Scrambler bikes. This year's most annoying Christmas present?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

Ah the scrambler bike, i remember one year not long after Christmas i was going to shops one sped past me and into the local football field where he thought no doubt he was the most deadly young lad in the estate, as he tore up the field speeding around it like a hamster on big green wheel when i came out from the shops he was jammed head between the bars around the football field and an ambulance was there the thick went flying into the wall and got his head jammed between the bars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

Lone Stone wrote: »
    Ah the scrambler bike, i remember one year not long after Christmas i was going to shops one sped past me and into the local football field where he thought no doubt he was the most deadly young lad in the estate, as he tore up the field speeding around it like a hamster on big green wheel when i came out from the shops he was jammed head between the bars around the football field and an ambulance was there the thick went flying into the wall and got his head jammed between the bars.

And you know what? He only hurt himself in the field. My issue is them batin' around the roads up and down paths not a care in the world. Some 5 year old, excited by the noisy engine runs out of his garden to have a look - bang. Brown bread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

Gardai will not chase any young kids in my area on scramblers or quads on health and safety grounds and because there are so many of them.

Basically they are lazy. Most guards are bone idle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

Many an evening in have spent rising a scrambler, friend of mine has a course built at his house. Never get any complaints about noiseeing or recklessness and none of us have gotten hurt.

The joys of living in the countryside

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 23,214 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Far from a sheltered life.

And this is the first year Ive seen and heard the b*stards. Indeed it's the first year I saw people moaning about them on social media too.

So, yes, they are a new hinderance to many.

Are you kidding me? Young fellas getting scramblers for Christmas has been a nuisance since the mid 80s.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

Those yolks are mostly two stroke. A can of straight petrol with some red food coloring in it strategically placed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭Bicky bicky

Basically they are lazy. Most guards are bone idle.

No!

Patrol spota young kid on bike hits blue and two young kid doesn't want his Santa present taken off him s**ts himself drops back a gear (if he has any)full throttle and hits a wall with gardai on behind

Pursuing gardai will get into s**t for it.
    So I see why they don't chase them.

No!

Patrol spota young kid on bike hits blue and two young kid doesn't want his Santa present taken off him s**ts himself drops back a gear (if he has any)full throttle and hits a wall with gardai on behind

Pursuing gardai will get into s**t for it.
    So I see why they don't chase them.

They should be issued with nets.

CRF 450 wrote: »
    Happy Christmas x

Same to you buddy :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

Seems to be skangers only

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,543 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Annoying XMas present?

I've not started flying my new drone over all your back gardens yet....:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

These parents must be engaged in pretty lucrative employment. How much do these bikes cost?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

Beasty wrote: »
    Annoying XMas present?

I've not started flying my new drone over all your back gardens yet....:P

Drones buddies!

They should be given scramblers themselves. Gardai would nearly put a stop to the messing overnight if the kids thought they would have the bike seized. That would put manners on them.

We are literally at the bottom of the mountains here in Tallaght. Plenty of places a few minutes away for riding their bikes. The parents should take into account that they need a van or trailer before buying these machines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭Anesthetize

Just get a load of middle-aged people with scramblers to join in with them. Then they'll think it's not cool anymore and stop using them. Problem solved.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

The noisy b*stards!

Ive been in 3 different housing estates today ranging from working class to middle and they're everywhere.

Are they this year's most annoying present or can you top that?

It's been happening every year for quite a few years now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

The jealousy of youth

Do you not remember the feeling of invincibility?

The rush before you became trapped in girlfriends kids and mortgages

We could never die

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭jay48

Whatever about getting scramblers for Christmas , pity the poor fooker I seen in Clondalkin today , all his mates out on the green on their scramblers and some genius got this lad a gn125 (google it !) and he's about to go across the green .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

Do you not remember the feeling of invincibility?

the feeling of invincibility ??????

watch it again - no feeling of invincibility there

Tarah Geiger has their problem sussed : http://imgur.com/a/DlJo4

Melodeon wrote: »
    Here's one of their big adventures from last year:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭jimmy blevins

Along with tridents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Gardai will not chase any young kids in my area on scramblers or quads on health and safety grounds and because there are so many of them.

There's literally no point in trying to chase a scrambler in a car. Only time you'll catch them is if the ****er makes a mistake and comes off the bike or runs out of petrol.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,501 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I'd rather listen to a scrambler than a yo Kai watch at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

Easy to see where all the double dole Xmas bonus went this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hans Bricks

Glad I didn't spend Xmas at home in Clondalkin this year. Takes a special kind of mouth breather to take scrambler up and down through a housing estate.

Another argument in favour of eugenics really. Anyway ... merry Christmas everyone 😀😀😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Seen a pack of twenty of them come out of the Phoenix Park gates yesterday around 2pm or so. Was like something out of a bad 80's flick.

A motorcyclist was killed yesterday in Crumlin... no idea if it was one of these scooters or not but with the amount of people I hear commenting on these bikes this year I wouldn't be surprised.

http://www.98fm.com/Appeal-For-Witnesses-After-Motorcyclist-Killed-On-Christmas-Morning-

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 267 ✭✭Train Dragon

Pkiernan wrote: »
    Easy to see where all the double dole Xmas bonus went this year

Lol. How much are they on average?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭Bicky bicky

Lol. How much are they on average?

Chinese Mini motos low hundreds
    Chinese scramblers depending on engine size mid hundreds to 1000.
    Chinese quads depending on engine size mid hundreds to 1000
    Brand name quads and scramblers over the 1000 mark.

The Chinese ones are great. They break in no time and almost impossible to get parts. Then they are fcuked in a shed to rot away.

Less of a racket.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Only one solution..Call 999 and report cases of dangerous driving. I'm sure they have a licence, are taxed and insured on the road. They've nothing to worry about ;)

Pointless exercise. No registration plates. Helmets conceal identity. Gardaí aren't allowed pursue them. Can't get a warrant to seize a bike off private property for the offences you mentioned. Legislation and policy have to be changed to deal with this issue. Better off calling your local politicians.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Is this a new thing? I haven't seen it