Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 3) *Updated Warning in 1st Post Re:Boxing match

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

People always go on about fighters not calling out those above them. People lambasted Ferguson for staying quiet after beating RDA, but the same people call Khabib desperate.

You can't have it both ways.

Khabib has basically turned heel and decided to be the anti-McGregor. He's doing everything everyone says challengers should do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭TimRiggins

People always go on about fighters not calling out those above them. People lambasted Ferguson for staying quiet after beating RDA, but the same people call Khabib desperate.

You can't have it both ways.

Khabib has basically turned heel and decided to be the anti-McGregor. He's doing everything everyone says challengers should do.

He should beat a top 5 fighter before he goes around saying he'll leave if he doesn't a title shot. He's going on like he beat the number one guy and there's no doubt he should get it when Tony Ferguson is equally as deserving. Glad it looks like they're going to fight and if he beats Tony nobody can deny him.

TimRiggins wrote: »
    He should beat a top 5 fighter before he goes around saying he'll leave if he doesn't a title shot. He's going on like he beat the number one guy and there's no doubt he should get it when Tony Ferguson is equally as deserving. Glad it looks like they're going to fight and if he beats Tony nobody can deny him.

Conor never beat a top 5 fighter in the UFC before getting either title fight.

Khabib demolished RDA and just raped Johnson.

He's next in line at 155, anyone who says otherwise is wearing Ferguson tainted glasses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

really think tony-mcgregor or tony-khabib are the only fights to make at 155...tonys on an active 9 fight ufc winning streak, and while khabibs undefeated, hes still only on an 8 fight streak in the ufc...its a joke how anyone thinks he deserves it more than ferguson

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Personally think Ferguson's activity and streak is better and more deserving than Khabib of a title shot, had some very very entertaining fights beating some big names,

Also Dustin Poirier was ranked 5th when he ko'd him, he also beat Mendes the number 1 contender before fighting for the lineal title.

He's next in line at 155, anyone who says otherwise is wearing Ferguson tainted glasses.

nate diaz was ranked top 5 at 155 when conor bet him...and i know it was at 170 but its still the same guy

he destroyed rda fair enough but that was two years ago and while he did win well against johnson, to say he raped him is a bit much, johnson had him very badly rocked in the first

and lets not forget tony is on a run of 5 performance bonuses which should definitely be a factor

Depp wrote: »
    nate diaz was ranked top 5 at 155 when conor bet him...and i know it was at 170 but its still the same guy
    Nate didn't get #5 when he out pointed Johnson. He beat him comfortably but be never looked like finishing him, and Conor fought Nate at 170, not 155.
    Nate only got to #5 at 155 when he beat Conor up on his feet, forced him to panic wrestle, beat the **** of him from mount and then choked him out. At 170.
    he destroyed rda fair enough but that was two years ago and while he did win well against johnson, to say he raped him is a bit much, johnson had him very badly rocked in the first

No, Khabib raped Johnson. Johnson clipped Khabib, but people are acting like Khabib was out on his feet counting stars. He wasn't, he was wobbled and then regrouped, took MJ down and raped him until the end of the fight.

Conor became one of the biggest stars in the sport while keeping active, had 3 performance in the night bonuses in a row and beat Poirier who was ranked #5 at the time.

Khabib demolished RDA 2 and a half years ago. Since then he's beaten Darrell Horcher and Michael Johnson. Tony Ferguson has kept incredibly active, since he beat RDA, Khabib fought twice, Tony has fought 8 times since then. I don't have Ferguson tainted glasses I like both fighters but Khabib needs to fight more. Simple. If he fights Tony he gets a title shot no question, and its whats the right thing to do if McGregors taking time off.

You can't compare McGregor getting a title shot to Khabib deserving one as its completely different circumstances

Nate got to #5 when he out pointed Johnson. He beat him comfortably but be never looked like finishing him, and Conor fought nate at 170, not 155.

thats why I said it was at 170?:confused: dont really get the logic in this, weight class doesnt change that the man standing across the cage from him was nate diaz
    No, Khabib raped Johnson. Johnson clipped Khabib, but people are acting like Khabib was out on his feet counting stars. He wasn't, he was wobbled and then regrouped, took MJ down and raped him until the end of the fight.

as I said, khabib won well, johnsons guard attempts were woeful, but he still wobbled him, khabib on the feet is average at best and hes gotten away with it so far cause hes so good on the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

really think tony-mcgregor or tony-khabib are the only fights to make at 155...tonys on an active 9 fight ufc winning streak,
    For a second there I thought you were talking about Conor's dad

thats why I said it was at 170?:confused: dont really get the logic in this, weight class doesnt change that the man standing across the cage from him was nate diaz

as I said, khabib won well, johnsons guard attempts were woeful, but he still wobbled him, khabib on the feet is average at best and hes gotten away with it so far cause hes so good on the ground.

Do you really think Ferguson is ahead of Khabib?

Because I don't.

And I don't think Conor should be allowed fight either until after he defends the 145 belt anyway. And even that won't be until after May, so why pretend it even matters?

If Conor doesn't defend the 145 belt (which I don't think he ever will) I see his next fight being against Nate.

Not because it's the right fight or because Nate deserves it (and I love Nate Diaz) but because it's the "business" move.

Who's next is a moot point. Ferguson, Khabib, Nate, Cerrone, My mother's cousin, it doesn't matter. The UFC won't give the fight to whoever deserves it, they'll give it to the biggest "draw", which is bull****.

Next June/July Conor will fight either Nate at 155 or whoever has the belt at 170 (Woodley, Wonderboy or Maia).

Do you really think Ferguson is ahead of Khabib?

Because I don't.

And I don't think Conor should be allowed fight either until after he defends the 145 belt anyway. And even that won't be until after May, so why pretend it even matters?

If Conor doesn't defend the 145 belt (which I don't think he ever will) I see his next fight being against Nate.

Not because it's the right fight or because Nate deserves it (and I love Nate Diaz) but because it's the "business" move.

Who's next is a moot point. Ferguson, Khabib, Nate, Cerrone, My mother's cousin, it doesn't matter. The UFC won't give the fight to whoever deserves it, they'll give it to the biggest "draw", which is bull****.

Next June/July Conor will fight either Nate at 155 or whoever has the belt at 170 (Woodley, Wonderboy or Maia).

I dunno I just dont see how a guy whos won twice in the last two years takes it over a guy whos won 8 in the same period of time.

agree the 145 fight should be next and have khabib-ferg co-main for the next 155 shot...I hope they dont go down the diaz route either, fuck that!

Would love to see Cowboy back in the mix at 155 v Khabib or Tony.

Gamebred wrote: »
    Would love to see Cowboy back in the mix at 155 v Khabib or Tony.

Was really looking forward to Cowboy v Khabib at 187 before Khabib got injured. Can't wait to see Khabib fight Tony or Cowboy to see how he deals with a good striker and a good guard game.

I dunno I just dont see how a guy whos won twice in the last two years takes it over a guy whos won 8 in the same period of time.

agree the 145 fight should be next and have khabib-ferg co-main for the next 155 shot...I hope they dont go down the diaz route either, fuck that!

Like I said, I love Nate (and Nick). I love their never quit, who gives a feck style and attitude, but Nate doesn't deserve a title shot.

I honestly don't see Conor sacrificing a money fight against Nate/Wonderboy/Whoever@170 for either Ferguson, Khabib or Aldo.

But in reality there should only be one fight in his immediate future, a unification fight with Aldo.

I agree than Ferguson and Khabib should have a #1 contenders fight in the meantime, and the best thing about that is it doesn't need to be on the under card, it's headliner in it's own right either on a numbered card or on FS1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,140 ✭✭✭dashoonage

Tis gas everyone slating Khabib for this...sure this the same as the double champ did to aldo at FW. Fair play to khabib he wants that gold and he is making dam sure everyone knows it. He's playing the game and making a dam good job of it lately, poor English or not. Every story has Khabib slap bang in the middle of it now.

Do people really expect no one to be allowed call out mcgregor ? should the division just sit quietly an wait until he picks one of them ?

**** no lads...this is great..more people should be like this...Tony should be screaming his head off right now.

dashoonage wrote: »
    Tis gas everyone slating Khabib for this...sure this the same as the double champ did to aldo at FW. Fair play to khabib he wants that gold and he is making dam sure everyone knows it. He's playing the game and making a dam good job of it lately, poor English or not. Every story has Khabib slap bang in the middle of it now.

Do people really expect no one to be allowed call out mcgregor ? should the division just sit quietly an wait until he picks one of them ?

**** no lads...this is great..more people should be like this...Tony should be screaming his head off right now.

Nobody is slating him. We're saying he could do with one more win before he deserves a shot, especially with the run Tony is on and with Conor taking time off.

FWIW, I thought his promo at UFC 205 was legendary.

We're saying he could do with one more win before he deserves a shot, especially with the run Tony is on and with Conor taking time off.
    Yeah, he just needs that magic 25th win imo

Mellor wrote: »
    Yeah, he just needs that magic 25th win imo

Or his 3rd win in what will be 3 years by the time he fights again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,649 ✭✭✭Whelo79

This is the main point for me.

If Ferguson wasn't on a 9 fight win streak I'd have no problem with Khabib getting the shot, no questions asked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,718 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Can we not just leave it at both of them are valid, worthy contenders and unless they fight each other before getting a shot, one of them will be left fuming?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭CurryFlavoured

I think Ferg should get the shot but either guy is worthy, Khabib may have been inactive and has few big wins but going by the performances you can tell the man is a beast. Problem is Tony is too quiet, and has been for years despite being a contender. Weird bloke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

I like the way Khabib is going after Conor. Fair play to him. I'd be happy to see Conor drop the FW belt and fight Khabib next.

The problem with the 24-0 record argument is he fought absolutely nobodies until his 18th fight, up till then its a bunch of Russian bin men.

I was joking.
    But if the issue is his inactivity (due to injury), then say its inactivity.

Citing his wins or streak undermines your point tbh.
    Whelo79 wrote: »
    If Ferguson wasn't on a 9 fight win streak I'd have no problem with Khabib getting the shot, no questions asked.
    Khabib is on a 24 fight streak. With 8 fights in the UFC.
    Obvious 9>8, but the difference is minor. They are both incredible streaks. Suggesting this is what separates the is bizarre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,339 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

Gamebred wrote: »
    The problem with the 24-0 record argument is he fought absolutely nobodies until his 18th fight, up till then its a bunch of Russian bin men.

Fairly normal for fighters with records like that to have fought poor opposition, in fact, pretty much every fighter, boxing and mma who is on the way up fight journeymen and bums to boost the confidence, give them experience while ensuring they continue on the upward trajectory.

The fact is he is unbeaten in MMA, 8 from 8 in the UFC, he has dominated anyone put in front of him, which is all you can do and he is good value for a title shot. Did you complain when McGregor got the title shot off the back of luminaries such as Siver?

Ferguson is on a great run, also fully deserving of a shot, the best thing to do in the 55 division is have them fight, winner obviously gets the next shot. With McGregor taking the time off it seems the only reasonable thing to do, if he is wanting to keep that 45 belt that has to be the next fight anyway so it is going to be a long time before he is defending the 55 belt.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

Fairly normal for fighters with records like that to have fought poor opposition, in fact, pretty much every fighter, boxing and mma who is on the way up fight journeymen and bums to boost the confidence, give them experience while ensuring they continue on the upward trajectory.

The fact is he is unbeaten in MMA, 8 from 8 in the UFC, he has dominated anyone put in front of him, which is all you can do and he is good value for a title shot. Did you complain when McGregor got the title shot off the back of luminaries such as Siver?

Ferguson is on a great run, also fully deserving of a shot, the best thing to do in the 55 division is have them fight, winner obviously gets the next shot. With McGregor taking the time off it seems the only reasonable thing to do, if he is wanting to keep that 45 belt that has to be the next fight anyway so it is going to be a long time before he is defending the 55 belt.

Lets not start the Siver argument please we know it was a fight to keep him busy he had earned the shot before that fight was made by ko'ing Dustin inside 1 round,

Yeah the level of opposition is usually poor on everyones record at the start of their career but at the same point in McGregor's he was ko'ing Dustin on ppv cards in Vegas,

People are making out hes gone through everyone in the division, he has 1 stoppage win over 1 decent fighter in MJ (far from elite), decisions against Pat Healy and Abel Triujllo just cut it in comparison to Fergusons record of 12-1 overall IMO, I'd give it to Ferguson personally as hes more likely to show up and has done enough recently to get the fight,

This will probably be all irrelevant should they fight each other next for an interim or no 1 contender fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭eddie73

Kahbib has had 2 operations and a broken rib to put up with in the past 2 years. That is why he wasnt fighting. Not sure why he needs to prove himself worthy because he was injured. It could happen to anybody. I hope that he and Fergeson fight each other next if McGregor is off the roster. The problem is that Kahbib may not get a shot at him even if he wins v Fergeson, as McGregor could well go and fight up another weight, fight Nate Diaz or even fight outside of the UFC (Mayweather).

dashoonage wrote: »

he can call out jon jones for all I care, just my opinion is tony is ahead of him in the pecking order, he's been the more active fighter and he has a longer ufc win streak.

Does the UFC as a business want Khabib as champion? A ''grappler'' who has a poor injury record also a Muslim in todays Murica(it shouldnt matter but it needs to be discussed), it doesnt sell surely and as a business I can see them picking Ferguson getting the nod ahead if Conor is to defend the 155 soon, the brass cant control the results but they can sure as hell make the fight with the more upside for either winner.