Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Occupy Nama: City property taken over to house homeless

wally79 wrote: »
    There may be a thread already but I couldn't find it.

About 100 “concerned citizens”, including high-profile personalities, have gathered in Dublin on Thursday night to take over Apollo House, a Nama property, in order to accommodate the homeless

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/occupy-nama-city-property-taken-over-to-house-homeless-1.2907854

Whoever is doing it its a brilliant initiative and high time. The homeless situation in this country is utterly scandalous. I attend a postgrad in Waterford 2 days a week and there is homeless people sleeping rough in seemingly every second doorway.

It simply cant continue that property prices are ballooning out of control on one hand and on the other people are at risk of freezing to death on our streets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

There's enough high net worth amongst those tax free individuals to buy the property but no, they want to take it and charge it to those working & paying as much as 40% tax, and give it to those who don't work & won't use the services provided . Figures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,944 ✭✭✭wally79

Does anyone know what kind of building it is? Is it suitable to live in I wonder or is it an office building

Also what happens when the celebs and union lads have gotten their headlines and the kumbaya spirit wears off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,258 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

Does anyone know what kind of building it is? Is it suitable to live in I wonder or is it an office building

Former office block that was horrid inside by all account. Ironically the Dept of Social Protection had an local office here that serviced homeless people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Reads like a who's who of insufferable gobsh1tes.

They can't even get pisssed while they're there what with Christy Moore and his issues with the old alkeyhol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,074 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

John Connors and [...] Brendan Ogle.

Lots of copper in there - pull my wire.

'News story' happens to happen right across the street from the Irish Times office - what are the odds of that? The mock turtle is still barred from Mulligans.

Any Russian ships in port?

The Countess would be swimming in her gravy before walking over to the Banba for a peckage of King crips.

Apollo (per Wikipedia) is/was the god of music, poetry, art, oracles, archery, plague, medicine, sun, light and knowledge. Zero-knowledge is not enough proof.

Film at (or in the Screen) eleven.

Not your ornery onager

There's enough high net worth amongst those tax free individuals to buy the property but no, they want to take it and charge it to those working & paying as much as 40% tax, and give it to those who don't work & won't use the services provided . Figures.

Also what happens when the celebs and union lads have gotten their headlines and the kumbaya spirit wears off
    padd b1975 wrote: »
    Reads like a who's who of insufferable gobsh1tes.

They can't even get pisssed while they're there what with Christy Moore and his issues with the old alkeyhol.

Ah boards...

It's all getting fairly predictable isn't it?

We just need the,

"what about the children that'll be there?"

"The guards should turf the lot of them out"

"It's difficult being a landlord these days"

"It's all FF's fault"

"PBP/AAA are to blame"

"I passed by today and saw some lad shooting up in his eyeballs"

"The guards should turf the lot of them out" - repost

"Feckin celebs, who are they and what good have they have ever done anyway?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,428 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Free market economics is a bust! The market knows ****! Just build the houses already!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Fair play to them. The country isn't being ran with the best interests of a huge demographic in mind. Situation is becoming farcical. Just build the fooking houses pronto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

What a bunch of numptys ,

Theres more homeless beds and emergency accommodation than ever before and there using this a publicity stunt must be quite on the right 2 front ,
    Pretty obvious none of them have a clue about homeless people

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    Free market economics is a bust! The market knows ****! Just build the houses already!

I'd agree with you. People in power have figured out how manipulate the market in order to get maximum benefit from it. That's a very sad thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,234 ✭✭✭Patser

I don't quite understand the point they're making. It is a noble call and all, but even in his statement in to OP's link the organiser Ogle acknowledges that the Govt and other agencies have just opened new homeless facilities. Also they have to know that a 3rd one was also due to open was blocked by a residents' legal challenge.

So saying 'We know you're doing things but do things!' confuses me. Those new facilities (including the planned one) and other temporary, emergency ones had enough beds to more than meet demand.

https://www.google.ie/amp/www.thejournal.ie/homeless-hostels-dublin-3131460-Dec2016/%3Famp%3D1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

What these people fail the recognise is that so many of these people are homeless because of their own doing. Rent prices are not the reason why Boxcar Fred has been sleeping rough for the last 6 years. Give him a house and he'll still spend his money on booze or drugs and will get evicted for not paying rent.

Occupy what you like, it's not going to stop people being trainwrecks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Great citizen's initiative and congratulations to all those involved, the concept of homelessness and rough sleeping is a blight on our society and we should aim to do better. A huge building sitting idle in the middle of town rotting away for what exactly? B*llocks to that, I hope communities and groups take back some more in the near future.

Predictable as always, there's the usual shower out moaning about it but put simply, f*ck the begrudgers. Ireland is a country where a cabal of politicians, developers and financiers took the rest of us for a ride basically and for the most part they got off scot free and are now gearing up to gouge us again by the looks of it.

What we need is more solidarity and not less of it. The fact someone might be heavily taxed and being ripped off etc is bad, but some poor bastard sleeping in a doorway isn't the one to blame for that.

ChikiChiki wrote:
    I'd agree with you. People in power have figured out how manipulate the market in order to get maximum benefit from it. That's a very sad thing.

Our economic systems are bust at a fundamental level, many of our politicians here and in Europe know this, but are playing the 'extend and pretend', 'pray and delay' game. This will end very very badly for us all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,449 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

*In before someone else*

I blame Bertie

*flees*

What these people fail the recognise is that so many of these homeless because of their own doing. Rent prices are not the reason why Boxcar Fred has been sleeping rough for the last 6 years. Give him a house and he'll still spend his money on booze or drugs and will get evicted for not paying rent.

I would highly recommend you to have a conversation with a mentally ill person, I've termed their thought process as 'anti-logic'. This thought process is quiet disturbing

What these people fail the recognise is that so many of these homeless because of their own doing. Rent prices are not the reason why Boxcar Fred has been sleeping rough for the last 6 years. Give him a house and he'll still spend his money on booze or drugs and will get evicted for not paying rent.

Occupy what you like, it's not going to stop people being trainwrecks

Don't you not realise people who work are being squeezed out of the market aswell. There is a hidden homelessness, those who are in their late 20s and 30s and can't settle down, plan a family and just live a simple life due to our lack of housing and extortionate rent prices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Esel wrote: »
    John Connors and [...] Brendan Ogle.

Lots of copper in there - pull my wire.

'News story' happens to happen right across the street from the Irish Times office - what are the odds of that? The mock turtle is still barred from Mulligans.

Any Russian ships in port?

The Countess would be swimming in her gravy before walking over to the Banba for a peckage of King crips.

Apollo (per Wikipedia) is/was the god of music, poetry, art, oracles, archery, plague, medicine, sun, light and knowledge. Zero-knowledge is not enough proof.

Film at (or in the Screen) eleven.

Don't do drugs, kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭derm0j073

Vicxas wrote: »
    *In before someone else*

I blame Bertie

*flees*

Come on , get with it , it's Iar-Taoiseach .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Fair play to them. The country isn't being ran with the best interests of a huge demographic in mind. Situation is becoming farcical. Just build the fooking houses pronto.

Can I stop paying on mortgage and get one of these houses for 40 euro a month?

And I'll get 3 chances to pick where I live.

Screw this working and paying my way lark.

We should all just give up working and avail of this offer!

Or maybe move to Sweden oh wait they have 32,000 homeless people.

Maybe England, oh wait they have 120,000 homeless people

When will people realise there is homeless people in every country in the world.

It's such a complex situation that no country or government has ever sorted.

We have 20,000 houses starting to be built to help ease it.

But when these houses try get built you have people protesting against them in there area.

Who's to blame for that? Everyone likes to act all noble but once it's on their doorstep they don't want to know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

the problem could be solved with a flick of a pen but there are too many snouts in the trough making a living out of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

the problem could be solved with a flick of a pen but there are too many snouts in the trough making a living out of it

A flick of a pen you say. :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Meanwhile the rest of us are in the real world.

Who's to blame for that? Everyone likes to act all noble but once it's on their doorstep they don't want to know.

Our economic and financial systems are fundamentally flawed, based on flaky theories and principles. Homelessness will probably always exist, but these systems are a bust and are further exasperating these complex issues

BattleCorp wrote:
    A flick of a pen you say.

They are absolutely right, it really is a flick of a pen to get this started, as that's how one of the most critical ingredients of this problem is created, I.e. money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

The news today is full of people wanting to dip into the working persons pockets. We spend vast sums on the homeless charity industry already, we're spending enough - someone must be making an awful lot of money out of it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 30 ck_fluffy_32

FTA69 wrote: »
    ...... I hope communities and groups take back some more in the near future.

So, stealing is okay if you do it for a "good" reason ?

That property is owned by someone, might be NAMA but it's not a few washed up has beens and agitators from the AAA.

hmmm wrote:
    someone must be making an awful lot of money out of it.

Of course they are, that's the game, the term 'worker insecurity' comes to mind

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

hmmm wrote: »
    The news today is full of people wanting to dip into the working persons pockets. We spend vast sums on the homeless charity industry already, we're spending enough - someone must be making an awful lot of money out of it.

Charities we all know what goes on in them.

The people who need the money most don't get it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 30 ck_fluffy_32

hmmm wrote: »

All the time, we're "well off" apparently because - genuine quote to me "if you pay the higher rate of tax, you're the same as the bankers".

FFS!

Sure why not give everyone free houses it will solve the problem,
    Then on to the 130,000 housing lists free houses for Christmas ,
    Our housing problem solved

Gatling wrote:
    Sure why not give everyone free houses it will solve the problem, Then on to the 130,000 housing lists free houses for Christmas , Our housing problem solved

Oh deary me, this boring argument! Free market economics is a bust! It's time for us humans to move on from it or we're going down with the ship

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

Gatling wrote: »
    What a bunch of numptys ,

Theres more homeless beds and emergency accommodation than ever before and there using this a publicity stunt must be quite on the right 2 front ,
    Pretty obvious none of them have a clue about homeless people

I honestly don't think you have a clue about homeless people? Sure there's more than before but there's not enough. The modular houses that were built this year are crap and unsuitable for long time habitation. They also depreciate in value and will require long term maintenance.

People are right to protest of this iniquity its going on for to long and the government were caught without a solid anti-homeless plan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

Gatling wrote: »
    Sure why not give everyone free houses it will solve the problem,
    Then on to the 130,000 housing lists free houses for Christmas ,
    Our housing problem solved

What's your solution then? let the market provide for the homeless? because that's worked :rolleyes:....

Providing homeless people with social housing is probably the most effective way of providing them with shelter and a somewhat decent, sustainable way of living.

That property is owned by someone, might be NAMA but it's not a few washed up has beens and agitators from the AAA.

Stealing my hole. If it's owned by anyone it's owned by some speculator who has been bailed out to the nth degree with public money and is now sitting on this asset waiting for it to appreciate in value.

Property rights shouldn't trump the common good, if it mattered so much they wouldn't let it go derelict in the centre of town would they?

I fully support anyone commandeering such properties for the commons.

Stealing my hole. If it's owned by anyone it's owned by some speculator who has been bailed out to the nth degree with public money and is now sitting on this asset waiting for it to appreciate in value.

Property rights shouldn't trump the common good, if it mattered so much they wouldn't let it go derelict in the centre of town would they?

You do realise that we don't live in a communist country. People are entitled to do what they want with their property. If someone wants to sit on an asset and wait for it to appreciate, it's their legal right to do so.

BattleCorp wrote:
    You do realise that we don't live in a communist country. People are entitled to do what they want with their property. If someone wants to sit on an asset and wait for it to appreciate, it's their legal right to do so.

Another problem of the free market system, I.e. molestation of the legal system. How long more of this disturbing game do we have to play before total annihilation of our societies?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭mahoganygas

Bono incoming in 3...2....

BattleCorp wrote: »

In some places you have unscrupulous landlords and speculators allow buildings to go derelict in the heart of communities which have a terrible negative and knock on effect. If people take that over and use them for communal purposes or community assets then fair play to them.

The notion of idle property being allowed to rot in the middle of a housing crisis is obscene and socially unsustainable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

Bono incoming in 3...2....

Has the eagle landed yet ?

Oh deary me, this boring argument! Free market economics is a bust! It's time for us humans to move on from it or we're going down with the ship

I was been sarcastic .

But to answer your questions below ,there is no magic solution to homelessness ,
    There's so many reasons why someone becomes homeless so have very complex and difficult needs ,
    People breaking into building and illegally occupying properties is not the solution especially when the government has put so much resources into the problem , several hundred millions over a 3 year period ,
    No government has found a magic bullet for homelessness from the Nordic countries Denmark , Sweden and Norway all the way to the utopia that was Castro's Cuba ,

Gatling wrote:
    But to answer your questions below ,there is no magic solution to homelessness , There's so many reasons why someone becomes homeless so have very complex and difficult needs , People breaking into building and illegally occupying properties is not the solution especially when the government has put so much resources into the problem , several hundred millions over a 3 year period , No government has found a magic bullet for homelessness from the Nordic countries Denmark , Sweden and Norway all the way to the utopia that was Castro's Cuba ,

I will agree with you to a point but we're playing an extremely dangerous game which will end badly for us all. Our economic systems are fundamentally flawed, they truly are, many of our politicians know this but are refusing to accept it, we 're in big trouble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

"Economics is the study of how societies use scarce resources to produce valuable commodities and distribute them among different people."

Pens are plentiful. Living space in Dublin not so much. Flick away on the pens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭pure.conya

All property is theft

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭mahoganygas

pure.conya wrote:
    All property is theft

Wow.

topper75 wrote:
    Pens are plentiful. Living space in Dublin not so much. Flick away on the pens.

According to Colm McCarthy, plenty of unzoned land in Dublin. Flick of a pen to solve that!

Rent-averse people with addiction issues are not 'the commons' comrade.

If investors can have investments taken from them by whim of a government, there will be no investment in Dublin, money goes elsewhere, and you end up with a dump of a city down the line.

In some places you have unscrupulous landlords and speculators allow buildings to go derelict in the heart of communities which have a terrible negative and knock on effect. If people take that over and use them for communal purposes or community assets then fair play to them.

The notion of idle property being allowed to rot in the middle of a housing crisis is obscene and socially unsustainable.

I know I'm coming across as a d1ck here but it isn't up to private citizens to provide accommodation for the homeless.

I have a right to do what I want with my property (if I had any). I shouldn't be forced to hand it over to the State because they want it to house homeless people. Let the State come up with another solution such as building on greenfield sites etc. A solution that doesn't impinge on my property rights.

According to Colm McCarthy, plenty of unzoned land in Dublin. Flick of a pen to solve that!

Unzoned land. Never heard of the term. Is he talking about rezoning?

Because if he is, he needs to spend more time in Galway and Ennis.

topper75 wrote: »
    Unzoned land. Never heard of the term. Is he talking about rezoning?

Because if he is, he needs to spend more time in Galway and Ennis.

apologies thats what i meant, yup id say colm mccarthy is right, zoning is one of our issues here, along with a few other things. our governments are following the free market cookbook and are lost.

ive no knowledge of the issues in galway and ennis, maybe he and our politicians need to spend more time in these areas. what do you feel are the issues in these areas?