the moment. Michelle Obama for one, Jaysus, Sarah Pailin or Conda Rice would clear the bar that yoke set...
    It's why a lot of people voted Trump too, btw - "He's not Hillary!".... Stupid reason, but thanks for the vote... Like the morons who actually believed he'd "deal with jews and blacks!"
    Thanks for the one thing you were good for - your vote. I'd ask that they kindly swallow their weapons, but they might come in handy by 2020...

It's a question of the least ****tiest pick, and "Drumpfhkkkitler" with all his glaring faults, is slightly less ****ty than Hillary.
    It was that simple for far more people than you think - on both sides. Policy had feck all to do with it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭HellSquirrel

Policy? Policy?? :D
    Most of the people voting Hillary voted "because it's her turn", "it's time for our first female president", etc etc. And of course, "She's not Donald Trump!" You're giving them way too much credit.

It was that simple for far more people than you think - on both sides. Policy had feck all to do with it :D

Eeeh, speak for yourself on that. A lot of people actually looked at their policies and noted the impressive dearth in Trump's. Maybe "he's not Clinton" was enough for -you-, but don't tar us all with the ignorant brush!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

The election is NOT about the popular vote.

Becasuse trump didn't win it?

InTheTrees wrote: »
    The election is NOT about the popular vote.

Becasuse trump didn't win it?

Because it doesn't matter. Go read a few books.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭B_Wayne

ebbsy wrote: »

Every response you have written tends to be a one liner, often pretty nasty and ill informed. Yet you tell others to read a few books. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,360 ✭✭✭KingBrian2

So did my main man, Gary Johnson. Although I imagine Aleppo will haunt his dreams in a similar manner to countless Syrian soldiers.

Not the Syrian soldiers they celebrated their defeat of the various terrorists holding the place ransom.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,466 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

Will be interesting to see how the Trump administration deals with Syria [...]
    Do any of them know where it is?

Your little friend keeps babbling on about how "the people" picked trump though which isn't strictly true as trump got millions less votes than his opponent.

I think his son might run. He certainly knows how to talk.

The brothers Grimm.

Except in four years I expect the name trump will be a joke.

Your little friend keeps babbling on about how "the people" picked trump though which isn't strictly true as trump got millions less votes than his opponent.

He also got over 60 million votes.

Eeeh, speak for yourself on that. A lot of people actually looked at their policies and noted the impressive dearth in Trump's. Maybe "he's not Clinton" was enough for -you-, but don't tar us all with the ignorant brush!

Hah, yeah, me...
    Oh and I'm the chief tar administrator in this thread yeah....
    A lot of people think they can vote for a world where they'll "stick it to the man". Well it's not going to happen.
    You will never, ever make the poor richer by making the rich poorer. Ya just won't...
    First off, that's why Sanders was a bust.
    Secondly, that left them with Trump, or Clinton.
    Hillary who promised to make the big guys pay their share, (while those same lads threw everything behind her... :rolleyes: )
    Or Trump, who wasn't going to put those lads into much power, but had plans for his own...

Trump is likely to be straight forward about obscene deregulation. CEOs will see their wages going from 500k, to 7 or 800k probably. But if that translates to Bob's wage packet going from 25k to 28k, then go for it.
    If you think there's another way to bump Bob's packet by 3k, you're the delusional one, with no idea who actually holds the cards.
    The money wins, and if it doesn't, you don't get any ;)

Now, there's every chance that won't happen. Bob might see **** all. But at least there was a chance with Trump, even with his cabinet in the wings, it's still a chance. That chance was never there with Hillary. If it doesn't happen with Donald then to me it was never going to happen, If Donald stsrts a war with Russia, then to me it was going to happen either way, so what of it but sit back and laugh at people just like me who think they matter, because at least I wasn't going to get that with Hillary! :D

My reasons for preferring the orange chap were always simple, I don't have to bend over backwards yet to defend him, like you lit seem to imagine a veritable army of his goose stepping supporters are doing, because he hasn't done something that's going to severely affect the world. At least yet...

Ha ha, love it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Hah, yeah, me...
    Oh and I'm the chief tar administrator in this thread yeah....
    A lot of people think they can vote for a world where they'll "stick it to the man". Well it's not going to happen.
    You will never, ever make the poor richer by making the rich poorer. Ya just won't...
    First off, that's why Sanders was a bust.
    Secondly, that left them with Trump, or Clinton.
    Hillary who promised to make the big guys pay their share, (while those same lads threw everything behind her... :rolleyes: )
    Or Trump, who wasn't going to put those lads into much power, but had plans for his own...

Trump is likely to be straight forward about obscene deregulation. CEOs will see their wages going from 500k, to 7 or 800k probably. But if that translates to Bob's wage packet going from 25k to 28k, then go for it.
    If you think there's another way to bump Bob's packet by 3k, you're the delusional one, with no idea who actually holds the cards.
    The money wins, and if it doesn't, you don't get any ;)

Now, there's every chance that won't happen. Bob might see **** all. But at least there was a chance with Trump, even with his cabinet in the wings, it's still a chance. That chance was never there with Hillary. If it doesn't happen with Donald then to me it was never going to happen, If Donald stsrts a war with Russia, then to me it was going to happen either way, so what of it but sit back and laugh at people just like me who think they matter, because at least I wasn't going to get that with Hillary! :D

My reasons for preferring the orange chap were always simple, I don't have to bend over backwards yet to defend him, like you lit seem to imagine a veritable army of his goose stepping supporters are doing, because he hasn't done something that's going to severely affect the world. At least yet...

Without trying to get into things you've clearly got a strong mind on, the bit about 'if wages go up 3k, that's down to Trump but war with Russia wouldn't be'.

I get you were kidding about war in Russia but I take your point. Are there any areas you feel Trump may leave things worse off than he found it or are global issues already predetermined?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,450 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

gosplan wrote: »
    Without trying to get into things you've clearly got a strong mind on, the bit about 'if wages go up 3k, that's down to Trump but war with Russia wouldn't be'.

I get you were kidding about war in Russia but I take your point. Are there any areas you feel Trump may leave things worse off than he found it or are global issues already predetermined?

War with Russia could be. That's what I meant. He could turn and decide to do exactly what others were going to do, hence the nihilistic joking, but at least it's only a chance with him..
    In all fairness, he's probably not going to be as good for America overall than hoped, but with TTIP on shaky ground with some reckoning it's all but dead in the water, he's already proven better for us little Europeans than his alternative who was all for it..
    Give crowds like Cerberus and Nestlé far more power and behind closed doors too, what could possibly go wrong...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

The proof is undeniable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

Why would Hillary start a war with Russia ? After all, didn't she give them 20% of the US' plutonium ? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,873 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

The brothers Grimm.
    My US friends refer to them as "Uday and Qusay."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,873 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

Jelle1880 wrote: »
    You lot actually think Hillary would have started a war with Russia.
    Nutjobs.

I recall an interview with Putin around the election where he was asked about the 2 candidates. IMHO,watching him answer the questions, I was left with the impression that he was afraid of Clinton. She might've handled him better - interestingly enough, other leading female politicians seem to loathe the guy, Merkel (http://www.reuters.com/article/us-merkel-putin-insight-idUSBREA260E120140307) and Condoleeza Rice (https://www.kyivpost.com/article/content/russia/bloomberg-condoleezza-rice-says-putin-thinks-hes-vladimir-the-great-401400.html)
    clearly don't like him

Goodbye, health care: https://www.bloomberg.com/politics/articles/2016-12-29/gop-readies-swift-obamacare-repeal-with-no-replacement-in-place

Summary:"“They haven’t come to a consensus in the House and the Senate about the possible replacement plans,” said Douglas Holtz-Eakin, a conservative economist and former adviser to Senator John McCain’s 2008 presidential campaign. “They don’t know Point B.”"

Igotadose wrote: »
    I recall an interview with Putin around the election where he was asked about the 2 candidates. IMHO,watching him answer the questions, I was left with the impression that he was afraid of Clinton. She might've handled him better - interestingly enough, other leading female politicians seem to loathe the guy, Merkel (http://www.reuters.com/article/us-merkel-putin-insight-idUSBREA260E120140307) and Condoleeza Rice (https://www.kyivpost.com/article/content/russia/bloomberg-condoleezza-rice-says-putin-thinks-hes-vladimir-the-great-401400.html)
    clearly don't like him

Goodbye, health care: https://www.bloomberg.com/politics/articles/2016-12-29/gop-readies-swift-obamacare-repeal-with-no-replacement-in-place

Summary:"“They haven’t come to a consensus in the House and the Senate about the possible replacement plans,” said Douglas Holtz-Eakin, a conservative economist and former adviser to Senator John McCain’s 2008 presidential campaign. “They don’t know Point B.”"

Clinton has genuine experience in international politics and probably knows that Putin only responds to power and a strong counterbalance. I do think she wouldn't have gone soft on him, but for some reason certain people seem to equate that with 'omg she's gonna start a war'.

Funny enough many people who like Trump do so because 'he's a straight talker and doesn't do political correctness'.
    2 things that are far more likely to piss other leaders off.

The report Obama put out is laughable, it's a bunch of diagrams you'd find in a level 5 IT course with general information about how hacking can occur, but offers no evidence of a link between the hacks and Russia, or Wikileaks.

It's basically saying this is how it might happen, therefore Russia hacked the election. It even comes with a disclaimer saying it's "as is and is for informational purposes only, does not provide any warranties of information contained within"

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/C04DKLdWEAAHfEa.jpg

The sad thing is people and the media are eating this up as proof that Russia "hacked" the election, the same people who discredit the validity of the Wikileaks emails. It's a bunch of bogus nonsense propaganda and there is an agenda at play here imo which is deeper than simply trying to discredit Trump winning the election.

One in a long list of embarrassing actions since the election of trying to discredit and undermine Trump and the election results.

Jelle1880 wrote: »
    That must be why Republicans are also backing the steps taken by Obama.

Yeah, they sure were supportive of him during the campaign.

If they got proof they should show it. The report is nonsense and is a bunch of school diagrams used to confuse people into accepting it as validity.

I removed my post since there's no real use in arguing with you, but since you pretend to have a lot of experience in this matter I'll indulge you.
    Shall we look at the actual report ?

https://www.us-cert.gov/sites/default/files/publications/JAR_16-20296A_GRIZZLY%20STEPPE-2016-1229.pdf

Perhaps we can include the announcement of the Department of Treasury:

https://www.treasury.gov/resource-center/sanctions/OFAC-Enforcement/Pages/20161229.aspx

The reason the graphics are simple is because it was a very basic spearphishing attack (to be fair, even calling it that gives it too much credit, it was basically spoofing), it wasn't complicated at all (at least not for people who actually try to find these things) which doesn't reflect well on the US' security measures.
    APT29 used legitimate domains, to include domains associated with U.S. organizations and educational institutions, to host malware and send spearphishing emails.

They literally produced an entire list of names with their online aliases and nicknames, how much proof do you want ?

If it's not true surely it should be very easy to disprove.

edit:
    The Obama administration is also planning to release a detailed “joint analytic report” from the Federal Bureau of Investigation and the Department of Homeland Security that is clearly based in part on intelligence gathered by the National Security Agency

Let's wait for that shall we ? Although I'm fairly certain I can predict your response to that ;)

I've read the report. there is no evidence whatsoever linking Russia to Wikileaks, or Russia influencing the election.

"The U.S. Government assesses that information
    was leaked to the press and publicly disclosed."

That is the closest thing in the entire pdf alleging Russia hacked the election. That isn't proof, it's a broad statement said in such a way to suit an agenda.

Besides the first two pages, the rest of the document is general steps on how to better secure a random network.

As for Countries hacking other Countries, that is old news.