Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

STOVES questions and answers here(see mod note in post 1)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭suitseir

Update....got sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 Briany3

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    Just an update on repair my stove, so I took off the stove last night. God it is a heavy beast. Then took into taking down the flue. Everything was covered in a black tar like substance so no easy job. Ended up pulling the supports out of wall with hammer and screwdriver.

The thing was full of rust and sh*t. Took a few pics of it lying on ground

From what I can make out they had a connector from the flue into the chimney but the actual chimney is not lined. This could be the reason for the condensation.

Going to head to a local supplier tomorrow and see what I need to buy and take into repair job next week. Main question is will I need twin walled flue

Best of Luck to you..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,955 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

Briany3 wrote: »
    Best of Luck to you..

Worked it out....had to order in my kit list as wasn't in stock. So far has come to €364. I need another few things(Fire Cement & Flue Bracket). Would say it will cost circa 400 all in.

Small cost saving versus the 1k I was been quoted.....

Ok so I bought the following kit from Goodwins: https://www.goodwins.ie/products/flexible_twinwall_flue_liner_kit_316l_150mm_x_6mtr.html?filter_set[0]=13%2C349&

Any idea anybody how the cowl works? all the video's I have seen the cowl connects to the flexi flue and then the clay flue pipe to hold everything in position. Can't see how that cowl would work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭rpmcs

Just to note that is 316 Flexi... if burning coal not great life expectancy.
    904 is for coal 316 is wood mainly

rpmcs wrote: »
    Just to note that is 316 Flexi... if burning coal not great life expectancy.
    904 is for coal 316 is wood mainly

I bought the 904, just picked the link from the 316 :P

Both have the same cowl.....

From what I can see I need a Chimney Liner cowl, which is available here for another 60 odd quid : http://www.kbf.ie/accessories

Or can I use that one?

Job done, doesn't look too bad:P Need to do a bit of cleaning as the new pipe looks very clean versus the old stove.

Used my old cowl and connected the flexi flue to it

Came in around 400 euro I think once I got everything

So total saving versus someone coming in is 600 quid

Enough to get myself a new TV :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Buck Overbite

Hi Lads,

I wonder can anyone help me. I'm looking for a hetas engineer to help/advise on a problematic stove.

I had an inset stove installed last year but it has never rid itself of that chemical fume smell that often comes at an early stage of use. We were told that this would burn off after a while as the paint cured but it has never gone. If anything, the hotter the fire, the worse the fumes. Not smokey, but a real chemical fume smell. The stove is practically unusable as a result.

I cannot get the original installers to come and check it; i wont name them but they are in the Limerick area (as am I) and their aftersales has been appalling. Anyway, i'll have to get someone independent to look at it in order to get to the bottom of the problem.

Any advice/pointers etc massively appreciated.

Cheers,

M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

Has anyone installed a stove on a gable where there is no chimney?

Do you go out and up the wall with twin wall flue pipe?

laugh wrote: »
    Has anyone installed a stove on a gable where there is no chimney?

Do you go out and up the wall with twin wall flue pipe?

Think link was posted by someone earlier and I found great
    http://www.stovefittersmanual.co.uk/

See specific section here: http://www.stovefittersmanual.co.uk/articles/installing-a-twin-wall-flue-chimney/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭rachaelf750

Hi Lads,

I wonder can anyone help me. I'm looking for a hetas engineer to help/advise on a problematic stove.

I had an inset stove installed last year but it has never rid itself of that chemical fume smell that often comes at an early stage of use. We were told that this would burn off after a while as the paint cured but it has never gone. If anything, the hotter the fire, the worse the fumes. Not smokey, but a real chemical fume smell. The stove is practically unusable as a result.

I cannot get the original installers to come and check it; i wont name them but they are in the Limerick area (as am I) and their aftersales has been appalling. Anyway, i'll have to get someone independent to look at it in order to get to the bottom of the problem.

Any advice/pointers etc massively appreciated.

Cheers,

M

I found this map of trained HETAS installers for Ireland : http://bit.ly/2hovCxN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    Think link was posted by someone earlier and I found great
    http://www.stovefittersmanual.co.uk/

See specific section here: http://www.stovefittersmanual.co.uk/articles/installing-a-twin-wall-flue-chimney/

Thanks a lot that's a great link.

laugh wrote: »
    Thanks a lot that's a great link.

I found it great, I was going to be charged a grand and ended up doing job myself and saved 600 quid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 Casa 2013

Hi. We recently installed an ACR Ashdale multi fuel stove into the corner of a big kitchen/living space.

We just can't get it to work right and Ive no clue what the problem might be. It doesn't seem to be drawing as well as it should. Yesterday I tried to light it and smoke was actually coming out around the door. It was windy out and the wind was coming straight at the wall where the flue pipe is located. Would this effect the stove?

We have only managed to get it to light properly once. There was good heat off it but again we seem to have issues as the glass went all black. I thought the stove had an air wash facility.

Any one have ideas on how to work this particular stove? It has 3 sliders. Not really sure what these are for. The book refers to them as primary and secondary air but what does that mean?? We also have air coming from outside into the stove.

If there is a problem with my stove I need to sort it asap so Im looking for help soon!! Clueless as to what it might be myself! Any tips or advice is REALLY appreciated!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,831 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Not my area, but is your flue clearing the roof?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 Casa 2013

Water John wrote: »
    Not my area, but is your flue clearing the roof?

Yes John. We have a taller than normal two story house. High ceilings inside. The flue goes out the top of the stove and up inside the room before going out through the wall and up again to a good bit above our roof.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 479 ✭✭mikeoneilly

I notice a couple of wavy cracks have appeared in the centre of my stove glass .Glass was fitted correctly only a couple of months ago.

I presume there's no recourse with this item. You just fit another one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Casa 2013 wrote: »
    Hi. We recently installed an ACR Ashdale multi fuel stove into the corner of a big kitchen/living space.

We just can't get it to work right and Ive no clue what the problem might be. It doesn't seem to be drawing as well as it should. Yesterday I tried to light it and smoke was actually coming out around the door. It was windy out and the wind was coming straight at the wall where the flue pipe is located. Would this effect the stove?

We have only managed to get it to light properly once. There was good heat off it but again we seem to have issues as the glass went all black. I thought the stove had an air wash facility.

Any one have ideas on how to work this particular stove? It has 3 sliders. Not really sure what these are for. The book refers to them as primary and secondary air but what does that mean?? We also have air coming from outside into the stove.

If there is a problem with my stove I need to sort it asap so Im looking for help soon!! Clueless as to what it might be myself! Any tips or advice is REALLY appreciated!

What type of coal are you using? I tried ordinary cheap coal and it was a nightmare,soot,smoke and tar.Had the same problem with smoke coming out of the vents and getting it to light properly.If you have 'smoky' coal,only use it sparingly until you have a decent blaze going,when you run out of smoky coal,never buy it again.
    I switched to smokeless ovoids (I also use timber) and never a problem since.Look in the coal thread in Bargain Alerts for helpful info on deals on fuel.The consensus is if you have a stove,use smokeless ovoids.

The ovoids and good dry timber would also probably have a higher temp, so creating a better draught.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭Jack180570

Uriel. wrote: »
    Hi Folks,

We got a Stovax Riva 55 installed in early summer as we were renovating a newly bought house and had floors up and walls pulled apart etc.

So it's been sitting there since June and we hadn't fired it up. It was a full professional installation job, chimney clean and flue/lining or whatever put in.

So we lit it up the other night. quite a bit of smoke coming into the room when door is open/opened (e.g. for refueling) on the first night. Also glass started to go black and has what seems to be bits of ashes stuck to it.

Fired it up again last night, more or less the same craic.

It's a multi fuel stove but at the moment we are just using dry wood kindling
    and these air dried logs from BnM

In terms of air flow, the first night we had the primary open about 50% and the secondary about 25%

last night after some googling we adjusted it to about 50% primary and more or less 100% secondary - though we did adjust them as the fire developed and then died.

Nonetheless still some smoke coming into the room on opening the stove door and still getting blacker.

Can anyone advise as to what we are doing wrong? is the fuel ok, or should we be using something else.

Also has anyone any experience of these stove cleaning pads for the glass? they are supposed to be scratch free and have good reviews.

Thanks.

Hi Uriel,

Regarding the BnM airdried logs.... those logs are way too wet to burn on their own in a stove. You could 'burn' them with coal but they are going to clog up your flue with creosote just like they are blackening you stove glass. They claim to be under 30% moisture but the last time I tested them they were around 45%.

The maximum moisture content that logs for a stove should be is 25% and ideally 20%. There is a Wood Fuel Quality Assurance Scheme which is supported by the Department of Agriculture, the Bioenergy Association, Teagasc and Waterford Institute of Technology who certify members who produce woodfuel to the appropriate standard and you can find them at wfqa.org

When everything is working well and you are using dry logs then you will get a really lovely, hot and clean fire similar to this https://business.facebook.com/pg/cotterbrosfirewood.ie/videos/?business_id=537059543110182&ref=page_internal

One important issue you may be having is that your chimney may be 'cold'.
    This may sound strange but I have come across it twice in the last 7 or 8 years and basically what happens is what you describe... fire won't light, will light but won't stay lighting, no 'draw' on the chimney etc....
    This will pass if you persist, it may take a week or 10 days maybe even 2 weeks of lighting fires until the chimney heats up/dries out... and here is the weird part, this 'cold' chimney will happen only once so that when you stop lighting the fire at the beginning of summer and not light it again until the autumn, the stove will work perfectly when you light it then.

Hope this helps
    Jack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Anyone know much about inset stoves ??
    Got a 16 inch fireplace that has a (disconnected ) backboiler in it ..
    Thinking of putting a simple inset stove in .. but are they any good?
    Will I loose loads of heat to the backboiler?
    And how do I connect up the flue from the stove to the chimney? ( I'm planning on putting a liner down the clay pots ) ...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

Jack180570 wrote: »
    Hi Uriel,

Regarding the BnM airdried logs.... those logs are way too wet to burn on their own in a stove. You could 'burn' them with coal but they are going to clog up your flue with creosote just like they are blackening you stove glass. They claim to be under 30% moisture but the last time I tested them they were around 45%.

The maximum moisture content that logs for a stove should be is 25% and ideally 20%. There is a Wood Fuel Quality Assurance Scheme which is supported by the Department of Agriculture, the Bioenergy Association, Teagasc and Waterford Institute of Technology who certify members who produce woodfuel to the appropriate standard and you can find them at wfqa.org

When everything is working well and you are using dry logs then you will get a really lovely, hot and clean fire similar to this https://business.facebook.com/pg/cotterbrosfirewood.ie/videos/?business_id=537059543110182&ref=page_internal

One important issue you may be having is that your chimney may be 'cold'.
    This may sound strange but I have come across it twice in the last 7 or 8 years and basically what happens is what you describe... fire won't light, will light but won't stay lighting, no 'draw' on the chimney etc....
    This will pass if you persist, it may take a week or 10 days maybe even 2 weeks of lighting fires until the chimney heats up/dries out... and here is the weird part, this 'cold' chimney will happen only once so that when you stop lighting the fire at the beginning of summer and not light it again until the autumn, the stove will work perfectly when you light it then.

Hope this helps
    Jack

Thanks Jack,
    really useful information to have.
    I have used up my last bag of the air dried wood logs now so moving on to kiln dried now that claim less than 20% moisture content

picked up a pack of the BnM eco logs yesterday to give them a try. Nice hot and clean burn off them but I feel you'd need a heck load of them to keep the fire going for a few hours at night (if they weren't mixed with other fuel).

Not sure Mark of the metal on the disconnected stove taking the heat. Enclosed stove without the rads will be much hotter. Will the welds crack?
    Bigger hassle but are you better off, pulling out the old boiler?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Water John wrote:
    Not sure Mark of the metal on the disconnected stove taking the heat. Enclosed stove without the rads will be much hotter. Will the welds crack? Bigger hassle but are you better off, pulling out the old boiler?

Eeekkk... I really don't fancy ripping the old back boiler out of the wall... it'll be an awful mess.. doubt the steel in the old back boiler'd crack... and even if it did so what .. There's no water it's not sealed so no pressure...
    But it would be a much better job to rip the thing out ( I wreck the fireplace which I hate anyway but it's huge ..

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

Ah, go for it. You know you really want to.

Hey guys, any recommendations on how to get stove up to heat? I have a Glenmore 20B, I know thanks to help on this thread. I contacted the manufacturer and got some info on it.

Anyway I end up lighting it most days, especially when in the house. The issue I have is it doesn't seem to get up to temp to start heating the radiators. I have the thermostat set to 50 which based on a lot of googling this should be correct.

There is another control for the radiator temp. I set this open to 8 to allow air in to increase the fire to try and build more heat.

Normal build is 2 logs on either side, maybe some briquettes to start with and then a bucket of coal. All in one go more or less. I leave for about an hour and the fire will be roaring and still not kicking in.

Am I overloading the stove? or what am I doing wrong....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭OwenM

Markcheese wrote: »
    Anyone know much about inset stoves ??
    Got a 16 inch fireplace that has a (disconnected ) backboiler in it ..
    Thinking of putting a simple inset stove in .. but are they any good?
    Will I loose loads of heat to the backboiler?
    And how do I connect up the flue from the stove to the chimney? ( I'm planning on putting a liner down the clay pots ) ...

I have an inset boiler stove, it replaced an open fire with a disused back boiler. Will you loose loads of heat to the back boiler - no, it will be removed as part of the install. If you install a boiler stove you do 'loose' loads of heat to your radiators and immersion cylinder.

I would urge you to get a professional to install a stove, the chances of creating a fire or carbon monoxide hazard are quite high and also remember - any damage you might cause with an amateur installation won't be covered by your house insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

If you were putting a stove into a smallish room, like a snug, would it be a good idea to consider putting in one with back boiler to heat water/rads as a way to take heat out of it, i.e. the heat it would throw out would be too much for a small room. Or is it better to just get a smaller/less heat output stove. We've gas central heating.

Based on the stove I have, you get massive heat still going into the room and even when it does start up the boiler you still get loads of heat into the room. I think you are better off sizing a stove for the room and see then if boiler option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

Ok, thanks. I know its a bit like "how long is a piece of string", but in general what % increase are you talking about by going for a stove with back boiler and all that is needed for this, compared to just a standalone stove? Are you talking twice the price?