Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Occupy Nama: City property taken over to house homeless

• Closed Accounts Posts: 337 ✭✭Oodoov

They already have.

So you really shouldn't comment if you don't know someone's personal situation.

I would also NOT equate my relative's struggle with schizo-affective disorder with some filthy junkie on the street.

You HAVE to realise that some people are homeless because they are a substance abuser - not every junkie is a poor addict that can be helped by therapy. Some are just wasters.

SOME being the important word here, imo of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Oodoov wrote: »
    Did i state otherwise? In fact if you read my previous posts you'd know i lay the blame squarely at the feet of the electorate who keep these fools in power. Like i said you reap what you sow.

Who's reaping what?

Maybe the majority of people who voted in the government are happy with the job they are doing and it's a minority who are up in arms because they can't get that free house they so badly want.

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    i disagree with this electorate blaming, i do stand by the uninformed, irrational statement made earlier.

One's vote is a vital resource in fighting for equality and justice for all our citizens. FF the political organisation that brought the country to ruin will most likely be voted back in at the next election as if like nothing ever happened. Nobody can defend that being anything but utter insanity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,955 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Who's reaping what?

Maybe the majority of people who voted in the government are happy with the job they are doing and it's a minority who are up in arms because they can't get that free house they so badly want.

what are the latest opinions poles on the government?

Who's reaping what?

Any links to the free houses?

Also the majority are happy im not disputing that.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

Pick an office building....

Sorry 40 euro a month or whatever small amount you are supposed to pay and if you don't pay you won't get evicted ever.

Also the majority are happy im not disputing that.

Well why are you saying these fools keep voting them in and you reap what you sow?

Surely you don't vote for a party you're not happy with so who is reaping what they sow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

I will agree with you to a point but we're playing an extremely dangerous game which will end badly for us all. Our economic systems are fundamentally flawed, they truly are, many of our politicians know this but are refusing to accept it, we 're in big trouble

All well and good saying they are flawed, what is the alternative/ solution.?

Sorry 40 euro a month or whatever small amount you are supposed to pay and if you don't pay you won't get evicted ever.

Don't think anyone is paying as little as that. As far as im aware rent is linked to ones income and there are no free houses on offer.

What if you're getting rent allowance and you are claiming social welfare?

You are getting a free house simple as.

Mooooo wrote: »
    All well and good saying they are flawed, what is the alternative/ solution.?

mentioned such things but i do realise these things are baffling some of the finest minds on the planet. im just glad people are mobilizing and brainstorming as we speak. some very interesting ideas are coming out such as public banking, cooperative building, alternative ideas in how to deal with corporation tax etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 MidnightMurphy

Fantastic news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 MidnightMurphy

Fantastic news.

Well why are you saying these fools keep voting them in and you reap what you sow?

Surely you don't vote for a party you're not happy with so who is reaping what they sow?

FF/FG fail to meet the very obvious demand for social and affordable housing for the state.

This is turn drives house and apartment prices up throughout the state to unaffordable levels putting upward pressure on wages for employers making economy uncompetitive.

The same fools who ring in Joe Duffy complaining about rent prices, house prices etc.. are the ones who voted in that very same government for the last upteen years. Reap what you sow. Many can't make the connection but that's understandable.

FF/FG fail to meet the very obvious demand for social and affordable housing for the state.

This is turn drives house and apartment prices up throughout the state.

The same fools who ring in Joe Duffy complaining about rent prices, house prices etc.. are the ones who voted in that very same government for the last upteen years. Reap what you sow. Many can't make the connection but that's understandable.

How do you know these people complaining voted for ff and fg?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,940 ✭✭✭20Cent

Bono incoming in 3...2....

He probably has shares in the hedge and vulture funds buying up the nama properties and big discounts.

What if you're getting rent allowance and you are claiming social welfare?

You are getting a free house simple as.

I'm unsure about rent allowance tbh but don't you have to pay a percentage of that yourself? Still doesnt make the house free ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

Graham wrote: »
    Apparently so.

In that case, I volunteer the SIPTU building.
    I volunteer the Dail. It's empty until mid January.

How do you know these people complaining voted for ff and fg?

A lot will have it's common sense if you do the math as a percentage of the electorate. Turkey's voting for Xmas.

You hear it all the time. Health service moan moan moan, housing moan moan moan etc.. and all the time a percentage of them will have voted for FG/FF political organisations who have us in a situation paying a unsustainable banking debt (not to mention the interest) money which could be going towards fixing that health service or housing crisis.

Tbh Paul Murphy, SF or any of the others arent the answer either. I think the country is in complete denial and we need a Trump type situation to shake it up. Micheal O' Leary or some such character maybe?? The unions also are a huge part of the problem (look at the laughable way they made FG turn over on the Garda deal), the nurses will be next, then the teachers and on and on it goes, we literally never learn. I heard a member of the Cowen family was back calling shots on the rent deal yesterday on behalf of FF lol. Need i say more.

We are a foolish electorate easily lead and fed BS by our bought and paid for media organisations and government PR spin doctors.

A lot will have it's common sense if you do the math as a percentage of the electorate. Turkey's voting for Xmas.

You hear it all the time. Health service moan moan moan, housing moan moan moan etc.. and all the time a percentage of them will have voted for FG/FF political organisations who have us in a situation paying a unsustainable banking debt (not to mention the interest) money which could be going towards fixing that health service or housing crisis.

Tbh Paul Murphy, SF or any of the others arent the answer either. I think the country is in complete denial and we need a Trump type situation to shake it up. Micheal O' Leary or some such character maybe?? The unions also are a huge part of the problem (look at the laughable way they made FG turn over on the Garda deal), the nurses will be next, then the teachers and on and on it goes.

We are a foolish electorate easily lead and fed BS by our bought and paid for media organisations and government PR spin doctors.

oh dear god no!!!!! really no! be aware, trump is a salesman, i.e. a con man! we are looking at the failure of free market economic theory in which people like michael o'leary are consequences of. i have respect for people like o'leary though, we can learn a lot from them, i.e. their approaches to running efficient systems etc, but we need to ditch their attitude towards customer care, i.e. customer care is seen as a 'cost' in the free market system. public systems and services need to be designed so the 'customer' is the priority, not the profit margins.

It's not even a nama building lads!

The boss of Peter mcferry is on 96,000 a year!

It's starting to make sense now why these charities are doing nothing to ease the situation.

oh dear god no!!!!! really no! be aware, trump is a salesman, i.e. a con man! we are looking at the failure of free market economic theory in which people like michael o'leary are consequences of. i have respect for people like o'leary though, we can learn a lot from them, i.e. their approaches to running efficient systems etc, but we need to ditch their attitude towards customer care, i.e. customer care is seen as a 'cost' in the free market system. public systems and services need to be designed so the 'customer' is the priority, not the profit margins.

Hate to break it to you but the current "customer first" model is broken. The reasons are high wages in the sector and inefficiencies.

Insanity: "Doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results". Albert Einstein.

The boss of Peter mcferry is on 96,000 a year!

It's starting to make sense now why these charities are doing nothing to ease the situation.

That's a bit on the low side by charity standards im afraid. He and others have rode out the charity pay storm that engulfed the media last year fairly well. Carry on as before lads, the Irish way ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭take everything

Whoever is doing it its a brilliant initiative and high time. The homeless situation in this country is utterly scandalous. I attend a postgrad in Waterford 2 days a week and there is homeless people sleeping rough in seemingly every second doorway.

It simply cant continue that property prices are ballooning out of control on one hand and on the other people are at risk of freezing to death on our streets.

Shur didn't Enda say he'd sort it out last year when it came to the Dail doorstep (literally). They lit candles and everything.

Hate to break it to you but the current "customer first" model is broken. The reasons are high wages in the sector and inefficiencies.

Insanity: "Doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results". Albert Einstein.

i both agree and disagree. public services should be about the needs of the public, some times they are and sometimes they are not, in reality. i suspect this is due to the introduction of neoliberalism, which is undermining our social systems, purely for profiteering. ryanair's economic model is based on profiteering, period, customer services is seen as a cost. they are giving you the impression they are looking after your needs but since this is seen as a cost, and costs are the work of the devil, customer service is in decline. it's almost orwellian in nature. wages arent high, debt and the cost of living is too high, and growing! our public systems certainly are very inefficient and this must be tackled

im not advocating for the same, quite the opposite in fact, something new and different

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

im not advocating for the same, quite the opposite in fact, something new and different

let me guess
    Apparently it goes something like this:

"the answer is a return to systems based on classical economics, now what's the question"

let me guess

one such idea but theres tons of others out there as ive mentioned previously

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭KyussBeeshop

Fair play to them - the value in what they are doing, is at least as much in raising political awareness, in order to create pressure for a proper solution, as it is in actually housing the homeless.

These graphs show one part (out of many) of the problem - government construction of housing has collapsed, with no signs of this changing:
    http://img2.thejournal.ie/inline/2748227/original/?width=630&version=2748227
    http://img2.thejournal.ie/inline/2748276/original/?width=630&version=2748276

Build fúcking houses. Now. Government has ample ability to fund this, given the lowest interest rates on government bonds in modern history. We can easily fund a blitz of housing construction.

Until you see government actually directly build more houses, and do that as the primary solution, then you know they are just dallying, in order to prolong the housing/rental crisis.