Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scrambler bikes. This year's most annoying Christmas present?

• 25-12-2016 3:54pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 267 ✭✭

The noisy b*stards!

Ive been in 3 different housing estates today ranging from working class to middle and they're everywhere.

Are they this year's most annoying present or can you top that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

The noisy b*stards!

Ive been in 3 different housing estates today ranging from working class to middle and they're everywhere.

The mini motor bikes a few years ago were fair annoying. **** off down the fields with them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

The noisy b*stards!

Only one solution..Call 999 and report cases of dangerous driving. I'm sure they have a licence, are taxed and insured on the road. They've nothing to worry about ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

You'd want to be a special type of idiot to get your teenagers a scrambler for Christmas. Scrotes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 267 ✭✭Train Dragon

Only one solution..Call 999 and report cases of dangerous driving. I'm sure they have a licence, are taxed and insured on the road. They've nothing to worry about ;)

Food for thought ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,415 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

At least have the decency to get a trailer with it to take little Johnny to some field or other instead of whizzing around on footpaths and public roads and potentially messing up some poor innocent's Xmas/life

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

Jaysus you must lead a sheltered life. They have been appearing every Christmas for the last 4 years around Dublin. Fcuking 6.30 this morning I was woke by the bastards.

They're usually all broke in a matter of weeks though.

...... only bought by anti water charge protesters

pablo128 wrote: »
    Jaysus you must lead a sheltered life. They have been appearing every Christmas for the last 4 years around Dublin.

Far from a sheltered life.

And this is the first year Ive seen and heard the b*stards. Indeed it's the first year I saw people moaning about them on social media too.

So, yes, they are a new hinderance to many.

Augeo wrote: »
    ...... only bought by anti water charge protesters

Ugh I know its Christmas day but seriously go and educate yourself about the reasons why people protested against water charges. Such a crap uninformed generalisation.

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    .......... go and educate yourself about the reasons why people protested against water charges. .......

Primarily as people on the scratch were expected to pay.
    Less money for gat & scramblers for their offspring.

Primarily as people on the scratch were expected to pay.
    Less money for gat & scramblers for their offspring.

Most of the people who protested are working people....

Leaving it at that. Happy Christmas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Most of the people who protested are working people....

Leaving it at that. Happy Christmas.

Yes. Leave it at that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    Yes. Leave it at that.

I'll fight you for your shoelaces.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I'll fight you for your shoelaces.

He's wearing slippers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,282 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Been making noise in my end of Finglas since 3 am, hope this windy weather keeps the idiots off the roads for a while.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

None where I live and I'm in the ghetto. For some reason East Wall has always been the little bastards on scramblers Mecca in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭markc1184

A few of them around my way this morning, to add to the ones already around the area. If they continue using them like they were this morning it's a matter of time until someone is killed.

None where I live and I'm in the ghetto. For some reason East Wall has always been the little bastards on scramblers Mecca in Dublin.

Be thankful for the bit of peace this year. We have a green area nearby which is chewed up already, then they drag the muck up and down the road when they get tired of getting mucky.

Of course the younger children in the area can't be let out to play due to the danger of getting a bang of one of these bikes.

Are there any noise pollution laws in Ireland that justify getting the guards involved with these in your estate?

Or would the guards fall over from laughing at such a complaint?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭micknail

pablo128 wrote: »
    Jaysus you must lead a sheltered life. They have been appearing every Christmas for the last 4 years around Dublin. Fcuking 6.30 this morning I was woke by the bastards.

They're usually all broke in a matter of weeks though.

No recession in Dublin!

Are there any noise pollution laws in Ireland that justify getting the guards involved with these in your estate?

There are several laws that justify getting AGS involved.

Riders have to be 16 or older. Licensed and insured.
    The bike must be registered, lights etc etc etc

There's little they can do in an i40 estate against a kid who doesn't know or care about the rules of the road. Up onto the first bit of a green and they're away.

Helicopter is the only way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭Bicky bicky

Gardai will not chase any young kids in my area on scramblers or quads on health and safety grounds and because there are so many of them.

So I think what we'll have in coming weeks is a lot of neighbours having heated arguments with each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

The noisy b*stards!

I think your definition of middle class might not match that of others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,513 ✭✭✭Melodeon

Here's one of their big adventures from last year:

Darwin will remove them from the gene pool shortly if they continue at this lark, but they've doubtless already spread their seed far and wlde by now :mad:

Melodeon wrote: »

Darwin will remove them from the gene pool shortly if they continue at this lark, but they've doubtless already spread their seed far and wlde by now :mad:

LOL 10 seconds in a scrote walks into the house in typical scrote fashion with one hand down his trousers. Wtf is up with these people.

Reared on Birdseye & haribos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 CRF 450

Happy Christmas x

Woahh!!

These are scummers.. Leave Haribo out of that! Haribo have always, and continue, to bring me great joy, dammit! I won't have them talked ill about!!! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

Ah the scrambler bike, i remember one year not long after Christmas i was going to shops one sped past me and into the local football field where he thought no doubt he was the most deadly young lad in the estate, as he tore up the field speeding around it like a hamster on big green wheel when i came out from the shops he was jammed head between the bars around the football field and an ambulance was there the thick went flying into the wall and got his head jammed between the bars.

Lone Stone wrote: »
    Ah the scrambler bike, i remember one year not long after Christmas i was going to shops one sped past me and into the local football field where he thought no doubt he was the most deadly young lad in the estate, as he tore up the field speeding around it like a hamster on big green wheel when i came out from the shops he was jammed head between the bars around the football field and an ambulance was there the thick went flying into the wall and got his head jammed between the bars.

And you know what? He only hurt himself in the field. My issue is them batin' around the roads up and down paths not a care in the world. Some 5 year old, excited by the noisy engine runs out of his garden to have a look - bang. Brown bread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

Basically they are lazy. Most guards are bone idle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

Many an evening in have spent rising a scrambler, friend of mine has a course built at his house. Never get any complaints about noiseeing or recklessness and none of us have gotten hurt.

The joys of living in the countryside

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,892 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Far from a sheltered life.

And this is the first year Ive seen and heard the b*stards. Indeed it's the first year I saw people moaning about them on social media too.

So, yes, they are a new hinderance to many.

Are you kidding me? Young fellas getting scramblers for Christmas has been a nuisance since the mid 80s.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

Those yolks are mostly two stroke. A can of straight petrol with some red food coloring in it strategically placed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭Bicky bicky

Basically they are lazy. Most guards are bone idle.

No!

Patrol spota young kid on bike hits blue and two young kid doesn't want his Santa present taken off him s**ts himself drops back a gear (if he has any)full throttle and hits a wall with gardai on behind

Pursuing gardai will get into s**t for it.
    So I see why they don't chase them.

No!

Patrol spota young kid on bike hits blue and two young kid doesn't want his Santa present taken off him s**ts himself drops back a gear (if he has any)full throttle and hits a wall with gardai on behind

Pursuing gardai will get into s**t for it.
    So I see why they don't chase them.

They should be issued with nets.

CRF 450 wrote: »
    Happy Christmas x

Same to you buddy :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

Seems to be skangers only

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Annoying XMas present?

I've not started flying my new drone over all your back gardens yet....:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

These parents must be engaged in pretty lucrative employment. How much do these bikes cost?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

Beasty wrote: »
    Annoying XMas present?

I've not started flying my new drone over all your back gardens yet....:P

Drones buddies!

They should be given scramblers themselves. Gardai would nearly put a stop to the messing overnight if the kids thought they would have the bike seized. That would put manners on them.

We are literally at the bottom of the mountains here in Tallaght. Plenty of places a few minutes away for riding their bikes. The parents should take into account that they need a van or trailer before buying these machines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,465 ✭✭✭Anesthetize

Just get a load of middle-aged people with scramblers to join in with them. Then they'll think it's not cool anymore and stop using them. Problem solved.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

The noisy b*stards!

It's been happening every year for quite a few years now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

The jealousy of youth

Do you not remember the feeling of invincibility?

The rush before you became trapped in girlfriends kids and mortgages

We could never die

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭jay48

Whatever about getting scramblers for Christmas , pity the poor fooker I seen in Clondalkin today , all his mates out on the green on their scramblers and some genius got this lad a gn125 (google it !) and he's about to go across the green .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

Do you not remember the feeling of invincibility?

the feeling of invincibility ??????

watch it again - no feeling of invincibility there

Tarah Geiger has their problem sussed : http://imgur.com/a/DlJo4

Melodeon wrote: »

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭jimmy blevins

Along with tridents.