Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you like to go to space?

• 16-12-2016 12:31am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,840 ✭✭✭✭
    Ms

If yes then ring Nasa or even the Russians should find there number online somewhere am sure they will send you but ok joke aside lol.

I love watching sci-fi shows and would love to see this beautiful blue ball we call Earth from space but not sure Id like what space would do to my muscles and all the other effects. If only we had artificial gravity on the ISS and spaceships then Id be much more willing to go.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

In space nobody can hear you scream.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Space would be a decent bit of craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭Ted111

There's no such thing as space.
    It was faked by Stanley Kubrick who shot it in a warehouse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

I'm already in space. It's not as empty as you'd think.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Becoming an astronaut is my dream job when I grow up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Zaph wrote: »
    Becoming an astronaut is my dream job when I grow up.

Don't go to college so and quit school asap.
    My parents always said, with a good education the sky's the limit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭learn_more

In space nobody can hear you scream.

It is very cold, in space.

AMKC wrote: »
    I love watching sci-fi shows and would love to see this beautiful blue ball we call Earth from space but not sure Id like what space would do to my muscles and all the other effects. If only we had artificial gravity on the ISS and spaceships then Id be much more willing to go.

Sorry to spoil your sci-fi but almost every space movie sees craft travelling on a 2 dimensional plane, like roads. Whereas space is 3d.

There are no roads in space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Beanntraigheach

I was there on holidays last year.
    It's massively overrated TBH, the zero-gravity becomes tiresome very quickly. I wouldn't bother going back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

I'd like a quick visit but long term space ****s your body up so unless we sort those problems out I'll stay where I am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Ah no, like. Shure why whouldya wanta leeve Cork City? Nod only is it d'reel capital, 'tis de centre of da universe too, bai!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,084 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

In space nobody can hear you cream.

FYP

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Felix Jones is God

Take a trip to the Dáil, plenty of spacers there...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I'd love to do a "short" jaunt to the moon say, but not much beyond that with today's tech. Space is badly named when it comes to human experience of it, "Cramped" would be a better title. With the subtitle of "constantly deadly". Going to Mars in a craft the size of the international spec station wouldn't be too bad, but we're a while off sending something that roomy. Imagine spending six months with other people in something not much roomier than a minivan.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

A day trip or maybe a few days would be great, but I doubt if it's the kind of place you'd want to hang around for long. I'd jump at the chance to experience it though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Would absolutely terrify me, but really want to go into space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭Taylor365

learn_more wrote: »
    It is very cold, in space.
    Or very hot..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

There is peace and quiet up there right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

U-2 spy plane no farther

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,879 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

I'd love to go but as technology currently stands in regards to launches/re entry's, I'd be nowhere in the world fit enough to do it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

To go boldly, or to boldly go; that is the question.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭evil_seed

Aren't we technically already in space?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

It think it's safe enough to assume he meant outer space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Sorry to spoil your sci-fi but almost every space movie sees craft travelling on a 2 dimensional plane, like roads. Whereas space is 3d.

They travel in all 3 dimensions, sometimes even the 4th!!
    Just just show it on a tv as traveling left to right, because any other way would just be weird.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

The planets are planar though, so in a solar system 2d is fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,095 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Originally Posted by AMKC View Post

I am failing to see where AMEK said anything about roads or how many dimensions spaceships travelled in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 973 ✭✭✭eurokev

I don't know about being an astronaut but I'd love to be a spaceship driver

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

What's the pizza situation in space, any decent places to get a slice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    What's the pizza situation in space, any decent places to get a slice?
    Due to the partial pressure of the vacuum acting on the bubbles of CO2 in the bread dough the pizzas tend to be more deep pan than thin crust thus only earning a 2 star review from me.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

OldGoat wrote: »
    Due to the partial pressure of the vacuum acting on the bubbles of CO2 in the bread dough the pizzas tend to be more deep pan than thin crust thus only earning a 2 star review from me.
    That's tough man, what about stuffed crusts, do they over compensate with sauce for the dough situation.

I'm already turning off space here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,622 ✭✭✭blue note

Ted111 wrote: »
    There's no such thing as space.
    It was faked by Stanley Kubrick who shot it in a warehouse.

I heard that he did indeed fake the moon landing, but was such a perfectionist had to film on location so went to the moon to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭Estrellita

I wouldn't be the best down here with open spaces, I'm fairly sure I'd have a coronary if I was sent up there. So that would be a no Ted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,840 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Wibbs wrote: »
    I'd love to do a "short" jaunt to the moon say, but not much beyond that with today's tech. Space is badly named when it comes to human experience of it, "Cramped" would be a better title. With the subtitle of "constantly deadly". Going to Mars in a craft the size of the international spec station wouldn't be too bad, but we're a while off sending something that roomy. Imagine spending six months with other people in something not much roomier than a minivan.

Exactly and not been able to go outside unless you had a spacesuit on which would feel even more cramped and you would have to stay near the ship.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,102 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Yes, without a shadow of a doubt. It would be the ultimate trip!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Imagine spending six months with other people in something not much roomier than a minivan.

Sounds like the average student apartment!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Would be interesting for a week or two on the space station. Check out the dried food suppliments, rehydrating pot noodles in space! Being tied down in a hammock at night, so that you don't fly off and hit the ceiling. Gravity boots & swish><swish Star Trek type doors. Looking down at earth with binoculars while & going to the loo without any gravity... might loose a little weight and get a bit taller too?

Exciting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Are ye mad? I dont even like going as far as the shops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

You can be an Astronaut without ever going into space.
    However you only become a Cosmonaut after you compete your first space flight.
    So there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭Didas

On the one hand I'd love to see it, on the other I don't even like 1hr flights to London, so I'd probably hyperventilate and die before the rocket left the atmosphere :D

looksee wrote: »
    I am failing to see where AMEK said anything about roads or how many dimensions spaceships travelled in?

I'm sorry but I opened that bottle of Bushmills a week too early. My apologies :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

AMKC wrote: »
    Exactly and not been able to go outside unless you had a spacesuit on which would feel even more cramped and you would have to stay near the ship.

Space suits are essentially small human-shaped spacecraft.

Not a lot of people know that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Would I get a laser gun if I went into space ?

PEW PEW PEWWWWWWW....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Give me a cynanide tablet for insurance and yes I would like to become part of the NASA space programme.

What's the story with vaping up there though? Can you bring the Vape with you??

If not would you be allowed to light up a Pall Mall Red in space?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Give me a cynanide tablet for insurance and yes I would like to become part of the NASA space programme.
    Hardly a need for a poison pill to be fair. I always thought the notion some have that astronauts for example on the moon shots had cyanide pills in case something went wrong a bit mad like. Not when space itself is seconds away from death, all the time. Just open a air valve or the door of the spacecraft and game over. In hard vacuum you're going to black out within a few seconds and dead within minutes*. A slow release of air leading to hypoxia would be far more "comfortable" than cyanide too.

*though unlike in films you could survive brief exposure to hard vacuum. A couple of people have in the early days of testing pressure suits here on Earth. Though oddly if you had to jump from one spaceship to another(and could manage it in under ten seconds) the trick is to hyperventilate first then expel all the air from your lungs, not hold your breath.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

U-2 spy plane no farther

The programme where James May went up in one was brilliant television, I agree with you, I'd see all I needed to see from a U2

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,353 ✭✭✭Heckler

The programme where James May went up in one was brilliant television, I agree with you, I'd see all I needed to see from a U2

That was some show. Would do it in a heartbeat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,353 ✭✭✭Heckler

Hardly a need for a poison pill to be fair. I always thought the notion some have that astronauts for example on the moon shots had cyanide pills in case something went wrong a bit mad like. Not when space itself is seconds away from death, all the time. Just open a air valve or the door of the spacecraft and game over. In hard vacuum you're going to black out within a few seconds and dead within minutes*. A slow release of air leading to hypoxia would be far more "comfortable" than cyanide too.

*though unlike in films you could survive brief exposure to hard vacuum. A couple of people have in the early days of testing pressure suits here on Earth. Though oddly if you had to jump from one spaceship to another(and could manage it in under ten seconds) the trick is to hyperventilate first then expel all the air from your lungs, not hold your breath.

I think there was a scene like that in maybe Sunshine although I might have the wrong film. Fella went unsuited from one ship to another.

Heckler wrote: »
    I think there was a scene like that in maybe Sunshine although I might have the wrong film. Fella went unsuited from one ship to another.
    Yeah another one was in 2001 a space odyssey. I would not like to try it for real. You'd be fairly fecked up afterwards.

I would live a run to the Moon alright. Not so much Mars. Mars has a romantic pull on humanity, but it is just as deadly as the Moon, but much much further away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

mzungu wrote: »
    Space would be a decent bit of craic.

Na. Last time I was there, there was absolutely no atmosphere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,731 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Never again.