Louise O Neill on rape culture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

onthemitch wrote: »
    I don't really see how, if Donald Trump is at one end of your scale, Panti is at the other – what is your issue with Panti, or Louise, for that matter?

because the different between Louise and indeed everybody else, is she actually hates men. and she is quite proud of that fact also.

the sheer hatred she is trying to instill on others, that is certainly not needed, is doing nothing but causing a divide between everybody.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭me_right_one

Donald Trump hates Mexicans, Muslims, and has little respect for women. Generally considered right wing.

Panti hates heterosexual normative behaviour, conservative views / society, and acts this out by "killing with kindness". He would be considered left wing.

Louise hates men, the notion of the traditional nuclear family, and everyone who disagrees with her. She'd be considered left wing aswell. (As an aside, I wonder does she hate Panti, who is actually a man?)

All told, the most common thread between these figures is the term "hate". The second most common thread is the fact that they are "extremes" of their particular world view. I know of not one single person who thinks the way any of the three aforementioned stooges do.

The mystery is, why are they the ones constantly in the media? They certainly do not represent the average man / woman that I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,151 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Donald Trump hates Mexicans, Muslims, and has little respect for women. Generally considered right wing.

Panti hates heterosexual normative behaviour, conservative views / society, and acts this out by "killing with kindness". He would be considered left wing.

Louise hates men, the notion of the traditional nuclear family, and everyone who disagrees with her. She'd be considered left wing aswell. (As an aside, I wonder does she hate Panti, who is actually a man?)

All told, the most common thread between these figures is the term "hate". The second most common thread is the fact that they are "extremes" of their particular world view. I know of not one single person who thinks the way any of the three aforementioned stooges do.

The mystery is, why are they the ones constantly in the media? They certainly do not represent the average man / woman that I know.

what exactly are you basing this on? He hates not having the same rights as heterosexual people but that is not what you said.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 129 ✭✭RonFan

mzungu wrote: »
    That is not a valid analogy at all. You seem to be buying into the idea that the vast majority of men in the world are sexually frustrated because a minority are getting all the sex. Do you have anything to back this up?

Furthermore, for your analogy to stand up to scrutiny, there would had to have been little to no sexual assaults prior to the time when sexual liberation took hold. We all know that this is not the case.

So, I don't believe sexual assaults can be explained by simply transplanting capitalist and communist economic models into the equation. It completely neglects the complex realities of matter.

When it comes to sexual assaults it does indeed get more complicated, but it's at least an apt argument against communism in it's conventional form. The sexual marketplace and the economy are intimately bound so that they share their "complex realities". In terms of sexual distribution, "sexual liberation" is just like the unregulated free market, and the traditional set up of marriage is like communism. You cannot possibly be for communism and "sexual liberation" simultaneously without being a hypocrite, unless it meant that men would get to choose whenever and whoever they wanted for sex, which would in turn be anything but liberation for females.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭pumpkin4life

Societies become more left over time until the bad thing happens. This happens when your society gains a certain level of prosperity.

Then you have the situation with the universities and the stratification between the left and the right; this also happens over time: months years and decades. This becomes so strong that richer, well off people begin implementing policies which are directly against the interest of the average man/woman. Because the D4 crowd live in their own bubble, they are able to pursue these policies/ideas with no backlash to them because non-linearity/technology/cheap financial credit.

The most powerful people who run your country occupy/have deep connections with the media. Meanwhile families who can afford to send little Timmy to do an arts degree in English literature. These people are part of this "elite" group of people. They are smart enough to understand the theory/not smart enough to think around the theory and end up working for The Irish Times/The Journal. Being more naturally left, they go on to convince others that what they think is hip and cool and down with the kids and all that shìte. More people go with the tide. Add in youthful, mum and dad are a bunch of stuffy twats, and leftism accelerates further.

Leftism begins in the universities. If you want to see where this is headed in the next few years, read some of the UCD/TCD student newspapers ad the opinion pieces.

What's happening now though is the growth of the alt-right, which is something I think nay cùnt or very few saw coming.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 267 ✭✭Muhammed_1

I agree that it is teachers and universities who have misled their students and who have encouraged their students to think and act in silly ways. I recall my first history lesson and it was that we cannot judge the past by modern standards, and we cannot be idealistic in our studies. Both lessons seem not to be taught anymore.

Liberalism has no substance and its adherents often come across, to normal people, as weirdos.

Forcing gay culture and multiculturalism onto our societies will end in unrest and probably bloodshed. My intention or preference would be to fight rather than to accept these changes.

The current gender wars could well destroy the west. We are allowing Islam a free reign and they do not care about gay rights, or minority rights. When Europe falls to Islam gayness will be again criminalised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,214 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Muhammed_1 wrote: »
    I agree that it is teachers and universities who have misled their students and who have encouraged their students to think and act in silly ways. I recall my first history lesson and it was that we cannot judge the past by modern standards, and we cannot be idealistic in our studies. Both lessons seem not to be taught anymore.

Liberalism has no substance and its adherents often come across, to normal people, as weirdos.

Forcing gay culture and multiculturalism onto our societies will end in unrest and probably bloodshed. My intention or preference would be to fight rather than to accept these changes.

The current gender wars could well destroy the west. We are allowing Islam a free reign and they do not care about gay rights, or minority rights. When Europe falls to Islam gayness will be again criminalised.

It's all going to pot, lads!!

What's happening now though is the growth of the alt-right, which is something I think nay cùnt or very few saw coming.

I'm not sure what the "alt" refers to in the term alt-right, but to say nobody saw FF getting the boot for FG, brexit, trump, etc. occuring is naive in the extreme. Its obvious that whoever DIDNT see this coming are part of the ones living in the bubble, swallowing the whole left-wing media campaign. Boards does not represent the average Irish person.

Ordinary people are p1ssed off. But we do not have a voice. The 3 million of us living outside dublin are p1ssed off that dublin gets all the infrastructure / money etc while entire villages are emptying out due to lack of basic investment. The private sector is p1ssed off that the public sector are moaning eventhough they have it better than anyone else. The 84% of us who are Catholic are p1ssed off that there is nothing but Catholic-bashing going on in the media. The parents of young Irish emigrants are p1ssed off that the boss sacked them to give their job to a foreigner to save a few hundred quid per year, ironically pushing the cycle on. Those of us who are straight and believe in normal family situations are p1ssed off because we're branded as homophobes. Students are p1ssed off because colleges seem more interested in making money than teaching you anything. Carers of the disabled are p1ssed off because their money was cut while TD's get a 5K per year pay increase and are told, "well its your own fault, if abortion was legal, you could have just aborted your disabled child instead". Road users are p1ssed off because insurance now costs more than your car is worth. Tennants are p1ssed off that those with the monopoly on property are blatantly using it to rip others off. The general public are p1ssed off that crime is happening willie-nilly and sentencing is a joke. Guards are p1ssed off because they can, and have, been killed just doing their job. Likewise with the army.

But yet, we have these sheltered naifs like LON preaching to us from her platform like SHE has problems. FFS:mad:

And these same problems are happening right across the "Western" world. Its almost like..... a liberal agenda of some sort:rolleyes:

You do post some awful shoite.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 393 ✭✭Mortpourvelo

You do post some awful shoite.

+12,956

And yet you are unable to challenge what I say.

I'm not sure what the "alt" refers to in the term alt-right, but to say nobody saw FF getting the boot for FG, brexit, trump, etc. occuring is naive in the extreme. Its obvious that whoever DIDNT see this coming are part of the ones living in the bubble, swallowing the whole left-wing media campaign. Boards does not represent the average Irish person.

Ordinary people are p1ssed off. But we do not have a voice. The 3 million of us living outside dublin are p1ssed off that dublin gets all the infrastructure / money etc while entire villages are emptying out due to lack of basic investment. The private sector is p1ssed off that the public sector are moaning eventhough they have it better than anyone else. The 84% of us who are Catholic are p1ssed off that there is nothing but Catholic-bashing going on in the media. The parents of young Irish emigrants are p1ssed off that the boss sacked them to give their job to a foreigner to save a few hundred quid per year, ironically pushing the cycle on. Those of us who are straight and believe in normal family situations are p1ssed off because we're branded as homophobes. Students are p1ssed off because colleges seem more interested in making money than teaching you anything. Carers of the disabled are p1ssed off because their money was cut while TD's get a 5K per year pay increase and are told, "well its your own fault, if abortion was legal, you could have just aborted your disabled child instead". Road users are p1ssed off because insurance now costs more than your car is worth. Tennants are p1ssed off that those with the monopoly on property are blatantly using it to rip others off. The general public are p1ssed off that crime is happening willie-nilly and sentencing is a joke. Guards are p1ssed off because they can, and have, been killed just doing their job. Likewise with the army.

But yet, we have these sheltered naifs like LON preaching to us from her platform like SHE has problems. FFS:mad:

And these same problems are happening right across the "Western" world. Its almost like..... a liberal agenda of some sort:rolleyes:

I predicted all three of these not to toot the aul horn. :D Arrogant pumpkin lad that I am.

But yeah yous are right. I'm surprised how far and the speed at which the alt right has grown. By alt right I mean alternative conservatism (Trump, Le Pen, Brietbart etc)

And yet you are unable to challenge what I say.

Easy. Islam will never take over the world. Because it's a bunch of **** led by an insane book written by an incestuous paedophile.

We have the LGBT community marrying.
    Islam would have them thrown off buildings or beheaded.

I predicted all three of these not to toot the aul horn. :D Arrogant pumpkin lad that I am.

Did you have the in a Yankee with Leicester ????

Can I have a dig out ??!!

Did you have the in a Yankee with Leicester ????

Can I have a dig out ??!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

The first paragraph rings true to me and I'd like to add ''objectivity'' to that. It seems to have become extinct.

Did I post the following text into this thread earlier?

The forced mixing of seperate and incompatible cultures is leading to social unrest and increased polarisation and division.

It seems obvious really that that would be the ultimate result.

Liberals say that if Islam, or gay culture, is incompatible with the West then the West must change.

Many non-liberals are horrified at that admission.

A majority do not want our societies to change. A majority reject gay culture and multiculturalism.

Politics has proven itself to be incapable of solving this problem, or even of addressing this problem.

We will bring in hate crime laws. They will make no difference. We will end up with a fractured society, at war with itself, or at risk of war with itself.

I have no intention of accepting the death cult that is Islam. I am ashamed that so many of my countrymen do accept it, and that so many refuse to stand up against slavery and oppression.

That is why liberals are so hated nowadays. Because it is inevitable that they will cause war.

Did I post the following text into this thread earlier?

The forced mixing of seperate and incompatible cultures is leading to social unrest and increased polarisation and division.

It seems obvious really that that would be the ultimate result.

Liberals say that if Islam, or gay culture, is incompatible with the West then the West must change.

Many non-liberals are horrified at that admission.

A majority do not want our societies to change. A majority reject gay culture and multiculturalism.

Politics has proven itself to be incapable of solving this problem, or even of addressing this problem.

We will bring in hate crime laws. They will make no difference. We will end up with a fractured society, at war with itself, or at risk of war with itself.

I have no intention of accepting the death cult that is Islam. I am ashamed that so many of my countrymen do accept it, and that so many refuse to stand up against slavery and oppression.

That is why liberals are so hated nowadays. Because it is inevitable that they will cause war.

funny that a majority decided to vote for gay marriage if a majority are opposed to gay culture.

In fairness, less than half the voting population turned out to vote, and 40% of those voted no. Hardly a landslide majority.

In fairness he/she didn't say gay people, they said gay culture. I'm bi and find it irritating when people kind of celebrate the fact when I only want indifference. People make an awfully big deal about gayness sometimes.

Yes, it is gay culture I am opposed to rather than gayness itself.

I have no problem with individual gays.

I do have a problem with people like Conchita Wurst. She is a man with a beard wearing a slim fitting dress, with boobs I think, and female hair styling.

She represents gay culture. As do hipsters with manicured beards.

Our societies have become very gay. Gays are way over-represented in TV and on telly.

People are seeking to jump onto the gay bandwagon.

I reject gay culture and the gayification of my country and society.

Am I allowed to have that opinion?

Why do gays insist that gayness is normal but then refuse to discuss gay sex acts?
    Consumption of a marraige is a vital legal step and failure to consumate a marraige is grounds for divorce.

Why do gays and lesbians refuse to say how they consumate their marraiges?
    Are they embarrassed?

What is the legal situation?
    Are our politicians and judges too embarrassed to tell us?

In Norway your gender is a choice which you can freely make. That makes a mockery of gender. It is not progressive, it is silly and childish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,849 ✭✭✭professore

What's gay culture? Sharia law I understand how that would affect me, but gay culture? Are you forced to wear a village people outfit or something? Do you have to shag another man once a month?

Sure there are lots of gays on TV, but that's always been the case!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,568 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

Why do gays insist that gayness is normal but then refuse to discuss gay sex acts?

If you rejected my right to express my sexuality and then demanded to k ow the specific intimite details of my sex life, I'd probably be reluctant to discuss it with you too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

I do have a problem with people like Conchita Wurst. She is a man with a beard wearing a slim fitting dress, with boobs I think, and female hair styling.

Our societies have become very gay. Gays are way over-represented in TV and on telly.

Consumption of a marraige is a vital legal step and failure to consumate a marraige is grounds for divorce.

Are they embarrassed?

In Norway your gender is a choice which you can freely make. That makes a mockery of gender. It is not progressive, it is silly and childish.

How far removed from intolerant Islam are you then? No, you are not throwing gays or hipsters off a building. Muslims in the UK are not either.

You say Islam is intolerant, but you slam gay culture and then slam Hipsters? Most hipsters are probably not gay, you realise?

Would you consider heavy metallers "gay" because some of them have long hair?

FFS man, give over.

This thread (which started ok but turned into a feeding frenzy), has at least given me a new favourite word.

Gayification sounds like something we need more of. I'm not sure what it is in this context, but I'm all for it. I'm all for anything anyone wants to do that doesn't affect anyone else. Which includes manicuring your beard or wearing whatever you want and being whoever you want to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 combustible

yeah i guess but does it not hurt keeping your head so far up your @ss like that

and do you not think it's weird for someone so anti-islam to have use a name with very close ties to that religion as their username? lmao

"gays are over represented on telly" what are you watching. are you not happy with only a 90% straight snorefest? :( boo hoo

it's 2016. calm down. listen to others. put some fcking love in yr heart. there's no need to feel the way you do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Candie wrote: »
    This thread (which started ok but turned into a feeding frenzy), has at least given me a new favourite word.

Gayification sounds like something we need more of. I'm not sure what it is in this context, but I'm all for it. I'm all for anything anyone wants to do that doesn't affect anyone else. Which includes manicuring your beard or wearing whatever you want and being whoever you want to be.

That's the brilliant thing about living in a democracy. You can live your life how you choose as long as you are causing no harm to anyone.

In fairness, less than half the voting population turned out to vote, and 40% of those voted no. Hardly a landslide majority.

62% turnout for the referendum. But dont let get in the way of your nonsense.

Are they embarrassed?

How is somebody elses sex life any of your business?

yeah i guess but does it not hurt keeping your head so far up your @ss like that

and do you not think it's weird for someone so anti-islam to have use a name with very close ties to that religion as their username? lmao

"gays are over represented on telly" what are you watching. are you not happy with only a 90% straight snorefest? :( boo hoo

it's 2016. calm down. listen to others. put some fcking love in yr heart. there's no need to feel the way you do

Why is it a snore fest if people are straight? How do you discern that anyway? Possibly because they don't tell you? It's not often relevant unless you're dealing with someone in a romantic context, but it seems to be the main part of a lot of peoples' identity.

I know Mohammeds and Ajaz-es and Faisals who bash the hell out of Islam.