I have to go to Dublin this weekend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

Try some local lingo lessons.

Storyman = Hello.
    Stall it = Wait here a moment please.
    Skull ih = Drink up.

It's ages since I heard that, :cool: I miss Dublin :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

My tips to survive the place...
    • Luas ticket machines attract junkies and beggars like flies on fresh ****e, if you have to use them do so as quick as possible with coins already in your hand to insert.
    • Wear headphones while walking around the streets, whether there's music on or not it avoids contact with anyone.
    • If you smoke do so somewhere very quiet or the scum will be asking you constantly for "a lend of a smoke" and the only way they will fcuk off is if you headbutt them or give them a kick in the bollix.
    • Never open your wallet on the streets, also there's no such thing as a wallet inspector.
    • The quays in Dublin have a boardwalk near O'Connell Street, the majority of people on it are junkie scum of their faces, best avoid.
    • If your really green and not streewise at all bring 2nd dummy wallet with you that if you are held at knifepoint you can hand it over, have inside various pieces of paper with notes written on them telling the scummer how much of a sucker he was taking it, then laugh at such fun you had in the big smoke on your journey home outsmarting them :D

Yes there is, ignore this.

Seriously though, thats a fierce alarmist list. It's not beirut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Yes there is, ignore this.

Seriously though, thats a fierce alarmist list. It's not beirut.

It's not Craggy Island either :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 681 ✭✭✭Mr. FoggPatches

• Luas ticket machines attract junkies and beggars like flies on fresh ****e, if you have to use them do so as quick as possible with coins already in your hand to insert.
    • Wear headphones while walking around the streets, whether there's music on or not it avoids contact with anyone.
    • If you smoke do so somewhere very quiet or the scum will be asking you constantly for "a lend of a smoke" and the only way they will fcuk off is if you headbutt them or give them a kick in the bollix.
    • Never open your wallet on the streets, also there's no such thing as a wallet inspector.
    • The quays in Dublin have a boardwalk near O'Connell Street, the majority of people on it are junkie scum of their faces, best avoid.
    • If your really green and not streewise at all bring 2nd dummy wallet with you that if you are held at knifepoint you can hand it over, have inside various pieces of paper with notes written on them telling the scummer how much of a sucker he was taking it, then laugh at such fun you had in the big smoke on your journey home outsmarting them :D

Nice tips.
    But seriously f*cking impressive formatting. I bet you work for google or Intel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,043 ✭✭✭Berserker

• Avoid people in yellow 'Concern' jackets (chuggers) around College Green. If they manage to get your attention tell them that you are in a rush.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

mansize wrote: »
    • cvc
    • zvzcx
    • czvcx

tis magic...

Berserker wrote: »
    • Avoid people in yellow 'Concern' jackets (chuggers) around College Green. If they manage to get your attention tell them that you are in a rush.

Or just say GO AWAY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Nice tips.
    But seriously f*cking impressive formatting. I bet you work for google or Intel.

Everyone in Dublin knows how to do bullet lists. Anything to do with guns at all, they'll know it.

I saw it on Love/Hate.

Buy a belt, leave the bailing twine at home with the mother.

• cvc
    • zvzcx
    • czvcx
    • I
    • bet
    • you
    • work
    • for
    • supermacs

• :pac:

Buy a belt, leave the bailing twine at home with the mother.

Also, when the Mammy is wrapping your sandwiches, make sure she uses cling film not silage wrap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

Best of luck OP, I don't envy you

maudgonner wrote: »
    Also, when the Mammy is wrapping your sandwiches, make sure she uses cling film not silage wrap.

Bread wrapper no?

• I
    • bet
    • you
    • work
    • for
    • supermacs

• :pac:

You wouldn't want to be where I work

Bread wrapper no?

Nah, it's not the 80s any more man!

maudgonner wrote: »
    Nah, it's not the 80s any more man!

It is in parts of the midlands/west

Can I wrap my wrap in silage wrap?

Next you'll be telling me they don't put wallpaper on schoolbooks...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭Chuchote

They eat their own in dalkey.

Best of luck.

And steer clear of Killiney, there they not only eat their young, they lick the Spode bone china plates after.

However, in the city centre you can have some fun.
    • Try the famous echo in the National Library.
    • Buildings with a blue light and GS entwined are brothels - it stands for Great Sex.
    • In Grafton Street there are flower stalls. These are specially for tourists, who are encouraged to take some free flowers.
    • Women are not allowed upstairs on buses; it's considered helpful to ask any woman upstairs to leave and travel downstairs.
    • The National Museum has a special section for smokers called the Treasure Room. Go in and light up, they'll be delighted to accommodate you!
    • If people appear not to understand your accent, it's because they've been deafened by the roar of traffic. Talk louder and slower.
    • Northsiders love the British - affect an upper-class English accent and call all men Paddy and they'll love you.
    • If someone says "It's your round" in a pub, it is customary to stand up and turn around and around in a circle.
    • Remember that Dublin speech is not so much an accent as a disease of the sinuses, and tell locals kindly that you understand this.

Can I wrap my wrap in silage wrap?

''Tis far from a wrap you were reared...

A heel of a loaf and some cheese will do ya

''Tis far from a wrap you were reared...

A heel of a loaf and some cheese will do ya

Since the boom it's all wraps and cheeses that aren't cheddar around here. All nicely placed between two buttered slices of batch loaf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

salmocab wrote: »
    No avoid the green, the red runs through the most delightful of places.

No visit to dublin is compete without a tram ride on the red line. Take a tram from one of dublins most exciting trams stops, Jervis or middle abbey street, and mingle with the locals and soak up the atmosphere. Soon you'll leave the hussle and bustle of the city, taking in along the way the stunning beauty of the Unesco world heritage site that is the m50 roundabout at the red cow and after the suburban villages its a short hop on to the relaxing countryside.

Alight at one of the many hamlets along the way and enjoy a pie bald pony adventure to the foothills of the Dublin mountains, marvelling at the carefully discarded rubbish and burned out cars along the way. what better was to refresh yourself then to relax in one of the local hosteleries where you can regale your tales of this unique city.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭HS3

Tell Khlav Kalash I said hello. But don't drink too much of his crab juice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Nice tips.

A soldiers way saves the day, so to speak ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭Klonker

Just a warning so you're not to shocked when you see it for yourself but there are coloured people in Dublin now. Try not to stare and point.

Klonker wrote: »
    Just a warning so you're not to shocked when you see it for yourself but there are coloured people in Dublin now. Try not to stare and point.

I believe so. And from what I've heard it's not even just the girls any more. The fellas do be using the fake tan these days to make themselves orange-coloured too.

Be the hokey!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,590 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

What ever you do in Dublin, just remember to leave when your business is done.
    We have far too many day trippers that still haven't left yet, they've either met a city girl (who is really just eyeing up the farm) or become a Garda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 822 ✭✭✭zetalambda

Just leave your wellie boots at home and you'll be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,647 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Be grand. Plenty of yer sort around the city these days - trying to buy pre-release tickets for the Garth Brooks gig(s) in Croke Park next year.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,970 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Try some local lingo lessons.

Storyman = Hello.
    Stall it = Wait here a moment please.
    Skull ih = Drink up.
    It's ages since I heard that, :cool: I miss Dublin :D

Blast from the past alright..

Although, wasn't "stall it" actually "let's go"?

Still, makes more sense than that bloody "happy out" expression!