Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 3.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,212 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

errlloyd wrote: »
    The high profile cases in Ireland from a few years ago (Slane girl etc) were absolutely disgusting. Lads completely taking advantage of someone vulnerable while other lads filmed and laughed. When my friends shared those videos I was pretty disappointed.

Again, it just ties back to the double standards. Guy acts maggot, legend. Girl acts maggot slut. Recommend Asking for It by Louise O Neil. It's not brilliantly written (it's really written for teenage girls) and it's a worst case scenario, but it's the kind of thing we read about a lot.

I don't know the Slane girl case so I can't comment.

What I'm saying is that acting the maggot in public, I think there's a reasonable expectation that you could be filmed. How people then judge your actions (guy = legend, girl = slut) that's a different story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,003 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

What I get from all this mfceiling is that you're a kept man?

If I was I wouldn't be getting out of bed every morning at 6 a.m!!

• Administrators Posts: 55,122 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

mfceiling wrote: »
    If I was I wouldn't be getting out of bed every morning at 6 a.m!!

No man should have to get up at that hour.

#IStandWithMfceiling

b.gud wrote: »
    mf isn't it your wife who is the spit of Amy Adams? And now you're telling us she has a high powered job and is at the top of her industry.

We're all thinking it so I'm just gonna come out and say it. What the hell is she doing with you? ;)

What can I say....I'm a great guy!!

Seriously though I've supported her every step of the way. She goes to San Fran 3 or 4 times a year and I keep the show on the road here (as well as holding down a job). The more I do at home the easier it makes her life both at home and at work. Her boss is funny though...every time he meets me he shakes my hand and thanks me for supporting her!!

awec wrote: »
    No man should have to get up at that hour.

#IStandWithMfceiling

I've always been an early riser. Can't wait til little awec arrives and wants to watch peppa pig at 5 a.m on a Sunday morning!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

Yeah_Right wrote: »
    I understand what you're saying but if you strip off and act the maggot in a public place then I believe you can't complain about being filmed. If a guy took his top off and started dirty dancing on a table in a pub does he have the right not to be filmed and laughed at? What about a streaker at a rugby game or through a university? (streaking through the quad!!!)

If the public place had a rule about no filming or pictures then yes they would be a victim but otherwise it's the individuals own fault. Most nudist beaches have signs saying no pictures. But if a girl goes topless at a public beach then yes she can be photographed. Same as if I decided to go sunbathing in a thong on a public beach.

Just to be clear, I'd think anyone taking pictures of someone sunbathing topless to be a disgusting creep.

I really don't think you do understand what I'm saying.

Nobody, regardless of gender, age, state of undress, amount of alcohol consumed... deserves to be filmed or photographed. In your words - I'd think anyone taking pictures of anyone in a state of undress without consent to be a disgusting creep.

The double standards existing are ridiculous and brings victim blaming/slut shaming to an entirely new level.
    errlloyd wrote: »
    The high profile cases in Ireland from a few years ago (Slane girl etc) were absolutely disgusting. Lads completely taking advantage of someone vulnerable while other lads filmed and laughed. When my friends shared those videos I was pretty disappointed.

Again, it just ties back to the double standards. Guy acts maggot, legend. Girl acts maggot slut. Recommend Asking for It by Louise O Neil. It's not brilliantly written (it's really written for teenage girls) and it's a worst case scenario, but it's the kind of thing we read about a lot.

I'm firmly of the opinion that this book should be on the reading list for CSPE or PE or some sort of class in school, and that some adults should read it too. Yes, it is worst case scenario, but I have first hand experience in certain aspects of it and I know that I'm not alone in that. It's more common than people think and it's not discussed because of victim blaming and slut shaming.

There are other incidents too. Say there's a consensual sexual action between 3 individuals. Two guys. One girl. If people discuss it, as has happened, the guys are legends and the girl is a slut. Switch the scenarios and the guy is still a legend.

Another example - Slane girl. Guy gets called a hero. Girl gets called a slut. Nobody calls for the video to be taken down. Photos of a high profile guy circulate and he's drunk and disorderly and everyone says "take the photos down, he's only having the craic, can people not go and have the craic without their photo being taken".

I've said it before and I'll say it again - men are largely ignorant of/oblivious to many of the issues that face women, simply because they've never experienced them. And that's fine - I don't understand manly issues. But I'll never dismiss a mans opinion on something when I can't see it from his point of view - I just wish that some men would offer the same respect to women.

(And I know that I'm not the majority of women in some respects)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Felix Jones is God

mfceiling wrote: »
    I've always been an early riser. Can't wait til little awec arrives and wants to watch peppa pig at 5 a.m on a Sunday morning!!

Awec will tell bedtime stories of Nucifora and the 3 little pigs at bedtime and put a pic of Nucifora over the nursery door....little awec won't leave the nursery until he's 9!

http://m.independent.ie/sport/rugby/video-rugby-player-handed-three-year-ban-for-shocking-noarms-tackle-on-female-referee-35296986.html

Speaking of white male privilege etc....this has got to be the most cowardly act I've seen on a rugby field...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Argentinian rugby sounds like an absolute mad house. That's twice this year we've seen absolutely mad acts of foul play from down there. I'd hope he'll get a similarly long ban as the first (which was effectively a life ban)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭launish116

http://m.independent.ie/sport/rugby/video-rugby-player-handed-three-year-ban-for-shocking-noarms-tackle-on-female-referee-35296986.html

Speaking of white male privilege etc....this has got to be the most cowardly act I've seen on a rugby field...
    What the hell was he thinking

launish116 wrote: »
    What the hell was he thinking

I have no idea, maybe she gave a decision against him, maybe he's misogynistic....but I believe that was a worse act than the kick to the head that got a 99 year ban

This one happened in Italy not Argentina.

That goes beyond a rugby ban for me. Should be criminally charged.

I think so, she could have had some serious injuries from that, totally premeditated..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Yeah I wonder how its not a criminal act really

Folks, please remember this is the off topic thread; rugby talk should happen in the other threads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

What a ****ing scumbag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,212 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

sullivlo wrote: »
    I really don't think you do understand what I'm saying.

Nobody, regardless of gender, age, state of undress, amount of alcohol consumed... deserves to be filmed or photographed. In your words - I'd think anyone taking pictures of anyone in a state of undress without consent to be a disgusting creep.

The double standards existing are ridiculous and brings victim blaming/slut shaming to an entirely new level.

I'm firmly of the opinion that this book should be on the reading list for CSPE or PE or some sort of class in school, and that some adults should read it too. Yes, it is worst case scenario, but I have first hand experience in certain aspects of it and I know that I'm not alone in that. It's more common than people think and it's not discussed because of victim blaming and slut shaming.

There are other incidents too. Say there's a consensual sexual action between 3 individuals. Two guys. One girl. If people discuss it, as has happened, the guys are legends and the girl is a slut. Switch the scenarios and the guy is still a legend.

Another example - Slane girl. Guy gets called a hero. Girl gets called a slut. Nobody calls for the video to be taken down. Photos of a high profile guy circulate and he's drunk and disorderly and everyone says "take the photos down, he's only having the craic, can people not go and have the craic without their photo being taken".

I've said it before and I'll say it again - men are largely ignorant of/oblivious to many of the issues that face women, simply because they've never experienced them. And that's fine - I don't understand manly issues. But I'll never dismiss a mans opinion on something when I can't see it from his point of view - I just wish that some men would offer the same respect to women.

(And I know that I'm not the majority of women in some respects)

I do understand what you're saying but I just don't entirely agree with it. I hate this culture of filming everything and uploading it to social media but it is the reality we live in. Everyone knows that everyone has a video camera in their pocket and instant access to FB, Twitter, Instagram etc. Therefore if you are doing something stupid, rude or showing off in public then it's reasonable to expect it to be filmed and for it to be shared on social media. And you will probably get **** about it.

If I get drunk and dance dance naked in Grafton St, do I have a right to privacy? If I get drunk and pick a fight with a bunch of Hells Angels and they put me in hospital for a few months, am I the victim or the instigator?

What I'm saying is that in these days, people have to take responsibility for their own actions in public and they can't just cry victim because what they did ended up on the internet and they are now embarrassed by it.

There are double standards about how men and women are viewed for the same thing and that's ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,019 ✭✭✭✭bilston

Star Wars Rogue One...Hell Yeah...

So good!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

bilston wrote: »

So good!

Can't wait for it. I was a little disappointed with The Force Awakens and have only watched it once. I should really go back and watch it again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,075 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Synode wrote: »
    Can't wait for it. I was a little disappointed with The Force Awakens and have only watched it once. I should really go back and watch it again

Ive a lot of problems with Force Awakens but I still really enjoyed it
    Looking forward to Rogue One - been watching the animated show Rebels, is fecking savage

So good!

I liked The Force Awakes but there were bits in it that I didn't enjoy. Although it did leave a lot,of,questions unanswered that at least keeps the interest going for Episode 8.

Rogue One is very good, not perfect, but nor are the the Original Trilogy, but if the OT is your thing then you should like Rogue One, the last part of the film in particular is great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

I was really looking forward to Rogue One, maybe a bit too much. It's a good film, but not a great one. Lots of great little easter eggs throughout but maybe doesn't quite have the emotional weight it needed. Some of the scenes in it though are visually stunning. I absolutely loved some of the battle scenes and how they delivered them.

I read the book Catalyst before going to see it. It's basically the build up to where the film kicks off. I do think that helps provide context to a few bits that were missing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

So good!

I liked The Force Awakes but there were bits in it that I didn't enjoy. Although it did leave a lot,of,questions unanswered that at least keeps the interest going for Episode 8.

Rogue One is very good, not perfect, but nor are the the Original Trilogy, but if the OT is your thing then you should like Rogue One, the last part of the film in particular is great.

I have to say I found the
    CGI of Tarkin and Leia
    really off putting. Also thought the character development wasn't what it could have been. Even at the start of the film where we're seeing
    the dark side of the rebellion
    was an incredibly interesting avenue to go down that just fizzled out very quickly.

So good!
    You one of those lads that wore a storm trooper outfit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Swan Curry

Have any of you lads gone through an airport with a razor like this in hand luggage? I should be able to just take the blade out and then it should be fine, right? I'm going to be back home for a bit too long not to shave but I really don't want to have it taken off me and I've heard the security at one of the airports I'm going through (Manchester) are generally massive ****

awec wrote: »

So good!
    You one of those lads that wore a storm trooper outfit?

Don't tell anyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

molloyjh wrote: »
    I was really looking forward to Rogue One, maybe a bit too much. It's a good film, but not a great one. Lots of great little easter eggs throughout but maybe doesn't quite have the emotional weight it needed. Some of the scenes in it though are visually stunning. I absolutely loved some of the battle scenes and how they delivered them.

I read the book Catalyst before going to see it. It's basically the build up to where the film kicks off. I do think that helps provide context to a few bits that were missing.

Emotional weight? It's f*cking Star Wars, f*ck away out of it with your "emotional weight"... Mr. Barry f**king Norman!

Now this is a mod warning, as I haven't seen the film yet. Any spoilers will result in a lifetime ban and a visit from awec the morning after a feed of Harp...

molloyjh wrote: »

So good!

I have to say I found the
    CGI of Tarkin and Leia
    really off putting. Also thought the character development wasn't what it could have been. Even at the start of the film where we're seeing
    the dark side of the rebellion
    was an incredibly interesting avenue to go down that just fizzled out very quickly.

The character developer was admittedly a bit rushed, but then most of these guys are in one Star Wars film so it was always a tough ask.
    I thought the CGI of Tarkin was 99% there, Leia's was a bit more obvious, but then it was one brief glimpse. But I was too pumped by Vader's slaughter of the Rebels to care!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Tomtom364

Swan Curry wrote: »
    Have any of you lads gone through an airport with a razor like this in hand luggage? I should be able to just take the blade out and then it should be fine, right? I'm going to be back home for a bit too long not to shave but I really don't want to have it taken off me and I've heard the security at one of the airports I'm going through (Manchester) are generally massive ****

Razor blades are a no no but the unit to hold them is fine. If you have checked in luggage throw it in there if you're nervous bout it.

But it's fine in hand held so long as you have zero blades

(this be my job)