Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 3) *Updated Warning in 1st Post Re:Boxing match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Bowlardo

give back the 145. he has held two belts at the one time.
    It is beyond a joke he has not defended his 145 belt in a year. You should have to defend a belt every 6-8 months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

Is there any likelihood they are looking at aldo v goat? Could conor even fight legally this close to his last fight or is the cut etc just impossible from this close!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭TimRiggins

ardinn wrote: »
    Is there any likelihood they are looking at aldo v goat? Could conor even fight legally this close to his last fight or is the cut etc just impossible from this close!

None whatsoever. Conor could fight but it will never happen. I doubt Aldo would even agree to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,140 ✭✭✭dashoonage

Here is how I see it going down. Max becomes interm champ. Refuse to fight aldo. Meanwhile khabib becomes interm at lw. Max  and khabib fight. Max becomes the ufc first interm double champ.

Because **** logic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭TimRiggins

dashoonage wrote: »
    Here is how I see it going down. Max becomes interm champ. Refuse to fight aldo. Meanwhile khabib becomes interm at lw. Max and khabib fight. Max becomes the ufc first interm double champ.

Because **** logic.

Nah.

4 man tournament.

Max v Khabib
    Aldo v Diaz

Winner of it all gets to wait for Conor to return and then wait some more when he fights Woodley.

Hold on....what if we give both max and pettis interim belts...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭Duff

We should also introduce 5-a-side boxing on the undercard.

Duff wrote: »
    We should also introduce 5-a-side boxing on the undercard.

Too easy for mcgregor. Sure he would tune mayweather up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

It about this time John usually shows up!! Right when the place goes off on one!!

John - Whats the story??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,545 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

I think he'll fight Cormier next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,849 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

As much as I'd be loath to suggest that the UFC copy anything that boxing does I think they did do the right thing when Vladimir Klitschko decided to take some time off to go into politics full time:
    On 15 December 2013, Vitali Klitschko stepped back from boxing. He was announced champion emeritus, which means that if he wants to return to boxing, he can fight the WBC Heavyweight Champion without having any fights beforehand.

link

Conor has held two belts and made history, fair play to him. Now its time to strip him of that featherweight belt, he has helt it for a year and not defended. Max is on a crazy winning streak and he shouldn't be held up by Conor holding the belt and not defending it, I don't see why they don't just do Aldo v Max and winner is undisputed champion.

Before the Conor fanboys jump on me, I am a massive Conor fan but he obviously has no interest in featherweight and from his camp you would think he is more likely to fight Woodley than to fight Aldo next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

I don't see why they don't just do Aldo v Max and winner is undisputed champion.

Max is booked to fight Pettis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

Does Pettis really deserve a shot at the interim title?

• Site Banned Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Second Toughest in_the Freshers

champion emeritus,
    Conor for pope

Lukker- wrote:
    Does Pettis really deserve a shot at the interim title?

The reality is the Max V Pettis fight was a fight to determine who would fight Aldo for the interim title. DC getting injured has fecked that up. So Pettis may get a shot at the interim purely because DC got injured.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Trying to add prestige now that the arse fell out of 206, Aldo is ''retired'' according to himself and his team so where does that leave us when the winner of this Pettis Max fight wants to unify their belt? complete mess, the only silver lining is a full 5 rounder between Holloway and Pettis which is a cracking fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

The reality is the Max V Pettis fight was a fight to determine who would fight Aldo for the interim title. DC getting injured has fecked that up. So Pettis may get a shot at the interim purely because DC got injured.

Bit of a joke having a fighter who is 1-3 in his last fights but I guess that's what the division has come too

Nothing against Pettis but I hope Max schools him he deserves his shot.

Max V Pettis has all the potential to be a fantastic fight. The interim thing is a joke. It's a weird one tho. 206 is a solid card. I guess a non title headline ppv is unheard of these days. Wouldnt be surprised if Conor said he would fight Aldo at 206. Would be hilarious to see the response from the Aldo camp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

He's been the most active fighter for 2 years, why is there a problem with him taking 5/6 months off.......in that time Ferguson could take on Khabib and Aldo/Holloway........McGregor could then face the winners of both mid Summer and Novemberish.......that's defending both belts, Aldo has fought 3 times in 3 years and Khabib probably even less, give them fights..

or strip him of the lightweight belt and watch it go back prelims

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,293 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

It would devalue both belts doing this. Handing Aldo the real belt after getting sparked would feel hollow even for him I'd imagine. Everyone knows he doesn't deserve to be handed that.

The interim is fairly rubbish as is, creating essentially a second interim while neither McGregor or Aldo are injured is nonsense.

Not like claiming Max v Pettis is an interim title fight is going to sell a bunch more ppvs anyway.

Having Rumble vs Gus or Bader for an interim LW makes much more sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭Fromvert

Holloway v Pettis looks great on paper but I can see it being a one way beating. Holloway being the man handing it out.

Wonder if them trying to take McGregor's belt will get him to jump back in and fight Aldo in the new year.

I'd disagree (as a Holloway fan) Pettis is finally getting a styles match up here somebody who wont wanna try grapple him in pure striking Pettis is better than Holloway, I think its a 50/50 fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,545 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Fromvert wrote: »
    Wonder if them trying to take McGregor's belt will get him to jump back in and fight Aldo in the new year.

I'd say that's probably the point of it, trying to pressure him into defending it. Still don't think he will though, even though I'd love to see him knock the bitter head off Aldo again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭Fromvert

He got that with Barboza and was chewed up. RDA was able to do it aswell. Barboza obviously is a fantastic striker but Holloway's stand up is up there too.
    He hasn't fought a lot of strikers and I think his stand up is over rated because of him out striking very good guys but guys who weren't bringing a high level of stand up. Outside of Cerrone/Barboza his UFC run has a lot of all rounded type guys in it, but not guys he would of had to worry about on the feet.

Max wins a belt McGregor is going to destroy them on social media, 2 guys holding belts who he's already beaten easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭finglashoop

Gamebred wrote: »
    Max wins a belt McGregor is going to destroy them on social media, 2 guys holding belts who he's already beaten easily.

Maybe Diaz will do the same. Easily dispatched mcgregor and he has two belts.

Well he has been already if you look at his instagram, Diaz had the more decisive win over him with the submission but when the 2 men had full camps McGregor beat him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭finglashoop

Gamebred wrote: »
    Well he has been already if you look at his instagram, Diaz had the more decisive win over him with the submission but when the 2 men had full camps McGregor beat him.

Yep. Im sure both men would like a rematch same as mcgregor got when he was decisively beaten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

you cant win a 145 pound belt in a 170 pound fight or did I miss something?