Louise O Neill on rape culture.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭me_right_one

LLMMLL wrote: »
    I don't think he believed the stories so he asked his new girlfriend. Now this girl is quite anti-feminist and has no interest in social justice. She told him s....

Major contradiction in terms there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,593 ✭✭✭LLMMLL

What do all your preceding points have to do with rape, exactly? I know plenty of young women who act much the same way as the young lads you're describing here.

IMO opinion the guy who displays extremely inappropriate sexual behaviour is far more likely to commit a rape than his friends who are probably embarrassed by him but do nothing about it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

How on Earth do you not see that sexual assault culture feeds into rape culture? You think its okay to grope and harass?

And stop with the whataboutery for the sake of it. You no more know girls who go on that way.
    Another thing I've seen posted on this thread a few times is that if a man behaves sexually inappropriate with a woman then his friends or other men will immediately shut him down, take him away etc.

I recently was discussing sexual harrassment with a colleague. He believed it didn't happen that often. I started to read an everyday sexism website to him and he had to stop me after the tenth story he was so shocked.

I don't think he believed the stories so he asked his new girlfriend. Now this girl is quite anti-feminist and has no interest in social justice. She told him she's harrassed all the time and a particular guy in her mixed male/female group of friends is constantly harassing the girls, groping them, squeezing their breasts. Now while she finds it extremely annoying, it seems all the girls have just decided to put up with him and not make an issue out of it.

If this thread was to be believed the lads in the group would have ostracised him years ago. But of course, in the real world, everyone (male and female) have just decided to turn a blind eye.

Because that's the real culture. Ignore the problem and hope it goes away. Sure he's only a young lad. This idea that everyone speaks up against rape, and all inappropriate behaviours are automatically censored are complete make believe.

What do all your preceding points have to do with rape, exactly? I know plenty of young women who act much the same way as the young lads you're describing here.

How on Earth do you not see that sexual assault culture feeds into rape culture? You think its okay to grope and harass?

And stop with the whataboutery for the sake of it. You no more know girls who go on that way.
    Another thing I've seen posted on this thread a few times is that if a man behaves sexually inappropriate with a woman then his friends or other men will immediately shut him down, take him away etc.

I recently was discussing sexual harrassment with a colleague. He believed it didn't happen that often. I started to read an everyday sexism website to him and he had to stop me after the tenth story he was so shocked.

I don't think he believed the stories so he asked his new girlfriend. Now this girl is quite anti-feminist and has no interest in social justice. She told him she's harrassed all the time and a particular guy in her mixed male/female group of friends is constantly harassing the girls, groping them, squeezing their breasts. Now while she finds it extremely annoying, it seems all the girls have just decided to put up with him and not make an issue out of it.

If this thread was to be believed the lads in the group would have ostracised him years ago. But of course, in the real world, everyone (male and female) have just decided to turn a blind eye.

Because that's the real culture. Ignore the problem and hope it goes away. Sure he's only a young lad. This idea that everyone speaks up against rape, and all inappropriate behaviours are automatically censored are complete make believe.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,331 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

sexual assault culture
    *peak silly reached*

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

And an accomplshed author, who won Book of the year at the Irish Book awards last year. Well done Louise, quite an achievment.
    ZeroThreat wrote: »
    darkdubh wrote: »

hmm O'Neill seems to be an attention seeking narcissist above all else.

Wibbs wrote: »
    sexual assault culture
    *peak silly reached*
    Such an intelligent contribution. Well done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Advbrd

In my circle of friends there are no men, I repeat, no men who grope and harass in this manner. In my circle of work colleagues there are no men who grope and harass in this manner. It just would not be tolerated, simple as that. Why is it so hard to believe that they do not exist in certain circles? And where they do exist, why is it so hard to believe that women do not behave in a similar fashion?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,331 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Such an intelligent contribution. Well done.
    Thanks. "Sexual assault culture". Jesus.
    Advbrd wrote: »
    Why is it so hard to believe that they do not exist in certain circles? And where they do exist, why is it so hard to believe that women do not behave in a similar fashion?
    Because it doesn't fit the script. The same poster claimed all the women she knows have been raped. All The Women She Knows. Apparently that's meant to be believable and a reflection of reality, but the occasional woman who acts out in a laddish fashion isn't.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Thanks. "Sexual assault culture". Jesus.

Because it doesn't fit the script. The same poster claimed all the women she knows have been raped. All The Women She Knows. Apparently that's meant to be believable and a reflection of reality, but the occasional woman who acts out in a laddish fashion isn't.
    Yeah, that's just bullsh1t. I forgot it was her.

Should there be some sort of punishment for people like LON? I mean, if you went around saying all blacks are rapists, and you put up racist instead of misogynist on your twitter profile, surely you would be falling foul of hate-crime legislation?

Imagine if I went on an internet site and said "every single white woman I know was raped by a black man". What would be an appropriate penalty for this?

Should there be some sort of punishment for people like LON? I mean, if you went around saying all blacks are rapists, and you put up racist instead of misogynist on your twitter profile, surely you would be falling foul of hate-crime legislation?

Imagine if I went on an internet site and said "every single white woman I know was raped by a black man". What would be an appropriate penalty for this?

I think living in her strange fcuked uo head is punishment enough.

Nope it's not okay to grope or harass. 99% of people I know would agree, I'd say 100 but there's always one or two creeps. However one or two doesn't make a culture. Do you know what culture is/means?

Advbrd wrote: »
    I think living in her strange fcuked uo head is punishment enough.

No seriously though. If you said rap music and guns was n*gger culture, or white-collar crime was Jew culture, you would rightly be castigated for it. Why should LON and her fans get away with this?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 267 ✭✭Muhammed_1

Newspapers don't make profits anymore. Therefore, the newspapers don't consider the readers to be their customers. The customer of the newspaper is the owner, who pays the bills.

Rich people own newspapers in order to change public opinion.

That is why there are so many Una Doolally type articles. Because the rich owners, like Soros, or redacted, want to alter public opinion, and make us all want and approve of gay marraige and minority rights.

Many people don't want those things. Many people want the country to remain some what like it is now, without incompatible cultures fighting among themselves.

Islam is not compatible with the west, and no, I don't think the west should change. Islam is a real rape culture, nothing like Irish society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

I just want to know what is Louise doing special for International Men's Day today. Good opportunity for an article today, but she seems to have let it pass.

I'm waiting for her to attack the Men's Shed movement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

One of the first lines in her show was "we need to talk about Ireland's rape culture", but all she has done since then is shut down any narrative that contradicts or opposes any stance she has on the issue. So yes, we need to talk about it, but only if you agree with Louise and any other kind of conversation will get you blocked. So, she claims she wants "equality for all the sexes", but equally in the same vain she asserts to hate men, so how can someone who admittedly hates men profess to wanting equality for all?
    This new wave of feminism is more about female superiority than equality.

I see that gob****es go around groping girls on nights out. I think lumping them in with rapists is disingenuous. I don't think it's okay though, I think it's scummy behaviour and tend not to associate with people who carry on like that. It's the talk of rape culture and now sexual assault culture, whatever that is, that gets me wound up. It implies it's a problem that everyone has to share the blame for. It implies that even lads who don't rape or sexually assault people are responsible because they won't stop their friends from doing the same. It's a massive logical leap, and it assumes that every lad hangs around with the type of people who sexually assault people. Spoiler: We don't.

As for the whataboutery, are you honestly going to say that you've never seen girls behave inappropriately on a night out?

The problem is because you feel you're being blamed you're unwilling to admit there may be a problem.

So people start making the claim that rape happens in a vacuum. It is solely a decision by an individual and it's impossible that culture can contribute.

Of course this is bull, or else there'd be as many priests abusing now as there were in the 70s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Fair play to you for you engaging with people anyway as most people that post nonsense like the above usually only do so in the safe spaces they have carved out within little echo chambers online (as Louise has done with regards to her Twitter account). Click on 'With replies' and you'll see that she never converses with people who tweet her and disagree with her.. even when they are being respectful. She either blocks them or just ignores them.

But back to your comment....

If you set up some surveillance tonight on Harcourt St and had ten men randomly grope women and recorded the reaction, there would be killings. Gardai would be called by passers by, the men would most likely get punched, bouncers would no doubt also have to get involved as the woman's friends would no doubt start swinging themselves. Now get ten women to randomly grope ten men and see what happens. Zero most likely. Even if you planted the guys and had them vocally object, most people would laugh and I highly doubt anyone would call the Gardai let alone start beating the women for what they had done.

Sexual assault culture? Not a chance. Or at least not when women are the victims there isn't.

If you set up some surveillance tonight on Harcourt St and had ten men randomly grope women and recorded the reaction, there would be killings. Gardai would be called by passers by, the men would most likely get punched, bouncers would no doubt also have to get involved as the woman's friends would no doubt start swinging themselves. Now get ten women to randomly grope ten men and see what happens. Zero most likely. Even if you planted the guys and had them vocally object, most people would laugh and I highly doubt anyone would call the Gardai let alone start beating the women for what they had done.

Sexual assault culture? Not a chance. Or at least not when women are the victims there isn't.

Except the above is completely untrue. We would like to assume bystanders would spring to the woman's defense but what they actually do is ignore it.

Think I already told this story in this thread but a few weeks back was walking home at 5am, massive guy was walking in the same direction a good bit ahead of me. Anytime a girl walking towards us passed him he would lunge at her and try and put his arms round her. Nobody said a word to him.

The following is rape culture.

"Who wants to **** her can **** her": 14 year old Swedish girl badly gang-raped in a park

translated from Swedish

Three young immigrants from the Middle East held down and gang-raped a 14-year-old girl in the Garden Society of Linköping.

Now two of them have been sentenced, both 16 years old, for aggravated rape of a child.

"who wants to **** her get **** her," explained the lead rapist afterwards.

The three young men met the girl inside the McDonald's in March this year and co-erced her to accompany them to the park in central Linköping.

Then one 16-year-old began to rape 14-year-old and explained to his peers that they could "do what they want" with the girl.

They then helped to hold her down.

The girl described afterwards how it was "people and fingers everywhere."

After the rape called the 16-year-old threatened to stab the girl if she reported the incident to police.

The girl did not at first report the rape but parents became suspicious when she slept poorly at night, yelped and hugged a "cuddly toys".

After about ten days made a police report and then the girl was hit by panic attacks and had difficulty breathing.

She must sleep in their parents' bed, take tranquilizers and sleeping pills, and her school performance has deteriorated significantly.

One of the rapists said to have been 13 years at the time of the rape, and will not therefore receive punishment.

The two 16 year olds were convicted for their part to six months' youth custody for aggravated rape of a child.

The "Leader" was also convicted of abuse of legal proceedings and abuse of a fire alarm at their school as "revenge" because he had to go on a school trip

http:// www. friatider. se/vem-vill-knulla-henne-f-r-knulla-henne-14-ring-grovt-gruppv-ldtagen-i-park

Why oh why do we ignore these stories?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Except the above is completely untrue. We would like to assume bystanders would spring to the woman's defense but what they actually do is ignore it.

https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2016/apr/21/i-cried-all-the-way-back-to-my-final-destination-sexual-harassment-on-public-transport

Plenty of examples of people doing nothing in some of these stories and the stories in the comments. Also plenty of tales of victim blaming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Muhammed_1 wrote: »
    The following is rape culture.

"Who wants to **** her can **** her": 14 year old Swedish girl badly gang-raped in a park

translated from Swedish

Three young immigrants from the Middle East held down and gang-raped a 14-year-old girl in the Garden Society of Linköping.

Now two of them have been sentenced, both 16 years old, for aggravated rape of a child.

"who wants to **** her get **** her," explained the lead rapist afterwards.

The three young men met the girl inside the McDonald's in March this year and co-erced her to accompany them to the park in central Linköping.

Then one 16-year-old began to rape 14-year-old and explained to his peers that they could "do what they want" with the girl.

They then helped to hold her down.

The girl described afterwards how it was "people and fingers everywhere."

After the rape called the 16-year-old threatened to stab the girl if she reported the incident to police.

The girl did not at first report the rape but parents became suspicious when she slept poorly at night, yelped and hugged a "cuddly toys".

After about ten days made a police report and then the girl was hit by panic attacks and had difficulty breathing.

She must sleep in their parents' bed, take tranquilizers and sleeping pills, and her school performance has deteriorated significantly.

One of the rapists said to have been 13 years at the time of the rape, and will not therefore receive punishment.

The two 16 year olds were convicted for their part to six months' youth custody for aggravated rape of a child.

The "Leader" was also convicted of abuse of legal proceedings and abuse of a fire alarm at their school as "revenge" because he had to go on a school trip

http:// www. friatider. se/vem-vill-knulla-henne-f-r-knulla-henne-14-ring-grovt-gruppv-ldtagen-i-park

Why oh why do we ignore these stories?

We are being desperately foolish and short sighted to ignore this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Who's ignoring it?

Were they brought to justice?

What other stories are there that haven't been looked at by police?

What about this one for example/

A real rape culture excused and in some ways promoted by the Canadian government.

Migrant convicted of sexually assaulting two 15 year old girls given zero jail time because it would "jeopardize his chances of becoming a Canadian citizen"

A man accused of sexually assaulting one 15-year-old girl, and sexually interfering with another, walked out of a Timmins courtroom a free man on Thursday after he was given an exceptionally lenient plea bargain meant to preserve his chances of becoming a Canadian citizen.

Niket Bhavsar, a foreign national from India who is in Canada on a work visa, was initially charged with sexual assault, sexual interference, and supplying alcohol to a minor. All of these charges were withdrawn on Thursday as part of a deal where Bhavsar was allowed to plead guilty to one count of common assault.

The plea bargain – which the parents of Bhavsar’s victims consented to – gave Bhavsar a conditional discharge, which means he will have no criminal record because of the conviction. The court accepted the deal, including the sentence, despite the fact that both the Crown and the presiding judge believed there had been a reasonable prospect of conviction on the charge of sexual assault.

It was explicitly explained in court the deal was designed so Bhavsar’s ambitions of becoming a Canadian citizen would not be completely derailed by the conviction.

http://www.timminspress.com/2016/11/17/court-gives-break-to-foreign-national-accused-of-touching-underage-girls

Why is this rapists right to asylum greater than the rights of existing canadians not to be raped?

The liberal left are clearly suffering from a mental illness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭DredFX

Who's ignoring it?

Were they brought to justice?

What other stories are there that haven't been looked at by police?

The correct response is to ban Islam, or to ban Muslims, on public safety grounds.

Our cultures are incompatible.

Islam sees rape and child rape as acceptable. The Irish don't, and there's no middle ground. Therefore, Islam must be banned.

DredFX wrote: »

Not sure you understand what's being discussed here. I'm arguing that it's not automatic for a woman undergoing sexual harrassment to be defended by bystanders. Whether or not men get laughed at is a completely separate issue. You're just trying to turn iron to a competition about who has it tougher.....