Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If you see other irish abroad, do you approach?

• 19-11-2016 9:15pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 444 ✭✭

More so in places that aren't typical places to find irish(If I see an Irish person in Brooklyn im not going to say anything, if I see them in Des Moines, I defo would approach. Similarly not going to go out of my way in Salou, but today I overheard some Irish lads having coffee in the sun and I made it my business to say whats up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

no, that would involve social interaction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Depends on the circumstance, if I was on my own then I might but to be honest I probably wouldn't bother my hole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

Going into faro airport the other night to collect my car and met a D reg driver leaving, we passed a few smiley hellos etc. and of we went, If I think I not intruding I do, but don't go out of my way really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭cookiexx

Probably 50/50. I'm in the UK so it's not like it's rare. Sometimes it happens several times a day. If I'm in a rush and just waiting on a service EG apple store with iPhone, coffee shop getting my morning coffee, then I won't bother my aRse.

Somewhere more social like a pub or club and I'd probably do the inevitable "so how long have you been here?" nod.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I was walking the city walls of Dubrovnik one summer morning in 2006 when I ran into a man in a Tipperary jersey. We got talking and and it turned he was from the same town I grew up in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭Chocolate fiend

Not usually. I am in Sydney and there are very few Irish people in my area, and I don't think that just because we are from the same country we would necessarily get on or have much in common. However the odd time especially in a shop or something one of us will pass comment and we will exchange pleasantries about where we grew up, how long we are here etc.

Older Irish people who have been here for a long time seem to love to interact with anyone with an Irish accent, and considering I have very Irish looking children (red hair and freckles) they do seem to go out of their way to chat to us. I like that.

There was an Irish dad at my children's school and he said something so offensive one day in regular conversation that I never spoke to him again. They have moved away.

Sometimes I crave the sound of an Irish accent, other times (when it is a sweaty mess wearing a GAA jersey and falling out of a pub) I would rather hear anything else.

I was in a cafe one day and a group of lads working on the road came in, they were lovely, they were polite and friendly and chatty and a real credit to whoever sent them out into the world. It was a good feeling to know I came from the same place as them, even if it was on one of my worst homesick days and did make me cry.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

if they're wearing a GAA top or a sell'thick top i avoid them like the plague

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,733 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Very rare to meet any other Irish in Japan (apart from those I worked with) and I wouldn't approach any Irish people I bumped into. I wouldn't mind if they approached me I suppose, but hopefully not for some nostalgic lament for the auld sod.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

Not unless I have reason to. Being Irish doesn't make us friends, but I have met local people who were all chat while abroad but wouldn't give you the time of day when at home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

I treat Irish people abroad the same as I do at home ............ I don't just approach random strangers .......... is it just me that finds the Op's question odd???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Specifically approaching sounds a bit weird.

I'll chat to anybody anywhere in the right social context. Meeting the right type of Irish person abroad is always nice and a nice grounding affirmation but meeting the wrong type is a chore.

I suspect in this I'm like most normal people between the polar extremes of Rabidly Seeking People From Home Town and Student Twat Wanting Authentic Local Experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭bikubesong

I worked in a retail job for a bit in London so naturally had to interact with customers. If I heard an Irish accent, I'd make reference to it just to open a bit of conversation. Met some lovely people but equally plenty of people who didn't give a shʼit - and fair enough, they probably twigged it was partly a sales technique.

To be honest, after a while I got the impression that people thought it was kinda passé to try and invite a bonding session about the faraway motherland so I stopped mentioning it altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭guppy

bikubesong wrote: »
    I worked in a retail job for a bit in London so naturally had to interact with customers. If I heard an Irish accent, I'd make reference to it just to open a bit of conversation. Met some lovely people but equally plenty of people who didn't give a shʼit - and fair enough, they probably twigged it was partly a sales technique.

Kinda from the other side here, my partner is English and I pick up really quickly when I hear another English person around. He doesn't give a damn though and I've long since given up pointing it out because to him, it's just another person, and who cares where that stranger is from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,767 ✭✭✭el diablo

No, I do my best to avoid them, especially the GAA shirt brigade and the loud agricultural types. :p

Orange pilled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

There's so feckin many of us in Toronto that it's like being at home some days.

So no. I don't bother me hole. If someone approached me I'd be polite about it but I get so much 'OMG ARE YOU FROM IRELAND' in work that I'm fair sick of it by now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Thespoofer

No. Don't like all that ' where you from ? ' bollox.
    Was waking down the street in the ' town' ( population about 60k ) from where my Wife is from in Poland. It's an out of the way, quiet kinda place I enjoy going there even though it hasn't much going for it just to get away and disappear from life for a while.
    Two people walking towards me and I hear the Irish accent from one of them, I was well pissed off ! This is my town.
    Nevertheless I kept walking and said nothin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

It depends on where it is, Spain UK etc No I'd avoid them, in more obscure places I probably would at least say hello unless they're wearing a GAA jersey and then I'd put on an accent to be sure no one knew I was from the same country as them.

Why are folks against saying hello to Irish people in GAA jerseys ? Don't see nothing wrong with it myself or any other jersey either, be Man u Liverpool or lenster or munster.If they want to wear them its there business.

And why would you change your accent because of what other people wear ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,334 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Don't approach people for being Irish but don't avoid them for that reason either. I'll give anyone a chance, regardless of where they're from.

Exactly, Some of the most dodgiest/**** people you meet. can come wearing suits and brand name clothing. Where I work I meet them all every year.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭me_right_one

Whats with all the GAA hate? If you wouldn't say hello to a person for wearing a GAA jersey, then I think its them who are on the winning side of that particular encounter!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

No, I go on holiday to get away.

Nope.. Sometimes the opposite actually. The only people who've ever made the mail-order bride comments and the "she's with you for your money / passport" stuff have been fellow Irish people on holiday who think they're funny or more often, want to hurt my and my girlfriend's feeling. Especially women between 25-35.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭PANDDDKP

No I wouldn't bother unless I had to.

Another things that annoys me is people (my mates included) who head away on holidays and when there head straight to an Irish bar.. Why go abroad to hang out in Irish bars! It's usually a kip with diddily music on in the background! It's embarrassing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

el diablo wrote: »
    No, I do my best to avoid them, especially the GAA shirt brigade and the loud agricultural types. :p

Which is half the country. Some people like broadcasting that they are from Ireland

I tend to avoid Irish pubs

I'd rather try something local

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭yesto24

Why are folks against saying hello to Irish people in GAA jerseys ? Don't see nothing wrong with it myself or any other jersey either, be Man u Liverpool or lenster or munster.If they want to wear them its there business.

And why would you change your accent because of what other people wear ?

Because a lot of trouble caused by Irish people abroad is done by a drunken fool in a GAA jersey. This does not mean everyone in a GAA jersey does it or only Irish people in GAA jerseys are drunken fools.
    If you only have a short time to get a first impression of someone you will use any information you can get. Clothing is a statement and well you see a GAA top and go no.
    Also a GAA jersey is a statement of where you are from unlike other teams like Liverpool or Man united. And sometimes you ask yourself do I want to talk to a person like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

PANDDDKP wrote: »

Another things that annoys me is people (my mates included) who head away on holidays and when there head straight to an Irish bar.. Why go abroad to hang out in Irish bars! It's usually a kip with diddily music on in the background! It's embarrassing.

With over priced crap booze and food

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Depends. Are they from Tallaght or wearing a Celtic jersey? Then no.

leggo wrote: »
    Depends. Are they from Tallaght or wearing a Celtic jersey? Then no.

There's Tallaght jersey's??? :confused:

MadDog76 wrote: »
    There's Tallaght jersey's??? :confused:

No.

leggo wrote: »
    No.

Thought so! :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 444 ✭✭BabyE

never buy into this, irish bars are a great place to meet locals and normally have top atmosphere. only place I agree wih you is in resorts but in major cities they are great spots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Cortina_MK_IV

Cringiest thing ever was sitting having coffee in northeast Thailand and got approached by some old American. He asked me where I was from, told him Ireland and told me there was an Irish couple down the back of the restaurant. He went to get them and brought them out drinks in hand and introduced us. They were mortified, I was mortified. They were young back-packers and I'm sure they were having a nice breakfast and i was enjoying my coffee until he interrupted us. What did he want to us to do talk about the old country, bodhrans and uilleann pipes? So no I wouldn't approach strangers here so why do it abroad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭PANDDDKP

BabyE wrote: »

We'll have to agree to disagree, whatever you're into really, but not for me.

Cringiest thing ever was sitting having coffee in northeast Thailand and got approached by some old American. He asked me where I was from, told him Ireland and told me there was an Irish couple down the back of the restaurant. He went to get them and brought them out drinks in hand and introduced us. They were mortified, I was mortified. They were young back-packers and I'm sure they were having a nice breakfast and i was enjoying my coffee until he interrupted us. What did he want to us to do talk about the old country, bodhrans and uilleann pipes? So no I wouldn't approach strangers here so why do it abroad?

I used to get caught in situations like that with randomers talking the ear off me and disturbing me but I've no time for it anymore. Unless I'm in the mood, if that happened I'd say "Sorry I'm actually alright just having a coffee here by myself" then watch him until he left. If you don't want to have the chats, it's rude of someone to ear rape you. I don't care if he thinks these days are terrible and nobody makes time to talk to strangers anymore, I'm having a moment to myself that I might need and, if I want to talk to someone, I'll use my phone and the wonders of technology to chat to people I've chosen to have in my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭alexonhisown

I would avoid irish abroad unless its in a place where i havent heard another irish voice, eg china, malaysia etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

More so in places that aren't typical places to find irish(If I see an Irish person in Brooklyn im not going to say anything, if I see them in Des Moines, I defo would approach. Similarly not going to go out of my way in Salou, but today I overheard some Irish lads having coffee in the sun and I made it my business to say whats up.

I met a guy from Derry in a shop in Salou one time in the month of January.. we both had time to kill so I went for a cup of coffee with him and had a very interesting talk for about 2 hours.

I usually always end up in tyhe company of Irish people where ever I travel.. we are a social bunch!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

If they seem to be ok people who just happen to be Irish then yes, if they're ''Oirish'' in the sense of that being the be-all-and-end-all of who they are, I wide berth them, I met some Rugby fans in a pub in Hounslow once after a Twickenham match, a bigger load of w**kers I've rarely met.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

Love Irish bars, love Celtic jerseys, love singing the Fields of Athenry on the plane on the way over, love getting f**ked up in bars and fights after. We should all stick together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Das Reich

Similar thing happened to me here in Ireland. At the gym the instructor forced me to met another brazilian, i didnt even know what to say. When people from my country stop me to talk or ask something I just pretend to be from somewhere else and avoid the interaction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

It depends. If I was in a country where irish/westerns are uncommon then I would. If I was on a campsite in the North of France where every fourth family is irish then I would be less likely to I would say..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Lawlesz

I've lived abroad for the guts of 10 years now in a few different countries. In the beginning I would have approached someone if I heard an Irish accent but the novelty soon wore off, literally within a few months. Met an Irish girl in Canada and turned out I was at school with her sister from back home. Tucked away on the other side of Europe now, in a small town with no other foreigners and it suits me grand. Have often heard Irish accents in the capital here, but wouldn't be arsed to stop and talk any more.

Nothing worse than being thrown together with someone else by virtue of the fact you are both native English speakers and then find you have nothing in common. Have had that happen a few times too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭catbear

time and place.

Paddys day, sport events I'll seek out an Irish pub but not bothered beyond that. It really is great to top up on the madness if you're working in a society with a low craic quotient.

Actually when I worked in Australia the locals would prefer going to an Irish bar because their local pubs were just toilets that sold beer.

I remember sneering Irish backpackers who seemed to be openly avoiding other Irish people when I was in South America. Absolute gobsh*tes. Yet they'd sit there blabbering away to an American.
    I'm generally happy to meet anyone at all these days from anywhere!

So ****ing cringeworthy, I was like that on my "J1", dismissive of irish butnI realise now they are my part of my tribe, we should be more positive to one another, you dont know, even in Brookylyn or London that persons day would be brightened up if you were to take the time out and connect with them. Hearing your own tribe can make you very happy, it works on a tier system.
    Your city
    Your county
    Your country
    Brits
    Americans
    Australians/NZ
    Western Europeans
    Other

So ****ing cringeworthy, I was like that on my "J1", dismissive of irish butnI realise now they are my part of my tribe, we should be more positive to one another, you dont know, even in Brookylyn or London that persons day would be brightened up if you were to take the time out and connect with them. Hearing your own tribe can make you very happy, it works on a tier system.
    Your city
    Your county
    Your country
    Brits
    Americans
    Australians/NZ
    Western Europeans
    Other

I think we have way way way more in common with Oz/NZ people than Americans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭NickNickleby

Generally wouldn't think about it either way. However...

One year I was in Italy with wife and daughter, staying on a campsite near Lake Garda. On day two or three , finally heard English being spoken. Turned out to be an extended family from Portlaoise. Said hello, where you from? Portlaoise, says the Don, then proceeds to make reference to Dubs being scum of the earth, who only go to GAA matches in Croker and couldn't name their county team if their lives depended on it. Naturally I pointed out that most televised matches are from half empty grounds around the country and that the inability to name a county team might not be a specifically Dublin trait. THis went on for a couple of days, so I started avoiding them (they were ALL the same, I kid you not). On the last day, I bumped into the Don again and he wished me well and said no hard feelings, then told me he was a Secretary or something in a GAA club.

Roll on a couple of years. In Dubrovnic late at night with wife. Drunk in a Donegal GAA shirt starts shouting at us "F---ing jackeens. Sell out bastards" and worse.

So, I would tend to avoid GAA shirt wearers while abroad. BTW, I'm not a Dub follower, although I confess to watching the AI matches on telly. Because I enjoy watching GAA on the telly - regardless who's playing.

Nick

Whats with all the GAA hate? If you wouldn't say hello to a person for wearing a GAA jersey, then I think its them who are on the winning side of that particular encounter!

Some of our good citizens experience multiple orgasms by loathing everything irish. Such a silly petty attitude they have really .We are all individuals at the end of the day. We just happen to be from ireland. The GAA jersey stereotype is bizarre and painfully cringey. :confused: Different people with various personalities wear GAA jerseys.

Generally wouldn't think about it either way. However...

One year I was in Italy with wife and daughter, staying on a campsite near Lake Garda. On day two or three , finally heard English being spoken. Turned out to be an extended family from Portlaoise. Said hello, where you from? Portlaoise, says the Don, then proceeds to make reference to Dubs being scum of the earth, who only go to GAA matches in Croker and couldn't name their county team if their lives depended on it. Naturally I pointed out that most televised matches are from half empty grounds around the country and that the inability to name a county team might not be a specifically Dublin trait. THis went on for a couple of days, so I started avoiding them (they were ALL the same, I kid you not). On the last day, I bumped into the Don again and he wished me well and said no hard feelings, then told me he was a Secretary or something in a GAA club.

Roll on a couple of years. In Dubrovnic late at night with wife. Drunk in a Donegal GAA shirt starts shouting at us "F---ing jackeens. Sell out bastards" and worse.

So, I would tend to avoid GAA shirt wearers while abroad. BTW, I'm not a Dub follower, although I confess to watching the AI matches on telly. Because I enjoy watching GAA on the telly - regardless who's playing.

Nick

Hardly a huge sample size Nick. You were unfortunate, you just bumped into morons