Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 3) *Updated Warning in 1st Post Re:Boxing match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭TimRiggins

The important thing to note isn't just the fact Johnson wobbled Khabib badly. It's that the shots he kept landing were straight lefts.

I think most people agree that Conors left hand is one of the best weapons in the game alongside Demian Maia's jiujitsu, Dominick Cruz's footwork and Rumble Johnsons right hand.

I'd have a hard time ranking those 4 amazing skillsets too, I'd lean Maia being top purely for how he makes high level black-belts look like novices on the mat.

This might be somewhat controversial but I think i'd prefer Khabib's grappling/sambo to Maia's jiujitsu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,377 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

JohnMc1 wrote: »
    I can see them offering some shares when he retires,but not while he's still active. Either this is a negotiation tactic like you said or just trolling his fans.
    Why would they give him shares when he retires?
    He only has leverage and value when he is active. When retires has significantly less to bargain with..
    martyos121 wrote: »
    It's often looked at like this: a rich person is one who has a lot money, a wealthy person is one who knows how to make a lot of money.
    I've heard that too, but it makes no sense. If a wealthy person becomes bankrupt, he still has all his knowledge, he's not wealthy.

The reality is they are the same. There's no scale of magnitude between the two. If people choose to use one or the other in certain situations, that's just semantics.
    TimRiggins wrote: »
    This might be somewhat controversial but I think i'd prefer Khabib's grappling/sambo to Maia's jiujitsu.
    You are right. That is somewhat controversial. :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,718 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

I presume these celebrities invested their money in the ufc. What is stopping conor doing the same?

Or is he asking for it for free?

It's a private company. He has to be invited to invest.

it reads **** then if you have to be invited and he wasn't. It paints a picture of all these high flyers making money off fighters and treating them like utter consumables. If you do indeed have to be invited and McGregor wasn't, then he's right, get what you can while you can I say.

step away and watch them shares drop like glass jaws!

rusty cole wrote: »
    it reads **** then if you have to be invited and he wasn't. It paints a picture of all these high flyers making money off fighters and treating them like utter consumables. If you do indeed have to be invited and McGregor wasn't, then he's right, get what you can while you can I say.

step away and watch them shares drop like glass jaws!

The shares don't drop. They're not publicly traded in a stock market, so there's no market price.

From a self-interest point of view, he's absolutely right to demand more, as he knows how much they need him. I'm not entirely sure putting his money (assuming he's doesn't expect to get it for free) into the UFC would be the best form of investment.

On the other hand, as an active fighter, they'd be absolutely right to tell him to go and jump. He is paid (probably underpaid) according to a contract he signed/signs each time. He has no rights or entitlements beyond that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

Nope. You could be rich for a year ( lotto winner) wealth is **** you money

Just did a search for a clearer definition on Forbes. According to them I'm wealthy but not rich. I'll take that.

Effects wrote: »
    Just did a search for a clearer definition on Forbes. According to them I'm wealthy but not rich. I'll take that.

says it all for anyone in doubt :D

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kglXIoiXDFM

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

So, I know people dismiss the "Amateur Psychology" out of hand on here. I put together a 30 second clip comparing the RDA and McGregor fights.

It's something to behold.

Eddie's eyes never once wavered from RDA. He was locked on to RDA before Herb Dean called them in, locked on to him during the instructions, and never took his eyes off him after they separated.

Against Conor, he looked at the ground 3 times before John McCarthy called them in. As soon as he locked eyes on Conor, he immediately looked away to John McCarthy. When they separated the first thing he did was look at the ground again.

Whether it's the mental warfare pre-fight or the enormity of the occasion or just Conor flashing that enormous wingspan during his introduction....... fighters tend to react in ways they wouldn't react in any other fight.

That's a very real thing. The fight against Conor begins the minute they sign the contract. That's a unique thing to even the most-seasoned of competitors like Eddie.

You should really look back at Eddie before entering the octo when he getting greased up and patted down. He is constantly glancing in at Conor and looks like he is nervous or out of his depth.....again, this is my amatuer psych take on things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,667 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Great message from Alvarez, pure class, reaffirming he's a good guy. I know he lost his belt and got fairly embarrassed on the biggest stage ever but he'll have made more money and than he ever thought he could doing this, he can give his wife and kids everything he didn't have growing up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    You should really look back at Eddie before entering the octo when he getting greased up and patted down. He is constantly glancing in at Conor and looks like he is nervous or out of his depth.....again, this is my amatuer psych take on things.

Also look how happy he is to fight RDA, talking to him when they approach the ref, smiling after they touch gloves. There was no pressure on him, he was going to have some fun.

Sometimes it's so, so much easier being the underdog/challenger.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

.ak wrote: »
    Also look how happy he is to fight RDA, talking to him when they approach the ref, smiling after they touch gloves. There was no pressure on him, he was going to have some fun.

Sometimes it's so, so much easier being the underdog/challenger.

Lot easier fighting someone who doesnt abuse you and taunt you for a few months too.

it reads **** then if you have to be invited and he wasn't. It paints a picture of all these high flyers making money off fighters and treating them like utter consumables. If you do indeed have to be invited
    It's a private company. You can't just buy a stake in it. You have to be invited or have an offer accepted. No more than I can walk up and buy 10% of your house.
    The "high flyers" as you call them, aren't sitting there making money off the deal. They invested in the deal, it's a long position, if they deal makes money then they see a return. The ongoing dividends are relatively low.

it reads **** then if you have to be invited and he wasn't. It paints a picture of all these high flyers making money off fighters and treating them like utter consumables. If you do indeed have to be invited
    It's a private company. You can't just buy a stake in it. You have to be invited or have an offer accepted. No more than I can walk up and buy 10% of your house.
    The "high flyers" as you call them, aren't sitting there making money off the deal. They invested in the deal, it's a long position, if they deal makes money then they see a return. The ongoing dividends are relatively low.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

The only thing the celeb's will be getting out of having a share is probably comped tickets no chance of any sort of return any time soon, he should ask for bigger ppv percentage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭empacher

Did anyone notice the the look on eddis face after the failed takedown before the ko.

Its a nothing im doing is working. Looked like he broke right there. After realising he couldnt stand without being tagged and couldnt get the fight to the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,763 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/taoiseach-enda-kenny-rejects-suggestions-he-is-not-a-conor-mcgregor-fan-after-failure-to-congratulate-him-35218806.html

The Taoiseach has defended himself as a true fan of Conor McGregor in the wake of accusations that he failed to tweet congratulations after his win. His spokesman sent the Indo a photo of himself with Dee and Conor earlier this year, claiming and implying they got on famously well together.

The video of said meeting would have had an audible "Who the f*ck is that guy?".

Mellor wrote: »

Ok yeah heard you the first time there Alan sugar, point made.

What are you on about, that was my only post on the subject.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,140 ✭✭✭dashoonage

Shut up Alan!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,060 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Yeah, doubt there'll be any dividends for a while.

Supposedly the acqusition was funded mainly by debt, so if that means UFC is carrying $4bn of debt, then it's worth feck all at the moment, and it's just hope value.

The best time to get equity would have been when the previous owners were in there. But now they've got their billions!

Now, what IMO would be best for Conor would be to get some profit share deal - a percentage of operating profit before interest. And then as well as his own fights, they could get him to help market other cards too. I'm sure he'd have plenty of ideas, and whether they'd be good ideas of bad ideas, they'd generate plenty of publicity.

I get what you mean though, I'm just having lunch time banter. Tiz all good.

Usually when a sports team is bought its a leveraged buyout, they are using outside capital either with money borrowed from a bank or other third party (like this consortium of celebrities).

The idea is to build up the asset and then sell it for a huge profit, its a long term investment. Conor isn't going to get rich quick on it if he thinks that. He is better to look for a larger % of the PPV buy and gate.

Their isn't any shares its a private company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

rob316 wrote: »
    Usually when a sports team is bought its a leveraged buyout, they are using outside capital either with money borrowed from a bank or other third party (like this consortium of celebrities).

The idea is to build up the asset and then sell it for a huge profit, its a long term investment. Conor isn't going to get rich quick on it if he thinks that. He is better to look for a larger % of the PPV buy and gate.

Of course there are shares, they are just not publicly traded.

rob316 wrote: »

Of course there are shares. They're just not traded publicly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

You are right. That is somewhat controversial. :D:D

The thing, for me, that puts Maia's jiujitsu above Conors left hand, above Rumble's right hand and defo above Khabibs grapping is that he does it so quickly without taking much damage. As good as Conors left hand and Rumble's right are, they still get hit a bit before they put their opponents down.

Also, I think in horse racing terms they have a thing where they "upgrade the performance" of a horse in hindsight. So, let's say a well-fancied horse only finishes 3rd in a race. On the day of the race it's called a disappointing performance. Yet, the 2 newcomer horses that beat it subsequently turn out to be machines winning lots of races; so you look back and think "hmmm that was a lot better than we thought at the time".

I think these comments 100% apply to Gunni Nelson. Ok, he got dominated by Maia in a decision loss. But the fact he went 15 minutes with Maia mostly on his back is now looking a phenomenal achievement. Maia is cutting through people in minutes and, frankly, embarrassing high level MMA grapplers and BJJ black belts in the Octagon.

I'm one of the last hold-outs when it comes to Khabib. I need to see him beat one more decent opponent on a Main Card under the spotlight and I'll be converted 100%. As of now, he's got 2 excellent wins in his career compared to 4 for Nate, 4 for Alvarez, 3 for Ferguson. Whereby excellent means beating a top 8 ranked opponent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

bleh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,534 ✭✭✭xtal191

Yes of course that's what I meant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

I really really hate to be a stickler, but strictly speaking no there are not actually shares in an LLC (limited liability company), which WME/IMG is. An LLC differs from a PLC in that it doesn't have a set corporate structure.

In its simplest terms ownership of an LLC is based on percentages and not shares. Ownership can also be expressed in terms of parts owned out of the whole. This is similar to shares but because an LLC is governed in a totally different way to a PLC they are technically not shares.

Its quite complicated but trust me, there are not shares as we know and understand them.