Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 3.0

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I've watched nine episodes now and have no idea what's going on. To be honest I don't know why I watch it as my mind tends to wander and I kind of look forward to it being over. All the lab scenes are immensely dull and repetitive and I don't like anyone except maybe Maeve.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,997 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

Filling in a job application online. I have a college degree which is specifically relevant to the position I'm applying for, so, is there any need to put my Leaving Cert in the Education section? It seems irrelevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,634 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Filling in a job application online. I have a college degree which is specifically relevant to the position I'm applying for, so, is there any need to put my Leaving Cert in the Education section? It seems irrelevant.

I don't think so.

The best job I ever got I sent in a really minimalist CV which didn't even have my college results on it. I've been bouncing around that organisation ever since.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,818 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I think it can be useful if you're only just out of college as it can help show a more consistent level of achievement (assuming your results weren't ****e :D) but it very quickly becomes completely irrelevant.

Depends. If you did a good leaving cert then put it in, every little helps.

If you don't want to put it in then don't, however, if they want to know they will ask and you will have to discuss in an interview instead.

The other thing is dates. If there is a significant gap between leaving cert and graduate qualification then they will want to discuss that. Having it there means they don't need to worry about that.

errlloyd wrote: »
    I don't think so.

The best job I ever got I sent in a really minimalist CV which didn't even have my college results on it. I've been bouncing around that organisation ever since.

This is pretty much my dream job so I've been overthinking it for the past week. Have to send it off tonight. These online applications are such ****ty things to fill in. They want little mini essays illustrating times I showed this that and the other thing in work. From past experience I find you just need to BS your way to the interview.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Well if you're in Ireland then prospective employers will know what a leaving certificate is which is useful. Unless theyre not Irish. Un which case they don't care most likely, just like I don't care about A Levels or GCSEs or O Levels or OWLs or whatever they do in England.

Depends. If you did a good leaving cert then put it in, every little helps.

If you don't want to put it in then don't, however, if they want to know they will ask and you will have to discuss in an interview instead.

The other thing is dates. If there is a significant gap between leaving cert and graduate qualification then they will want to discuss that. Having it there means they don't need to worry about that.

I don't mind discussing it, I did pretty well and there's a language in there so that might help. I was just wondering if there's any point to it when the degree I have is 100% relevant to the position, whereas an A in Art a few years before seems irrelevant.

I suppose there's no harm putting it on, just in case.

This is pretty much my dream job so I've been overthinking it for the past week. Have to send it off tonight. These online applications are such ****ty things to fill in. They want little mini essays illustrating times I showed this that and the other thing in work. From past experience I find you just need to BS your way to the interview.

No.

Some things are bureaucracy, but a lot of it has a lot more thought behind it than people give credit. If it's that much a dream job then I'd be perfecting everything you send over.

By the way I have a lot of expertise with these sorts of things, PM me if you want a hand with the application.

No.

Some things are bureaucracy, but a lot of it has a lot more thought behind it than people give credit. If it's that much a dream job then I'd be perfecting everything you send over.

By the way I have a lot of expertise with these sorts of things, PM me if you want a hand with the application.

The thing is it's a civil service position, and with previous experience of such things I think you do need to BS the initial self evaluation tests, at least a bit. The one's I've been completely honest on I've been rejected from. The ones where I go a mark above the honest answer, I get through to the next stage. I applied for one a while back and got top marks in both the maths and verbal but didn't get to the next stage because I didn't self evaluate high enough :rolleyes:

This one is a little different though as it requires specific knowledge and the form comes before the test, so who knows. I've spent the last week perfecting it, and a friend of a friend used to work in the department, so I think I've got it as good as I can. Thanks for your offer though.

Good luck anyway TME. Hope you nail it.

This is pretty much my dream job
    The thing is it's a civil service position,

4:30 finished, coffee breaks, unionisation. It's a beautiful dream. :P

Meh. I did that for two years while I was doing exams (over 10 years ago!). It's grand but it does get tiresome. Work savage hours now and whilst I get paid a lot more I also enjoy it a lot more and have higher job satisfaction as a result.

I say "dream job" It's with "Parks and Wildlife" but it's as close to it as I'll get to the "dream job" in Ireland. Could be a great stepping stone though.

The thought of being an actual stereotypical civil servant in a little cubicle in front of a screen hurts my soul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

What are savage hours? Does that mean deadly hours? Or class hours? Or are they brass hours?

• Administrators Posts: 55,127 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

What are savage hours? Does that mean deadly hours? Or class hours? Or are they brass hours?

He works 11 - 3. At night. On the streets.

awec wrote: »

How much does he charge to poop on your chest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,075 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

The thought of being an actual stereotypical civil servant in a little cubicle in front of a screen hurts my soul.

I work in social care
    There are days I dream of a well paid soul sucking office job over a warm feeling of contributing to society but having feck all money..

wp_rathead wrote: »
    I work in social care
    There are days I dream of a well paid soul sucking office job over a warm feeling of contributing to society but having feck all money..

Yes, I know in the ongoing battle of dreams v reality a mortgage usually tips the balance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

I say "dream job" It's with "Parks and Wildlife" but it's as close to it as I'll get to the "dream job" in Ireland. Could be a great stepping stone though.

Is it a ranger/ecologist position? Please be one of the sensible ones, with a bit of common sense, not one of the fanatic ones with no concept of how the real world works! The stories I could tell about NPWS... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,212 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

How much does he charge to poop on your chest?

Awec's confession of his fetish really is the gift that keeps on giving.

awec wrote: »

gobble gobble

Yeah_Right wrote: »

special_gift_fake_poop_in_a_box_1.jpg

Zzippy wrote: »
    Is it a ranger/ecologist position? Please be one of the sensible ones, with a bit of common sense, not one of the fanatic ones with no concept of how the real world works! The stories I could tell about NPWS... ;)

Tis a ranger! I'm not sure I've ever been accused of having common sense before though.

• Administrators Posts: 55,127 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Yeah_Right wrote: »
    mod- banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Tis a ranger! I'm not sure I've ever been accused of having common sense before though.

Don't worry, it's definitely not a requirement of the job from what I've seen! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,833 ✭✭✭CMOTDibbler

Not to interrupt TME's dreams of driving around the Wicklow mountains at night in a landy, trying to catch poachers but I see a Welsh UKIP assembly member suggested that the first minister ask the Irish government to get EU funding for the M4 motorway because a lot of our exports use it.

The reply was priceless:
    The member seems to be urging on me that I should urge the Irish government to apply for European funding to pay for Welsh roads. He has been a member of a party and indeed campaigned in June to end European funding for Welsh roads.
    He cannot, I suggest, go to another EU member state and ask them to make up the shortfall that he himself campaigned to engineer in the first place.

Not to interrupt TME's dreams of driving around the Wicklow mountains at night in a landy, trying to catch poachers but I see a Welsh UKIP assembly member suggested that the first minister ask the Irish government to get EU funding for the M4 motorway because a lot of our exports use it.

The reply was priceless:

What a plank!

As the days tick by it becomes more and more clear that a lot of people had no idea what they were campaigning for, never mind what they were voting for.

EDIT: The replies to an AM's tweet about it are interesting. https://twitter.com/RhunapIorwerth/status/803599871303417857

"Why bother trying to have a trading relationship with Ireland when we can just have a big one with the USA!" kind of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,833 ✭✭✭CMOTDibbler

What a plank!

As the days tick by it becomes more and more clear that a lot of people had no idea what they were campaigning for, never mind what they were voting for.

EDIT: The replies to an AM's tweet about it are interesting. https://twitter.com/RhunapIorwerth/status/803599871303417857

"Why bother trying to have a trading relationship with Ireland when we can just have a big one with the USA!" kind of thing.
    I'm very tempted to edit his Wikipedia page :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 365 ✭✭TeoReid