If you see other irish abroad, do you approach?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

You'd want to be a special dopey kind of person to go to a European city and be surprised and delighted to see someone Irish.
    In more off the beaten track kind of places fair enough, it's usually a where are you from? what are you doing here? exchange and on you both go.

I live in Edinburgh, it's full of Irish the 6 Nations game every 2 years is almost like a home game at this stage.
    I'm more excited to meet, genuine, born and bred Edinburgh folk these days, I'm not exaggerating when I say, I know 1, maybe 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

BabyE wrote: »
    Hearing your own tribe can make you very happy, it works on a tier system.
    Your city
    Your county
    Your country
    Brits
    Americans
    Australians/NZ
    Western Europeans
    Other
    Doesn't work like that for me at all.

I'll happily talk to anybody who is not a prick, and happily avoid/get away from those who are pricks. Regardless of where they are from.

The whole "wow, you're from XYZ too?" thing lasts about 30 seconds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Stillhouette

I do my best not to talk to people at home so I do the same abroad. If I hear an accent or see a jersey that says they're Irish I go very quiet until they're gone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

osarusan wrote: »
    Doesn't work like that for me at all.

I'll happily talk to anybody who is not a prick, and happily avoid/get away from those who are pricks. Regardless of where they are from.

The whole "wow, you're from XYZ too?" thing lasts about 30 seconds.

I am with you on this one. Your accent is not what matters to me, your personality is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭BuyersRemorse

razorblunt wrote: »
    You'd want to be a special dopey kind of person to go to a European city and be surprised and delighted to see someone Irish.
    In more off the beaten track kind of places fair enough, it's usually a where are you from? what are you doing here? exchange and on you both go.

I live in Edinburgh, it's full of Irish the 6 Nations game every 2 years is almost like a home game at this stage.
    I'm more excited to meet, genuine, born and bred Edinburgh folk these days, I'm not exaggerating when I say, I know 1, maybe 2.

I'm from Edinburgh originally, but living in Ireland. A few years ago, RTE news did a story about Irish people being able to study at Scottish Universities free, and as part of the report, interviewed a bunch of girls who were studying nursing in Edinburgh. They were sitting in the Irish themed pub that they met up in every week, in their words 'to catch up with other folk from back home'. Edinburgh has some of the finest pubs you could ever visit, but this lot would rather sit in some Diddle-ee-Dee Plastic Paddy Craphole. God forbid they may be taken out of their comfort zone and associate with (gulp) actual Scottish people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,782 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I was in Texas last month, went on a day tour to see some of Texas and where President LBJ was from.
    I was on a minibus, there was the driver and 4 Americans apart from myself. After the day touring and as we got back towards where we were started, the bus driver who had been friendly from start to finish was obviously listening to me and my Irish accent, so he says 'I was born in Limerick and spent my first 12 years there before the family moved to the US'.
    There had been no hint as he now had an American accent.
    So with me being from Kilkenny, I thought, 'great chance to confuse the Americans here' so started talking about hurling and did he play...
    I like meeting Irish people abroad, but then I like meeting anyone abroad who is simply friendly.
    So if the setting is right, I would approach, especially as I like to travel on my own.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

leggo wrote: »
    I used to get caught in situations like that with randomers talking the ear off me and disturbing me but I've no time for it anymore. Unless I'm in the mood, if that happened I'd say "Sorry I'm actually alright just having a coffee here by myself" then watch him until he left. If you don't want to have the chats, it's rude of someone to ear rape you. I don't care if he thinks these days are terrible and nobody makes time to talk to strangers anymore, I'm having a moment to myself that I might need and, if I want to talk to someone, I'll use my phone and the wonders of technology to chat to people I've chosen to have in my life.

Have you ever met any of these people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭leggo

Have you ever met any of these people?

The example he gave was sitting on his own in a foreign land having coffee...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

There were tonnes of Irish when I was in Toronto, so didn't feel the need to stop someone in the street if I heard the accent.
    Having said that, I did stop and say hi to two lads from Newry who were having a smoke on the steps of our hostel. They ended up being my 2 best friends while I was away. All because I stopped to say hello.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭catbear

I'm never bothered going near an Irish pub when on a few weeks holiday but while backpacking or living abroad they can be great resources. Great for accommodation tips etc..

There was this one beautiful moment in Thailand years ago when this Brit heard my accent and just starting being a twat. But unbeknownst to me and him there were three different couples from Ireland seated within earshot and suddenly the brit found himself surrounded by Irish, I mean literly surrounded. It was hilarious to see him squirm away.

Anyway, we all said hallo, where are we from, are you enjoying the holiday etc.. and then we just got back to the way we were. It was a beautiful moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I'm from Edinburgh originally, but living in Ireland. A few years ago, RTE news did a story about Irish people being able to study at Scottish Universities free, and as part of the report, interviewed a bunch of girls who were studying nursing in Edinburgh. They were sitting in the Irish themed pub that they met up in every week, in their words 'to catch up with other folk from back home'. Edinburgh has some of the finest pubs you could ever visit, but this lot would rather sit in some Diddle-ee-Dee Plastic Paddy Craphole. God forbid they may be taken out of their comfort zone and associate with (gulp) actual Scottish people.

100%, the amount of Irish folk I met her who were shocked to know that I don't head to the Grassmarket on Saturday nights to Biddy's or Finnegan's.

Complete wasted opportunity in this city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,267 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

They define themselves by their county and everything comes back to it sooner or later. They'll tell you what county they're from, they'll tell you how they feel about people from your county, they wear the county colours, they put their county in their user name when signing up for boards, all that sort of nonsense

Some of them even put both their county, and a reference to their favourite English soccer in their username. I'll seen it happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭podgemonster

When i head on the annual holiday it's nice to immerse yourself in the people and culture you are in. But when i spent a year travelling it wasn't a bad thing to have a conversation with some one from back home in the same situation.

I remember being on an island in the Philippines and the place to see was "The Chocolate Hills". Little symmetrical mounds of in the hills. I spoke to a few Americans about it and I got the usual "aw, man they are truly amazing" ; "we had an amazing time"; "you see so much wildlife and culture"

We went and tbh twas a bit underwhelming and the wildlife we saw were enclosed. We're on a little tour bus with other yanks and koreans, they're having an "amazing" time and taking selfies at petrol stations. We end up back at base and head out the nearby pub for a bite to eat.

In the corner of the bar is a guy in a Mayo jersey watching Golf. I order at the bar and spark up conversation.

ME: "Hi are things"
    Mayo " Jaysus not too bad now"
    ME: "Interesting place here isn't it"
    Mayo: "Tis different alright, have ya seen much"
    ME: "I saw those chocolate hills today"
    Mayo "Oh yeah, what ya think"
    ME: "Twas only alright really, bit of a cod"
    Mayo: "twas a fúckin pile of shíte to be honest"
    Me: Do you know what, twas!
    Mayo: "Tis no Ben Bulben"

Twas the only real conversation I had that day. very refreshing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

MadDog76 wrote: »
    I treat Irish people abroad the same as I do at home ............ I don't just approach random strangers .......... is it just me that finds the Op's question odd???

Random strangers. They're the worst kind of stranger, aren't they? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,422 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I was walking the city walls of Dubrovnik one summer morning in 2006 when I ran into a man in a Tipperary jersey. We got talking and and it turned he was from the same town I grew up in.
    Years ago when I was on holidays in Egypt, I saw a lad in the Valley of the Kings wearing a Wexford jersey. I didn't say anything to him, though...because he was wearing a Wexford jersey. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,070 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Never bother.
    When we do get away it's just family time, no real interest in meeting anyone when I'm away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

nice_guy80 wrote: »

I tend to avoid Irish pubs

I'd rather try something local

Not keen on Irish bars myself, especially in resorts. I was in a manky one in Albufeira a few years ago, pints were double the price of a bar two doors down and they weren't as good either.

I've been in some nice ones in cities and non-touristy towns though. Trinity College in Rome and The Dubliner in Oslo are two that stand out for me, not OTT Oirish. The only Irish person I met in the latter was a member of staff!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭pauliebdub

Why are folks against saying hello to Irish people in GAA jerseys ? Don't see nothing wrong with it myself or any other jersey either, be Man u Liverpool or lenster or munster.If they want to wear them its there business.

And why would you change your accent because of what other people wear ?

I tend to avoid people who wear them as well. There's something parochial and about them worn by people who aren't smart, sophisticated or open minded and are only interested in stuff like Irish bars and being around other people from the same county when abroad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Ferrari3600

I avoid people who wear football jerseys in Ireland, let alone when abroad.

They define themselves by their county and everything comes back to it sooner or later. They'll tell you what county they're from, they'll tell you how they feel about people from your county, they wear the county colours, they put their county in their user name when signing up for boards, all that sort of nonsense

:P

Ah now dont be like that.

Personally from my point of view its fantastic to meet fellow irish people abroad whatever part of the island they are from. No harm in just saying hello and being friendly you dont have to marry them or surgically attach yourself to them. Yeah you meet gobshítes who engage in the kinda shíte you describe but not everyone is that bad. Its a sad day when peoples natural disposition is to have a negative perception of other Irish people and it could be for valid reasons like you describe due to negative past experience but every individual deserves a chance.

If we ever bump in abroad by some fortune and im wearing the Tipp jersey i promise ill be nice i swear :)

Perhaps they do immerse themselves with the Scottish people? There are 24 hours in a day after all. Is it so wrong that irish people meet fellow irish people and hit it off abroad?

the whole moving away to a different country (even if it is our English language speaking Celtic cousins) can be a little daunting. If its a shared journey its half the battle. Why not mix with as many people as possible who isnt a prick regardless of age, nationality, religion, etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,017 ✭✭✭Poxyshamrock

I'm in Birmingham for nearly three months and have yet to meet an Irish person. Everyone here is "Irish" but it seems no one is actually Irish! I'd love to bump into a few Irish here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,822 ✭✭✭el diablo

I'm in Birmingham for nearly three months and have yet to meet an Irish person. Everyone here is "Irish" but it seems no one is actually Irish! I'd love to bump into a few Irish here.

May I suggest your local Oirish bar.

Orange pilled.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

This type of rubbish appears in the Indo every day. Looks like the Class of Euro '16 are still alive and well. I haven't watched the video below but it's total bantz I bet

http://www.independent.ie/entertainment/banter/trending/watch-30-man-irish-stag-hit-budapest-and-won-over-the-locals-with-their-version-of-horse-outside-35236331.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭fizzypish

I make a v line for Irish bars when abroad. I'd find it very had to have a convo with someone without some common ground. I'd never walk up to a group of locals without some reason. I must say that from experience, I've met more locals by being in the Irish bar. Get chatting to the Irish locals, they introduce me to the locals proper. Hilarity and high jinks ensues....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭Goya

osarusan wrote: »
    Very rare to meet any other Irish in Japan (apart from those I worked with) and I wouldn't approach any Irish people I bumped into. I wouldn't mind if they approached me I suppose, but hopefully not for some nostalgic lament for the auld sod.
    What's wrong with that?
    Thespoofer wrote: »
    No. Don't like all that ' where you from ? ' bollox.
    Was waking down the street in the ' town' ( population about 60k ) from where my Wife is from in Poland. It's an out of the way, quiet kinda place I enjoy going there even though it hasn't much going for it just to get away and disappear from life for a while.
    Two people walking towards me and I hear the Irish accent from one of them, I was well pissed off ! This is my town.
    Nevertheless I kept walking and said nothin.
    Jeez, some amount of people on this thread thinking they are superior to others.

Thespoofer wrote: »
    No. Don't like all that ' where you from ? ' bollox.
    Was waking down the street in the ' town' ( population about 60k ) from where my Wife is from in Poland. It's an out of the way, quiet kinda place I enjoy going there even though it hasn't much going for it just to get away and disappear from life for a while.
    Two people walking towards me and I hear the Irish accent from one of them, I was well pissed off ! This is my town.
    Nevertheless I kept walking and said nothin.

Ah here get the fúck over yourself. Your like a hipster who has just found out his favourite band has an song in the charts. Very very petty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Stovepipe

I've had a mix of experiences with Irish abroad; went into a bar in a Syrian hotel, six Irish lads waiting to go home, turned out to be Army from the Golan Heights UN Mission and as I'd been in the Defence Forces, we got chatting and had a great time and it turned out that we had mutual acquaintances.....other times, went to Oirish bars in the US and Oz and they were awful.Went to one in Brussels and the Guinness was excellent and the conversation was lively.Also had the strange experience of meeting locals abroad and had a great time with them and then met them at home and have scarcely spoken to them since, despite seeing them almost daily!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Flimpson wrote: »
    What's wrong with that?

What's wrong with what? Having some nostalgic lament for the auld sod?

Nothing wrong with it if it is what you want to do. I have no interest in it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,954 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Ive met other Irish people.abroad and got on really well with them ,but I'd avoid guys in GAA/Soccer team tops as quite a few of them are tools.

Nothing wrong with striking up a conversation wth fellow Irish people abroad but each to their own. I prefer to meet locals when I'm abroad and get to know the local culture - when in Rome and all that!