Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

El Presidente Trump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,928 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

humanji wrote: »
    What exactly is wrong with Soros? It's hard to find any solid information because you either get site that say nothing or conspiracy sites, so it there a level headed reason the right hates him, other than he funds liberal organisation?

You don't have to be right wing to hate people like Soros :rolleyes: that's your first mistake right there. You just have to be human. Look up his work with British banks in the 90s. Look up his work in the Asian financial crisis.

Or, you could listen to him bragging about how helping the Nazis rat out Jews was the happiest time of his life.

Or cheerily talking about how "regime change" is but a mere hobby to a man with more money than most, er, regimes.

Or you could look at the printing press under the "open societies foundation" that made and distributed innumerable copies of "w2eu" leaflets to refugees, while he writes "highly regarded" economics opinion pieces about how the EU should borrow surge funding to deal with this "sudden suprise influx".

Do not call an arsehole like Trump "an arsehole", then turn around and consider a cancerous tumour of the planet like Soros "good". It just shows you have no idea what bad looks like - only what you're told it is.
    B_Wayne wrote: »
    Most of the obsession with Soros seems to be antisemetic conspiracies tbh. Some extraordinarily nasty things said about him including saying he was a "Nazi collaborator"....

Another word who's meaning is being destroyed by crap like this.
    You're trying to twist the meaning of it.

'Formerly an anti-Semite was somebody who hated Jews because they were Jews and had a Jewish soul. But nowadays an anti-Semite is somebody who is hated by Jews.'
    - Dr Hajo Meyer. Holocaust survivor.
    Seems like a genuinely good person tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

Igotadose wrote: »
    Summary: Didn't think Trump'd repeal Obamacare which was a huge improvement to their lives. Well now they're in big trouble.

You have to wonder. The irony is that in blue states they'll probably be able to retain the health exchange systems that were set up. But it will be the states that republican states that feel the repeal the hardest.

Here's another story. Trump voters interviewed while in line for signing up for ObamaCare.

http://www.nytimes.com/2016/11/25/health/florida-affordable-care-act-obamacare-trump.html?_r=0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,873 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

You don't have to be right wing to hate people like Soros :rolleyes: that's your first mistake right there. You just have to be human. Look up his work with British banks in the 90s. Look up his work in the Asian financial crisis.

Hey, just like Trump being smart, right? Sorry - high finance is a cold, merciless way to make a living. Soros does obvious good, too. Unlike Trump.

Or, you could listen to him bragging about how helping the Nazis rat out Jews was the happiest time of his life.
    Seriously, you believe that twaddle? Wikipedia talks about Soros's early life.

As for your misdirection on Anti-semite

Another word who's meaning is being destroyed by crap like this.
    You're trying to twist the meaning of it.

'Formerly an anti-Semite was somebody who hated Jews because they were Jews and had a Jewish soul. But nowadays an anti-Semite is somebody who is hated by Jews.'
    - Dr Hajo Meyer. Holocaust survivor.

Hajo Meyer's entitled to his opinion (usually quoted on , *cough*, alt-right sites.) However, the majority of the hue-and-cry against Soros is thinly-veiled 'NWO' garbage spewed by Anti-semites. He's an anti-Zionist advocate for Palestinians. He's not the only Jewish person on the side of the Palestinians. In my opinion, that quote shows Meyer had some screws loose.

Unless your quoting of Meyer was an attempt to show how non-Anti-Semitic Soros was, but I don't think that was your intention.

The meaning of anti-semite hasn't changed. Using anti-semitic lies to attack a prominent member of the Jewish community like Soros is kind of telling.

Hey, just like Trump being smart, right? Sorry - high finance is a cold, merciless way to make a living. Soros does obvious good, too. Unlike Trump.
    Lol, find posts of me praising how smart Trump is. 'Oh, Soros donated some of the money he made destroying lives, that makes him good, right?'
    Listen to yourself.
    Seriously, you believe that twaddle? Wikipedia talks about Soros's early life.
    Oh, well the site anyone can edit that's had something of a civil war amongst itself over what cultural Marxism is must be true, no need for me to believe what the man himself says...
    As for your misdirection on Anti-semite
    It's not a misdirection. You lot are ruining the meaning of words like racist and Nazi by applying them to people you don't agree with.
    I love how "alt-right" just came out of nowhere. I'm still not fully sure whar it is.

I just assume it's been born because you can't call gay people with right leaning views homophobic, or blacks racist against blacks or *cough* Jews with right leaning views "antisemetic"... Something very clearly was needed then. :)

Hajo Meyer's entitled to his opinion (usually quoted on , *cough*, alt-right sites.) However, the majority of the hue-and-cry against Soros is thinly-veiled 'NWO' garbage spewed by Anti-semites. He's an anti-Zionist advocate for Palestinians. He's not the only Jewish person on the side of the Palestinians. In my opinion, that quote shows Meyer had some screws loose.

Unless your quoting of Meyer was an attempt to show how non-Anti-Semitic Soros was, but I don't think that was your intention.

The meaning of anti-semite hasn't changed. Using anti-semitic lies to attack a prominent member of the Jewish community like Soros is kind of telling.

Soros isn't a Jew, he's an ashkenazi who hides behind Judaism, using it as a scapegoat and feeding on actual antisemetic morons who target innocent Jews as a result while crying Antisemite at anyone who sees him and others like him for what they are.

He's responsible for the deaths of many Jews though, and until his punishment includes something more appropriate than "being rich enough to **** with entire countries", 90 year olds getting jailed for the deaths of hundreds of thousands because they operated a radio centre in a concentration camp will mean nothing to me.

And yes, I know ashkenazis are :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,039 ✭✭✭✭Sand

http://www.vox.com/2016/12/13/13901874/obamacare-trump-voter-health-insurance-repeal

Summary: Didn't think Trump'd repeal Obamacare which was a huge improvement to their lives. Well now they're in big trouble.

I just don't get people voting against their own best interests, in this case it really is a matter of life & death.

My prediction: cosmetic changes to Obamacare and a rename, and nothing else. Trump goes up in my book if he actually does do something about drug prices - I doubt it though his cabinets up to their eyeballs in the big Pharma swamp.

Side: watch out for statins, they're bad for you, best thing I ever did was stop taking them.

They're getting what they asked for and what they deserve tbh. The US will become increasingly Democratic through a process of evolution if nothing else.

Lol, find posts of me praising how smart Trump is. 'Oh, Soros donated some of the money he made destroying lives, that makes him good, right?'
    Listen to yourself.

Oh, well the site anyone can edit that's had something of a civil war amongst itself over what cultural Marxism is must be true, no need for me to believe what the man himself says...

Must all be false then? Like where they shred *every one* of your CT nonsense about Soros?
    And you might want to look into how much Soros *eeeevil empire* spends on charity. Far more than your man Trump.

As for Soros, this is one article shredding the twaddle you're regurgitating from the alt-right nonsense Fox "News" spread.
    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2010/11/11/adl-beck-soros_n_782420.html

You might want to look at that Wikipedia entry on Soros. Talks a bit about how he blames Israel for anti-semitism (paraphrasing.)

It's not a misdirection. You lot are ruining the meaning of words like racist and Nazi by applying them to people you don't agree with.
    I love how "alt-right" just came out of nowhere. I'm still not fully sure whar it is.

I just assume it's been born because you can't call gay people with right leaning views homophobic, or blacks racist against blacks or *cough* Jews with right leaning views "antisemetic"... Something very clearly was needed then. :)

Soros isn't a Jew, he's an ashkenazi who hides behind Judaism, using it as a scapegoat and feeding on actual antisemetic morons who target innocent Jews as a result while crying Antisemite at anyone who sees him and others like him for what they are.
    The last paragraph is about as antisemitic a rant as I've ever seen on Boards. You're expert on Judiasm? An ashkenazi that hides behind it? Did you learn that from Stormfront? How do you define Ashkenazi... oh wait don't bother. You're showing your stripes.
    He's responsible for the deaths of many Jews though, and until his punishment includes something more appropriate than "being rich enough to **** with entire countries", 90 year olds getting jailed for the deaths of hundreds of thousands because they operated a radio centre in a concentration camp will mean nothing to me.
    Ahh o.k., your made-up strawman about *eeeevil soros* excuses Nazi behavior during WWII. And, remind me, you're not an anti-semite, right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭B_Wayne

Anytime people talk about George Soros I picture mr Burns from the Simpsons. Soros really is your stereotypical evil illuminati. Collaborated with the Nazi's by telling on fellow Jews before he made his way to America and now funds organisations intent on bringing upheaval to the world. No surprises he was a big fan of the Clintons.

Thank you for illustrating my point, it's like there's a list of checkboxes of smears. He was not a Nazi collaborator for the record. It's utterly contemptible that you're calling a Jewish man a Nazi collaborator....

http://mediamatters.org/research/2010/09/20/toronto-sun-corrects-soros-nazi-smear/170877

Must all be false then? Like where they shred *every one* of your CT nonsense about Soros?
    And you might want to look into how much Soros *eeeevil empire* spends on charity. Far more than your man Trump.
    My man Trump? Good one....
    Go ahead and tell me how many lives Trump has ruined. I'll wait. And I'll know the number of peop he's destroyed will pale in conparison. . . Better yet, why don't you tell me what happened to "lovely man" Soros' funding of FEMEN? I mean womens rights are important, right? :)
    As for Soros, this is one article shredding the twaddle you're regurgitating from the alt-right nonsense Fox "News" spread.
    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2010/11/11/adl-beck-soros_n_782420.html

You might want to look at that Wikipedia entry on Soros. Talks a bit about how he blames Israel for anti-semitism (paraphrasing.)

Really? Huffington? :D
    I'd rate people going by them with the morons following Stormfront. Opposite sides of the same idiot coin.
    I don't like Glenn, but he nails Soros perfectly.

The last paragraph is about as antisemitic a rant as I've ever seen on Boards. You're expert on Judiasm? An ashkenazi that hides behind it? Did you learn that from Stormfront? How do you define Ashkenazi... oh wait don't bother. You're showing your stripes.

Ahh o.k., your made-up strawman about *eeeevil soros* excuses Nazi behavior during WWII. And, remind me, you're not an anti-semite, right?

Antisemitism! Stormfront! Nazi! Lol, I love how alllll the labels come out when people dare to question liberal heros.
    Thank you for illustrating my point, it's like there's a list of checkboxes of smears. He was not a Nazi collaborator for the record. It's utterly contemptible that you're calling a Jewish man a Nazi collaborator....

http://mediamatters.org/research/2010/09/20/toronto-sun-corrects-soros-nazi-smear/170877

That's the whole idea :)
    "How DARE you talk about a man who helped the Nazis, he's JEWISH! ! !"
    Except he's no more Jewish than I'm Christian so to call critics of his glaring faults antisemitic is moronic :)

Even if he was an avid practicer, it's still irrelevant. You know how many Jews stood their ground and swallowed Nazi lead instead of giving away the locations of their fellows?
    They're the ones who would roll in their graves if they could every time that Hungarian tumour gets credit for it's existence.

Even if he was an avid practicer, it's still irrelevant. You know how many Jews stood their ground and swallowed Nazi lead instead of giving away the locations of their fellows?
    They're the ones who would roll in their graves if they could every time that Hungarian tumour gets credit for it's existence.

From the piece I linked to, so yep it's pretty abominable to refer to him as a Nazi collaborator as it is patently untrue.
    This is what actually happened. Shortly after George went to live with Baumbach, the man was assigned to take inventory on the vast estate of Mor Kornfeld, an extremely wealthy aristocrat of Jewish origin. The Kornfeld family had the wealth, wisdom, and connections to be able to leave some of its belongings behind in exchange for permission to make their way to Lisbon. Baumbach was ordered to go to the Kornfeld estate and inventory the artworks, furnishings, and other property. Rather than leave his "godson" behind in Budapest for three days, he took the boy with him. As Baumbach itemized the material, George walked around the grounds and spent time with Kornfeld's staff. It was his first visit to such a mansion, and the first time he rode a horse. He collaborated with no one and he paid attention to what he understood to be his primary responsibility: making sure that no one doubted that he was Sandor Kiss.

^ You want to believe that horse ****, that's your problem, I'm busy making enemies in the extended family over card games, "clearing out" and drink, good luck..

That is a fact, prove that he was a Nazi collaborator if you believe it to be so.

Ps: Ann Coulter misrepresentations doesn't count.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 427 ✭✭Boggy Turf

26 sleeps until Trump has his finger on the button :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭Hunchback

Ceasefire, it's Christmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,450 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Boggy Turf wrote: »
    26 sleeps until Trump has his finger on the button :D

The world is terrified he has his finger on the button of his twitter account!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 427 ✭✭Boggy Turf

The world is terrified he has his finger on the button of his twitter account!

I am not one bit frightened about Donald Trump. I wouldn't vote for the creep but he doesn't frighten me whatsoever. Not much frightens me anymore - I guess that kinda happens when you hit the mid-40s. He is just a man, life will go on. And we'll wonder in 4 years what the fuss was all about...but isn't that what the world has become - one big meaningless fuss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭GreenFolder2

My prediction is any honeymoon will be over after a few months and then Trump will be getting absolutely lampooned by both sides as he tries to ride roughshod over the classical republican ideas of small state / minimalist government and free market capitalism and as he tries to undermine anything socially progressive.

If he doesn't get impeached by the republicans with the support of the democrats before the 4 year term is up, it'll be quite an achievement.

Don't forget he is NOT a republican or a democrat. He's a parachuted in celebrity populist candidate who shares neither parties' ideologies.

I think we are in for a potentially very unpredictable 4 years.

If he turns his attention towards Irish FDI we are going to be in for a major problem here - so I have absolutely no idea why so many Irish keyboard warriors on this site are cheering him on - *you are* the foreigners stealing jobs preventing America from being great again in Trump's view of the world.

I suspect he will end up causing a major spat with China - possibly pushing both the US and China into major recessions. I doubt there'll be a war but three will be a lot of snarling diplomatic stuff.

By 2020 most Americans will be fed up with him, the economy will be a mess, there'll be major diplomatic issues going on and he'll be out on his rear. I would have my doubts the republicans would even back him if he stood for a second term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,106 ✭✭✭Christy42

Wasn't there meant to be some event with Trump pretending to divest himself from his vast conflicts of interest (doing so in spite of not being legally required:p). I like how he says that bit as if it is something unusual and he should get credit for reaching or even not reaching most people's minimum standards. Anyway I digress.

It was meant to happen (kind of-it was going to his kids so the massive conflicts of interest were still there). Then it got delayed to let the college vote first which I didn't mind but why set the date that early in the first place? Did it get delayed to a specific date? Did it happen? Is this a traditional Trump bait and switch and I will be greeted by but Hillary responses?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭catbear

My prediction is any honeymoon will be over after a few months and then Trump will be getting absolutely lampooned by both sides as he tries to ride roughshod over the classical republican ideas of small state / minimalist government and free market capitalism and as he tries to undermine anything socially progressive.

If he doesn't get impeached by the republicans with the support of the democrats before the 4 year term is up, it'll be quite an achievement.

Don't forget he is NOT a republican or a democrat. He's a parachuted in celebrity populist candidate who shares neither parties' ideologies.

I think we are in for a potentially very unpredictable 4 years.

If he turns his attention towards Irish FDI we are going to be in for a major problem here - so I have absolutely no idea why so many Irish keyboard warriors on this site are cheering him on - *you are* the foreigners stealing jobs preventing America from being great again in Trump's view of the world.

I suspect he will end up causing a major spat with China - possibly pushing both the US and China into major recessions. I doubt there'll be a war but three will be a lot of snarling diplomatic stuff.

By 2020 most Americans will be fed up with him, the economy will be a message, there'll be major diplomatic issues going on and he'll be out on his rear. I would have my doubts the republicans would even back him if he stood for a second term.
    Good points.

I wouldn't rule out some serious NRA/WACO style mass siege, city scale this time.

What's often overlooked is that Trump won with a smaller vote than the previous two republican candidates that lost.

That's a lot of political disengagement in the USA for the highest office. What's going on with the disengaged?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭HellSquirrel

From the last page, I'm mostly confused as to how being an Ashkenazi Jew means you're not Jewish. Why's this treated as something Everyone Knows? Did I miss something that meant only Sephardic peoples can be Jewish now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,724 ✭✭✭ECO_Mental

Cans you believe the arrogance of the GOP :mad: this years Christmas message from Rience Priebus compares Trump to Jesus.....the new king and we should all be celebrating. Now we know that Trumpski has a massive ego but!!!!!!:eek:

https://gop.com/rnc-message-celebrating-christmas-2016/

Obviously people are going mad

http://www.cnbc.com/2016/12/25/rncs-new-king-christmas-message-ignites-social-media-furor.html

6.1kWp south facing, South of Cork City

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,260 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Why would Trump need the Gop to back him to win ? They threw him to wolves and he emerged as president

ECO_Mental wrote: »
    Cans you believe the arrogance of the GOP :mad: this years Christmas message from Rience Priebus compares Trump to Jesus.....the new king and we should all be celebrating. Now we know that Trumpski has a massive ego but!!!!!!:eek:

http://www.cnbc.com/2016/12/25/rncs-new-king-christmas-message-ignites-social-media-furor.html

I have to admit, my reaction was laughter. Oh my god, the obnoxiousness is unreal. They don't usually make these "Christmas messages" so it's not that this is just a traditional message being misinterpreted.

That really is just a bit sad. But also kinda hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,210 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

ebbsy wrote:
    Why would Trump need the Gop to back him to win ? They threw him to wolves and he emerged as president

He doesn't need the party. The party doesn't have any control over real TS president but he has lots of influence over the party. The GOP is in a very weak position at the moment

I have to admit, my reaction was laughter. Oh my god, the obnoxiousness is unreal. They don't usually make these "Christmas messages" so it's not that this is just a traditional message being misinterpreted.

That really is just a bit sad. But also kinda hilarious.
    Eh... I think they always have an Xmas message of some sort. I think if the message had said "new BORN king" that'd there be no news here, but someone got bent out of shape about it... that's 2016 in 'Merica I suppose.

Somehow I think this arc should be over on the A&A board not this one:)

Eh... I think they always have an Xmas message of some sort. I think if the message had said "new BORN king" that'd there be no news here, but someone got bent out of shape about it... that's 2016 in 'Merica I suppose.

Somehow I think this arc should be over on the A&A board not this one:)

Not according to that second article. This appears to be a bit out of left-field* and surely you'd agree that the phrasing is -incredibly- clumsy. I rather assume that they didn't quite intend it to come across like that, but everyone's so drilled into the mindset of promoting one side or doing down the other that Priebus and his co-chair just couldn't quite resist pointing out the new change and grand win and all that - and in the process managed to make it sound like Trump Is Bigger Than Jesus.

Didn't go well for the Beatles either :P

*Or right-field, whatever.

ECO_Mental wrote: »

Jesus ****ing Christ :D:D:D
    I want to see that fecker start putting gold stuff around the white house. That'll be great altogether :D

"Jesus Trump" in huge, hideous letters tacked on to the front of the place. Paint tge fence gold, too.
    Someone in Huff Po's basically all white, bitchy female EQUALITY AND DIVERSITY DRIVEN board might just go into a rage induced cardiac arrest....

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,466 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

The GOP is in a very weak position at the moment
    Not only the GOP, but the entire political system in the US is much weaker now than it has been in previous decades - for decades, the GOP has repeatedly dropped its standards to appeal to the lowest common denominator while dismissing the machinery of government itself.

With the election of DT, it's achieved its, possibly unintended, aim: a rather excellent mirror of itself - the ascension to real power of unhinged narcissist who holds science, the citizens, politicians and institutions of his own country in contempt, with a complete absence of respect for national and international law and for the constitution of the country he will pretend to govern.

As before, one can only hope that DT and the GOP will not do what they have said or implied that they will do. And that the strength of US institutions will be sufficient to withstand the abuse to which they will shortly be subject.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,260 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Everybody concentrating on the Gop...What about the Democrats ?

If they can't get the Sanders crowd onside the next el e ction is a formality for Don.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,466 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

ebbsy wrote: »
    Everybody concentrating on the Gop...What about the Democrats?
    The Democrats have a real problem in that they've tried to maintain policy in the general vicinity of reality and have, so far at least, avoided descending to the same degree of filth to which the Republicans have.

Consequently, their electoral prospects are diminishing and it's hard to know how to recover them - in no particular order, the GOP won't push for reform of the electoral college; the GOP will continue to poach votes by continuing to gerrymander and restrict the rights of voters, by restricting the ease with which citizens can vote; and by pushing a seductive, dangerous (white) nativist + isolationist narrative. While the Democrats will attempt to poach voters by appealing to restraint, the law, the constitution and the better nature of the US' citizens - or at least, one hopes they will.

That's a hard sell in a country which has been radicalized.