Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 3) *Updated Warning in 1st Post Re:Boxing match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/taoiseach-enda-kenny-rejects-suggestions-he-is-not-a-conor-mcgregor-fan-after-failure-to-congratulate-him-35218806.html

The Taoiseach has defended himself as a true fan of Conor McGregor in the wake of accusations that he failed to tweet congratulations after his win. His spokesman sent the Indo a photo of himself with Dee and Conor earlier this year, claiming and implying they got on famously well together.
    I believe it was FG that came up with the line "we're not here to take part, we're here to take over" it just didn't go down as well in research groups for being to close to the bone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

ScumLord wrote: »
    I believe it was FG that came up with the line "we're not here to take part, we're here to take over" it just didn't go down as well in research groups for being to close to the bone.

Lol, maybe I'm very gullible but is this true??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

John_D80 wrote: »
    Lol, maybe I'm very gullible but is this true??
    Not unless I'm psychic, we could pretend it's true and see if it catches on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

ScumLord wrote: »
    Not unless I'm psychic, we could pretend it's true and see if it catches on.

Seems that I am as gullible as I thought!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Dana backing Conor today.

http://www.tmz.com/2016/11/16/dana-white-floyd-mayweather-conor-mcgregor-feud-response/
    "If Conor touches you, you go to sleep. Floyd puts people to sleep too, with his fighting style. You know how Floyd knocks people out? When they're not looking. Watch the Victor Ortiz fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,534 ✭✭✭xtal191

Ugh I hate all this Mayweather ****e, Mayweather makes a fool of him in boxing and Conor makes a fool of Floyd in mma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,760 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

i'm the opposite, i love the mcgregor circus nearly more than the fighting and there's no bigger show than the mayweather/mcgregor stuff. if the fight ever happens, they should put the prefight presser behind PPV, i'd pay.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

It's safe to say flashy Conor is gone now? no more spinning attacks or anything energy sapping, this new version of himself is efficient it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

Gamebred wrote: »
    It's safe to say flashy Conor is gone now? no more spinning attacks or anything energy sapping, this new version of himself is efficient it seems.

I think it totally depends on the fighter. He looked flowy enough vs. Alvarez but he didn't really need to throw any spinning sh*t because Alvarez was nearly always moving forward, so he didn't need to cut off the cage.

The spinning stuff primary purpose was to get people back onto his left side, but Eddie was content standing in front of him. All he really had to do in this fight when Eddie wasn't throwing first was to lull him into countering, than he would counter Eddie's counter.

For example, he leads with a lazy left here and coaxes Eddie into thinking he's in counter range and drops him as soon as he throws it.

https://streamable.com/nbr9

I think against someone who is fighting him on the back foot, and them shooting isn't as much of a risk he'll be back with wheel kicks and all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Dana is full of poopoo.

Conor wouldn't be able to touch Mayweather in a boxing match, he'd be eating jabs for 12 rounds, plodding along after Floyd and looking like an amateur.

In an MMA fight Conor just wheel kicks Floyd in the face or takes him down and submits him with something simple like an Americana or straight ankle lock within 30 seconds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭Polo_Mint

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,006 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Depends on who he's fighting I imagine. Cut out some of the flashy kicks against Alavrez as it leaves you more open to being taken down. I imagine if he were to fight Khabib it would be the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭TheTownie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,206 ✭✭✭Lucas Hood

I dunno whether to take that praise genuinely. Could be just saying he's that great because he knocked his fighter out to deflect from their poor fight/gameplan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Polo_Mint wrote: »

73 shekels for a meet and greet?

****ing hell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

Depends on who he's fighting I imagine. Cut out some of the flashy kicks against Alavrez as it leaves you more open to being taken down. I imagine if he were to fight Khabib it would be the same.

It is gone then, that's his level of opposition from here on in ....no more Sivers, Brandao's or Poriers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,423 ✭✭✭Gamb!t

UFC need to update their fighter profile page.
    http://www.ufc.com/fighter/Conor-McGregor?id=

Lukker- wrote: »
    The spinning stuff primary purpose was to get people back onto his left side, but Eddie was content standing in front of him.

Was it?

I can see why most people agreed that was the primary idea behind it - basing it from the Siver fight. Siver survived as long as he did partly because he was very disciplined in circling away from Conors left hand. It certainly appeared he was throwing the spinning kicks to attempt to shepherd Siver into his left hand.

But if you watch the Poirier and Mendes fights closely, a high number of the spinning stuff was thrown when Dustin and Chad were either circling INTO his left hand or not circling either way.

The possible conclusion to reach here is this:

Conor basically threw them because a) they looked really cool and b) if they land they cause damage.

Remember, during that spell he opened up plenty of fights with spinning kicks, wheel kicks, hook kicks before his opponents had even tried to circle at all.

One of the best technical analysts out there, Connor Reubusch, feels that in hindsight a lot of the spinning stuff wasn't specifically designed to circle people into his power hand. He thinks that it was more to do with looking sh1t cool and for a man with flashy cars, flashy clothes and flashy tattoos, it was quite important on some levels not to appear to just be a talented southpaw boxer.

As he has matured and the standard of opponent increased in difficulty, he realized his energy and gas tank is very important, so he was specialized in energy-efficient kicks (teeps, side kicks, leg kicks, head kicks) but abandoned the other stuff.

I can see the argument. He threw a lot of spinning attacks with people circling into his left hand - and a lot of which resulted in his opponent circling away from it in response.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Sean_1251

Hello everyone!

Long time lurker here. Have really enjoyed this thread over the past couple of years. Great entertainment altogether! You all seem to really know your stuff but I bet none have you have met AND had your picture taken with the main man in SBG...

Was it?

I can see why most people agreed that was the primary idea behind it - basing it from the Siver fight. Siver survived as long as he did partly because he was very disciplined in circling away from Conors left hand. It certainly appeared he was throwing the spinning kicks to attempt to shepherd Siver into his left hand.

But if you watch the Poirier and Mendes fights closely, a high number of the spinning stuff was thrown when Dustin and Chad were either circling INTO his left hand or not circling either way.

The possible conclusion to reach here is this:

Conor basically threw them because a) they looked really cool and b) if they land they cause damage.

Remember, during that spell he opened up plenty of fights with spinning kicks, wheel kicks, hook kicks before his opponents had even tried to circle at all.

One of the best technical analysts out there, Connor Reubusch, feels that in hindsight a lot of the spinning stuff wasn't specifically designed to circle people into his power hand. He thinks that it was more to do with looking sh1t cool and for a man with flashy cars, flashy clothes and flashy tattoos, it was quite important on some levels not to appear to just be a talented southpaw boxer.

As he has matured and the standard of opponent increased in difficulty, he realized his energy and gas tank is very important, so he was specialized in energy-efficient kicks (teeps, side kicks, leg kicks, head kicks) but abandoned the other stuff.

I can see the argument. He threw a lot of spinning attacks with people circling into his left hand - and a lot of which resulted in his opponent circling away from it in response.

Well it certainly doesn't have a single purpose. If you throw stuff continually on pattern you are going to become predictable but I believe primarily it's a tool to get people back to his left, absolutely no doubt about it.

Secondary against guys like Poirier and Brandao, after he threw wheel kicks, both guys abandoned their game plans completely and charged forward. It certainly seemed to illicit the response, 'This flashy f*ck, how dare he even try and throw that!'. Both guys got knocked out not long after. Sure he used to start every fight with a spinning back kick for this purpose.

But again, if we are talking about efficient Conor utilizing good fight IQ then I think it's primary purpose is to take people's heads off or give them something else to think about as they back away from his left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭CurryFlavoured

And I love it. He looks great when he filters out the spinning attacks and wild kicks, realistically that stuff leaves you susceptible to takedowns and other attacks. Against Eddie 99% of his attack was hands, left high kick and super footwork, and he looked ****ing incredible.

I know it's cliché but he really did learn from his loss against Diaz.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Wonders mate Coach Kav said something about the science in throwing one of the kicks, cant remember where but he said they calculated the amount of energy it spends and recovery time for 1 kick so I cant see him throwing spinning hook kicks, the capoeira training seems to be out the window too,

We seen a front leg side kick and 1 oblique kick against Eddie so I expect him to use them more than anything now a days less energy spent.

Lukker- wrote: »
    Secondary against guys like Poirier and Brandao, after he threw wheel kicks, both guys abandoned their game plans completely and charged forward. It certainly seemed to illicit the response, 'This flashy f*ck, how dare he even try and throw that!'. Both guys got knocked out not long after. Sure he used to start every fight with a spinning back kick for this purpose.

You need to go re-watch both fights.

Both Chad and Dustin were knocked out while retreating and backing up - not charging forwards. Chad was circling away from Conors left when he was KO'd and Dustin was starting to circle away when he checked and threw a faint.

In fact, the opposite of what you're saying is true to an extent. As soon as Conor threw "spinning stuff" Chad retreated and backed up. Mainly because they landed and winded him. He then took Conor down. As for Dustin, he didn't charge forward or change any game plan. He fought the exact same way he always fights. He landed a really good punch cleanly on Conor and move forward briefly in a flurry but otherwise it was his standard offence.

I agree the spinning stuff served multiple purposes but the amount he threw while opponents were circling into his power hand tells me that it wasn't necessarily a big master-plan to change their direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭HattrickNZ

TheTownie wrote: »
    Basically says that there is nothing that can be done to beat conor. That's not what I would like to hear if he was my coach. But don't what he says behind closed doors. Eddie says he did not follow the gameplan, i guess we will never find out what that was. And/or maybe the gameplan was tried but it just to hard to do on conor. I think the gameplan was too hard to do in my novice opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,718 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Lucas Hood wrote: »
    I dunno whether to take that praise genuinely. Could be just saying he's that great because he knocked his fighter out to deflect from their poor fight/gameplan.

For **** sake, if there's one thing worse than a bad loser it's a bad winner. McGregor has received pretty much universal acclaim since the fight and people are desperate for some reason to create more angles.

I agree. Which makes a first (probably) :D

I'm sure in Henry's mind it doesn't hurt to try deflect a bit of attention away from his fighter but I doubt that's the reason he said it. He was probably just legitimately blown away by the timing and accuracy he witnessed.

Sean_1251 wrote: »
    Hello everyone!

Long time lurker here. Have really enjoyed this thread over the past couple of years. Great entertainment altogether! You all seem to really know your stuff but I bet none have you have met AND had your picture taken with the main man in SBG...

posted you posted the same thing exactly a few weeks back, WTF is that all about!

You need to go re-watch both fights.

Both Chad and Dustin were knocked out while retreating and backing up - not charging forwards. Chad was circling away from Conors left when he was KO'd and Dustin was starting to circle away when he checked and threw a faint.

In fact, the opposite of what you're saying is true to an extent. As soon as Conor threw "spinning stuff" Chad retreated and backed up. Mainly because they landed and winded him. He then took Conor down. As for Dustin, he didn't charge forward or change any game plan. He fought the exact same way he always fights. He landed a really good punch cleanly on Conor and move forward briefly in a flurry but otherwise it was his standard offence.

I agree the spinning stuff served multiple purposes but the amount he threw while opponents were circling into his power hand tells me that it wasn't necessarily a big master-plan to change their direction.

Where did I mention Chad?? :confused:

Fair enough about Dustin haven't watched that fight in a few years, I suggest you rewatch Brandao. He throws a wheel kick, Brandao spits at the ground and charges forward with the head down swinging.

I agree. Which makes a first (probably) :D

I'm sure in Henry's mind it doesn't hurt to try deflect a bit of attention away from his fighter but I doubt that's the reason he said it. He was probably just legitimately blown away by the timing and accuracy he witnessed.

so I wonder how mark feels putting his other protegé in Frankie up against that same animal??? same plan, shoot for your life frankie,.. Frankie will end up on his arse too..and if alvarez looked small against him can you imagine frankie... I like edgar but don't think he has a a snowballs.

Here I wonder if He fights Khabib will we expect the likes of this tripe as below. I was just on youtube looking at old cage warrior fights with mystic mac and saw this.. what the **** is that all about?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2FSmi-C29lE

anyway I'm off to bed, catch yiz tomorrow.

rusty cole wrote: »
    Here I wonder if He fights Khabib will we expect the likes of this tripe as below. I was just on youtube looking at old cage warrior fights with mystic mac and saw this.. what the **** is that all about?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2FSmi-C29lE

anyway I'm off to bed, catch yiz tomorrow.

My guide to Youtube is if comments are disabled and there's near universal down-votes, then it's always click-bait nonsense.