Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,822 ✭✭✭visatorro

whelan2 wrote: »
    is that cows or heifers or everything? Bull or ai? Bought a bull here today.

What you buy if you don't mind me asking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,743 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

visatorro wrote: »
    What you buy if you don't mind me asking?
    A fr bull , I dont buy in much any more. out of HZB EBI 179(NEW EBI)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

A fr bull , I dont buy in much any more. out of HZB EBI 179(NEW EBI)

What do you think his chances are of breeding a better heifer than the cow your covering? I gave up on buying Fr stock Bulls a few years ago. I just felt there were too many variables
    1 he wasn't as good as AI sire
    Calving diff was t certain
    Being the two main reasons.
    I also found that the ai stock were far superior and stayed in the herd longer

I buy mop up He as mop up Bulls now.

What do you think his chances are of breeding a better heifer than the cow your covering? I gave up on buying Fr stock Bulls a few years ago. I just felt there were too many variables
    1 he wasn't as good as AI sire
    Calving diff was t certain
    Being the two main reasons.
    I also found that the ai stock were far superior and stayed in the herd longer

I buy mop up He as mop up Bulls now.
    I will be ai'ing cows with fr for 3 weeks first. Then will put this fella in for 3 weeks, plan is to sell his calves as in calf heifers so it doesnt really bother me. That said I did buy a bull from this lad before and his heifers are better than some of the ai bred ones. Very disappointed with some of the ai ones that calved this year. It can be hit and miss. Still have angus bulls here aswell I can use

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭Fixture

I will be ai'ing cows with fr for 3 weeks first. Then will put this fella in for 3 weeks, plan is to sell his calves as in calf heifers so it doesnt really bother me. That said I did buy a bull from this lad before and his heifers are better than some of the ai bred ones. Very disappointed with some of the ai ones that calved this year. It can be hit and miss. Still have angus bulls here aswell I can use

With geonomic testing and number of guys breeding good stock from AI it's possible to buy good stock bull that's bred similar to AI test bull.

The problem of course is the risk he will be hard calving, bad temperament, udders etc and you are stuck with the impact on your herd for years. With AI you can spread the risk or very much reduce it by using proven bulls.

But as you say by using AI for the first week's your reducing his potential impact on herd to a much lower figure..
    By selling his stock, you're reducing it to zero.

In many herds where heat detection rates are low, stock bulls make more sense

However I hate seeing herd dependent on one bull. By the time farmer realises he's not fertile, there huge damage done.

Plus there is the safety risk that you can't put a figure on. I hate having them around the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Fixture wrote: »
    With geonomic testing and number of guys breeding good stock from AI it's possible to buy good stock bull that's bred similar to AI test bull.

The problem of course is the risk he will be hard calving, bad temperament, udders etc and you are stuck with the impact on your herd for years. With AI you can spread the risk or very much reduce it by using proven bulls.

But as you say by using AI for the first week's your reducing his potential impact on herd to a much lower figure..
    By selling his stock, you're reducing it to zero.

In many herds where heat detection rates are low, stock bulls make more sense

However I hate seeing herd dependent on one bull. By the time farmer realises he's not fertile, there huge damage done.

Plus there is the safety risk that you can't put a figure on. I hate having them around the place.

You can get 2 fr bulls (still with decent ebis etc) for the price of one good AA/HE bull, the neighbour here usually does that, and sends them on to the factory come Sept, so no hassle with wintering them etc. He has a decent sized outfarm where he can rear them, or if he has too many he sells them as calves. When you see the AA calf market getting saturated, and average 4/5wk old AA heifers only making 120e at the mart it doesn't look like a 1/2 bad option.

It still should be 100% about the cow though ha, and never ever sacrificing calving difficulty, what use is a 400e calf if the cow doesn't go back incalf and costs you alot more to replace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

I received this this morning from Daisy, it's very good:D

The sky was dark,
    The moon was high,
    All alone,
    Just she and I.

Her hair was soft,
    Her eyes were blue,
    I knew just what,
    She wanted to do.

Her skin so soft,
    Her legs so fine,
    I ran my fingers,
    Down her spine.

I didn't know how,
    But I tried my best,
    I placed my hand,
    Upon her breast.

I remembered my fear,
    My fast beating heart,
    But slowly she spread,
    Her legs apart.

And then I did it,
    I felt no shame,
    All at once,
    The white stuff came.

At last it's finished,
    It's all over now,
    My first time ever,
    At milking a cow.

What did you think it was about:eek::eek::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,847 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Hey Mod, your double posting!!
    Nice touch Base Price. Thanks for sharing Buford. To all the bad minded gits, shame on ye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭inthepit

Daisy's is 2'2''
    Mine is 3 feet.
    Center's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,444 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

How many lights have lads in there parlours?
    Putting in 6 here for 12 units
    In s parlour yesterday that had 4 for 16 units

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

How many lights have lads in there parlours?
    Putting in 6 here for 12 units
    In s parlour yesterday that had 4 for 16 units

Clear sheets in roof and 6 lights hanging over pit well slightly either side of it. 14 unit but my 14 units just about fit so other parlours would be longer than mine. would hardly need lights in summer with clear sheets. can clean them from basket in loader without going on roof

Mooooo wrote: »
    Clear sheets in roof and 6 lights hanging over pit well slightly either side of it. 14 unit but my 14 units just about fit so other parlours would be longer than mine. would hardly need lights in summer with clear sheets. can clean them from basket in loader without going on roof

Parlour here retrofitted in a 1960s round roof. I will put clear sheet in the roof some time but not ATM. Only have one light ATM for 6 units

Cow did the splits this evening in cubicle shed. Got her fairly quick and lifted her out, she walked to straw bedded shed . Hate lifting them

Now that's a good bit of news. Hate bollixing around lifting cows, bad for man and beast.

Got all slats, sheds and any area of yard cows cross inc crush grooved last year. It was some of the best money I've spent.

Get a lot done for the price of a cow. I'd highly recommend it. All new concrete now gets gripped at pouring

Was lying in hospital bed for 5 straight days 7 weeks ago when it got around to me getting up I had to get phisio for a bit to get me going again. Now know how a cow feels when she goes down and isn't able to get up if she's there for anymore than a day

Now that's a good bit of news. Hate bollixing around lifting cows, bad for man and beast.

Got all slats, sheds and any area of yard cows cross inc crush grooved last year. It was some of the best money I've spent.

Get a lot done for the price of a cow. I'd highly recommend it. All new concrete now gets gripped at pouring
    This one will go to factory during the week, not chancing her back with herd and paying a knacker bill

100% correct. We've adopted a zero tolerance approach to problem or potential problem cows here. Any doubt hang her up. Life's easier since

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Back in the parlour after 2milkings off. Effort of this ha. Another row to be dried off this week at least tho!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Signpost

I'm a bit loopy about keeping the yards clean, never grooved them because I was worried that they would fill with dirt and make the place look dirty. Do you notice any problem?
    Yard was like a skating rink this morning and has a bit of a slant in it, was dreading one going down but they all behaved well for once

Hi everyone as some may know the ICOS dairy Co-op training program has been cancelled due to lack of interest.....
    I am trying to get it reopened.
    I need people and I need people fast I need this need to be finalised be Wednesday or its gone for another year.
    If anyone knows of anybody who would be interested / is the type of person that should or would like to do the course or any one who would do the course if he/she just got the encouragement of being asked todo the course. If could you put them in contact with my self please that would be great. or i could contact them my self if I was pointed in the wright direction.

Course content
    Co-Op rules, structure and governance Icos
    Introduction to Co-Op finance
    Introduction to Co-Op legal framework ICOS
    Agriculture policy ICOS
    International dairy marketing Irish dairy board ICOS
    Leadership & strategy ICOS
    Onsite visit to moorepark Agriculture collage

Cost of course €155 which includes dinner and one overnight stay in the horse and jockey.
    Course dates as of now 28,29 November & 15 December in the horse and jockey. December 14 in Moorepark. These dates are subject to change

If anyone might be interested in this drop me a PM.
    Shane to see it go

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 Jexbullcalf

Hi everyone as some may know the ICOS dairy Co-op training program has been cancelled due to lack of interest.....
    I am trying to get it reopened.
    I need people and I need people fast I need this need to be finalised be Wednesday or its gone for another year.
    If anyone knows of anybody who would be interested / is the type of person that should or would like to do the course or any one who would do the course if he/she just got the encouragement of being asked todo the course. If could you put them in contact with my self please that would be great. or i could contact them my self if I was pointed in the wright direction.

Course content
    Co-Op rules, structure and governance Icos
    Introduction to Co-Op finance
    Introduction to Co-Op legal framework ICOS
    Agriculture policy ICOS
    International dairy marketing Irish dairy board ICOS
    Leadership & strategy ICOS
    Onsite visit to moorepark Agriculture collage

Cost of course €155 which includes dinner and one overnight stay in the horse and jockey.
    Course dates as of now 28,29 November & 15 December in the horse and jockey. December 14 in Moorepark. These dates are subject to change

If anyone might be interested in this drop me a PM.
    Shane to see it go

Sounds interesting buts what's the benefit of it do you think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,279 ✭✭✭alps

Education, and self development...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,847 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Anyone on a coop committee, not necessarily a Board should know the basics,principles and history of cooperativism.

On the other side, I hope they don't get the legal guy who spoke at their meeting two weeks ago to give the talk on Director responsibilities as he could not differentiate between that role in a public/private company and a coop.

Basically for anyone who wants to know more about the coop structure or what's to get involved in the future but doesn't want to go in a green horn.
    For lads like myself who knows sweet nothing about how a coop is structured and might be interested in taking part in regional boards in the near future it'll give me a start on how it all works.

Even for someone who will never get involved it will introduce them to how it's all done

alps wrote: »
    Education, and self development...

Thanks! I understood that part I was looking for a bit more detail!!

Basically for anyone who wants to know more about the coop structure or what's to get involved in the future but doesn't want to go in a green horn.
    For lads like myself who knows sweet nothing about how a coop is structured and might be interested in taking part in regional boards in the near future it'll give me a start on how it all works.

Even for someone who will never get involved it will introduce them to how it's all done

Thanks for that gtm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Basically for anyone who wants to know more about the coop structure or what's to get involved in the future but doesn't want to go in a green horn. For lads like myself who knows sweet nothing about how a coop is structured and might be interested in taking part in regional boards in the near future it'll give me a start on how it all works.

Will try and do it if I can free the time and if you think another registration will help the numbers.

Although God knows I have no intention whatever of using anything I learn!

kowtow wrote: »
    Will try and do it if I can free the time and if you think another registration will help the numbers.

Although God knows I have no intention whatever of using anything I learn!

Lol
    I think it's 185e for non macra members

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Lol I think it's 185e for non macra members

Is there an upper age limit or do I have to send the little fella?

kowtow wrote: »
    Is there an upper age limit or do I have to send the little fella?

No age limit

They might let you in for free for the debates you might cause ;)