Would you like to go to space?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,909 ✭✭✭blue note

Ted111 wrote: »
    There's no such thing as space.
    It was faked by Stanley Kubrick who shot it in a warehouse.

I heard that he did indeed fake the moon landing, but was such a perfectionist had to film on location so went to the moon to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭Estrellita

I wouldn't be the best down here with open spaces, I'm fairly sure I'd have a coronary if I was sent up there. So that would be a no Ted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,416 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Wibbs wrote: »
    I'd love to do a "short" jaunt to the moon say, but not much beyond that with today's tech. Space is badly named when it comes to human experience of it, "Cramped" would be a better title. With the subtitle of "constantly deadly". Going to Mars in a craft the size of the international spec station wouldn't be too bad, but we're a while off sending something that roomy. Imagine spending six months with other people in something not much roomier than a minivan.

Exactly and not been able to go outside unless you had a spacesuit on which would feel even more cramped and you would have to stay near the ship.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,956 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Yes, without a shadow of a doubt. It would be the ultimate trip!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,311 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Imagine spending six months with other people in something not much roomier than a minivan.

Sounds like the average student apartment!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Would be interesting for a week or two on the space station. Check out the dried food suppliments, rehydrating pot noodles in space! Being tied down in a hammock at night, so that you don't fly off and hit the ceiling. Gravity boots & swish><swish Star Trek type doors. Looking down at earth with binoculars while & going to the loo without any gravity... might loose a little weight and get a bit taller too?

Exciting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Are ye mad? I dont even like going as far as the shops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,607 ✭✭✭stoneill

You can be an Astronaut without ever going into space.
    However you only become a Cosmonaut after you compete your first space flight.
    So there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭Didas

On the one hand I'd love to see it, on the other I don't even like 1hr flights to London, so I'd probably hyperventilate and die before the rocket left the atmosphere :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭learn_more

looksee wrote: »
    I am failing to see where AMEK said anything about roads or how many dimensions spaceships travelled in?

I'm sorry but I opened that bottle of Bushmills a week too early. My apologies :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

AMKC wrote: »
    Exactly and not been able to go outside unless you had a spacesuit on which would feel even more cramped and you would have to stay near the ship.

Space suits are essentially small human-shaped spacecraft.

Not a lot of people know that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Would I get a laser gun if I went into space ?

PEW PEW PEWWWWWWW....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Give me a cynanide tablet for insurance and yes I would like to become part of the NASA space programme.

What's the story with vaping up there though? Can you bring the Vape with you??

If not would you be allowed to light up a Pall Mall Red in space?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Give me a cynanide tablet for insurance and yes I would like to become part of the NASA space programme.
    Hardly a need for a poison pill to be fair. I always thought the notion some have that astronauts for example on the moon shots had cyanide pills in case something went wrong a bit mad like. Not when space itself is seconds away from death, all the time. Just open a air valve or the door of the spacecraft and game over. In hard vacuum you're going to black out within a few seconds and dead within minutes*. A slow release of air leading to hypoxia would be far more "comfortable" than cyanide too.

*though unlike in films you could survive brief exposure to hard vacuum. A couple of people have in the early days of testing pressure suits here on Earth. Though oddly if you had to jump from one spaceship to another(and could manage it in under ten seconds) the trick is to hyperventilate first then expel all the air from your lungs, not hold your breath.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,591 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

U-2 spy plane no farther

The programme where James May went up in one was brilliant television, I agree with you, I'd see all I needed to see from a U2

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭Heckler

The programme where James May went up in one was brilliant television, I agree with you, I'd see all I needed to see from a U2

That was some show. Would do it in a heartbeat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭Heckler

Hardly a need for a poison pill to be fair. I always thought the notion some have that astronauts for example on the moon shots had cyanide pills in case something went wrong a bit mad like. Not when space itself is seconds away from death, all the time. Just open a air valve or the door of the spacecraft and game over. In hard vacuum you're going to black out within a few seconds and dead within minutes*. A slow release of air leading to hypoxia would be far more "comfortable" than cyanide too.

*though unlike in films you could survive brief exposure to hard vacuum. A couple of people have in the early days of testing pressure suits here on Earth. Though oddly if you had to jump from one spaceship to another(and could manage it in under ten seconds) the trick is to hyperventilate first then expel all the air from your lungs, not hold your breath.

I think there was a scene like that in maybe Sunshine although I might have the wrong film. Fella went unsuited from one ship to another.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Heckler wrote: »
    I think there was a scene like that in maybe Sunshine although I might have the wrong film. Fella went unsuited from one ship to another.
    Yeah another one was in 2001 a space odyssey. I would not like to try it for real. You'd be fairly fecked up afterwards.

I would live a run to the Moon alright. Not so much Mars. Mars has a romantic pull on humanity, but it is just as deadly as the Moon, but much much further away.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

mzungu wrote: »
    Space would be a decent bit of craic.

Na. Last time I was there, there was absolutely no atmosphere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Never again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

I know a few people I'd like to shoot into space

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,311 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Na. Last time I was there, there was absolutely no atmosphere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Ya you're right Wibbs. I always thought they were given suicide pills for some reason. I must have seen it in a movie or something.

Like you say it's very easy to die in space, there's no need to suffer a terrible death like cynanide poisoning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Skommando

There's plenty space cadets here already, I don't need to go to space to see more of them

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,592 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

I'd love to do a "short" jaunt to the moon say, but not much beyond that with today's tech. Space is badly named when it comes to human experience of it, "Cramped" would be a better title. With the subtitle of "constantly deadly". Going to Mars in a craft the size of the international spec station wouldn't be too bad, but we're a while off sending something that roomy. Imagine spending six months with other people in something not much roomier than a minivan.
    Columbus' biggest ship was about 19m long and had a crew of 40.

WWII Submarines had a similar crew in even more cramped quarters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Honestly, if I was given the chance I wouldn't say no. I know it would be tough and probably a batsh1t crazy but I'd be even more nuts not to take a chance like that.

Of course the chances of me passing any physical necessary is pretty much nil.

And there's alwats the risk of SPACE DEMENTIA!