Glen Hansard and his crocodile tears

• 21-12-2016 10:29PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭

Embarrassing watching this guy, a multi millionaire crying on tv about homeless people when he could house those 40 people he cares so much about with the stroke of a pen. I wonder if he loses sleep about the issue from his high walled mansion. Or does he want people who actually pay tax in this country on the money they have earned to house them. A minimum wage worker probably has paid more towards social issues and services in this country than this guy and hes on tv crying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 337 ✭✭Oodoov

Who?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,796 ✭✭✭KungPao

Oodoov wrote: »
    Who?
    Outspan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,100 ✭✭✭✭briany

Who?

Some guy who was in a film once.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,390 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I somehow doubt he's a multimillionaire TBH. Well off enough, but not in the U2 stakes or anything like it. Though, yes I do get a pain in my unmentionables when the preaching starts from screen or stage.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,377 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Shocking that you'd have to listen to someone bring attention to a national disgrace. Poor you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,730 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

dor843088 wrote: »
    Embarrassing watching this guy, a multi millionaire crying on tv about homeless people when he could house those 40 people he cares so much about with the stroke of a pen. I wonder if he loses sleep about the issue from his high walled mansion. Or does he want people who actually pay tax in this country on the money they have earned to house them. A minimum wage worker probably has paid more towards social issues and services in this country than this guy and hes on tv crying.

So anyone who has become successful cannot agitate for better conditions unless they meet your criteria?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Terrible people using their fame to highlight the plight of the less fortunate...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,460 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

Glen Hansard is Ireland's greatest ever musician and he can do whatever the hell he likes for all I care.

That's all I have to add to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,074 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Did you read that link beyond the headline?

Like say, the bit about how he owns a football team called the Dublin Angels? Or that he has his own fashion line called Glen Hansard seduction?

or even this bit: UPDATE 21/12/2016 : This story seems to be false. (read more)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 820 ✭✭✭Breaston Plants

osarusan wrote: »

Yes, removed post. But the man is still a multi millionaire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,218 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Not sure I would pick on Glen.

I'm fairly sure he lives here (and is he resident here ?)
    Has fairly solid working class credentials
    Is a down to earth guy - who keeps his profile low
    Is fairly sound by all accounts
    Is a bloody talented musician - and hard worker at his craft.
    And was part responsible for one of the best low budget - global successes out of here (Once) - in fact, he was in commitments too.

I hope what they are doing is symbolic - and if it is - it worked.

If it wasn't symbolic - they made a bollix of it. It was more symbolliix

Will be interesting if they stay there over Christmas.

I think behind it all - they are so grateful Peter McVeigh has saved them with a bit of sense.

But it is better than doing nothing - it is better than starting a thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭Nabber

If he made is money legally, pays his taxes and abides by the laws of the land, why hasn't he got the right to expect that it's a social problem.

It's not his duty to house all homeless, I bet OP you could forego holidays, night outs and any luxury items, use the saved monies to and get a homeless person into a hostel.

Should we be out raged that you don't?

Knock the SJW crap on the head. We live in a capitalist country, we put no limits on how rich people can become. If you think the rich or super rich should pay for all of societies failings you are deluded.

What you want is socialism. Communism is better than socialism.

Next you'll want people to get preference in the private sector base on their social standing rather than their ability!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Bubbaclaus wrote: »
    Glen Hansard is Ireland's greatest ever musician and he can do whatever the hell he likes for all I care.

*cough*

Ahem, Richie Kavanagh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭dor843088

My point is if he cared he would solve the issue with one swipe and not be on tv "crying" about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,218 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Wibbs wrote: »
    I somehow doubt he's a multimillionaire TBH. Well off enough, but not in the U2 stakes or anything like it. Though, yes I do get a pain in my unmentionables when the preaching starts from screen or stage.

I'd say his royalties from "Once" the musical - might surprise a few.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 820 ✭✭✭Breaston Plants

osarusan wrote: »

Like say, the bit about how he owns a football team called the Dublin Angels? Or that he has his own fashion line called Glen Hansard seduction?

or even this bit: UPDATE 21/12/2016 : This story seems to be false. (read more)

http://m.independent.ie/business/irish/busker-turned-oscarwinner-hansard-tunes-up-profits-of-14m-31310244.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Prefer Jimmy Nail's crocodile shoes meself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

I wonder if they all availed of the artists tax exemption these days, first €50,000 tax free at the moment. Might have covered the cost of a bed or two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,074 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Grand yeah, I made no comment on his wealth, just that the original website was obvious nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭dor843088

Nabber wrote: »
    If he made is money legally, pays his taxes and abides by the laws of the land, why hasn't he got the right to expect that it's a social problem.

It's not his duty to house all homeless, I bet OP you could forego holidays, night outs and any luxury items, use the saved monies to and get a homeless person into a hostel.

Should we be out raged that you don't?

Knock the SJW crap on the head. We live in a capitalist country, we put no limits on how rich people can become. If you think the rich or super rich should pay for all of societies failings you are deluded.

What you want is socialism. Communism is better than socialism.

Next you'll want people to get preference in the private sector base on their social standing rather than their ability!

You took me up wrong mate I dont want the rich to pay for any social problems I just dont want to them on tv crying trying to get everyone else to pay for them while they hoard their millions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,730 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

My point is if he cared he would solve the issue with one swipe and not be on tv "crying" about it.

No, your point is you begrudge Hansard for becoming successful and agitating for a cause that you probably dispise

• Closed Accounts Posts: 337 ✭✭Oodoov

Irish people begrudging someone doing well, that's a first.

Didn't you do the typical begrudger comment of "who?" in one of the very first replies to the thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Jayop wrote: »
    Shocking that you'd have to listen to someone bring attention to a national disgrace. Poor you.
    Only for Glen I wouldn't have had a clue about the homeless crisis as it hasn't been a media hot topic and on every screen and page for the guts of three years.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,311 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Bubbaclaus wrote: »

Ah now, what about Rory?

mzungu wrote: »
    Ah now, what about Rory?

I should've clarified by saying living musician.

Rory is king.

You took me up wrong mate I dont want the rich to pay for any social problems I just dont want to them on tv crying trying to get everyone else to pay for them while they hoard their millions.

But how do you know they hoard their millions.

I'd say Glen is fairly charitable.

They spend years in poverty chasing a dream and their art. If any of them become successful - fair play to them.

Using music for a cause has been part of political movements for, I don't know - ever.

It isn't about money - it is about the point.

Yes it is miss guided and doesn't work at times. But it definitely highlights the issue.

Only for Glen I wouldn't have had a clue about the homeless crisis as it hasn't been a media hot topic and on every screen and page for the guts of three years.

Has he or has he not been involved in an action that has greatly raised awareness and support and in turn will force the government into action.

I'm sure you would be aware of the homeless as you step over them. That's not the same as trying to actually do something about it. Hansard isn't screaming 'give me your ****ing money' he's trying to get the government to uphold their responsibilities and quite possibly they could have shamed them into doing that.

Horrible for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭Chris.

Except of course and this a good one, it is not up to Glen Hansard to house 40 homeless people (even if he is one of many actually housing these 40 homeless people over the Christmas at least) it's up to the mighty government of ours. You know, the people we elect to run our affairs and make sure s**t like homelessness doesn't happen.

By your logic anyone who makes a success of themselves through their own hard work and enjoys very good finances as a result, should not dare speak of the wrongs in this country. Who are they to speak with all the money they have tut tut.

They're doing a whole lot more right now than you or I that's for sure. If there is anything embarrassing its your post and the way you and many like you think.

But how do you know they hoard their millions.

I'd say Glen is fairly charitable.

They spend years in poverty chasing a dream and their art. If any of them become successful - fair play to them.

Using music for a cause has been part of political movements for, I don't know - ever.

It isn't about money - it is about the point.

Yes it is miss guided and doesn't work at times. But it definitely highlights the issue.

Bob Dylan the bastard singing about war while he sat in sunny San Francisco. How dare he.