Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭Fixture

Signpost wrote: »
    Copying a post I just made in rage from the Glas thread to here, be interested to know what payments the rest of the dairy lads are without and if anyone has any experience of how to get the blatant abuse of power of the department highlighted? Constant waving the European payments stick at us but we seem powerless to complain when they are clearly abusing their power of authority and not meeting the commitments they set.

Did you contact the IFA? If not, do. Ring your local chairman first and then HQ.
    Local TD?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Early Xmas present in post there, glands came back from inconclusive clear of TB so clear to sell now. Will have most extra stock gone before calving starts thank god.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Mooooo wrote: »
    Early Xmas present in post there, glands came back from inconclusive clear of TB so clear to sell now. Will have most extra stock gone before calving starts thank god.
    A nice Christmas present:)

I was talking to a neighbour who had 4 heifers and 9 cows taken last week. He had escaped the first round of it but some animals from an outfarm 5 miles away for 18 months went down. He can't figure out how that happened:(

A nice Christmas present:)

I was talking to a neighbour who had 4 heifers and 9 cows taken last week. He had escaped the first round of it but some animals from an outfarm 5 miles away for 18 months went down. He can't figure out how that happened:(

Hard to make sense of it at times. The inconclusive that the results came back from was an empty cow so not a massive loss so to speak. We had a doubtful in the first retest as well and send her off and she came back clear as well but 800 euro factory value for an in calf heifer worth over 1500 is bollix too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Mooooo wrote: »
    Hard to make sense of it at times. The inconclusive that the results came back from was an empty cow so not a massive loss so to speak. We had a doubtful in the first retest as well and send her off and she came back clear as well but 800 euro factory value for an in calf heifer worth over 1500 is bollix too

Was she not valued?

Three options with inconclusive, retest the animal after 60 days, kill and retest herd after 60 days or kill and get glands cultured. No compo only for for reactors. On the past we would retest but given the skin test odds figured culturing was way to go.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 607 ✭✭✭jack o shea

It's all a scam lads, there is no doubt about it.. clear test few weeks ago, I said that's grand now for a year, vet says probably have another one in 4 to 6 months, fully expect to "fail" the next one....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭blackdog1

I see curtains are having a open day on calf raising and crypto prevention..... Funny thing is they have crypto and can't get rid of it. That's according to a Teagasc researcher at a meeting a month ago. I hope they have the right foot bath...imagine all those farmers walking around there and picking it up...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

blackdog1 wrote: »
    I see curtains are having a open day on calf raising and crypto prevention..... Funny thing is they have crypto and can't get rid of it. That's according to a Teagasc researcher at a meeting a month ago. I hope they have the right foot bath...imagine all those farmers walking around there and picking it up...

When's that on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,447 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

When's that on?

There's 4 on around the Glanbia catchment area.
    Leftlet came in post today with Glanbia's quarterly newsletter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,704 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

blackdog1 wrote: »

That's a very good reason to give that particular event a miss .not worth the risk of bringing it. Back home

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

mahoney_j wrote: »
    That's a very good reason to give that particular event a miss .not worth the risk of bringing it. Back home
    I was at one last spring and they had the usual disinfection baths and they also had disposable plastic covers for your shoes as well.

The risk is minimal, I'd say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

I was at one last spring and they had the usual disinfection baths and they also had disposable plastic covers for your shoes as well.

The risk is minimal, I'd say.

Wash your clothes when you get home as well.

Since joining a group I've become more conscious of that, boots only used for walk and never used on farm here, generally throw on just washed clothes as well, more so I wouldn't bring anything from my place as much as anything else esp in spring time with calves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,447 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    Wash your clothes when you get home as well.

Was my yard that bad :P:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Was my yard that bad :P:P

You nearly gave me a heart attack.
    I'm laughing so hard.
    The father thinks I'm gone mad here laughing at the phone.
    :D:D

Nothing wrong with your yard.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,747 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Bit of a disaster here today. Went to give later calving heifers second shot of salmonella vaccine. Went to read label to see what length of time there's to be between shots. It's the wrong vaccine. It's bovipast not bovivac. I ordered salmonella vaccine and assumed that's what I was given. Sales rep put his hands up and said it's his error. All cows etc are not covered for salmonella now and vaccine wont be available until march. Have been dealing with this fella for over 30 years. Cost me over 1300 euro. Fook it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Has anyone on here ever fed kefir to calves? Thinking of feeding it this spring.

I imagine it would work as well as any live yoghurt strain but I'm not sure that a Kefir culture would add anything over and above the bacteria already in the raw milk - particularly if you start your milk with a fresh cow or two?

How are you thinking of keeping the mix going?

We have a commercial pasteuriser here which we are about to install and there it's possible to set a combination of temperature and PH to govern the heat / agitation cycle. Thinking of keeping a consistent batch going during calving and then drawing off each day but also haven't decided what starter to use... IMO you'd want as little starter culture as possible or as natural as possible so as to not crowd out the bacteria in the milk. A pot of live unadulterated organic yoghurt would work.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 607 ✭✭✭jack o shea

Whelan, will the rep not foot the Bill? On another note,Do bulls need to be done for salmonella?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭blackdog1

Just out of interest how much is a commercial pasteuriser? Using a 14 litre one here and finding it great for calf health

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,282 ✭✭✭alps

whelan2 wrote: »
    Bit of a disaster here today. Went to give later calving heifers second shot of salmonella vaccine. Went to read label to see what length of time there's to be between shots. It's the wrong vaccine. It's bovipast not bovivac. I ordered salmonella vaccine and assumed that's what I was given. Sales rep put his hands up and said it's his error. All cows etc are not covered for salmonella now and vaccine wont be available until march. Have been dealing with this fella for over 30 years. Cost me over 1300 euro. Fook it

Fook it is right...that's a nasty predicament to be in....he should go all out to find you replacement product....would board ops be good enough to find out if bovivac is available in any part of the country? Unfortunately my vet has just told me it's a Europe wide shortage...but you never know..

Back again....was this guru trying to pull one over on you...my vet says it's gone since no member.

Whelan, will the rep not foot the Bill? On another note,Do bulls need to be done for salmonella?
    I have 5 bottles left here in fridge. I am not paying it . Luckilly I realised, pity I didnt realise a few months ago

alps wrote: »
    Fook it is right...that's a nasty predicament to be in....he should go all out to find you replacement product....would board ops be good enough to find out if bovivac is available in any part of the country? Unfortunately my vet has just told me it's a Europe wide shortage...but you never know..

Back again....was this guru trying to pull one over on you...my vet says it's gone since no member.
    I got this on 23rd september

whelan2 wrote: »

It's very late to be vaccinating for salmonella now .i always did heifers early sept and booster early October and cows also .on vets recommendation I now go early August and September .if salmonella is going to hit its most likely from october on .tgat was a costly and poor mistake on vets behalf .i heard something about a shortage of salmonella vaccine due to a bad batch which involved a recall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,092 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

kowtow wrote: »
    I imagine it would work as well as any live yoghurt strain but I'm not sure that a Kefir culture would add anything over and above the bacteria already in the raw milk - particularly if you start your milk with a fresh cow or two?

How are you thinking of keeping the mix going?

We have a commercial pasteuriser here which we are about to install and there it's possible to set a combination of temperature and PH to govern the heat / agitation cycle. Thinking of keeping a consistent batch going during calving and then drawing off each day but also haven't decided what starter to use... IMO you'd want as little starter culture as possible or as natural as possible so as to not crowd out the bacteria in the milk. A pot of live unadulterated organic yoghurt would work.

Supposedly the bacteria in kefir can colonise the gut but yoghurt bacteria only just have a positive effect as they're passing through, so might be a positive over normal yoghurt milk. I've never really seen much difference in yoghurt vs milk.

Will be using milk replacer as no cows here, not ideal but I presume it would still work.

It's very late to be vaccinating for salmonella now .i always did heifers early sept and booster early October and cows also .on vets recommendation I now go early August and September .if salmonella is going to hit its most likely from october on .tgat was a costly and poor mistake on vets behalf .i heard something about a shortage of salmonella vaccine due to a bad batch which involved a recall
    It wasnt vets. I wont name the company on here. I had all the cows and early calving heifers done since the end of september. Was just doing the late calviing heifers now- I know its late but I had other issues here up until now.

What way do those of ye split calving normally calender yer vaccinations. Do ye do autumn spring separate or all the same time?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,046 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Ring around all vets. Some might have a bit in stock.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

Not necessarily, if its abortions as a result of salmonella you are trying to control then September is the time to go but if its salmonella scour in calves is the problem then you would be going a few weeks before calving begins so most likely early January.

Wildsurfer wrote: »
    Not necessarily, if its abortions as a result of salmonella you are trying to control then September is the time to go but if its salmonella scour in calves is the problem then you would be going a few weeks before calving begins so most likely early January.

Seen salmonella in calves once ,horrible horrible disease .theory behind early vaccination is to stop cow aborting ,vet says even that even going that early there should be enough protection for calf .salmonella in calves is most common in herds with no vaccination plan in place and also with antibodies in herd .could be ok for years then hit with abortions and scour in calves